DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after January 16, 2024, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) submitted on February 05, 2024 has been
considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Objections
Claims 8-9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 8, “the input devices of the local computing device further includes” should read “the input devices of the local computing device further include.”
Regarding claim 9, “The system for the remote creation and delivery of digital portraits of claim 9” should read “The system for the remote creation and delivery of digital portraits of claim 1.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bakshi (US 11979448 B1) in view of Thiel (US 20230137265 A1) and further in view of Wasserman (US 20210217066 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Bakshi discloses a system for the remote creation and delivery of digital portraits, comprising: wherein a user interface application ("UI") is stored in memory on the local and remote computing devices (Fig. 3A, 204; Bakshi); wherein the remote computing device includes a digital painting application (“FIG. 5A is a front perspective view of a shared digital canvas (opposite ends are connected, see 506a, 506b, and 506c) that is a live window through which the two participants at remote locations can share an interactive experience in real time as they see and converse (through the audio component) with each other while they draw, paint or otherwise express their artistic talent” Bakshi (52)); wherein the local and remote computing devices are configured to allow audio-visual communication with each other (“The process 500 proceeds to the next step 512, including one or more operations configured to initiate an audio channel between the first and second remote locations to allow the first and second users (children) to communicate.” Bakshi (54); Fig. 5A, 504a and 504b; Bakshi. The children can see one another on the screen, thereby teaching the visual communication aspect.); and wherein the UI on the remote computing device is configured to allow the selected remotely located artist to access the digital painting application on the remote computing device to paint a digital image of the user of the local computing device (“a live window through which the two participants at remote locations can share an interactive experience in real time as they see and converse (through the audio component) with each other while they draw, paint or otherwise express their artistic talent” Bakshi (52). The users can paint a portrait of one another.).
Bakshi does not expressively teach “a local computing device and a remote computing device interconnected by a network; wherein the local computing device is connected to input devices including a microphone, speakers, camera and a display device; wherein the remote computing device is connected to input devices including a camera, a microphone, speakers and a display device; wherein a database of remotely located artists is stored on the local computing device; wherein the UI on the local computing device is configured to allow a user to select a remotely located artist from the database of remotely located artists.”
However, Thiel does teach a local computing device and a remote computing device interconnected by a network (“The first user's client device 150 and additional users' client device(s) 160 in this environment may be computers, and the video communication platform server 140 and processing engine 102 may be applications or software hosted on a computer or multiple computers which are communicatively coupled via remote server or locally.” Thiel [0021]); wherein the local computing device is connected to input devices including a microphone, speakers, camera and a display device (“Peripherals 1205 may include input peripherals such as a keyboard, mouse, trackball, video camera, microphone, and other input devices. Peripherals 1205 may also include output devices such as a display.” Thiel [0083]. A speaker can be another input device that can be hooked up to a standard computer.); wherein the remote computing device is connected to input devices including a camera, a microphone, speakers and a display device (“Peripherals 1205 may include input peripherals such as a keyboard, mouse, trackball, video camera, microphone, and other input devices. Peripherals 1205 may also include output devices such as a display.” Thiel [0083]. A speaker can be another input device that can be hooked up to a standard computer.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Bakshi with Thiel to allow participants to communicate remotely.
Additionally, Wasserman does teach wherein a database of remotely located artists is stored on the local computing device (“In one embodiment, the hardware processor 112 and non-transitory memory 114 includes an artist information database 116” Wasserman [0043]) and wherein the UI on the local computing device is configured to allow a user to select a remotely located artist from the database of remotely located artists (“It is to be understood that selection of tattoo artist 108 by the user 102 is based upon satisfaction of user 102 with the preview on the selected segment depicting the personalized rendition of the one or more reference images in which server 112 schedules a booking between user 102 and tattoo artist 108 once user 102 confirms the quote.” Wasserman [0065]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Bakshi, in view of Thiel, with Wasserman to improve user satisfaction of paintings. Having a database of artists for users to parse through provides users with various options when selecting an artist. More options of artists allow users to select an artist or artwork that truly resonates with their preferences.
Regarding claim 2, Bakshi, in view of Thiel and Wasserman, discloses the system for the remote creation and delivery of digital portraits of claim 1, further including a printer connected to the local computer for printing the digital image (“Network adapters may also be coupled to the system to enable the data processing system to become coupled to other data processing systems, remote printers, social network data stores, or other venues, through intervening private or public networks.” Bakshi (120)).
