DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Final Office Action is in response to the applicant’s amendment/response of 27 August 2025.
Claims 1-17 are currently pending and addressed below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments/amendments with respect to the rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
As to claim 1, the claim recites “wherein upon receiving the search request, the server calculates a second chargeable amount based on information relating to temperature, and causes the display device of the terminal to display information regarding the facility in a vicinity of an object point, and the second chargeable amount at the charging facility” that is not supported by the original description, which constitutes new matter to the original disclosure. For example, the paragraphs that appear(s) to somewhat address the concept that is similar to what is described in the claims has been found in paragraph 12 “an accurate chargeable amount corresponding to temperature environment can be acquired, by using the amount of charge in the predetermined period, the history of the outside temperature during charging, and the temperature history of the power storage device”, paragraph 74 “When management server 100 receives model information and location information (YES at S250), an extraction process is executed (S252) to extract charging stations 300 around the object point. After that, various temperatures are acquired (S254), and the SOC recovery amount of each charging station 300 extracted using the charging prediction information is calculated (S256), and the charging station information including the calculated SOC recovery amount is transmitted to the terminal 200 (S258)” and paragraphs 38 – 40 of the specification. However, applicant’s specification does not appear to describe upon receiving the search request, the server calculates a “second chargeable amount” and displays information regarding the second chargeable amount. No “second chargeable amount” is apparently described/mentioned in the specification. As such, the specification does not describe the limitation as provided in the amended claims. Therefore, the limitation “wherein upon receiving the search request, the server calculates a second chargeable amount based on information relating to temperature, and causes the display device of the terminal to display information regarding the facility in a vicinity of an object point, and the second chargeable amount at the charging facility” is apparently new matter and does not evidence that applicant had possession of the claimed invention. Examiner Notes: In view of applicant’s drawings and/or specification, step 256 of Figure 4 as described appears to calculate one “SOC recovery amount” (chargeable amount) when receiving a “search request”.
Claims 2-3, 9-13, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 2, the claim recites “the second chargeable amount is calculated based on the first chargeable amount”. It is unclear to the Examiner if “the first chargeable amount” in line 8 is referring to the updated first chargeable amount (e.g. “the server updates the first chargeable amount”) recited in claim 2 line 6 or the “a first chargeable amount” that is not yet updated recited in claim 1 line 4 or another amount?
As to claim 12, the claim recites “wherein the second chargeable amount corresponds to a recovery amount of state of charge in the predetermined period.” In view of the applicant’s filed specification paragraph 61, it appears to the Examiner that the “chargeable amount” may be the same as the “recovery amount”. Therefore, it is unclear to the Examiner what is meant by “the second chargeable amount corresponds to a recovery amount” when the amounts (e.g. second chargeable amount and recovery amount) may be the same.
As to claim 13, claim 13 is rejected for the same reasons as mentioned in the rejection of claim 12.
Dependent claims inherit the defect of the claim form which they depend.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101
Regarding claim 1:
Step 1: Statutory Category - Yes
The claim is directed toward a system which falls within one of the four statutory categories. MPEP 2106.3.
Step 2A Prong 1: Judicial Exception – Yes
Independent claim 1 includes limitations that recites an abstract idea. The claim recites “wherein upon receiving the search request, the server calculates a second chargeable amount based on information relating to temperature”, which given their broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim covers performance of the limitations in the human mind. For example, a human mind could reasonably estimate/calculate a chargeable amount (e.g. state of charge) based on the given data (e.g. temperature data). As such, the claim recites at least one abstract idea (e.g. mental process).
