DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "toward open end" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 6 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cornelius et al. (US-20200148430-A1).
Cornelius discloses an arrangement comprising a sport bottle lid (10), a flip cap (28, 26), and a pivot loop (18) including a hinge pin arm (23, 33) that hingedly secures a hinge end (35) of the flip cap to a hinge arrangement (15) on the sport bottle lid, wherein the flip cap is pivotable in the hinge arrangement on the sport bottle lid without requiring the pivot loop (pars. 0023 and 0024), the pivot loop comprises the hinge pin arm (23) and a bail (at 20) extending from the hinge pin arm in form of a loop and is insertable into the hinge arrangement by the hinge pin arm via a hinge post (15) located in a hinge base which is formed on the sport bottle lid (Fig. 2), the flip cap and the pivot loop can be swivelled independently of each other (pars. 0023 and 0024), wherein the bail has one open end (between 22 and 23) opposite the connection to the hinge pin arm, wherein the open end of the bail comprises a fastening member (22), wherein the hinge pin arm comprises a first latching element (23) and / or a second latching element (22) for engaging with the hinge posts, wherein the hinge pin arm is a two-part element with opposing half shells (23 and 22).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cornelius in view of Lake (US-20190152655-A1).
Cornelius teaches all the claimed limitations as show above but fails to teach wherein the bail comprises a rubber or softer elastic plastic component within its loop form or on top thereof.
Lake teaches that it is known in the art to manufacture a handle with a rubber member (par. 0091).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have manufacture the pivot loop with rubber, in order to make it easier to grip.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cornelius in view of Murphy (US-20060208515-A1).
Cornelius teaches all the claimed limitations as show above but fails to teach wherein the hinge pin arm is a hollow element having a longitudinal slot.
Murphy teaches that it is known in the art to manufacture handle components as a hollow element having a longitudinal slot (Figs. 2, 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have manufacture the arrangement with hollow components, as taught by Murphy, in order to reduce the amount of material used.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cornelius in view of Charles (US-D742230-S).
Cornelius teaches all the claimed limitations as show above but fails to teach wherein the bail comprises towards its open end a swivel arm connected to a joint.
Charles teaches that it is known in the art to manufacture a handle swivel arm connected to a joint (Figs. 1, 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have manufacture the pivot loop with the structure taught by Charles, in order to make it easier to secure items with the pivot arm.
Claim(s) 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cornelius and Charles in view of Petzl et al. (US-20090056088-A1).
The modified arrangement of Cornelius teaches all the claimed limitations as show above but fails to teach wherein the bail comprises towards its open end a thread/sliding guide with a union sleeve/connecting sleeve.
Petzl teaches that it is known in the art to manufacture a handle with a thread/sliding guide (26) with a union sleeve/connecting sleeve (25).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have manufacture the pivot loop with the closing structure taught by Petzl, in order to ensure that the pivot arm is secured in a closed configuration.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/22/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the independent mounting of the components or the outward location of the components relative to one another) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEFFREY R ALLEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733