DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/16/2024, 08/13/2024 and 02/25/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-8, 12, 15-18, 21-22 and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2022/0350226) in view of Greer et al. (US 2018/0194619).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses an optical imaging module (Figures 2 and 3), comprising: an optical imaging lens assembly (Figure 2) comprising at least one optical lens element ([0046] discloses: 400, light-blocking structure); a light path folding element ([0046] discloses: 300, second reflection module) having an incident surface (Figure 2 depicts: 300, second reflection module, as having an incident surface; [0062] discloses: 300, second reflection module; Examiner notes that, in a mirror, a single reflective surface performs the functions of an incident surface, a reflecting surface and an emitting surface), an emitting surface ([0062] discloses: 300, second reflection module; Examiner notes that, in a mirror, a single reflective surface performs the functions of an incident surface, a reflecting surface and an emitting surface) and at least one optical reflecting surface ([0062] discloses: 300, second reflection module; Examiner notes that, in a mirror, a single reflective surface performs the functions of an incident surface, a reflecting surface and an emitting surface), and the light path folding element disposed on an image side of the optical imaging lens assembly (Figure 2 depicts: 300, second reflection module, on right hand side of Figure 2, considered the image side of the optical lens assembly); and a light blocking element ([0100] discloses: 470, light blocking member) disposed on one of the at least one optical lens element and the light path folding element (Figure 3 depicts: 470, light blocking member, to be disposed on 400, light-blocking structure), and the light blocking element comprising: an opening hole (Figure 3 depicts: opening hole on 470, light blocking member; [0101] discloses: 470, light blocking member, continuously disposed along the edge of 450, infrared cutoff filter; Examiner notes that this creates a hole in 470, light blocking member) corresponded to one of the incident surface and the emitting surface of the light path folding element (Figure 2 depicts: hole of 470, light blocking member, Figure 2 is perpendicular to hole, corresponding to the emitting surface of 300, second reflection module, that is considered the light path folding element); and a light blocking surface (Examiner notes that the 4 sides of 470, light blocking member are considered the light blocking surface) adjacent to the opening hole (Figure 3 depicts: 470, light blocking member); wherein the light blocking surface is opposite to at least one of the incident surface, the emitting surface and the at least one optical reflecting surface of the light path folding element (Examiner notes that at least one side of 470, light blocking member is opposite to the emitting/incident/reflecting surface of 300, second reflection module).
Lee fails to disclose an apparatus wherein the light blocking surface having an anti-reflective light blocking membrane layer; wherein a surface of the anti-reflective light blocking membrane layer has a plurality of nanostructures, and the nanostructures are arranged in an irregular form. Lee and Greer are related because they both control optical properties (Greer: 0035).
Greer teaches an apparatus wherein the light blocking surface having an anti-reflective light blocking membrane layer ([0095] teaches: a lens with nanotexture enables anti-reflection; Examiner notes that the nanotexture layer is considered the anti-reflective light blocking membrane layer); wherein a surface of the anti-reflective light blocking membrane layer has a plurality of nanostructures ([0095] teaches: nanostructures), and the nanostructures are arranged in an irregular form ([0108] teaches: surface texture, may comprise, irregular jagged peaks).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Lee to incorporate the teachings of Greer and provide an apparatus wherein the light blocking surface having an anti-reflective light blocking membrane layer; wherein a surface of the anti-reflective light blocking membrane layer has a plurality of nanostructures, and the nanostructures are arranged in an irregular form. Doing so would allow for decrease or increase of the reflectivity of light incident upon the surface and to modified antireflective properties according to different concepts (Greer: 0107-0108), thereby improving the overall functionality and efficiency of the optical system.
Regarding claim 2, the modified Lee discloses the optical imaging module of claim 1, wherein the light blocking surface (the 4 sides of 470, light blocking member) is opposite to the incident surface (Figure 1 depicts: 400, light-blocking structure, opposite to incident surface of 300, second reflection module; Examiner notes that the top side of Figure 2 is considered the “main surface” with the “opposite” the bottom side of Figure 2; without further definition of the term “opposite” the limitations are considered unpatentable under BRI) of the light path folding element ([0046] discloses: 300, second reflection module).
