Claim Objections
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities: AIS (line 4) changed to “Automatic Identification System (AIS)”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the first platform’s AIS information" in the last limitation of claim 1. “"the first platform’s AIS information” is never previously introduced or defined in the claim. Thus, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 2 – 15 are also rejected under 35 USC § 112, because they depend on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 6, 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Willart et al. (US. Patent No. 9,807,554).
Regarding claim 1, Willart teaches receiving sensor data from a passive sensor (Col. 9, Lines 17-19: Examples of sensing means 237 comprise a motion-, camera- or contact sensor) mounted to a first platform (Col. 9, Lines 13-14: The sensing means 237 is arranged to detect a physical change on board the vessel); using a first computer mounted on the first platform to encode the sensor data (Col. 5, Lines 39-46: Furthermore, the sending device 100 comprises a message assembly means 132, arranged to assemble, digitally store… The message assembly means 132 receives the information to be sent in the AIS message… which may comprise information such as the geographical position) into a binary code that fits within a message field of an AIS transmission associated with the first platform (Col. 4, Lines 21-22: FIG. 1 illustrates the general data structure of an AIS message, comprising the following binary encoded fields.); transmitting the AIS transmission that includes the binary code (Col. 5, Lines 47-50: The sending device 100 also comprises a sending means 134, arranged to, at the said sensing of the said sensing means and using an antenna 135, transmit the AIS-message in the form of the transmitted radio signal 120.) to a second platform (Col. 9, Lines 44-47: The incident signal is then detected using the antenna 135 in the receiving device 100. Col. 3, Lines 28-30: piece of equipment 100 , permanently or fixedly installed on land, for sending and receiving AIS messages.) using a second computer to decode the sensor data from the binary code in the AIS transmission from the first platform (Col. 7, Lines 62-66: decoding means 239 for… interpreting the binary coded information contained in the AIS message. Note: A means for decoding binary coded information is necessarily performed by a second computer.); and displaying the first platform’s AIS information along with the decoded sensor data (Col. 8, Lines 1-3: the decoding means 239 is arranged to convey such information further, via an external interface.).
Regarding claim 4, Willart teaches the binary code is formatted as an AIS field type 6, 8, 25, or 26 message, and wherein the AIS transmission that includes the binary code fits (Col. 4, Lines 13-15: AIS messages 6, 8, 25 and 26 are instead designed to carry more freely, binary coded information.) into a single time division multiple access (TDMA) slot/sentence (Col. 9, Lines 32-24: AIS message of a particular type is to be sent, based for example on the time frame allocated for the sending device.).
Regarding claim 6, Willart teaches repeating the same transmission step at staggered time intervals (Col. 6, Lines 29-31: AIS messages are sent with different repetition frequencies, depending on how time critical the information they contain.).
Regarding claim 14, Willart teaches the passive sensor is a VHF receiver and the sensor data is AIS information regarding a given platform (Col. 5, Lines 26-27: readable by a receiving device for AIS messages. Note: AIS messages are necessarily received by a VHF receiver).
Regarding claim 15, Willart teaches the AIS information regarding the given platform was transmitted from the given platform with a class-B AIS transponder (Col. 5, Lines 27-29: The sending device 100 adheres to the specifications for a particular AIS type (such as “Class A”, “Class B”, base stations.).
