DETAILED ACTION
The communication dated 02/06/2026 has been entered and fully considered.
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-8, and 10-20 are currently pending. Claims 3, 6, and 9 are cancelled.
Claims 1, 4-5, 7, 10, 13, and 17 are amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lehtonen et al. U.S. Publication 2020/0055065 (henceforth referred to as Lehtonen) in view of Grether et al. U.S. Publication 2021/0261097 (henceforth referred to as Grether) and Yamamoto U.S. Patent 5,213,117 (henceforth referred to as Yamamoto).
As to claim 1, (Currently Amended) Lehtonen teaches an integrated fluid distributor comprising:
a case (FIGS. 3-4 paragraph [0035] a nozzle arrangement is within a case);
a first flow path disposed within the case (FIGS. 3-5 paragraph [0038] input line CILA reads on the claimed first flow path), the first flow path having a first inlet (FIGS. 3 and 5 show an inlet into input line CILA), a plurality of first outlets (FIG. 3 inputs IA1-IA4 read on the claimed outlets as the fluid will travel out of line CILA into the nozzles N via IA1-IA4); and
a second flow path disposed independently of the first flow path within the case (FIGS. 3-5 paragraph [0038] input line CILL reads on the claimed second flow path), the second flow path having a second inlet (FIGS. 3 and 5 show an inlet into input line CILL), a plurality of second outlets (FIG. 3 inputs IL1-IL4 read on the claimed outlets as the fluid will travel out of line CILL into the nozzles N via IL1-IL4), wherein:
a manifold coupled to one side of the body portion (FIGS. 3-5 the manifold is coupled to the side portion of the body);
the first flow path and the second flow path are formed in the manifold (FIGS. 3-5 input lines CILA and CILL are formed in the manifold).
Lehtonen differs from the instant claim in failing to teach a plurality of first valves for a first fluid; a plurality of second valves for a second fluid; the case includes a body portion accommodating the plurality of first valves and the plurality of second valves; the first inlet includes an inlet valve configured to control a flow of the first fluid within the first flow path; in the first flow path, a duct flow path is formed between the inlet valve and a first valve positioned upstream of the first flow path and an auxiliary tube is embedded in the duct flow path and configured to form part of the duct flow path.
Grether teaches a similar integrated fluid distributor (FIG. 20 paragraph [0096 ] system 140 for cleaning a vehicle surface 142). Grether teaches a plurality of first valves for a first fluid (FIGS. 17-18 paragraph [0082] pressurized cleaning media 148’, such as air, is supplied to the second valve 14’. FIG. 20 paragraph [0096] System 140 has multiple control valve assemblies 10’. Second valve 14’ is applicable to each assembly 10’) and a plurality of second valves for a second fluid (FIGS. 17-18 paragraph [0082] pressurized cleaning media 148, such as liquid is supplied to the first valve 14. FIG. 20 paragraph [0096] System 140 has multiple control valve assemblies 10’. First valve 14 is applicable to each assembly 10’).
The combination of Grether’s valves and Lehtonen’s case would result in a body portion accommodating the plurality of valves.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the integrated fluid distributor of Lehtonen with valves as taught by Grether. It would be obvious to add valves to the system in order to control the direction and output of the fluid flow.
Yamamoto teaches a fluid distributor (column 9 line 50 parts washer 240). Yamamoto teaches the first inlet includes an inlet valve configured to control a flow of the first fluid within the first flow path (column 9 lines 61-63 valve 248 is arranged on a tube 244 before manifold 108’); in the first flow path, a duct flow path is formed between the inlet valve and a first valve positioned upstream of the first flow path (FIG. 6 there is a duct flow path between valve 248 and manifold 108’) and an auxiliary tube is embedded in the duct flow path and configured to form part of the duct flow path (FIG. 6 column 9 lines 63-65 flow restrictor 250, which reads on the claimed auxiliary tube, is located in that portion of the tube 244 between valve 248 and manifold 108’).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the integrated fluid distributor of Lehtonen with an inlet valve and auxiliary tube as taught by Yamamoto. It would have been obvious to have a valve in order to allow passage and prevent back streaming of fluid (column 8 line 15). Additionally, it is known to one skilled in the art to use a flow restrictor in order to prevent too rapid or too slow of a discharge of a fluid (column 9 line 67- column 10 line 2).