Regarding claim 3, Bakshi, in view of Thiel and Wasserman, discloses the system for the remote creation and delivery of digital portraits of claim 2, further including a plotter (“Whatever is touched onto the screen via hand, virtual pen, or other mechanism, is then conveyed on top of that image for both participants.” Bakshi (56)).
Regarding claim 4, Bakshi, in view of Thiel and Wasserman, discloses the system for the remote creation and delivery of digital portraits of claim 3, wherein the plotter is a pen plotter (“Whatever is touched onto the screen via hand, virtual pen, or other mechanism, is then conveyed on top of that image for both participants.” Bakshi (56)).
Regarding claim 5, Bakshi, in view of Thiel and Wasserman, discloses the system for the remote creation and delivery of digital portraits of claim 1, wherein the camera of the local computing device includes pan, tilt, zoom (“In an embodiment, individual virtual cameras may have the ability to pan, tilt, zoom, and move in other ways.” Thiel [0048]), and automatic face-tracking capabilities (“the facial expressions may be controlled by user interface controls, sensors, face detection, face tracking” Thiel [0060]).
Regarding claim 7, Bakshi, in view of Thiel and Wasserman, discloses the system for the remote creation and delivery of digital portraits of claim 1, wherein the display device of the local computing device is a touch screen monitor (“Whatever is touched onto the screen via hand, virtual pen, or other mechanism, is then conveyed on top of that image for both participants.” Bakshi (56)).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bakshi (US 11979448 B1) in view of Thiel (US 20230137265 A1), Wasserman (US 20210217066 A1), and further in view of Li et. al (US 20080320501 A1, hereinafter Li).
Regarding claim 6, Bakshi, in view of Thiel and Wasserman, discloses the system for the remote creation and delivery of digital portraits of claim 1.
Bakshi, in view of Thiel and Wasserman, does not expressively teach “wherein the UI on the local and remote computing devices is configured to allow a user of the remote computing device to control the camera of the local computing device.”
However, Li does teach wherein the UI on the local and remote computing devices is configured to allow a user of the remote computing device to control the camera of the local computing device (“For example, a user can couple two or more computing machines into an aggregated computer system, and thereafter control each machine's connected hardware devices (via wired and/or wireless connections) from a uniform user interface, such as to perform pointing device (e.g., mouse) switching, keyboard switching, use a SmartPhone as a media center user interface, use a SmartPhone camera as a local computer camera, provide a multiple-display system, and access a vast amount of storage space.” Li [0020]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Bakshi, in view of Thiel and Wasserman, with Li to improve the quality of the painting. Providing the remote artist with control of the local user’s camera would allow the artist to make any required changes to the user’s camera settings to ensure the painting is made accordingly.
Claims 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bakshi (US 11979448 B1) in view of Thiel (US 20230137265 A1), Wasserman (US 20210217066 A1), and further in view of Tautenhahn et. al (US 20130307998 A1, hereinafter Tautenhahn).
Regarding claim 8, Bakshi, in view of Thiel and Wasserman, discloses the system for the remote creation and delivery of digital portraits of claim 1.
Bakshi, in view of Thiel and Wasserman, does not expressively teach “wherein the input devices of the local computing device further includes a card payment unit.”
However, Tautenhahn does teach wherein the input devices of the local computing device further includes a card payment unit (“The PC 120 also can be coupled to a payment module 195 including a bill acceptor device 130, and a stand-alone credit card processor 140 with wireless connection to a remote credit authorization facility.” Tautenhahn [0025]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Bakshi, in view of Thiel and Wasserman, with Tautenhahn to provide the users with various options for payment.
Regarding claim 9, Bakshi, in view of Thiel and Wasserman, discloses the system for the remote creation and delivery of digital portraits of claim 9.
Bakshi, in view of Thiel and Wasserman does not expressively teach “wherein the local computing device and the connected input, output and display devices are disposed within a cabinet.”
However, Tautenhahn does teach wherein the local computing device and the connected input, output and display devices are disposed within a cabinet (“Photobooth cabinet 105” Tautenhahn [0018]; Fig. 1, 105; Tautenhahn).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Bakshi, in view of Thiel and Wasserman, with Tautenhahn to provide the users with various options for payment.