Step 2A Prong 2: Practical Application – No
Claim 1 is evaluated whether as a whole it integrates the recited judicial exception into a practical application. As noted in the 2019 PEG, it must be determined whether any additional elements in the claim beyond the abstract idea integrate the exception into a practical application in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The courts have indicated that additional elements merely using a computer to implement an abstract idea, adding insignificant extra solution activity, or generally linking use of a judicial except ion to a particular technological environment or field of use do not integrate a judicial exception into a “practical application”.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient enough to amount to integrating the judicial exception into a practical application, for example, the claimed elements “causes the display device of the terminal to display information regarding the charging facility in a vicinity of an object point, and the second chargeable amount at the charging facility” is recited at a high-level of generality and is directed to insignificant extra-solution activity of outputting data. Additionally, the claim recites “a plurality of charging facilities, each of the charging facilities being configured to externally charge a power storage device installed in a vehicle”, “a server that manages a first chargeable amount that is chargeable to the power storage device in a predetermined period, for each of the charging facilities”, and “a terminal that includes a display device and that is configured to make a search request to the server for the charging facilities” are recited at a high-level of generality and merely links the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Additionally, claim 1 recites “a server”, “a terminal”, and “a display device” are merely describe how to generally “apply” the otherwise mental judgements in a generic or general-purpose computing environment. The claim is recited at a high-level of generality and merely automates the aforementioned step(s).
Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Step 2B:
Claim 1 is evaluated as to whether the claim as a whole amount to significantly more
than the recited exception, i.e., whether any additional element, or combination of additional elements, adds an inventive concept to the claim.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient enough to provide an
inventive concept in Step 2B, for example, the claimed elements “causes the display device of the terminal to display information regarding the charging facility in a vicinity of an object point, and the second chargeable amount at the charging facility” are well-understood, routine and conventional activity in the art. See MPEP 2106.05(d), II, “The courts have recognized the following computer functions as well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity. Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information);”.
As discussed with respect to step 2A Prong 2, the additional elements of “a plurality of charging facilities, each of the charging facilities being configured to externally charge a power storage device installed in a vehicle”, “a server that manages a first chargeable amount that is chargeable to the power storage device in a predetermined period, for each of the charging facilities”, and “a terminal that includes a display device and that is configured to make a search request to the server for the charging facilities” are recited at a high-level of generality and merely links the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Additionally, claim 1 recites “a server”, “a terminal”, and “a display device” are merely describe how to generally “apply” the otherwise mental judgements in a generic or general-purpose computing environment.
Accordingly, the claim is not patent eligible.
Claims 2-17 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 by virtue of their dependency to the independent claims.
Claims 2-17 do not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial
exception into a practical application, because the additional elements are directed toward
additional aspects of judicial exception and/or well-understood, routine and conventional
additional elements that do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. For example, claim 8 recites “wherein the server acquires the temperature of the power storage device from the terminal or from the vehicle” is recited at a high-level of generality and is directed to insignificant extra-solution activity of data gathering.
The dependent claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 under similar rationale as their independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takagi Haruhiko (JP 5050135 B2) in view of Ha et al. (US 20230382262 A1), and further in view Profitt-Brown et al. (US 20120179323 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Takagi Haruhiko discloses An information management system,
comprising: ([0037] “In the present embodiment, an example will be described in which the present invention is applied to the search device 100 according to the embodiment as an information providing server that provides information regarding a charging facility to a navigation device mounted on a vehicle.”)
a plurality of charging facilities, (Figure 1, 120) each of the charging facilities being
configured to externally charge a power storage device installed in a vehicle; ([0039] “The information providing server 310 sequentially receives information from the navigation device 320 and the charging facility 330, and transmits information about the charging facility 330 to the navigation device 320. More specifically, the information providing server 310 searches for a charging facility 330 that can supply the electric energy required by the vehicle 321 on which the navigation device 320 is mounted, and transmits the search result to the navigation device 320.”)
a server that manages a first chargeable amount that is chargeable to the power storage
device in a predetermined period, for each of the charging facilities; and ([0010] “a search method in a search device for searching for a charging facility that meets predetermined conditions, wherein information relating to an amount of power required by a predetermined vehicle powered by power is used. (Hereinafter, referred to as “required power amount information”), a required power amount information acquisition step, and information on the amount of power that can be supplied from the plurality of charging facilities in each of the charging facilities (hereinafter, “supplied power quantity information”)”, [0019] “The information required to calculate the amount of power required by the vehicle 110 is, for example, information such as the fuel efficiency of the vehicle 110 (running distance per unit amount of power), the position of the destination, and the distance to the destination. Further, for example, instead of acquiring the fuel efficiency information of the vehicle 110, the required power amount information acquiring unit 101 continuously acquires the position information and the remaining power amount information of the vehicle 110 for a predetermined period, and analyzes the information. By doing so, the fuel efficiency of the vehicle 110 may be calculated.”, and [0020] “The supplied power information acquisition unit 102 acquires information on the amount of power that can be supplied by each charging facility 120 (hereinafter, referred to as “supplied power information”) from the plurality of charging facilities 120. The charging facility 120 is a facility including an interface that supplies power to the vehicle 110.”)