Regarding claim 16, Willart teaches receiving a given AIS transmission (Col. 7. Line 56: arranged to receive AIS messages) associated with a given platform (Col. 8, Lines 4-5: described in connection to the sending device 100) with a sensor mounted to a first platform (Col. 7. Lines 55-56: receiving device 201 which is permanently mounted on the boat 200, arranged to receive AIS messages); encoding (Col. 5, Lines 39-46: Furthermore, the sending device 100 comprises a message assembly means 132, arranged to assemble, digitally store… The message assembly means 132 receives the information to be sent in the AIS message) the given AIS transmission into a binary code that fits within a message field of a first AIS transmission associated with the first platform (Col. 4, Lines 21-22: FIG. 1 illustrates the general data structure of an AIS message, comprising the following binary encoded fields.); transmitting the first AIS transmission that includes the binary code (Col. 5, Lines 47-50: The sending device 100 also comprises a sending means 134, arranged to, at the said sensing of the said sensing means and using an antenna 135, transmit the AIS-message in the form of the transmitted radio signal 120.) to a second platform (Col. 8, Lines 4-5: described in connection to the sending device 100); decoding the given AIS transmission from the binary code (Col. 7, Lines 62-66: decoding means 239 for… interpreting the binary coded information contained in the AIS message.); and displaying AIS details of both the first and given platforms (Col. 8, Lines 1-3: the decoding means 239 is arranged to convey such information further, via an external interface.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Willart et al. (US. Patent No. 9,807,554) in view of Connor et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,994,821).
Regarding claim 2, Willart teaches the method for transmitting information disclosed in claim 1, but Willart does not teach wherein the sensor data is encrypted.
Connor does teach wherein the sensor data is encrypted (Col. 22, Lines 29-47: AIS sensor using VHF signal. Col. 23, Lines 13-23: encryption module encrypting VHF signal). Willart teaches a method for transmitting information as AIS messages to VHF receivers. Connor teaches a method for encrypting VHF signals, AIS transmissions. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Willart’s method of transmitting sensor data as AIS messages to utilize Connor’s method of encrypting AIS transmissions to enhance signal intelligence capabilities (Connor: Col. 1).
Regarding claim 3, Willart in view of Connor teach the subject matter of claims 1 and 2, as disclosed above.
Willart fails to teach decrypting the sensor data with the second computer, but Connor teaches decrypting the sensor data with the second computer (Col. 24, Lines 65 – Col. 25, Line 2: shoreside application comprising encryption module decrypting VHF signal.) Willart teaches a method for transmitting information as AIS messages to VHF receivers. Connor teaches a method for encrypting and decrypting VHF signals, AIS transmissions. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Willart’s method of transmitting sensor data as AIS messages to utilize Connor’s method of encrypting and decrypting VHF signals to enhance signal intelligence capabilities (Connor: Col. 1).
Claims 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Willart et al. (US. Patent No. 9,807,554) in view of Kim et al. (U.S. Patent No. RE50,395 E).
Regarding claim 7, Willart teaches the subject matter disclosed in claim 1 and 4. Willart also teaches wherein the passive sensor is a camera (Col. 9. Lines 18-20: Examples of sensing means 237 comprise a motion-, camera- or contact sensor.), but Willart does not teach and the sensor data is an image, and further comprising: serializing imagery intensity values of the image; encoding portions of the serialized imagery intensity values into separate binary codes; and repeating the transmission step for each separate binary code.
Kim teaches and the sensor data is an image, and further comprising: serializing imagery intensity values of the image (Col. 7, Lines 50-52: divide an image corresponding to an image signal into images corresponding to each of the plurality of groups. Note: Examiner interprets image signal as imagery intensity. Col. 8, Lines 10-13: encode the divided image signals corresponding to each of the plurality of groups, and sequentially transmit the image signals. Note: Encoding and transmission of the data necessarily requires the image data to be serialized.); encoding portions of the serialized imagery intensity values into separate binary codes (Col. 8, Lines 10-13: encode the divided image signals corresponding to each of the plurality of groups.); and repeating the transmission step for each separate binary code (Col. 8, Lines 10-13: encode the divided image signals corresponding to each of the plurality of groups, and sequentially transmit the image signals.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Willart’s method of transmitting sensor data in AIS messages to include Kim’s method of transmitting image data to improve the efficiency of transmitting images across multiple devices(Kim: Col. 1, Line 38).
Claims 5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Willart et al. (US. Patent No. 9,807,554) in view of Cheng et al. (Chinese Pub. No. 115903006 A).
Please note: For identification of the cited portions of Cheng, please refer to the uploaded copy.