Regarding claim 3, the modified Lee discloses the optical imaging module of claim 1, wherein the light blocking surface (the 4 sides of 470, light blocking member) is opposite to the emitting surface (Figure 1 depicts: 400, light-blocking structure, opposite to emitting surface of 300, second reflection module; Examiner notes that the top side of Figure 2 is considered the “main surface” with the “opposite” the bottom side of Figure 2; without further definition of the term “opposite” the limitations are considered unpatentable under BRI) of the light path folding element ([0046] discloses: 300, second reflection module).
Regarding claim 4, the modified Lee discloses the optical imaging module of claim 1, wherein the light blocking surface (the 4 sides of 470, light blocking member) is opposite to the at least one optical reflecting surface (Figure 1 depicts: 400, light-blocking structure, opposite to reflecting surface of 300, second reflection module; Examiner notes that the top side of Figure 2 is considered the “main surface” with the “opposite” the bottom side of Figure 2; without further definition of the term “opposite” the limitations are considered unpatentable under BRI) of the light path folding element ([0046] discloses: 300, second reflection module).
Regarding claim 7, the modified Lee discloses the optical imaging module of claim 1, wherein a structural shape of each of the nanostructures is a ball-like protrusion structure (Greer: [0038] teaches: buckyball nanostructure; therefore considered to be a ball-like protrusion structure; Examiner notes that the same motivation to combine applied to an earlier claim, 1, also applies here, and no further analysis is required, consistent with MPEP § 2143, which permits reliance on previously articulated rationale where the combination and reasonings remain unchanged).
Regarding claim 8, the modified Lee discloses the optical imaging module of claim 7, wherein a size of the ball-like protrusion structure of each of the nanostructures is BS, and the following condition is satisfied:
12 nm < BS < 138 nm (Greer: [0088] teaches: nanoparticles with dimensions of 200 nm or less, which includes the claimed range; Examiner notes that the same motivation to combine applied to an earlier claim, 1, also applies here, and no further analysis is required, consistent with MPEP § 2143, which permits reliance on previously articulated rationale where the combination and reasonings remain unchanged).
Regarding claim 12, the modified Lee discloses the optical imaging module of claim 1, wherein the opening hole of the light blocking element is a non-circular opening hole (Figure 3 depicts: hole as non-circular, i.e., as a square).
Regarding claim 15, Lee discloses an optical imaging module (Figures 2 and 3), comprising: an optical imaging lens assembly (Figure 2) comprising at least one optical lens element ([0046] discloses: 400, light-blocking structure); a light path folding element ([0046] discloses: 300, second reflection module) having an incident surface (Figure 2 depicts: 300, second reflection module; Examiner notes that, in a mirror, a single reflective surface performs the functions of an incident surface, a reflecting surface and an emitting surface), an emitting surface (Figure 2 depicts: 300, second reflection module; Examiner notes that, in a mirror, a single reflective surface performs the functions of an incident surface, a reflecting surface and an emitting surface) and at least one optical reflecting surface (Figure 2 depicts: 300, second reflection module; Examiner notes that, in a mirror, a single reflective surface performs the functions of an incident surface, a reflecting surface and an emitting surface), and the light path folding element disposed on an image side of the optical imaging lens assembly (Figure 2 depicts: 300, second reflection module, on right hand side of Figure 2, considered the image side of the optical lens assembly); and a light blocking element ([0100] discloses: 470, light blocking member) disposed on one of the at least one optical lens element and the light path folding element (Figure 3 depicts: 470, light blocking member, to be disposed on 400, light-blocking structure), and the light blocking element comprising: a light blocking surface (Examiner notes that the 4 sides of 470, light blocking member are considered the light blocking surface) disposed toward the light path folding element (Figure 3 depicts: 470, light blocking member, disposed toward the light path folding element), wherein the light blocking surface is opposite to at least one of the incident surface, the emitting surface and the at least one optical reflecting surface of the light path folding element (Examiner notes that at least one side of 470, light blocking member is opposite to the emitting/incident/reflecting surface of 300, second reflection module).
Lee fails to disclose an apparatus wherein the light blocking surface having an anti-reflective light blocking membrane layer; wherein a surface of the anti-reflective light blocking membrane layer has a plurality of nanostructures, and the nanostructures are arranged in an irregular form. Lee and Greer are related because they both control optical properties (Greer: 0035).