a terminal that includes a display device (411, Figure 4, and [0040] “The navigation device
320 is mounted on a vehicle 321 driven by electric power.”) and that is configured to make a search request to the server for the charging facilities, ([0039] “The information providing server 310 sequentially receives information from the navigation device 320 and the charging facility 330, and transmits information about the charging facility 330 to the navigation device 320. More specifically, the information providing server 310 searches for a charging facility 330 that can supply the electric energy required by the vehicle 321 on which the navigation device 320 is mounted, and transmits the search result to the navigation device 320.”, and [0061] “the navigation device 320 may request the information providing server 310 to transmit charging facility information.”) wherein upon receiving the search request, ([0040] “The navigation device 320 searches for a route to a destination set by a user (such as a driver of the vehicle 321), and performs route guidance along the searched route. In addition, the navigation device 320 sequentially obtains the remaining power amount information of the storage battery of the vehicle 321 and the current position information of the vehicle 321. The remaining power amount information and the current position information are used for the route guidance process and the route search process in the navigation device 320 described above, and are also transmitted to the information providing server 310 and used for the search process of the charging facility 330.”, [0060] “the navigation device 320 calculates the current position information of the vehicle 321 using output information from the GPS unit 414 (Step S505), and provides the current position information. The data is transmitted to the server 310 (step S506). Further, the navigation device 320 acquires the remaining power amount information of the vehicle 321 (Step S507), and transmits the remaining power amount information to the information providing server 310 (Step S508). The information transmitted from the navigation device 320 is used for searching for the charging facility 330 in the information providing server 310.”, and [0061] “The information providing server 310 transmits charging facility information to the navigation device 320 at an appropriate timing based on the remaining power amount of the vehicle 321, the position of the charging facility 330 located around the vehicle 321, the supplied power amount of the charging facility 330, and the like. Send. The charging facility information includes position information and name information of the charging facility 330 to which the vehicle 321 should drop in.”)
Takagi Haruhiko fails to explicitly disclose the server calculates a second chargeable
amount based on information relating to temperature
Ha et al. teaches the server calculates a second chargeable amount based on information
relating to temperature (Figure 8, and [0020] “the server may further include correcting the required SoC based on external temperature information of the vehicle and weather information.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date
of the claimed invention with reasonable expectations of success to modify the invention of Takagi Haruhiko to incorporate calculating a required state of charge of a vehicle based on temperature information as taught by Ha et al. for the purpose of accurately calculating and/or correcting the state of charge (SOC) of the vehicle.
Takagi Haruhiko in combination with Ha et al. fails to explicitly disclose the server causes
the display device of the terminal to display information regarding
Profitt-Brown et al. teaches a server that manages a first chargeable amount that is
chargeable to the power storage device in a predetermined period, in each of the charging facilities; causes the display device of the terminal to display information regarding the charging facility in a vicinity of an object point, and ([0042] “a vehicle associated computing system (which could be, for example, without limitation, a vehicle computing system, a wireless device in communication with a vehicle computing system, a remote server in communication with a vehicle computing system, etc.) receives a request to display one or more charging points 301 (or processes an "always on" state for charging points).”, [0043] “the one or more points to be displayed are in some relative proximity to the current vehicle location”, 607, Figure 6, [0062] “a particular charging station is identified in a pop-up display 601.”, and [0064] “the information includes user ratings 603 which may adjust based on user input. The information may also include a number of free spaces 605 and pricing information 607. Again, this information may adjust dynamically based on current data.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date
of the claimed invention with reasonable expectations of success to modify the invention of Takagi Haruhiko in combination with Ha et al. to incorporate displaying charge amounts as taught by Profitt-Brown et al. for the purpose of informing the user of the charge rate.
