DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference characters:“10”, “91” of fig. 2, “46”, “68” of Fig. 3, “61” of fig. 4, “68” of fig. 5, and “61” of fig. 6 are not mentioned in the description.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In, polarograph [00103], the reference numeral “30” is used for the conductor connection section and the pin receptacle section, Furthermore, in, polarograph [00103], the reference numeral “40” is used for the conductor connection section and the pin receptacle section. Appropriate correction are required
Throughout the specification, there is improper use of “offset”, seems to be changed to – distance-.
It appear to be a literal translation into English from a foreign document and are replete with grammatical and idiomatic errors.
Applicant is kindly requested to review and correct the entire abstract, specification and claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1 and 13, line 1, “Socket” should be change to -a socket-.
Claims 2-12, and 14-16, line 1, “Socket” should be change to -The socket-.
Claim 17, line 1, “Connection” should be change to -a connection-.
Claims 18-20, line 1, “Connection” should be change to -The connection-.
Claim 12, line 3, “a lower cross sectional area than” should change to -a cross sectional area is smaller than-.
Claim 13, lines 9-10, “an offset greater than an offset of the corresponding pin receptacle sections” should be change to – a space is greater than a space between the corresponding pin receptacle sections.
Applicant is kindly requested to review and correct the entire abstract, specification and claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11, 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tyler (US 8,419,486).
Regarding claim 1, Tyler, discloses a socket 100 for a high-voltage socket connector 240 (figs. 1 and 5), the socket 100 comprising: a conductor connection section 120 adapted for being connected to a conductor of a cable 248 (it is to be noted that a conductor of a cable is not positively claimed), and a pin receptacle section 122 and 106 (between two side walls 124, 126 and 110, 112 respectively)adapted for receiving a pin 108 of a mating plug connector 260 along a mating direction, wherein the pin receptacle section 122 and 106 (between two side walls 124, 126 and 110, 112 respectively) is integral with the conductor connection section 120, and wherein the pin receptacle section 122 and 106 (between two side walls 124, 126 and 110, 112 respectively)includes at least two free ends (end of 164 and 166) that extend in opposite circumferential directions around the mating direction and at least in sections face each other.
Regarding claim 2, Tyler, discloses the pin receptacle section 122 and 106 (between two side walls 124, 126 and 110, 112 respectively) includes at least one open support ring section 172, 192 for radially and axially supporting at least one deflectable contact arm 184, 204 adapted for contacting the pin 108 in a mated state (fig. 4).
Regarding claim 3, Tyler, discloses the socket includes a radially open coding channel 128 adapted to fittingly receive a coding element (contact surface of 220, 222 of 108, and there is not particular structure of the coding element is defined) on the pin along the mating direction (it is to be noted that a conductor of a cable is not positively claimed).
Regarding claim 4, Tyler, discloses the coding channel (formed between first and second side walls 170, 176 and 156, 158 of contact spring 110) is open towards an open inner space of the pin receptacle section 122 and 106 (between two side walls 124, 126 and 110, 112 respectively).
Regarding claim 5, Tyler, discloses the open support ring section forms at least a part of the coding channel (being formed by the sidewalls of ring section).
Regarding claim 6, Tyler, discloses, the at least two free ends 176, 200 partially delimit the coding channel (formed between first and second side walls 170, 176 and 156, 158 of contact spring 110).
Regarding claim 7, Tyler, discloses the socket 100 includes at least two open support ring sections172, 192.
Regarding claim 8, Tyler, discloses the at least one contact arm 184, 204 is integral with the open support ring section 172, 192 (see fig. 3).
Regarding claim 9, Tyler, discloses the socket is monolithic.
Regarding claim 10, Tyler, discloses the at least one contact arm 184, 204 is part of a spring element 110, 112 that is separate from the conductor connection section 120 (see figs. 2 and 3).
Regarding claim 11, Tyler, discloses the socket 100 is a stamped and/or bent part formed from a sheet (see claim 6).
Regarding claim 13, Tyler, discloses a socket connector 240 comprising: at least two sockets 100, each socket 100 including a conductor (see fig. 5) connection section 120 adapted for being connected to a conductor of a cable 248 (fig. 5), and a pin receptacle section 122 and 106 (between two side walls 124, 126 and 110, 112 respectively) adapted for receiving a pin 108 (fig. 4) of a mating plug connector 160 (fig. 6) along a mating direction, wherein the pin receptacle section 122 and 106 (between two side walls 124, 126 and 110, 112 respectively) is integral with the conductor connection section 120, and wherein the pin receptacle section 122 and 106 (between two side walls 124, 126 and 110, 112 respectively) includes at least two free ends (end of 164 and 166) that extend in opposite circumferential directions around the mating direction and at least in sections face each other; wherein the conductor connection sections 120 of at least two sockets 100 are parallel and arranged at a space greater than a space between the corresponding pin receptacle sections 122 and 106 (between two side walls 124, 126 and 110, 112 respectively).
Regarding claim 14, Tyler, discloses the pin receptacle section 122 and 106 (between two side walls 124, 126 and 110, 112 respectively)includes at least one open support ring section 172, 192 for radially and axially supporting at least one deflectable contact arm 184, 204 adapted for contacting the pin 108 in a mated state (fig. 4).
Regarding claim 15, Tyler, discloses the socket includes a radially open coding channel (formed between first and second side walls 170, 176 and 156, 158 of contact spring 110, 112) adapted to fittingly receive a coding element (contact surface of 220, 222 of 108, and there is not particular structure of the coding element is defined) on the pin 108 along the mating direction (it is to be noted that a conductor of a cable is not positively claimed).
Regarding claim 16, Tyler, discloses the at least one contact arm 184, 204 is part of a spring element 110, 112 that is separate from the conductor connection section (see figs. 2 and 3).
Regarding claim 17, Tyler, discloses a connection assembly comprising: a socket 100 including a conductor connection section and a pin receptacle section 122 and 106 (between two side walls 124, 126 and 110, 112 respectively), the conductor connection section adapted for being connected to a conductor of a cable, the pin receptacle section 122 and 106 (between two side walls 124, 126 and 110, 112 respectively) is integral with the conductor connection section, the pin receptacle section 122 and 106 (between two side walls 124, 126 and 110, 112 respectively) includes at least two free ends that extend in opposite circumferential directions around the mating direction and at least in sections face each other; and a pin-shaped contact element for a plug connector, the pin-shaped contact element received in the pin receptacle section 122 and 106 (between two side walls 124, 126 and 110, 112 respectively) along a mating direction.
Regarding claim 18, Tyler, discloses the wherein the contact element includes a radially protruding coding element that extends parallel to the mating direction from a tip to a base of the contact element as discussed above.
Regarding claim 19, Tyler, discloses the wherein the pin receptacle section 122 and 106 (between two side walls 124, 126 and 110, 112 respectively) includes at least one open support ring section for radially and axially supporting at least one deflectable contact arm adapted for contacting the corresponding pin in a mated state as discussed above.
Regarding claim 20, Tyler, discloses the includes a radially open coding channel adapted to fittingly receive a coding element on the pin along the mating direction as discussed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tyler.
Regarding claim 12, Tyler, discloses the socket includes a transition section between the conductor connection section and the pin receptacle section
However, Tyler does not disclose the transition section having a cross sectional area smaller than the conductor connection section.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the transition section having a cross sectional area smaller than the conductor connection section, and since a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO 892.
/HARSHAD C PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831