As to claim 2, (Original) Grether further teaches each first valve is configured to open and close a branch point of each first outlet branching from the first flow path (FIGS. 17-18, 20 paragraph [0081] control valve 14’ controls the flow of a second cleaning media to a second nozzle 144’), and each second valve is configured to open and close a branch point of each second outlet branching from the second flow path (FIGS. 17-18, 20 paragraph [0081] control valve 14 controls the flow of a first cleaning media to a first nozzle 144).
As to claim 4, (Currently Amended) Lehtonen and Grether further teach the body portion has a plurality of valve accommodation holes arranged in two rows in a lengthwise direction of the body portion (Lehtonen FIG. 3 shows accommodation space in a lengthwise direction of the casing),
the plurality of valve accommodation holes in one row respectively accommodate the plurality of first valves and communicate with the first flow path (Lehtonen FIG. 3 accommodates a space for a nozzle and inlet paths. Grether paragraph [0083] valves 14 and 14’ are within assembly 10’. Each valve is associated with a respective nozzle. The combination of Lehtonen and Grether would result in a body that can accommodate the first valves and first flow path.), and
the plurality of valve accommodation holes in another row respectively accommodate the plurality of second valves and communicate with the second flow path (Lehtonen FIG. 3 accommodates a space for a nozzle and inlet paths. Grether paragraph [0083] valves 14 and 14’ are within assembly 10’. Each valve is associated with a respective nozzle. The combination of Lehtonen and Grether would result in a body that can accommodate the second valves and second flow path.).
As to claim 5, (Currently Amended) Lehtonen further teaches the plurality of first outlets extend from the manifold to be parallel to a heightwise direction of the body portion (FIG. 3 inputs IA1-IA4 are parallel to a height of the body portion),
the second inlet extends from the manifold to be parallel to a lengthwise direction of the body portion (FIG. 3 inlet of CILL extends to be parallel to a lengthwise direction of the body portion), and the plurality of second outlets extend from the manifold to be parallel to a widthwise direction of the body portion (FIG. 3 inputs IL1-IL4 are parallel to a width of the body portion).
Lehtonen does not teach that the first inlet is parallel to a heightwise direction of the body portion. However, absent the demonstration of any new or unobvious results, the claimed configuration is considered by Examiner to be prima facie obvious as a rearrangement of parts. It is old and well known to rearrange parts, with no change in their respective functions, due to size/space design criteria, the manufacturing expense thereof or purely for aesthetics. See MPEP § 2144.04, VI, C. Rearrangement of Parts.
As to claim 18, (Original) Grether further teaches the integrated fluid distributor is applied to a cleaning system for cleaning a vehicle sensor mounted on a vehicle (paragraph [0002] vehicle cleaning systems and devices to clean a surface, such as a vehicle camera, sensor, or other surface), the cleaning system includes an air supply module configured to supply compressed air (FIG. 20 paragraph [0082] the pressurized cleaning media 148’ is air), and a cleaning liquid supply module configured to supply a cleaning liquid (FIG. 20 paragraph [0082] pressurized cleaning media 148 is liquid), and the integrated fluid distributor is configured to be in fluid connection with the air supply module and the cleaning liquid supply module (FIG. 20 system 140 is fluidly connected to pressurized liquid 148 and pressurized air 148’).
As to claim 20, (Original) Lehtonen and Grether further teach the integrated fluid distributor forms a module integrated with or an assembly integrally assembled with at least one of the air supply module and the cleaning liquid supply module (Grether FIG. 20 paragraph [0086] system 140 forms an assembly with the air supply module and the cleaning liquid supply module. Lehtonen paragraph [0042] system S comprises the fluid distribution system and the air supply module and the cleaning liquid supply module).
Claims 7-8 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lehtonen et al. U.S. Publication 2020/0055065 (henceforth referred to as Lehtonen), Grether et al. U.S. Publication 2021/0261097 (henceforth referred to as Grether), and Yamamoto U.S. Patent 5,213,117 (henceforth referred to as Yamamoto) as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Satarino et al. U.S. Patent 11,124,159 (henceforth referred to as Satarino).
As to claim 7, (Currently Amended) Grether further teaches the plurality of first valves, and the plurality of second valves are solenoid valves having the same configuration (paragraph [0045] the valves can be a solenoid valve).