Regarding claim 5, Willart teaches the subject matter disclosed in claim 1 and 4. Willart does not teach wherein the sensor data is acoustic measurement data that includes an amplitude measured in decibels (dB) along with a time when measured.
Cheng does teach wherein the sensor data is acoustic measurement data that includes an amplitude measured in decibels (dB) along with a time when measured (Location 3: The acoustic monitoring equipment on each buoy monitors underwater noise for a long time. If there are ships sailing or mooring nearby, the acoustic equipment will conduct intelligent analysis based on the time domain and frequency domain characteristics of the underwater noise. Note: An analysis according to the time domain and frequency necessarily involve determining signal amplitude in decibels.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Willart’s method of transmitting sensor data in AIS messages to include acoustic measurement data to improve the monitoring of vessel activity near submarine pipelines (Cheng: Abstract).
Regarding claim 8, Willart teaches the subject matter disclosed in claim 1, but Willart does not teach wherein the passive sensor is a sonar sensor.
Cheng teaches wherein the passive sensor is a sonar sensor (Location 1: passive monitoring of underwater target, in particular to a ship underwater acoustic monitoring. Location 2: a buoy-based hydroacoustic measurement). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sensing means used to collect sensor data for transmission in AIS messages, as taught by Willart, to include Cheng’s passive sonar sensor as a sensing means to enhance underwater acoustic monitoring (Cheng: Abstract).
Claims 9 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Willart et al. (US. Patent No. 9,807,554) in view of Hope (U.S. Pub. No. 2015/0042505).
Regarding claim 9, Willart teaches the subject matter disclosed in claim 1, but Willart does not teach time, location, pulse length, pulse repetition frequency, and frequency band.
Hope teaches time ([0059]: rotation time), location ([0059]: reflections (e.g. from vessel installations and/or reflections from fixed or floating objects in the vicinity of the detector)), pulse length ([0059]: pulse length), pulse repetition frequency ([0059]: signal pulse repetition frequency), and frequency band ([0059]: the frequency composition (spectrum)).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Willart’s AIS transmission method to include Hope’s RF signal measurements to enhance the collision detection of vessels (Hope: [0002]).
Regarding claim 11, Willart teaches the subject matter disclosed in claim 1, but Willart does not teach wherein the sensor data consists of atmospheric propagation measurements that include a time, location, and signal strength in dB.
Hope does teach wherein the sensor data consists of atmospheric propagation measurements that include a time ([0059]: rotation time), location ([0059]: reflections (e.g. from vessel installations and/or reflections from fixed or floating objects in the vicinity of the detector)), and signal strength in dB ([0059]: the radar beam 4 strength (pulse power)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Willart’s AIS transmission method to include Hope’s atmospheric propagation measurements to enhance the collision detection of vessels (Hope: [0002]).
Regarding claim 12, Willart teaches all features disclosed in claim 1 and demodulated meta data (Col. 7, Lines 62-66: decoding means 239 for interpreting the binary coded information contained in the AIS message. Col. 8, Lines 56-57: identifies the sending party ( such as the AIS field " Source ID " )), but Willart does not disclose wherein the sensor data is direction finding data that includes a location, bearing, range, frequency, amplitude in dB, time, modulation type.
However, Hope teaches wherein the sensor data is direction finding data that includes a location ([0059]: reflections (e.g. from vessel installations and/or reflections from fixed or floating objects in the vicinity of the detector)), bearing ([0016]: calculating angles between the Successive signal vectors as a function of time intervals between signals), range ([0059]: range), frequency (frequency composition (spectrum)), amplitude in dB ([0016]: signal strength of the received signals), time ([0059]: rotation time), modulation type ([0059]: any other forms of signal modulation). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Willart’s AIS transmission method to include Hope’s passive sensor measurements to enhance the collision detection of vessels (Hope: [0002]).
Regarding claim 13, Willart in view of Hope teach claims 1 and 12, but Willart does not teach wherein the passive sensor is used to determine the range.