Greer teaches an apparatus wherein the light blocking surface having an anti-reflective light blocking membrane layer ([0095] teaches: a lens with nanotexture enables anti-reflection; Examiner notes that the nanotexture layer is considered the anti-reflective light blocking membrane layer); wherein a surface of the anti-reflective light blocking membrane layer has a plurality of nanostructures ([0095] teaches: nanostructures), and the nanostructures are arranged in an irregular form ([0108] teaches: surface texture, may comprise, irregular jagged peaks).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Lee to incorporate the teachings of Greer and provide an apparatus wherein the light blocking surface having an anti-reflective light blocking membrane layer; wherein a surface of the anti-reflective light blocking membrane layer has a plurality of nanostructures, and the nanostructures are arranged in an irregular form. Doing so would allow for decrease or increase of the reflectivity of light incident upon the surface and to modified antireflective properties according to different concepts (Greer: 0107-0108), thereby improving the overall functionality and efficiency of the optical system.
Regarding claim 16, the modified Lee discloses the optical imaging module of claim 15, wherein the light blocking surface (the 4 sides of 470, light blocking member) is opposite to the incident surface (Figure 1 depicts: 400, light-blocking structure, opposite to incident surface of 300, second reflection module; Examiner notes that the top side of Figure 2 is considered the “main surface” with the “opposite” the bottom side of Figure 2; without further definition of the term “opposite” the limitations are considered unpatentable under BRI) of the light path folding element ([0046] discloses: 300, second reflection module).
Regarding claim 17, the modified Lee discloses the optical imaging module of claim 15, wherein the light blocking surface (the 4 sides of 470, light blocking member) is opposite to the emitting surface (Figure 1 depicts: 400, light-blocking structure, opposite to emitting surface of 300, second reflection module; Examiner notes that the top side of Figure 2 is considered the “main surface” with the “opposite” the bottom side of Figure 2; without further definition of the term “opposite” the limitations are considered unpatentable under BRI) of the light path folding element ([0046] discloses: 300, second reflection module).
Regarding claim 18, the modified Lee discloses the optical imaging module of claim 15, wherein the light blocking surface (the 4 sides of 470, light blocking member) is opposite to the at least one optical reflecting surface (Figure 1 depicts: 400, light-blocking structure, opposite to reflecting surface of 300, second reflection module; Examiner notes that the top side of Figure 2 is considered the “main surface” with the “opposite” the bottom side of Figure 2; without further definition of the term “opposite” the limitations are considered unpatentable under BRI) of the light path folding element ([0046] discloses: 300, second reflection module).
Regarding claim 21, the modified Lee discloses the optical imaging module of claim 15, wherein a structural shape of each of the nanostructures is a ball-like protrusion structure (Greer: [0038] teaches: buckyball nanostructure; therefore considered to be a ball-like protrusion structure; Examiner notes that the same motivation to combine applied to an earlier claim, 15, also applies here, and no further analysis is required, consistent with MPEP § 2143, which permits reliance on previously articulated rationale where the combination and reasonings remain unchanged).
Regarding claim 22, the modified Lee discloses the optical imaging module of claim 21, wherein a size of the ball-like protrusion structure of each of the nanostructures is BS, and the following condition is satisfied:
12 nm < BS < 138 nm (Greer: [0088] teaches: nanoparticles with dimensions of 200 nm or less, which includes the claimed range; Examiner notes that the same motivation to combine applied to an earlier claim, 1, also applies here, and no further analysis is required, consistent with MPEP § 2143, which permits reliance on previously articulated rationale where the combination and reasonings remain unchanged).
Regarding claim 29, the modified Lee discloses the camera module, comprising: the optical imaging module of claim 15; and an image sensor (in at least abstract discloses: an image sensor module).
Regarding claim 30, the modified Lee discloses an electronic device, comprising: the camera module of claim 29 (Examiner notes that the camera module of Lee is considered an electronic device).
Claims 5 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2022/0350226) in view of Greer et al. (US 2018/0194619), as applied to claim 4 and 18 above, in view of Feldman et al. (US 2022/0163706).
