DETAILED ACTION
Claim 8 has been amended. Claims 1-16 are pending in the instant application. Claims 1-7 and 13-16 are withdrawn by Applicant.
Priority
This application was filed January 16, 2024, which claims priority benefit to Korean Patent Application No.10-0023-0025700 filed on February 27, 2023.
However, the certified foreign priority document has not been received, nor retrieved by the Office successfully. Applicant needs to provide the priority document.
Information Disclosure Statements
Applicants’ Information Disclosure Statements, filed on 01/31/2025 and 01/16/2024, have been considered. Please refer to Applicant’s copies of the PTO-1449 submitted herewith.
Response to Restriction Requirement
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (i.e. claims 8-12) in the reply filed by Applicant’s representative Jae Deok Ahn on 08/24/2026 is acknowledged.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-7 and 13-15 were withdrawn from further consideration by Applicant as being drawn to non-elected inventions due to the restriction requirement. Claims 8-12 are under examination on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liang et al., Coatings, (2020), v.10, p282(1-16).
Applicant’s claim 8 is drawn to a ferroelectric thin film transistor, comprising: a gate electrode formed on a substrate; a gate insulating layer formed on the gate electrode; an oxide semiconductor layer formed on the gate insulating layer; and a source electrode and drain electrode respectively formed on opposite sides of the oxide semiconductor layer, wherein the gate insulating layer comprises the ferroelectric zirconium aluminum oxide (ZAO) compound comprising zirconium and aluminum.
Liang et al. discloses a ferroelectric thin film transistor and a method for preparing the ferroelectric thin film transistor, see “2.3. Metal-insulator-Metal Device Fabrication and Characterization” and “2.4. Thin-Film Transistor Applications and Characterization” at p.282(3 of 16). Specifically, Liang et al. discloses the ferroelectric thin film transistor was prepared by depositing 150 nm-thick indium tin oxide (ITO) on glass substrates, and the ITO film was used as a bottom electrode (a gate electrode), followed by ZAO films (a gate insulating layer), and an IGZO film composed of the atomic ratio of In:Ga:Zn:O=1:1:1:4 (an oxide semiconductor layer) with 10 nm thickness was deposited on the ZAO films; and at the end, the Al (aluminum) source/drain electrodes were deposited on it. In addition, Liang et al. discloses 100 nm-thick circular aluminum electrode was deposited by RF sputtering through a shadow metal mask. It can be seen from the above description that the Al (aluminum) source/drain electrodes are two different electrodes and were deposited on the ZAO films (a gate insulating layer) separately. Accordingly, the source electrode and drain electrode formed on opposite sides of the oxide semiconductor layer. Therefore, Liang et al. anticipates claim 8.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KR102283203B1 (“the `203 patent”) to Lee et al.
The `203 patent [0026] discloses a diagram of FIG. 1
illustrating the structure of a ferroelectric transistor includes a structure in which a gate electrode layer, a ferroelectric layer (gate insulating layer), and oxide semiconductor layer, a source electrode, and a drain electrode are stacked in order. FIG.1 shows the source electrode and drain electrode respectively formed on opposite sides of the oxide semiconductor layer. The `203 patent [0011] discloses the gate electrode layer may be deposited on a silicon substrate on which silicon oxide is deposited. In addition, the `203 patent [0014] discloses the ferroelectric layer may comprise an oxide film having at least one of Zr, Si, Al, Gd, Hf, and Y. Therefore, the `203 patent anticipates claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the `203 patent in view of Liang et al., Peng et al., Nanoscale Research Letters, (2019), v.14, p.115(1-9), and US2019/088758 (“the `758 publication”) to Jeong et al.
In terms of claim 9 wherein the gate electrode comprises a first gate electrode and a second gate electrode, the `203 patent [0013 and 0027] discloses the gate electrode layer may include at least one film of TiN, Cu, Mo, W, Pt, Au, Ta, Al and Ni. Because the gate electrode layer may include at least one film, it suggests the gate electrode layer may include multiple films, and each film can function as a gate electrode. Therefore, the `203 patent teaches and/or suggests the limitation “the gate electrode comprises a first gate electrode and a second gate electrode”.
In terms of claim 10 wherein the gate insulating layer has a thickness of 30 nm to 60 nm, the `203 patent [0033] discloses a ferroelectric layer (gate insulating layer) has a thickness of 20nm to 30 nm.
In terms of claim 11 wherein the oxide semiconductor layer contains nanocrystals, Peng et al. (Absrtract) discloses a nanocrystal-embedded-insulator (NEI) ferroelectric field-effect transistor (FeFET) for memory applications.
In terms of claim 12 wherein the oxide semiconductor layer has a thickness of 40 nm to 60 nm, Liang et al. teaches the oxide semiconductor layer of IGZO film with 10 nm thickness was deposited, see “2.4. Thin-Film Transistor Applications and Characterization” at p.282(3 of 16). However, the difference of the thickness of the layer is further taught and/or suggested by the `758 publication. The `758 publication [0014, 0040, and claim 25] teaches the thin film transistor comprises the gate insulating film having a thickness of 30 nm to 40 nm.
Conclusions
Claims 8-12 are rejected.
Claims 1-7 and 13-16 are withdrawn.
Telephone Inquiry
Status Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/YONG L CHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1731