Regarding claim 4, Takagi Haruhiko in view of Ha et al. and Profitt-Brown et al. discloses The
information management system according to claim 1,
Takagi Haruhiko discloses wherein the terminal sets a current position of the vehicle as the
object point. ([0060] “the navigation device 320 calculates the current position information of the vehicle 321 using output information from the GPS unit 414 (Step S505), and provides the current position information. The data is transmitted to the server 310 (step S506). Further, the navigation device 320 acquires the remaining power amount information of the vehicle 321 (Step S507), and transmits the remaining power amount information to the information providing server 310 (Step S508). The information transmitted from the navigation device 320 is used for searching for the charging facility 330 in the information providing server 310.”)
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takagi Haruhiko (JP 5050135 B2) in view of Ha et al. (US 20230382262 A1), in view of Profitt-Brown et al. (US 20120179323 A1) and further in view of Kim Dae Hwan (KR 20160098766 A).
Regarding claim 2, Takagi Haruhiko in view of Ha et al. and Profitt-Brown et al. discloses The
information management system according to claim 1,
Ha et al. teaches the second chargeable amount is calculated based on the first chargeable amount ([0080] “The controller 110 may predict the power usage in the V2G system 1 and determine that the discharge priority condition has occurred based on the predicted power usage exceeding the target power production”, [0085] “the required state of charge (SoC) may mean a battery charge rate of the vehicle 20 required for the vehicle 20 to travel to a destination in consideration of the current location of the vehicle 20 and traffic conditions.”, and [0086] “The reason why the controller 110 corrects the required SoC of the vehicle 20 is that the drivable distance may vary depending on the temperature due to the physical characteristics of the battery and that additional energy is required for operating the air conditioner at a low or high temperature.”)
However, Takagi Haruhiko in combination with Ha et al. and Profitt-Brown et al. fails to
explicitly disclose wherein: when the charging of the power storage device is completed, the charging facility transmits charging history, along with model information of the vehicle and information regarding the power storage device, to the server, the server updates the first chargeable amount for each model, using the charging history,
Kim Dae Hwan teaches wherein: when the charging of the power storage device is
completed, the charging facility transmits charging history, along with model information of the vehicle and information regarding the power storage device, to the server, the server updates the chargeable amount for each model, using the charging history. ([0033] “The charging station 300 includes at least one charger 310, and includes a charging station server 320 that performs data communication with the chargers 310. The chargers 310 and the charging station server 320 may be connected via the local network 330. The local network 330 may also include a Wi-Fi network. The charging station 300 may be assigned unique charging station identification information.”, [0034] “The charger 310 is connected to the electric vehicle 1 to supply charging power, the battery charging state of the electric vehicle 1 according to the supply of the charging power, the charging time, the remaining time until full charge, the charging charge to date, Measures and outputs the charging status such as the charging charge at the time of full charge. When the charging status is output, vehicle identification information including at least one or more of a vehicle number, a vehicle identification number, and a battery identification information of the electric vehicle 1 will be output together.”, [0035] “Charging station server 320 stores and manages the charging status and vehicle identification information received for each charger 310 by the unique identification information of the charger 310, and any electric vehicle (1) from the charge monitoring server unit 100 When the charging status is requested for, the charging status information is provided to the charging monitoring server unit 100”, and [0048] “In addition, the charging management unit 130 receives charging status information such as electric vehicle information, charger information, charging time, charging power, charging charges, charging status, etc. that have been charged from the charging station 300, the charging station 300 and the charger The charging status information generated by the processing of the charging status information and the charging status information for each 320 is stored and managed in the charging history DB 163.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date
of the claimed invention with reasonable expectations of success to modify the system of Takagi Haruhiko in combination with Ha et al. and Profitt-Brown et al. to incorporate additional data relating to charging information of a vehicle as taught by Kim Dae Hwan for the purpose of monitoring the status/usage of a charging station.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takagi Haruhiko (JP 5050135 B2) in view of Ha et al. (US 20230382262 A1), in view of Profitt-Brown et al. (US 20120179323 A1), in view of Kim Dae Hwan (KR 20160098766 A1), in view with Homma (US 20180262019 A1) and further in view of Ko (US 20180170207 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Takagi Haruhiko in view of Profitt-Brown et al. and Kim Dae Hwan
discloses The information management system according to claim 2,
Kim Dae Hwan teaches wherein the charging history includes an amount of charge in the predetermined period, [0034] “The charger 310 is connected to the electric vehicle 1 to supply charging power, the battery charging state of the electric vehicle 1 according to the supply of the charging power, the charging time, the remaining time until full charge, the charging charge to date, Measures and outputs the charging status such as the charging charge at the time of full charge. When the charging status is output, vehicle identification information including at least one or more of a vehicle number, a vehicle identification number, and a battery identification information of the electric vehicle 1 will be output together.”, [0035] “Charging station server 320 stores and manages the charging status and vehicle identification information received for each charger 310 by the unique identification information of the charger 310, and any electric vehicle (1) from the charge monitoring server unit 100 When the charging status is requested for, the charging status information is provided to the charging monitoring server unit 100”, and [0048] “In addition, the charging management unit 130 receives charging status information such as electric vehicle information, charger information, charging time, charging power, charging charges, charging status, etc. that have been charged from the charging station 300, the charging station 300 and the charger The charging status information generated by the processing of the charging status information and the charging status information for each 320 is stored and managed in the charging history DB 163.”
