DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
1. Claims 1-7 are pending. Claims 1-7 are under examination.
Priority
2. Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. This application is a continuation of United States Application Serial Number 17/407,154 filed 08/19/2021 which claims the benefit of Provisional Application Number 63/068,725 filed 08/21/2020. Based on the Filing Receipt, the effective filing date of this application is August 21, 2020 which is the filing date of Provisional Application Number 63/068,725 from which the benefit of domestic priority is claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
3. Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is vague and indefinite in reciting “A method for delaying application of a chemical reagent to a lateral flow immunoassay” in the preamble which is directed to a method and then reciting in the first step “providing a lateral flow immunoassay comprising a membrane, an absorbent material …, and an adhesive coating” and in the second step “applying liquid to the lateral flow immunoassay” because
“lateral flow immunoassay (LFIA)” appears to properly define a process whereas “a membrane, an absorbent material containing a chemical reagent, and an adhesive covering” encompass structural components which are limitations drawn to a device such as a test strip. Applicant’s disclosure shows teachings of LFIA construct [0024, 0040], LFIA test strip [0005, 0007-0009, 0037-0039], LFIA device [0006, 0040, 0025], and LFIA system [0008]. Perhaps, Applicant intends “providing a lateral flow immunoassay test strip comprising a membrane, an absorbent material …, and an adhesive coating” and “applying liquid to the lateral flow immunoassay test strip….”
Claim 1 is further ambiguous in reciting “A method for delaying application of a chemical reagent to a lateral flow immunoassay” in the preamble and then reciting in the second step “applying liquid to the lateral flow immunoassay, wherein the membrane controls diffusion of the liquid into the absorbent material” because it fails to clearly define how the claimed membrane is configured to control the diffusion of the liquid into the absorbent material in a manner that delays application of the chemical reagent to the LFIA or what mechanism is involved to perform the functionality. In particular, the second step simply recites “applying a liquid” whereas it is unclear what is encompassed in the “liquid” and what properties the claimed liquid and/or the claimed membrane should have so as to enable control of diffusion of the liquid in manner that delays application of chemical reagent to the LFIA, with the chemical reagent being contained in the absorbent material.
Claim 1 is vague and indefinite as being incomplete for omitting essential structural and functional cooperative relationships of elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the necessary structural connections. See MPEP § 2172.01. In this case, it is unclear what is encompassed in the generic recitations of liquid, membrane, absorbent material, and chemical reagent in the LFIA test strip; what properties each of the recited components should have; and what essential structural and functional cooperative relationships exist between 1) the liquid and the membrane and 2) the liquid and the chemical reagent in the absorbent material; and what mechanisms of action are taking place between all these components in a manner that delays application of the chemical reagent, in question, so as to achieve its function in the claimed lateral flow immunoassay.
Claim 7 is ambiguous in relation to claim 1 from which it depends in reciting “wherein the absorbent material comprises absorbed color forming reagents” because it is unclear as to whether the instant recitation of “absorbed color forming reagents” is a further limitation of, and therefore encompasses, the “chemical reagent” recited in claim 1. Alternatively, it is unclear what essential structural and/or functional cooperative relationship exists between the instant “absorbed color forming reagents” and the “chemical reagent” recited in claim 1, both of which are contained in and comprises the absorbent material.
Double Patenting
4. Claims 1-7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 11/885,801. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both inventions recite a process that delays application of a chemical reagent to a lateral-flow immunoassay using a lateral flow immunoassay construct (release system) comprising a membrane, an absorbent material containing a chemical reagent, and an adhesive covering; wherein the membrane controls diffusion of a liquid into the absorbent material upon application into the lateral flow immunoassay construct. The membrane comprises a porous polymer and/or a fibrous material that is cellulose. The absorbent material comprises absorbent pad or absorbent string or further comprises a plurality of absorbent strings, absorbent pads, or any combination thereof; and the absorbent material comprises absorbed color forming reagents which comprise a phenylenediamine salt with a napthol or a phenol.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Borse et al. (Process parameter optimization of lateral flow immunosensing. Materials Science for Energy Technologies 2: 434-441 (April 11, 2019)).
