DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 12, 14, 18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Maamari (US 2024/0090018).
Regarding Claims 1, 12 and 20, Maamari teaches a method for communication, comprising:
receiving, by a terminal device, configuration information from a network device (Figure 13, see specifically the electronic device 1352, and ¶ [0236], see specifically the description of the electionic device 1352 that articulates it can be a UE or a network component).
wherein the configuration information indicates (¶ [0067], see specifically SIB.)
a random access resource for an uplink carrier corresponding to a first-type terminal device (¶ [0217], see specifically the RACH configurations for the RedCap and Non-Redcap UE’s, ¶ [0184], see specifically subcarrier offset and number of subcarriers, ¶ [0209], see specifically the table which includes band configurations)
a random access resource for an uplink carrier corresponding to a second-type terminal device (¶ [0217], see specifically the RACH configurations for the RedCap and Non-Redcap UE’s, ¶ [0184], see specifically subcarrier offset and number of subcarriers, ¶ [0209], see specifically the table which includes band configurations); and
initiating, by the terminal device, random access based on the configuration information (¶ [0145], see specifically preambles and resources.)
Regarding Claim 14, Maamari fails to explicitly teach the configuration information specifically indicates that the first-type terminal device and the second-type terminal device respectively correspond to different uplink carriers (¶ [0135], see specifically bands)
Regarding Claim 18, Maamari teaches the configuration information specifically indicates that the first-type terminal device and the second-type terminal device respectively correspond to different random access resources for an uplink carrier (¶ [0217], see specifically the RACH configurations for the RedCap and Non-Redcap UE’s, ¶ [0184], see specifically subcarrier offset and number of subcarriers, ¶ [0209], see specifically the table which includes band configurations); and
wherein the configuration information is specifically used to configure a first random access resource for the uplink carrier and a second random access resource for the uplink carrier, the first random access resource being used for the first-type terminal device to initiate the random access, and the second random access resource being used for the second-type terminal device to initiate the random access (¶ [0217], see specifically the RACH configurations for the RedCap and Non-Redcap UE’s, ¶ [0184], see specifically subcarrier offset and number of subcarriers, ¶ [0209], see specifically the table which includes band configurations);
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maamari (US 2024/009 in view of Vodges (US 2024/0063894).
Regarding Claim 2 and 13, Maamari fails to explicitly teach the first-type terminal device and the second-type terminal device are divided according to at least one of a positioning capability or a timing advance pre-compensation capability.
Vogedes from the same or similar field of endeavor teaches the first-type terminal device and the second-type terminal device are divided according to at least one of a positioning capability or a timing advance pre-compensation capability.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of telecommunications at the time of the filing of the invention to use separate RACH configurations for positioning capability or timing advance in the system of Maamari as taught by Vogedes.
The motivation is that that these capabilities could be those that are reduced in the system of Maamari to save on UE cost.
Claim(s) 15 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maamari (US 2024/009 in view of Luo (US 2022/0183054).
Regarding Claim 15, Maamari fails to explicitly teach a first uplink non-anchor carrier list and a second uplink non-anchor carrier list, uplink non-anchor carriers in the first uplink non-anchor carrier list being used for the first-type terminal device to initiate the random access, and uplink non-anchor carriers in the second uplink non-anchor carrier list being used for the second-type terminal device to initiate the random access.
Luo from the same or similar field of endeavor a first uplink non-anchor carrier list and a second uplink non-anchor carrier list, uplink non-anchor carriers in the first uplink non-anchor carrier list being used for the first-type terminal device to initiate the random access, and uplink non-anchor carriers in the second uplink non-anchor carrier list being used for the second-type terminal device to initiate the random access (¶ [0208], see specifically capability information and non-anchor carrier.)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of telecommunications at the time of the filing of the invention to use a list of carriers in the system of Maamari as taught by Luo.
The motivation is that when a system supports connection on both anchor and non-anchor carriers, it would be obvious to include a list of which carriers are allowed to be used to allow the device to select the appropriate carrier in the system of Maamari.
Regarding Claim 17, Maamari fails to explicitly teach the configuration information further comprises first indication information for indicating that the uplink anchor carrier is used for the first-type terminal device or the second-type terminal device to initiate the random access.
Luo from the same or similar field of endeavor the configuration information further comprises first indication information for indicating that the uplink anchor carrier is used for the first-type terminal device or the second-type terminal device to initiate the random access (¶ [0208], see specifically capability information and non-anchor carrier.)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of telecommunications at the time of the filing of the invention to use a list of carriers in the system of Maamari as taught by Luo.
The motivation is that when a system supports connection on both anchor and non-anchor carriers, it would be obvious to include a list of which carriers are allowed to be used to allow the device to select the appropriate carrier in the system of Maamari.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-11, 16, 19 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ROBERT M MORLAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409
ROBERT M. MORLAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2409