Takagi Haruhiko in view of Ha et al., Profitt-Brown et al. and Kim Dae Hwan fails to explicitly
disclose wherein the charging history includes
Homma teaches wherein the charging history includes ([0080] “The EVSE 23 and the stationary electric storage facility 25 are connected to each other via the communication network 26, so that instructions relating to charging and discharging of the storage batteries included in the electric vehicles 24 or the stationary electric storage facility 25 or information relating to the state of the storage batteries can be transmitted and received between the electric vehicles 24 and the stationary electric storage facility 25 which are connected to the EVSE 23.”, and [0095] “the information indicating the temperature of the storage battery 113 is wirelessly transmitted to the aggregator 17 by the radio unit 118 in the electric vehicle 14 of the first embodiment, but may be transmitted via the digital communication unit 112 and the EVSE 13 using the power line communication technology.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date
of the claimed invention with reasonable expectations of success to modify the system of Takagi Haruhiko in combination with Ha et al. and Profitt-Brown et al. to incorporate additional data relating to charging information of a vehicle as taught by Homma for the purpose of monitoring the status/usage of a charging station and vehicle’s battery.
However, Takagi Haruhiko in combination with Ha et al., Profitt-Brown et al., Kim Dae Hwan
and Homma fails to explicitly disclose wherein the charging history includes
Ko teaches wherein the charging history includes an amount of charge in the([0110] “The temperature sensor 150 may be for detecting the temperature of the battery 150 and the ambient temperature. Without being limited thereto, the ambient temperature may be detected by the charging device 200 or the power network server 300 instead of the temperature sensor 160 in the vehicle” and [0120] “the power network server 300 may collect the vehicle state information directly from the vehicle 100 or from the charging device 200 connected to the vehicle 100. The energy consumption of the battery of the vehicle 100 may be collected after driving of the vehicle 100 is done.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date
of the claimed invention with reasonable expectations of success to modify system of Takagi Haruhiko in combination with Ha et al., Profitt-Brown et al., Kim Dae Hwan, and Homma to incorporate additional data relating to charging information of a vehicle as taught by Ko for the purpose of monitoring the status/usage of a charging station and vehicle’s battery.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takagi Haruhiko (JP 5050135 B2), in view of Ha et al. (US 20230382262 A1), in view of Profitt-Brown et al. (US 20120179323 A1) and further in view of Hiruta et al. (US 20110224900 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Takagi Haruhiko in view of Ha et al. Profitt-Brown et al. discloses The
information management system according to claim 1,
However, Takagi Haruhiko in combination with Ha et al., Profitt-Brown et al. fails to
explicitly disclose wherein the terminal sets a point that is partway between a current position of the vehicle and a destination of the vehicle, and also that is a point at a distance shorter than a travelable distance of the vehicle, as the object point, and displays the charging facility acquired by the search request on the display device as an option for a waypoint.
