DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-9, 19, and 20 in the reply filed on 06/15/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 10-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-9, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rumph (US 6964511, hereinafter Rumph).
Regarding claim 1, Rumph discloses a fluid moving device for manure agitation in a pit located beneath a confinement building, the device comprising:
a boom (figure 4, item 104) configured to extend vertically into a pump-out wall of the pit (at opening 102); and
a mechanism (figure 3, mixing unit 14) for extending horizontally (see movement of unit 14 in figure 3) into a main chamber of the pit (figure 4, tank 110) to provide agitation.
Regarding claim 4, Rumph disclose a self-propelled mechanism (figure 4, truck 100) for moving the fluid moving device along a surface.
Regarding claim 5, Rumph discloses a frame (figure 3, mixing unit 14) that moves from a retracted position to an extended position horizontally into the main chamber of the pit (see movement depicted in figure 3).
Regarding claim 6, Rumph discloses the frame pivots, telescopes, or accordions from the retracted position to the extended position (see pivoting movement depicted in figure 3).
Regarding claim 7, Rumph discloses an agitation device (figure 1, propellers 82 and 84) at a distal end of the mechanism.
Regarding claim 8, Rumph discloses the agitation device is rotatable relative to the mechanism (figure 1, propellers 82 and 84 would be rotatable as recited).
Regarding claim 9, Rumph discloses the agitation device includes a propeller (figure 1, propellers 82 and 84) or nozzle.
Regarding claim 19, Rumph discloses a fluid moving device for manure agitation in a pit located beneath a confinement building, the device comprising:
a boom (figure 4, item 104) configured to extend vertically into a pump-out wall of the pit; and
a self-propelled mechanism (truck 100) for moving along a surface.
Regarding claim 20, Rumph discloses a mechanism (figure 3, mixing unit 14) for extending horizontally into a main chamber of the pit to provide agitation (see figure 4), wherein the mechanism includes a frame that pivots, telescopes, or accordions from a retracted position to an extended position (see pivoting motion depicted in figure 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rumph (US 6964511, hereinafter Rumph) in view of Nuhn (US PGPub 2017/0118907, hereinafter Nuhn).
Regarding claim 2, Rumph is silent to a pump. Nuhn teaches a fluid moving device having a pivoting pipe (nozzle 22) and a boom that includes a pump (figure 4, pump 10). To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to have provided the apparatus of Rumph with the pump of Nuhn because the substitution of the pump for the propellers of Rumph would have provided only the predictable result of agitating fluid in the pit, as evidenced by the references. See KSR International Co. V. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 3 is deemed to contain allowable subject matter because it recites a load stand that is not reasonably disclosed, taught, or suggested by the prior art of record.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The cited prior art generally discloses mixers mounted on booms for use in slurry pits.
/MARC C HOWELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774