Hope does teach wherein the passive sensor ([0019]: passive and automatic monitoring system.) is used to determine the range ([0017]: establishing, when the vessel is at an initial range of course position line, a first signal vector between the vessel and the position of the detector unit). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Willart’s AIS transmission method to include Hope’s passive sensor measurements to enhance the collision detection of vessels (Hope: [0002]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Willart et al. (US. Patent No. 9,807,554) in view of Doulton et al. (WO 2025096024 A2).
Regarding claim 10, Willart teaches the subject matter disclosed by claim 1, but Willart does not disclose using an AIS repeater between the first platform and the second platform.
Doulton does disclose using an AIS repeater between the first platform and the second platform (pp. 46, lines 6-7: AIS (automatic identification system) or VDES (VHF Data Exchange System) where Solaris planes can be the repeater. Note: A repeater necessarily relays data between different platforms.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Willart’s AIS transmission method to use Doulton’s AIS repeaters to extend the range of AIS transmission (Doulton pp. 46, Line 7).
Claims 17 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Willart et al. (US. Patent No. 9,807,554) in view of Haifeng (G.B. Pub. No. 2574326 A).
Regarding claim 17, Willart teaches everything disclosed in claim 16, but Willart does not teach wherein the second platform is out of range of receiving the given AIS transmission directly from the given platform.
Haifeng does teach wherein the second platform is out of range of receiving the given AIS transmission directly from the given platform (pp. 18, Lines 25-26: “the third AIS terminal is outside or substantially outside a transmit range of the first AIS terminal.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Willart’s method of transmitting AIS messages with Haifeng’s method of relaying AIS transmissions to improve navigation and safety in maritime environment (Haifeng pp.1 Line 24).
Regarding claim 18, Willart in view of Haifeng does teach everything disclosed in claim 16 and 17, but Willart does not teach sending the given AIS transmission with a class-B AIS transceiver that is mounted to the given platform.
Haifeng does teach sending the given AIS transmission with a class-B AIS transceiver that is mounted to the given platform (pp.10, Lines 32-33: “CS-TDMA scheme is used to transmit the relayed, low-priority AIS messages. pp.10, Lines 24-25: Carrier-Sense Time Division Multiple Access, so-called ‘CS-TDMA, is one example of a common radio scheme used for Class B AIS transmitters.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Willart’s method of transmitting AIS messages with Haifeng’s method of relaying AIS transmissions using a class-B AIS transceiver to improve navigation and safety in maritime environment (Haifeng pp.1 Line 24).
Regarding claim 19, Willart in view of Haifeng teach all feature disclosed in claims 16 – 18, but Willart does not disclose wherein the AIS details include a unique identification, position, course, and speed for each of the first and given platforms.
Haifeng does teach wherein the AIS details include a unique identification, position, course, and speed for each of the first and given platforms (pp. 1, Lines 17-20: AIS communications provide an AIS signal which identifies a particular ship or AIS buoy and also identifies the location of the ship I buoy. Such standard AIS signals may also identify its course (including direction), speed and other details. These are the standard functions of AIS units.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Willart’s method of transmitting AIS messages with Haifeng’s method of relaying AIS details to improve navigation and safety in maritime environment (Haifeng pp.1 Line 24).
Regarding claim 20, Willart teaches claim 16, but Willart does not teach wherein the first platform transmits the first AIS transmission with a class-A transponder.
Haifeng does disclose wherein the first platform transmits the first AIS transmission with a class-A transponder (pp.10, Lines 31-32: SO-TDMA scheme is used to transmit the locally generated, high- priority AIS messages. pp.10, Lines 20-22: Self Organized Time Division Multiple Access, so-called ‘SO-TDMA, which is deployed in Class A AIS transceivers worldwide.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Willart’s method of transmitting AIS messages with Haifeng’s method of relaying AIS transmissions with a class-A transponder to improve navigation and safety in maritime environment (Haifeng pp.1 Line 24).
Conclusion
/VIJAY K MANNAVA/Examiner, Art Unit 2479 /JAE Y LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2479