Regarding claim 5, the modified Lee discloses the optical imaging module of claim 4.
Lee fails to disclose a module wherein the at least one optical reflecting surface of the light path folding element reflects an imaging light by an optical total reflection phenomenon. Lee and Feldman are related because both disclose optical systems.
Feldman teaches a module wherein the at least one optical reflecting surface of the light path folding element reflects an imaging light by an optical total reflection phenomenon ([0038] teaches: 100, prism, may reflect light under a phenomenon called total internal reflection).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Lee to incorporate the teachings of Feldman and provide a module wherein the at least one optical reflecting surface of the light path folding element reflects an imaging light by an optical total reflection phenomenon. Doing so would allow for the light folding element to reflect light via total internal reflection, thereby increasing reflectivity and reducing optical losses.
Regarding claim 19, the modified Lee discloses the optical imaging module of claim 18.
Lee fails to disclose a module wherein the at least one optical reflecting surface of the light path folding element reflects an imaging light by an optical total reflection phenomenon. Lee and Feldman are related because both disclose optical systems.
Feldman teaches a module wherein the at least one optical reflecting surface of the light path folding element reflects an imaging light by an optical total reflection phenomenon ([0038] teaches: 100, prism, may reflect light under a phenomenon called total internal reflection).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Lee to incorporate the teachings of Feldman and provide a module wherein the at least one optical reflecting surface of the light path folding element reflects an imaging light by an optical total reflection phenomenon. Doing so would allow for the light folding element to reflect light via total internal reflection, thereby increasing reflectivity and reducing optical losses.
Claims 6 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2022/0350226) in view of Greer et al. (US 2018/0194619), as applied to claim 4 and 18 above, in view of Hu et al. (US 2021/0084266).
Regarding claim 6, the modified Lee discloses the optical imaging module of claim 4.
Lee fails to disclose a module wherein the at least one optical reflecting surface of the light path folding element reflects an imaging light by a high-reflecting film. Lee and Hu are related because both disclose optical systems.
Hu teaches disclose a module wherein the at least one optical reflecting surface of the light path folding element reflects an imaging light by a high-reflecting film ([0046] teaches: reflecting mirrors with high-reflecting films).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Lee to incorporate the teachings of Hu and provide a module wherein the at least one optical reflecting surface of the light path folding element reflects an imaging light by a high-reflecting film. Doing so would allow for high reflectivity, thereby reducing optical loss and improving overall optical efficiency of the optical imaging module.
Regarding claim 20, the modified Lee discloses the optical imaging module of claim 18.
Lee fails to disclose a module wherein the at least one optical reflecting surface of the light path folding element reflects an imaging light by a high-reflecting film. Lee and Hu are related because both disclose optical systems.
Hu teaches disclose a module wherein the at least one optical reflecting surface of the light path folding element reflects an imaging light by a high-reflecting film ([0046] teaches: reflecting mirrors with high-reflecting films).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Lee to incorporate the teachings of Hu and provide a module wherein the at least one optical reflecting surface of the light path folding element reflects an imaging light by a high-reflecting film. Doing so would allow for high reflectivity, thereby reducing optical loss and improving overall optical efficiency of the optical imaging module.
Claims 9-10 and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2022/0350226) in view of Greer et al. (US 2018/0194619), as applied to claim 1 and 15 above, in view of Cobb et al. (US 2018/0313981).
Regarding claim 9, the modified Lee discloses the optical imaging module of claim 1.
Lee fails to disclose a module wherein a structural shape of each of the nanostructures is a ridge-like protrusion structure. Lee and Cobb are related because both disclose optical systems.
Cobb teaches a module wherein a structural shape of each of the nanostructures is a ridge-like protrusion structure ([0048] teaches: anti-reflective surface of nanostructure ridges).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Lee to incorporate the teachings of Cobb and provide a module wherein a structural shape of each of the nanostructures is a ridge-like protrusion structure. Doing so would allow for controlled reflectivity, thereby reducing optical loss and improving overall optical efficiency of the optical imaging module.