Hiruta et al. teaches wherein the terminal sets a point that is partway between a current
position of the vehicle and a destination of the vehicle, and also that is a point at a distance shorter than a travelable distance of the vehicle, as the object point, ([0086] “As an alternative to having the monitoring device 200 determine the charging station to which the subject vehicle is to be guided, the user may select, via an input unit such as a touch panel, the charging station to which he wishes to be guided based upon the lengths of the guided routes and the power requirements corresponding to the individual charging stations. Furthermore, instead of displaying the route to the destination in the simple display mode, the route may be displayed on the actual map.”, and [0087] “the display device 210 may display information indicating the availability conditions of the individual charging stations, obtained from an external source, as shown in FIGS. 14A and 14B. In this case, the user will select a charging station”) and displays the charging facility acquired by the search request on the display device as an option for a waypoint. (Figure 14A – Figure 14B, [0087] “display of charging station availability conditions. The availability condition information is obtained from an external operation management center responsible for managing charging station availability conditions. FIG. 14B presents an example of a display that may be brought up to guide the subject vehicle to charging station 2 selected by the user via the input device 110 such as a touch panel.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date
of the claimed invention with reasonable expectations of success to modify the terminal device of Takagi Haruhiko in combination with Ha et al., and Profitt-Brown et al. to incorporate a routing system including charging station(s) that are reachable based on the vehicle’s state of charge as taught by Hiruta et al. for the purpose of reducing the risk of the vehicle running out of battery and becoming stranded.
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takagi Haruhiko (JP 5050135 B2) in view of Ha et al. (US 20230382262 A1), in view of Profitt-Brown et al. (US 20120179323 A1), and further in view of Ko (US 20180170207 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Takagi Haruhiko in view of Ha et al. and Profitt-Brown et al. discloses The
information management system according to claim 1,
However, Takagi Haruhiko in combination with Ha et al. and Profitt-Brown et al. fails to
explicitly wherein the information relating to temperature is an outside temperature at the charging facility or a temperature of the power storage device.
Ko teaches wherein the information relating to temperature is an outside temperature at
the charging facility or a temperature of the power storage device. ([0110] “The temperature sensor 150 may be for detecting the temperature of the battery 150 and the ambient temperature. Without being limited thereto, the ambient temperature may be detected by the charging device 200 or the power network server 300 instead of the temperature sensor 160 in the vehicle” and [0120] “the power network server 300 may collect the vehicle state information directly from the vehicle 100 or from the charging device 200 connected to the vehicle 100. The energy consumption of the battery of the vehicle 100 may be collected after driving of the vehicle 100 is done.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date
of the claimed invention with reasonable expectations of success to modify invention of Takagi Haruhiko in combination with Ha et al. and Profitt-Brown et al. to incorporate additional data relating to charging information of a vehicle as taught by Ko for the purpose of monitoring the status/usage of a charging station and vehicle’s battery.
Regarding claim 7, Takagi Haruhiko in view of Ha et al., Profitt-Brown et al., and Ko discloses
The information management system according to claim 6,
Ko teaches wherein the server acquires the outside temperature for each charging facility
from each of the charging facility or another server different from the server that manages the first chargeable amount. ([0110] “The temperature sensor 150 may be for detecting the temperature of the battery 150 and the ambient temperature. Without being limited thereto, the ambient temperature may be detected by the charging device 200 or the power network server 300 instead of the temperature sensor 160 in the vehicle” and [0120] “the power network server 300 may collect the vehicle state information directly from the vehicle 100 or from the charging device 200 connected to the vehicle 100. The energy consumption of the battery of the vehicle 100 may be collected after driving of the vehicle 100 is done.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date
of the claimed invention with reasonable expectations of success to modify invention of Takagi Haruhiko in combination with Ha et al., Profitt-Brown et al., and Ko to incorporate the teachings of Ko for the same reasons as stated in the motivation of claim 6.
Regarding claim 8, Takagi Haruhiko in view of Ha et al., Profitt-Brown et al., and Ko discloses
The information management system according to claim 6,
Ko teaches wherein the server acquires the temperature of the power storage device from
the terminal or from the vehicle. ([0110] “The temperature sensor 150 may be for detecting the temperature of the battery 150 and the ambient temperature. Without being limited thereto, the ambient temperature may be detected by the charging device 200 or the power network server 300 instead of the temperature sensor 160 in the vehicle” and [0120] “the power network server 300 may collect the vehicle state information directly from the vehicle 100 or from the charging device 200 connected to the vehicle 100. The energy consumption of the battery of the vehicle 100 may be collected after driving of the vehicle 100 is done.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date
of the claimed invention with reasonable expectations of success to modify invention of Takagi Haruhiko in combination with Ha et al., Profitt-Brown et al., and Ko to incorporate the teachings of Ko for the same reasons as stated in the motivation of claim 6.
