DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Regarding claims 1-20 are rejected as the claims 1, 13, and 17, recites the phrase "generally" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d) in instant case, it is not clear that the pin receptacle section is cylindrical or not? Therefore, it is vague and indefinite. For the further examination, “generally cylindrical” is considered as -cylindrical-.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tyler (US 8,419,486) in view of Hirakawa et. al (DE 10 2015 221 287 a1) hereafter Hirakawa.
Regarding claim 1, Tyler, discloses a socket 100 for a high-voltage socket connector 240 (figs. 1 and 5), the socket 100 comprising: a conductor connection section 120 adapted for being connected to a conductor of a cable 248 (it is to be noted that a conductor of a cable is not positively claimed), and a pin receptacle section 122 and 106 (between two side walls 124, 126 and 110, 112 respectively) adapted for receiving a pin 108 of a mating plug connector 260 along a mating direction, wherein the pin receptacle section 122 and 106 (between two side walls 124, 126 and 110, 112 respectively) is integral with the conductor connection section 120, and wherein the pin receptacle section 122 and 106 (between two side walls 124, 126 and 110, 112 respectively) includes at least two free ends (end of 164 and 166) that extend in opposite circumferential directions around the mating direction and at least in sections face each other.
Tyler, does not discloses the pin receptacle section is cylindrical.
Hirakawa discloses, a pin receptacle section 13 is cylindrical.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a pin receptacle section is cylindrical as taught by Hirakawa, in order to increase the conductive surface and have better gripping for cylindrical shaped mating pin.
Regarding claim 2, Tyler (as modified by Hirakawa), discloses the pin receptacle section 122 and 106 (between two side walls 124, 126 and 110, 112 respectively) includes at least one open support ring section 172, 192 for radially and axially supporting at least one deflectable contact arm 184, 204 adapted for contacting the pin 108 in a mated state (fig. 4).
Regarding claim 3, Tyler (as modified by Hirakawa), discloses the socket includes a radially open coding channel 128 adapted to fittingly receive a coding element (contact surface of 220, 222 of 108, and there is not particular structure of the coding element is defined) on the pin along the mating direction (it is to be noted that a conductor of a cable is not positively claimed).
Regarding claim 4, Tyler (as modified by Hirakawa), discloses the coding channel (formed between first and second side walls 170, 176 and 156, 158 of contact spring 110) is open towards an open inner space of the pin receptacle section 122 and 106 (between two side walls 124, 126 and 110, 112 respectively).
Regarding claim 5, Tyler (as modified by Hirakawa), discloses the open support ring section forms at least a part of the coding channel (being formed by the sidewalls of ring section).
Regarding claim 6, Tyler (as modified by Hirakawa), discloses, the at least two free ends 176, 200 partially delimit the coding channel (formed between first and second side walls 170, 176 and 156, 158 of contact spring 110).
Regarding claim 7, Tyler (as modified by Hirakawa), discloses the socket 100 includes at least two open support ring sections172, 192.
Regarding claim 8, Tyler (as modified by Hirakawa), discloses the at least one contact arm 184, 204 is integral with the open support ring section 172, 192 (see fig. 3).
Regarding claim 9, Tyler (as modified by Hirakawa), discloses the socket is monolithic.
Regarding claim 10, Tyler (as modified by Hirakawa), discloses the at least one contact arm 184, 204 is part of a spring element 110, 112 that is separate from the conductor connection section 120 (see figs. 2 and 3).
Regarding claim 11, Tyler (as modified by Hirakawa), discloses the socket 100 is a stamped and/or bent part formed from a sheet (see claim 6).
Regarding claim 12, Tyler (as modified by Hirakawa), discloses the socket includes a transition section between the conductor connection section and the pin receptacle section.