Regarding claim 10, the modified Lee discloses the optical imaging module of claim 9, wherein a size of the ridge-like protrusion structure of each of the nanostructures is RS, and the following condition is satisfied:
60 nm < RS < 360 nm (Cobb: [0048] teaches: heights of nanostructures 5 nm to 300 nm, which overlaps the claimed range; Examiner notes that the same motivation to combine applied to an earlier claim, 9, also applies here, and no further analysis is required, consistent with MPEP § 2143, which permits reliance on previously articulated rationale where the combination and reasonings remain unchanged).
Regarding claim 23, the modified Lee discloses the optical imaging module of claim 15.
Lee fails to disclose a module wherein a structural shape of each of the nanostructures is a ridge-like protrusion structure. Lee and Cobb are related because both disclose optical systems.
Cobb teaches a module wherein a structural shape of each of the nanostructures is a ridge-like protrusion structure ([0048] teaches: anti-reflective surface of nanostructure ridges).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Lee to incorporate the teachings of Cobb and provide a module wherein a structural shape of each of the nanostructures is a ridge-like protrusion structure. Doing so would allow for controlled reflectivity, thereby reducing optical loss and improving overall optical efficiency of the optical imaging module.
Regarding claim 24, the modified Lee discloses the optical imaging module of claim 23, wherein a size of the ridge-like protrusion structure of each of the nanostructures is RS, and the following condition is satisfied:
60 nm < RS < 360 nm (Cobb: [0048] teaches: heights of nanostructures 5 nm to 300 nm, which overlaps the claimed range; Examiner notes that the same motivation to combine applied to an earlier claim, 9, also applies here, and no further analysis is required, consistent with MPEP § 2143, which permits reliance on previously articulated rationale where the combination and reasonings remain unchanged).
Claims 11 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2022/0350226) in view of Greer et al. (US 2018/0194619), as applied to claim 1 and 15 above, in view of Konno et al. (US 2006/0092524).
Regarding claim 11, the modified Lee discloses the optical imaging module of claim 1.
Lee fails to disclose a module wherein a number of the at least one optical reflecting surface of the light path folding element is greater than or equal to two. Lee and Konno are related because both disclose optical systems.
Konno teaches a module wherein a number of the at least one optical reflecting surface of the light path folding element is greater than or equal to two ([0010] teaches: two reflecting surfaces).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Lee to incorporate the teachings of Konno and provide a module wherein a number of the at least one optical reflecting surface of the light path folding element is greater than or equal to two. Doing so would allow for the bending of the optical axis in the preferred degree, thereby improving the overall functionality and efficiency of the optical system.
Regarding claim 25, the modified Lee discloses the optical imaging module of claim 15.
Lee fails to disclose a module wherein a number of the at least one optical reflecting surface of the light path folding element is greater than or equal to two. Lee and Konno are related because both disclose optical systems.
Konno teaches a module wherein a number of the at least one optical reflecting surface of the light path folding element is greater than or equal to two ([0010] teaches: two reflecting surfaces).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Lee to incorporate the teachings of Konno and provide a module wherein a number of the at least one optical reflecting surface of the light path folding element is greater than or equal to two. Doing so would allow for the bending of the optical axis in the preferred degree, thereby improving the overall functionality and efficiency of the optical system.
Claims 13-14 and 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2022/0350226) in view of Greer et al. (US 2018/0194619), as applied to claim 1 and 15 above, in view of Yarborough et al. (US 5,558,667).
Regarding claim 13, the modified Lee discloses the optical imaging module of claim 1.
Lee fails to disclose a module wherein a distance between the light blocking surface and the light path folding element is D, and the following condition is satisfied:
0 mm < D < 1.8 mm. However, optimizing mirror/optical component distances is well within the bounds of normal experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05 II (A). “Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to dis-cover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. ”In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Furthermore, “a particular parameter must first be recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, before the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation. ”In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977). In the case at hand, Yarborough teaches in Col. 3, lines 48-50, the spacing of the mirrors is set to optimize performance and establishes mirror/optical components as a variable which achieves a recognized result. Doing so would allow for performance adjustments while maintaining a compact size for the module. Therefore, the prior art teaches adjusting a distance between the light blocking surface and the light path folding element and identifies said sizes/ratios as result-effective variables. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to set the distance between the light blocking surface and the light path folding element to be below 1.8 mm as part of routine optimization of a result effective spacing parameter since it is not inventive to dis-cover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.