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takagi Haruhiko (JP 5050135 B2) in view of Ha et al. (US 20230382262 A1), in view of Profitt-Brown et al. (US 20120179323 A1), in view of Kim Dae Hwan (KR 20160098766 A), and further in view of Ko (US 20180170207 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Takagi Haruhiko in view of Ha et al., Profitt-Brown et al., and Kim Dae
Hwan discloses The information management system according to claim 2,
However, Takagi Haruhiko in view of Ha et al., Profitt-Brown et al., and Kim Dae Hwan fails to explicitly disclose wherein the information relating to temperature is an outside air temperature at the charging facility or a temperature of the power storage device.
Ko teaches wherein the information relating to temperature is an outside air temperature at the charging facility or a temperature of the power storage device. ([0110] “The temperature sensor 150 may be for detecting the temperature of the battery 150 and the ambient temperature. Without being limited thereto, the ambient temperature may be detected by the charging device 200 or the power network server 300 instead of the temperature sensor 160 in the vehicle” and [0120] “the power network server 300 may collect the vehicle state information directly from the vehicle 100 or from the charging device 200 connected to the vehicle 100. The energy consumption of the battery of the vehicle 100 may be collected after driving of the vehicle 100 is done.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date
of the claimed invention with reasonable expectations of success to modify invention of Takagi Haruhiko in combination with Ha et al., Profitt-Brown et al., and Kim Dae Hwan to incorporate additional data relating to charging information of a vehicle as taught by Ko for the purpose of monitoring the status/usage of a charging station and vehicle’s battery.
Regarding claim 10, Takagi Haruhiko in view of Ha et al., Profitt-Brown et al., Kim Dae
Hwan, and Ko discloses The information management system according to claim 9,
Ko teaches wherein the server acquires the outside temperature for each charging facility
from each of the charging facility or another server different from the server that manages the first chargeable amount. ([0110] “The temperature sensor 150 may be for detecting the temperature of the battery 150 and the ambient temperature. Without being limited thereto, the ambient temperature may be detected by the charging device 200 or the power network server 300 instead of the temperature sensor 160 in the vehicle” and [0120] “the power network server 300 may collect the vehicle state information directly from the vehicle 100 or from the charging device 200 connected to the vehicle 100. The energy consumption of the battery of the vehicle 100 may be collected after driving of the vehicle 100 is done.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date
of the claimed invention with reasonable expectations of success to modify invention of Takagi Haruhiko in combination with Ha et al., Profitt-Brown et al., Kim Dae Hwan and Ko to incorporate the teachings of Ko for the same reasons as stated in the motivation of claim 9.
Regarding claim 11, Takagi Haruhiko in view of Ha et al., Profitt-Brown et al., Kim Dae
Hwan, and Ko discloses The information management system according to claim 9,
Ko teaches wherein the server acquires the temperature of the power storage device from
the terminal or from the vehicle. ([0110] “The temperature sensor 150 may be for detecting the temperature of the battery 150 and the ambient temperature. Without being limited thereto, the ambient temperature may be detected by the charging device 200 or the power network server 300 instead of the temperature sensor 160 in the vehicle” and [0120] “the power network server 300 may collect the vehicle state information directly from the vehicle 100 or from the charging device 200 connected to the vehicle 100. The energy consumption of the battery of the vehicle 100 may be collected after driving of the vehicle 100 is done.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date
of the claimed invention with reasonable expectations of success to modify invention of Takagi Haruhiko in combination with Ha et al., Profitt-Brown et al., Kim Dae Hwan and Ko to incorporate the teachings of Ko for the same reasons as stated in the motivation of claim 9.