Lehtonen, Grether, and Yamamoto differ from the instant claim in failing to teach that the inlet valve is a solenoid valve.
Satarino teaches a similar integrated fluid distributor (FIG. 5 column 5 lines 3-4 washer fluid distribution manifold). Satarino teaches the inlet valve is a solenoid valve (column 5 line 53 solenoid 118).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the integrated fluid distributor of Lehtonen, Grether, and Yamamoto with a solenoid valve as taught by Satarino. It would have been obvious to use a valve in order to allow passage and have a pressurized delivery into the manifold (column 6 lines 20-22).
As to claim 8, (Original) Grether further teaches each solenoid valve includes:
a valve body (FIG. 18 paragraph [0087] valve body 30, 30’);
a plurality of first holes disposed in one side of the valve body (FIGS. 18-19 paragraph [0087] valve inlet 18, 18’);
a second hole formed to protrude from the one side of the valve body (FIGS. 18-19 paragraph [0087] valve outlet 32, 32’);
a valve flow path formed within the valve body, the valve flow path configured to fluidly connect the plurality of first holes and the second hole to each other (FIG. 18 paragraph [0087] fluid passage 34, 34’); and
a plunger configured to move by electromagnetic force generated when power is applied, wherein the plunger is configured to regulate the valve flow path (paragraph [0071] plunger 50 is moved against the force of the closing spring 56 via magnetic force.).
Satarino does not teach the structure of the solenoid. However, it would be obvious that the solenoid as taught by Satarino would have the same structure as taught by Grether.
As to claim 10, (Currently Amended) Grether, Yamamoto and Satarino further teach when the inlet valve is the solenoid valve (Satarino FIG. 5 column 5 line 53 solenoid 118), one of the plurality of first holes is configured to be in fluid communication with the first inlet (Grether FIGS. 17-19 the first hole 18 or 18’ are in fluid communication with the first inlet 146 or 146’ via adaptor 156), and the second hole is configured to be in fluid communication with the inlet (Grether FIGS. 17-19 paragraphs [0046] and [0087] a fluid passage 34 is formed in the valve body and provides a pathway for cleaning media from the inlet 18 to the valve outlet 32. Each valve body 30, 30’, has a valve inlet 18, 18’, valve outlet 32, 32’, and fluid passage 34, 34’ as described previously. Valve outlet 32, 32’ would be in fluid communication with inlet 146 and/or 146’).
Lehtonen, Grether, Yamamoto and Satarino do not teach that one of the plurality of first holes is aligned with the first inlet and that the second hole is aligned with an inlet of the auxiliary tube. However, absent the demonstration of any new or unobvious results, the claimed configuration is considered by Examiner to be prima facie obvious as a rearrangement of parts. It is old and well known to rearrange parts, with no change in their respective functions, due to size/space design criteria, the manufacturing expense thereof or purely for aesthetics. See MPEP § 2144.04, VI, C. Rearrangement of Parts.
As to claim 11, (Original) Grether further teaches when the plurality of first valves are solenoid valves (paragraph [0045] the valves can be a solenoid valve), the plurality of first holes of each solenoid valve are configured to be in fluid communication with the first flow path (FIGS. 17 and 20 the first holes of the solenoid valve are in fluid communication with the flow path 146’), and the second hole of each solenoid valve is aligned with each first outlet and is configured to be in fluid communication with each first outlet (FIG. 19 paragraph [0087] valve outlet 32’. The second hole is fluid communication with each first outlet).
As to claim 12, (Original) Grether further teaches when the plurality of second valves are solenoid valves (paragraph [0045] the valves can be a solenoid valve), the plurality of first holes of each solenoid valve are configured to be in fluid communication with the second flow path (FIGS. 17 and 20 the first holes of the solenoid valve are in fluid communication with the flow path 146), and the second hole of each solenoid valve is configured to be in fluid communication with each second outlet (FIG. 19 paragraph [0087] valve outlet 32. The second hole is fluid communication with each second outlet).
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lehtonen et al. U.S. Publication 2020/0055065 (henceforth referred to as Lehtonen), Grether et al. U.S. Publication 2021/0261097 (henceforth referred to as Grether), and Yamamoto U.S. Patent 5,213,117 (henceforth referred to as Yamamoto) as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Albrecht et al. U.S. Publication 2020/0317160 (henceforth referred to as Albrecht).