Regarding claim 14, the modified Lee discloses the optical imaging module of claim 13.
Lee fails to disclose a module wherein the distance between the light blocking surface and the light path folding element is D, and the following condition is satisfied:
0 mm < D < 1.2 mm. However, optimizing mirror/optical component distances is well within the bounds of normal experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05 II (A). “Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to dis-cover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. ”In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Furthermore, “a particular parameter must first be recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, before the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation. ”In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977). In the case at hand, Yarborough teaches in Col. 3, lines 48-50, the spacing of the mirrors is set to optimize performance and establishes mirror/optical components as a variable which achieves a recognized result. Doing so would allow for performance adjustments while maintaining a compact size for the module. Therefore, the prior art teaches adjusting a distance between the light blocking surface and the light path folding element and identifies said sizes/ratios as result-effective variables. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to set the distance between the light blocking surface and the light path folding element to be below 1.2 mm as part of routine optimization of a result effective spacing parameter since it is not inventive to dis-cover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.
Regarding claim 27, the modified Lee discloses the optical imaging module of claim 15.
Lee fails to disclose a module wherein a distance between the light blocking surface and the light path folding element is D, and the following condition is satisfied:
0 mm < D < 1.8 mm. However, optimizing mirror/optical component distances is well within the bounds of normal experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05 II (A). “Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to dis-cover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. ”In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Furthermore, “a particular parameter must first be recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, before the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation. ”In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977). In the case at hand, Yarborough teaches in Col. 3, lines 48-50, the spacing of the mirrors is set to optimize performance and establishes mirror/optical components as a variable which achieves a recognized result. Doing so would allow for performance adjustments while maintaining a compact size for the module. Therefore, the prior art teaches adjusting a distance between the light blocking surface and the light path folding element and identifies said sizes/ratios as result-effective variables. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to set the distance between the light blocking surface and the light path folding element to be below 1.8 mm as part of routine optimization of a result effective spacing parameter since it is not inventive to dis-cover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.
Regarding claim 28, the modified Lee discloses the optical imaging module of claim 27.
Lee fails to disclose a module wherein the distance between the light blocking surface and the light path folding element is D, and the following condition is satisfied:
0 mm < D < 1.2 mm. However, optimizing mirror/optical component distances is well within the bounds of normal experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05 II (A). “Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to dis-cover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. ”In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Furthermore, “a particular parameter must first be recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, before the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation. ”In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977). In the case at hand, Yarborough teaches in Col. 3, lines 48-50, the spacing of the mirrors is set to optimize performance and establishes mirror/optical components as a variable which achieves a recognized result. Doing so would allow for performance adjustments while maintaining a compact size for the module. Therefore, the prior art teaches adjusting a distance between the light blocking surface and the light path folding element and identifies said sizes/ratios as result-effective variables. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to set the distance between the light blocking surface and the light path folding element to be below 1.2 mm as part of routine optimization of a result effective spacing parameter since it is not inventive to dis-cover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2022/0350226) in view of Greer et al. (US 2018/0194619), as applied to claim 15 above, in view of Zhao et al. (US 2022/0294945).
Regarding claim 26, the modified Lee discloses the optical imaging module of claim 15.
Lee fails to disclose a device wherein the light blocking surface is disposed between the at least one optical lens element and the light path folding element. Lee and Zhao are related because both disclose camera modules.
Zhao teaches a device wherein the light blocking surface (Figure 8 depicts: 50, light blocking structure) is disposed between the at least one optical lens element (Figure 8 depicts: 20, optical lens) and the light path folding element (Figure 8 depicts: 30, second reflective element; 50, light blocking structure is disposed between 30, second reflective element and 20, optical lens).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Lee to incorporate the teachings of Zhao and provide disclose a device wherein the light blocking surface is disposed between the at least one optical lens element and the light path folding element. Doing so would allow for controlled reflectivity, thereby reducing optical loss and improving overall optical efficiency of the optical imaging module.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Jeong et al. (US 2024/0168265), Kwak et al. (US 11,785,323), Saiga et al. (US 11,762,174) and Goldberg et al. (US 2021/0048649) all disclose relevant optical systems.
/J.C.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/BUMSUK WON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872