Claims 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takagi Haruhiko (JP 5050135 B2) in view of Ha et al. (US 20230382262 A1), in view Profitt-Brown et al. (US 20120179323 A1), and further in view of Disley et al. (US 20230012166 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Takagi Haruhiko in view of Ha et al. and Profitt-Brown et al. discloses
The information management system according to claim 1,
Ha et al. teaches wherein the second chargeable amount corresponds to a recovery
amount of state of charge (Fig. 8, [0080] “The controller 110 may predict the power usage in the V2G system 1 and determine that the discharge priority condition has occurred based on the predicted power usage exceeding the target power production”, [0085] “the required state of charge (SoC) may mean a battery charge rate of the vehicle 20 required for the vehicle 20 to travel to a destination in consideration of the current location of the vehicle 20 and traffic conditions.”, [0086] “The reason why the controller 110 corrects the required SoC of the vehicle 20 is that the drivable distance may vary depending on the temperature due to the physical characteristics of the battery and that additional energy is required for operating the air conditioner at a low or high temperature.”, and see at least [0020])
However, However, Takagi Haruhiko in combination with Ha et al. and Profitt-Brown et al.
fails to explicitly disclose wherein the
amount of state of charge in the predetermined period.
Disley et al. teaches wherein the
amount of state of charge in the predetermined period. (Figure 4D, [0007] “receiving one or more candidate charging solutions corresponding to the charge request from the server, each candidate charging solution including an amount of energy supplied by a supply EV, a charging time and a total fee corresponding to the amount of energy; presenting the one or more candidate charging solutions on the HMI; receiving a user input indicative of a selected charging solution that is selected from the one or more candidate charging solutions”, and [0028] “The communication unit 13 provides wireless communications between the EV and the server 20. For example, the on-board system 10 transmits information (e.g., a charge request or a charging solution selected by the user) to the server 20 via the communication unit 13 and receives information (e.g., a plurality of candidate charging solutions, a recommended charging solution, or a standstill charging location) from the server 20 via the communication unit 13.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date
of the claimed invention with reasonable expectations of success to modify invention of Takagi Haruhiko in combination with Ha et al., and Profitt-Brown et al. to incorporate charging duration corresponding to a state of charge (SOC) as taught by Disley et al. for the purpose of reducing “complexity that the user participates in the V2V charging process… and the user experience is greatly improved.” (Disley et al., [0018])
Regarding claim 14, Takagi Haruhiko in view of Ha et al. and Profitt-Brown et al. discloses
The information management system according to claim 1,
However, Takagi Haruhiko in combination with Ha et al. and Profitt-Brown et al. fails to
explicitly disclose wherein the predetermined period includes at least one of: 30 minutes for quick charging, and 1 hour or 2 hours for normal charging.
Disley et al. teaches wherein the predetermined period includes at least one of: 30
minutes for quick charging, and 1 hour or 2 hours for normal charging. (Figure 4D, [0007] “receiving one or more candidate charging solutions corresponding to the charge request from the server, each candidate charging solution including an amount of energy supplied by a supply EV, a charging time and a total fee corresponding to the amount of energy; presenting the one or more candidate charging solutions on the HMI; receiving a user input indicative of a selected charging solution that is selected from the one or more candidate charging solutions”, and [0028] “The communication unit 13 provides wireless communications between the EV and the server 20. For example, the on-board system 10 transmits information (e.g., a charge request or a charging solution selected by the user) to the server 20 via the communication unit 13 and receives information (e.g., a plurality of candidate charging solutions, a recommended charging solution, or a standstill charging location) from the server 20 via the communication unit 13.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date
of the claimed invention with reasonable expectations of success to modify invention of Takagi Haruhiko in combination with Ha et al., and Profitt-Brown et al. to incorporate charging duration corresponding to a state of charge (SOC) as taught by Disley et al. for the purpose of reducing “complexity that the user participates in the V2V charging process… and the user experience is greatly improved.” (Disley et al., [0018])
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takagi Haruhiko (JP 5050135 B2) in view of Ha et al. (US 20230382262 A1), in view of Profitt-Brown et al. (US 20120179323 A1), in view of Kim Dae Hwan (KR 20160098766 A), and further in view of Disley et al. (US 20230012166 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Takagi Haruhiko in view of Ha et al., Profitt-Brown et al., and Kim Dae
Hwan discloses The information management system according to claim 2,
Ha et al. teaches wherein the second chargeable amount corresponds to a recovery
amount of state of charge (Fig. 8, [0080] “The controller 110 may predict the power usage in the V2G system 1 and determine that the