DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by ADATO (Publication No.: US 2021/0400195 A1).
Regarding claim 1, 11, ADATO teaches A system for event notification in a mobile-based crowdsourcing platform, the system comprising: a server system (Figure 2) configured to communicate with and exchange data with a plurality of mobile devices via a crowdsourcing platform, the server comprising at least one processor (reference numeral 202 in Figure 2) coupled to at least one memory (reference numeral 226 in Figure 2) containing instructions executable by the processor to cause the server system to: receive, for each of the plurality of mobile devices (reference numeral 125, 145 in Figure 1; reference numeral 125F, 125G in Figure 4C; reference numeral 1204N in Figure 12), location data (e.g. via “positioning sensor” as in paragraph [0138]; e.g. “location” as in paragraph [0144]) identifying a location of the mobile device relative to a mapped environment and user identification data (e.g. “personalized profile” as in paragraph [0293]) identifying a user of the mobile device; maintain, in the at least one memory, a user profile (e.g. “personalized profile” as in paragraph [0293]) for each identified user including at least a current or last known location for the user relative to the environment based on the location data (e.g. via “positioning sensor” as in paragraph [0138]; e.g. “location” as in paragraph [0144], [0293]); receive, via the crowdsourcing platform, notification of an event at an event location (e.g. “fault” as in paragraph [0125; e.g. “cleaning event, a restocking event, a rearrangement event” as in paragraph [0228]]) ; identify, from the current or last known location of each user stored in the user profiles , a set of users within a predetermined proximity to the event location (e.g. via “positioning sensor” as in paragraph [0138]; e.g. “location” as in paragraph [0144]; e.g. “indication that the customer is near “ as in paragraph [0293]); identify an item within the environment related to the event (e.g. “products” “pricing” “promotions” “issues” as in paragraph [0229]); and communicate at least one alert (e.g. “real-time automated alerts” as in paragraph [0229]; e.g. “notification representing an offer” as in paragraph [0273]) to the set of users alerting the users of the event and including a rendered layout of the environment comprising an augmented reality image or virtual reality image identifying the item and item location within the environment related to the event (e.g. “a map of the specific retail store 105 with real-time indications of selected in-store execution events” “with augmented markings” as in paragraph [0229]; e.g. “include a map” as in paragraph [0273]).
Regarding claim 2, 12, ADATO teaches The system of claim 1, wherein the mobile device comprises a tablet computer, a laptop computer, a notebook computer, a mobile computing device, a smart phone, or a cellular telephone ((paragraph [0125]).
Regarding claim 3, 13, ADATO teaches The system of claim 1, wherein the location data includes data captured by one or more sensors of the mobile device (e.g. “sensors” as in paragraph [0114], [0131], [0138] and throughout).
Regarding claim 4, 14, ADATO teaches The system of claim 3, wherein the one or more sensors are configured to capture data related to at least one of motion or position of the mobile device (paragraph [0138]) , signals transmitted from or to the mobile device, and direct user input with the mobile device.
Regarding claim 5, 15, ADATO teaches The system of claim 4, wherein the one or more sensors are selected from the group consisting of a motion sensor (paragraph [0138]), a received signal strength (RSS) sensor, a global positioning satellite (GPS) sensor (paragraph [0138]), and a touch sensor.
Regarding claim 6, 16, ADATO teaches The system of claim 1, wherein the event is an emergency situation (e.g. “emergency level” as in paragraph [0249]).
Regarding claim 7, 17, ADATO teaches The system of claim 1, wherein the item comprises an exit (e.g. “exit of the retail store” as in paragraph [0249]).
Regarding claim 10, 20, ADATO teaches The system of claim 1, wherein the instructions further cause the server system to detect users in proximity to the set of users (e.g. via “positioning sensor” as in paragraph [0138]; e.g. “location” as in paragraph [0144]; e.g. “crowd sourcing” as in paragraph [0146]; e.g. “indication that the customer is near “ as in paragraph [0293]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-9 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ADATO in view of McSheffrey (Publication No.: US 2009/0237239 A1) .
Regarding claim 8, 9, 18, 19 ADATO teaches The system of claim 1, but fails to specifically teach that the item comprises a medical device or a fire extinguisher. However, ADATO suggests as much via disclosure of detection and identification of inanimate objects (paragraph [0159]) in an effort to map all objects in a retail store. Furthermore, McSheffrey teaches that identifying a fire extinguisher or a medical device as objects tracked within an environment is well known in the art (e.g. “fire extinguisher” defibrillator” paragraph [0017] and throughout). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art to select the identified item as one of a fire extinguisher or a medical device.
Conclusion
/AGUSTIN BELLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2635