As to claim 13, (Currently Amended) Lehtonen, Grether, and Yamamoto differ from the instant claim in failing to teach the body portion has a sensor accommodation hole disposed in one side thereof, and at least one fluid sensor is accommodated in the sensor accommodation hole.
Albrecht teaches a similar integrated fluid distributor (FIG. 2A paragraph [0058] fluid distribution manifold 200). Albrecht teaches the body portion has a sensor accommodation hole disposed in one side thereof, and at least one fluid sensor is accommodated in the sensor accommodation hole (paragraph [0073] a pressure sensor may be included in the manifold 232. If the sensor is located in the manifold, then there is an accommodation space for the sensor.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the integrated fluid distributor of Lehtonen, Grether, and Yamamoto with a space in which the sensor can be accommodated as taught by Albrecht. It would be obvious to include a pressure sensor to detect conditions of the system (paragraph [0073]).
As to claim 14, (Original) Albrecht further teaches the first flow path includes a sensing flow path configured to allow the first inlet and the sensor accommodation hole to communicate with each other (If the sensor is located in the manifold, then the inlet and the sensor accommodation hole would communicate with each other).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lehtonen et al. U.S. Publication 2020/0055065 (henceforth referred to as Lehtonen), Grether et al. U.S. Publication 2021/0261097 (henceforth referred to as Grether), Yamamoto U.S. Patent 5,213,117 (henceforth referred to as Yamamoto), and Albrecht et al. U.S. Publication 2020/0317160 (henceforth referred to as Albrecht) as applied to claim 14 above, in further view of Grasso FR3119136 (henceforth referred to as Grasso).
As to claim 15, (Original) Albrecht further teaches the fluid sensor is a pressure sensor (paragraphs [0071] and [0073] a pressure sensor may be included in the manifold 232 to detect if fluid is frozen.).
Lehtonen, Grether, Yamamoto, and Albrecht differ from the instant claim in failing to teach the pressure sensor measures a pressure of the first fluid flowing into the sensor accommodation hole through the sensing flow path.
Grasso teaches a similar integrated fluid distributor (FIG. 1 paragraph [0054] cleaning system 2 mounted on a motor vehicle). Grasso teaches the pressure sensor measures a pressure of the first fluid flowing into the sensor accommodation hole through the sensing flow path (paragraphs [0064] and [0102] the pressure sensor is used to measure a parameter relating to the pressure in a segment between an outlet port of the pump 6 and an inlet port of the valve(s) 12. The measuring parameter related to pressure can be flow rate of cleaning fluid.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the integrated fluid distributor of Lehtonen, Grether, Yamamoto, and Albrecht with a pressure sensor that measures fluid as taught by Grasso. It is known in the art to have a way to monitor flow whether to confirm that there is a flow, no flow and/or to determine that the flow rate is sufficient.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lehtonen et al. U.S. Publication 2020/0055065 (henceforth referred to as Lehtonen), Grether et al. U.S. Publication 2021/0261097 (henceforth referred to as Grether), Yamamoto U.S. Patent 5,213,117 (henceforth referred to as Yamamoto), and Albrecht et al. U.S. Publication 2020/0317160 (henceforth referred to as Albrecht) as applied to claim 13 above, in further view of Satarino et al. U.S. Patent 11,124,159 (henceforth referred to as Satarino) and Grasso FR3119136 (henceforth referred to as Grasso).
As to claim 16, (Original) Grether further teaches a control board disposed on the body portion, the control board is electrically connected to the plurality of first valves, and the plurality of second valves (paragraph [0084] the valves 14, 14’ can be controlled by a control unit) to receive information from the fluid sensor and to control operation of the plurality of first valves, and the plurality of second valves (paragraph [0084] the valves 14, 14’ can be controlled by a control unit).
Lehtonen, Grether, Yamamoto, and Albrecht differ from the instant claim in failing to teach a control board that is electrically connected to the fluid sensor and the inlet valve, a fluid sensor, and a control board that receives information from the fluid sensor and controls operation of the inlet valve.