Borse et al. teach a method for delaying application of a chemical reagent to a lateral-flow immunoassay (LFIA). Delayed application of the chemical reagent to the LFIA is effected by strip component assembly and nitrocellulose membrane (NCM) morphology (Abstract; p. 435, left col. 1st 2nd full ¶; Figure 1). The method comprises providing a LFIA strip developed using optimized strip assembly comprising a membrane, an absorbent material containing a chemical reagent (IgG immobilized on the control line- used as a substrate for control line formation, capture antibodies immobilized on the test line), and an adhesive covering (plastic cover film; adhesive tape) (Abstract; p. 434, left col.; p. 435, left col. 3rd full ¶; 435, right col. 2nd full ¶; p. 436, left col. 2nd full ¶; Figure 1). The membrane comprises nitrocellulose membrane (NCM) which is a porous polymer comprising a fibrous material such as glass fiber or cellulose having varying pore sizes i.e. 5 µm, 8 µm, 10 µm, 15 µm. (Abstract; p. 435, left col. 1st 3rd full ¶, p. 436, left col. 2nd full ¶; Figure 1). The absorbent material comprises an absorbent pad or an absorbent string. The absorbent material comprises a plurality of absorbent pads or strings having high fluid capacity (Abstract; p. 435, right col. 1st full ¶; p. 436, left col. 2nd full ¶; Figure 1). Borse et al. teach applying liquid (sample solution, buffer solution) to the LFIA strip, and show that the NCM membrane controls diffusion of the liquid into the absorbent material with its excellent capillary flow (Abstract; p. 435, left col. 1st full ¶; p. 436, left col. 2nd full ¶ to right col. 1st full ¶; p. 437-438; Figure 5).
Accordingly, Borse et al. appears to read on Applicant’s claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Borse et al. (Materials Science for Energy Technologies 2: 434-441 (April 11, 2019)) in view of Kidwell et al. (Catalytics Nanoparticles to Enhance the Sensitivity of Lateral Flow Immunoassays. TeleConnect Briefs (June 17, 2019)).
Borse et al. is discussed supra. Borse et al. differ from the instant invention in failing to teach that the absorbent material comprises absorbed color forming reagents.
Kidwell et al. teach providing a test system which is a catalytic lateral flow immunoassay (cLFIA) test strip which comprises a membrane and an absorbent material in the form of an absorbent pad containing a chemical reagent (Figure 1: Enhanced LFIA). Kidwell et al. specifically designed the cLFIA test strip to incorporate three color forming chemical reagents (elements) into the cLFIA test strip; thereby, requiring no additional steps in performing the LFIA (p. 427, right col. 2nd full ¶; Figure 1: Enhanced LFIA). The three chemical elements react with palladium nanoparticle (quantum dots: QD) labels to produce a measurement signal. The chemical elements are absorbed color forming reagents which comprise a phenylenediamine salt with a napthol or a phenol (Figure 1: Enhanced LFIA; Figure 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to incorporate the chemical reagents for cLFIA of Kidwell into the LFIA test strip method of Borse because Kidwell taught that substitution of cLFIA chemical reagents have demonstrated an increase in sensitivity without placing undue burden to the user. One of ordinary skill would have had reasonable expectation of success in incorporating the teaching of Kidwell into the LFIA test strip method as taught by Borse because Kidwell taught a design that incorporates absorbed color forming chemical reagents into absorption pad components of cLFIA test strip and both of Borse and Kidwell teach analogous art in improving LFIA test strips and techniques.
7. No claims are allowed.
Remarks
8. Prior art made of record are not relied upon but considered pertinent to the applicants' disclosure:
Kouvonen et al. (U.S. Patent 5,712,170) disclose a test strip for rapid immunoassay containing immunological reagents (Abstract).
/GAILENE GABEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1678
June 26, 2026