However, Tyler (as modified by Hirakawa), does not disclose the transition section having a cross sectional area smaller than the conductor connection section.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the transition section having a cross sectional area smaller than the conductor connection section, and since a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 13, Tyler, discloses a socket connector 240 comprising: at least two sockets 100, each socket 100 including a conductor (see fig. 5) connection section 120 adapted for being connected to a conductor of a cable 248 (fig. 5), and a pin receptacle section 122 and 106 (between two side walls 124, 126 and 110, 112 respectively) adapted for receiving a pin 108 (fig. 4) of a mating plug connector 160 (fig. 6) along a mating direction, wherein the pin receptacle section 122 and 106 (between two side walls 124, 126 and 110, 112 respectively) is integral with the conductor connection section 120, and wherein the pin receptacle section 122 and 106 (between two side walls 124, 126 and 110, 112 respectively) includes at least two free ends (end of 164 and 166) that extend in opposite circumferential directions around the mating direction and at least in sections face each other; wherein the conductor connection sections 120 of at least two sockets 100 are parallel and arranged at a space greater than a space between the corresponding pin receptacle sections 122 and 106 (between two side walls 124, 126 and 110, 112 respectively).
Tyler, does not discloses the pin receptacle section is cylindrical.
Hirakawa discloses, a pin receptacle section 13 is cylindrical.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a pin receptacle section is cylindrical as taught by Hirakawa, in order to increase the conductive surface and have better gripping for cylindrical shaped mating pin.
Regarding claim 14, Tyler (as modified by Hirakawa), discloses the pin receptacle section 122 and 106 (between two side walls 124, 126 and 110, 112 respectively)includes at least one open support ring section 172, 192 for radially and axially supporting at least one deflectable contact arm 184, 204 adapted for contacting the pin 108 in a mated state (fig. 4).
Regarding claim 15, Tyler (as modified by Hirakawa), discloses the socket includes a radially open coding channel (formed between first and second side walls 170, 176 and 156, 158 of contact spring 110, 112) adapted to fittingly receive a coding element (contact surface of 220, 222 of 108, and there is not particular structure of the coding element is defined) on the pin 108 along the mating direction (it is to be noted that a conductor of a cable is not positively claimed).
Regarding claim 16, Tyler (as modified by Hirakawa), discloses the at least one contact arm 184, 204 is part of a spring element 110, 112 that is separate from the conductor connection section (see figs. 2 and 3).
Regarding claim 17, Tyler, discloses a connection assembly comprising: a socket 100 including a conductor connection section and a pin receptacle section 122 and 106 (between two side walls 124, 126 and 110, 112 respectively), the conductor connection section adapted for being connected to a conductor of a cable, the pin receptacle section 122 and 106 (between two side walls 124, 126 and 110, 112 respectively) is integral with the conductor connection section, the pin receptacle section 122 and 106 (between two side walls 124, 126 and 110, 112 respectively) includes at least two free ends that extend in opposite circumferential directions around the mating direction and at least in sections face each other; and a pin-shaped contact element for a plug connector, the pin-shaped contact element received in the pin receptacle section 122 and 106 (between two side walls 124, 126 and 110, 112 respectively) along a mating direction.
Tyler, does not discloses the pin receptacle section is cylindrical.
Hirakawa discloses, a pin receptacle section 13 is cylindrical.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a pin receptacle section is cylindrical as taught by Hirakawa, in order to increase the conductive surface and have better gripping for cylindrical shaped mating pin.
Regarding claim 18, Tyler (as modified by Hirakawa), discloses the wherein the contact element includes a radially protruding coding element that extends parallel to the mating direction from a tip to a base of the contact element as discussed above.
Regarding claim 19, Tyler (as modified by Hirakawa), discloses the wherein the pin receptacle section 122 and 106 (between two side walls 124, 126 and 110, 112 respectively) includes at least one open support ring section for radially and axially supporting at least one deflectable contact arm adapted for contacting the corresponding pin in a mated state as discussed above.
Regarding claim 20, Tyler (as modified by Hirakawa), discloses the includes a radially open coding channel adapted to fittingly receive a coding element on the pin along the mating direction as discussed above.
Regarding independent claims 1, 13 and 17, It is also to be noted that, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the shape of pin receptacle section is of Cylindrical shape, since applicants have presented no explanation that these particular cylindrical shape of the pin receptacle section is significant or is anything more than one of numerous configurations a person of ordinary skill in the art would find obvious for the purpose of making electrical connection with mating pin. A change in shape is generally recognizing as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 6/22/2026 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HARSHAD C PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831