Satarino teaches a similar integrated fluid distributor (FIG. 5 column 5 lines 3-4 washer fluid distribution manifold). Satarino teaches the control board is electrically connected to the inlet valve (column 5 lines 55-56 solenoid 118 is activated. This would indicate that there is a controller), and a control board that controls operation of the inlet valve (column 5 lines 55-56 solenoid 118 is activated, which means that the solenoid can be controlled).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the integrated fluid distributor of Lehtonen, Grether, Yamamoto and Albrecht with a solenoid valve that can be controlled as taught by Satarino. It would have been obvious to use controller to control a solenoid valve as it provides convenience to the operator.
Grasso teaches a similar integrated fluid distributor (FIG. 1 paragraph [0054] cleaning system 2 mounted on a motor vehicle). Grasso teaches the fluid sensor (paragraph [0064] pressure sensor 16) and a control board that receives information from the fluid sensor (paragraph [0028] a control unit is able to receive the data regarding the measurement of a parameter relating to the pressure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the integrated fluid distributor of Lehtonen, Grether, Yamamoto and Albrecht with a control board that is capable of connecting to the fluid sensor as taught by Grasso. It is known in the art to use a controller to control and monitor parameters within a system.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lehtonen et al. U.S. Publication 2020/0055065 (henceforth referred to as Lehtonen), Grether et al. U.S. Publication 2021/0261097 (henceforth referred to as Grether), and Yamamoto U.S. Patent 5,213,117 (henceforth referred to as Yamamoto) as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Dellock et al. U.S. Publication 2018/0363945 (henceforth referred to as Dellock).
As to claim 17, (Currently Amended) Grether further teaches a heating member disposed in at least one of the first flow path and the second flow path (paragraph [0085] system 140 can be provided with at least one heating element for heating the cleaning media).
Lehtonen, Grether, and Yamamoto differ from the instant claim in failing to teach that the heating member includes a heating wire.
Dellock teaches a similar integrated fluid distributor (FIG. 1 paragraph [0030] washer fluid assembly used to clean the windshield). Dellock teaches the heating member includes a heating wire (paragraph [0049] the heating element 68 comprises of two wires).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the integrated fluid distributor of Lehtonen, Grether, and Yamamoto with a heating wire as taught by Dellock. There are many embodiments of a heating element and a heating wire is one of the types that can be used to heat a cleaning fluid.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lehtonen et al. U.S. Publication 2020/0055065 (henceforth referred to as Lehtonen), Grether et al. U.S. Publication 2021/0261097 (henceforth referred to as Grether), and Yamamoto U.S. Patent 5,213,117 (henceforth referred to as Yamamoto) as applied to claim 18 above, in further view of Baldovino et al. U.S. Publication 2020/0369245 (henceforth referred to as Baldovino).
As to claim 19, (Original) Lehtonen and Grether further teach the air supply module includes an air compressor configured to generate compressed air (Grether paragraph [0082] cleaning media 148, 148’ is put under pressure from an external system such as compressors), and an air tank configured to store the compressed air (Lehtonen paragraph [0034] air tank), the cleaning liquid supply module includes a cleaning liquid tank configured to store a cleaning liquid (Lehtonen paragraph [0060] liquid source LS), the air tank is configured to be in fluid connection with the first inlet, such that compressed air, a first fluid, or a combination thereof are distributed in the first flow path (Lehtonen paragraph [0038] pressurized air is supplied to input line CILA), such that a cleaning liquid, a second fluid, or a combination thereof are distributed in the second flow path (Lehtonen paragraph [0038] liquid is supplied to input line CILL).
Lehtonen, Grether, and Yamamoto differ from the instant claim in failing to teach a pump configured to supply the cleaning liquid stored in the cleaning liquid tank to the integrated fluid distributor and the pump is configured to be in fluid connection with the second inlet.
Baldovino teaches a similar integrated fluid distributor (FIGS. 2-3 paragraph [0029] cleaning system 32). Baldovino teaches a pump configured to supply the cleaning liquid stored in the cleaning liquid tank to the integrated fluid distributor (FIG. 2 paragraph [0031] pump 64 forces washer fluid to nozzles 70).
The combination of Lehtonen and Baldovino would result in a pump that is configured to be in fluid connection with the second inlet.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the integrated fluid distributor of Lehtonen, Grether, and Yamamoto with a pump as taught by Baldovino. It is known in the art to use a pump in order to supply pressure to a fluid so that the fluid can flow through pipes, manifolds, or nozzles.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.G.O./Examiner, Art Unit 1711
/MICHAEL E BARR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1711