Regarding claim 10, Bakshi, in view of Thiel, Wasserman, and Tautenhahn, discloses the system for the remote creation and delivery of digital portraits of claim 9, wherein the cabinet is configured as a photo booth (“Photobooth cabinet 105” Tautenhahn [0018]; Fig. 1, 105; Tautenhahn).
Regarding claim 11, Bakshi, in view of Thiel, Wasserman, and Tautenhahn, discloses the system for the remote creation and delivery of digital portraits of claim 10, wherein the cabinet is configured to include a mirror which reflects an image of a user (“The present invention is configured to provide a different, stronger experience, by allowing a child/user on one side of a digital screen to be able to view another child doing the drawing as if he or she was standing on the other side of a window and drawing with a marker on that window (shared screen). The advantage of this is that participants may see each other, eye-to-eye and speak to one another through a shared digital surface, even as they are drawing on it.” Bakshi (55)).
Claims 12, 14-16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bakshi (US 11979448 B1) in view of Thiel (US 20230137265 A1), Wasserman (US 20210217066 A1), and further in view of Yabu (US 20170091737 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Bakshi discloses a method for the remote creation and delivery of digital portraits, comprising the steps of: a digital painting application (“FIG. 5A is a front perspective view of a shared digital canvas (opposite ends are connected, see 506a, 506b, and 506c) that is a live window through which the two participants at remote locations can share an interactive experience in real time as they see and converse (through the audio component) with each other while they draw, paint or otherwise express their artistic talent” Bakshi (52)); providing a user interface ("UI") stored in memory on the local computing device and the remote computing device (Fig. 3A, 204; Bakshi); generating by the UI, a video call display screen (“live window through which the two participants at remote locations can share an interactive experience in real time as they see and converse (through the audio component) with each other” Bakshi (52)); placing, by the user of the local computing device, a video-call to the selected remotely located artist (“live window through which the two participants at remote locations can share an interactive experience in real time as they see and converse (through the audio component) with each other” Bakshi (52)); generating by the UI, a workspace sharing screen (“while they draw, paint or otherwise express their artistic talent; with this digital canvas, children across the world (504a, 504b, 504c, 504d) can draw together live, on the same digital canvas to create a global collaborative mural.” Bakshi (52)); sharing, by the remotely located artist, the workspace on the remote computing device with the local computing device (“while they draw, paint or otherwise express their artistic talent; with this digital canvas, children across the world (504a, 504b, 504c, 504d) can draw together live, on the same digital canvas to create a global collaborative mural.” Bakshi (52)); generating by the UI, a painting progress display screen (“FIG. 5C is a perspective view of the digital art canvases (top edge 512 may be configured with varying thickness) linked to a remote screen so that artwork that is collaboratively created can be freely accessed, viewed, shared (514), and saved in real-time and displayed on a website (516), in an infinitely expanding work of art.” Bakshi (53); Fig. 5C; Bakshi. Participants are able to see the progress of the painting in real-time.); painting, by the remotely located artist, a digital image of the user of the local computing device (“a live window through which the two participants at remote locations can share an interactive experience in real time as they see and converse (through the audio component) with each other while they draw, paint or otherwise express their artistic talent” Bakshi (52). The users can paint a portrait of one another.); generating by the UI, a digital image transfer screen (“live window through which the two participants at remote locations can share an interactive experience in real time as they see and converse (through the audio component) with each other” Bakshi (52). The images are transferred across participants in real-time.); sending by the remotely located artist the painted digital image to the user of the local computing device (“live window through which the two participants at remote locations can share an interactive experience in real time as they see and converse (through the audio component) with each other” Bakshi (52). Each participant has live access to the painted digital image.); and delivering the painted digital image (“the same digital canvas to create a global collaborative mural.” Bakshi (52). The painting is accessible in real-time by either participant.).
Bakshi does not expressively teach “providing a local computing device equipped with a camera, monitor, microphone, speaker, and, a database of remotely located artists; providing a remote computing device equipped with a camera, monitor, microphone, speaker; providing a network interconnecting the local computing device and the remote computing device; generating by the UI a search screen and selection display screen for searching the database of remotely located artists; searching by a user of the local computing device, the database of remotely located artists; selecting by the user of the local computing device, a remotely located artist accessible on the remote computing device; generating by the UI, a payment screen; selecting, by the user of the local computing device, a method of payment for the painted digital image.”
However, Thiel does teach providing a local computing device equipped with a camera, monitor, microphone, speaker, (“Peripherals 1205 may include input peripherals such as a keyboard, mouse, trackball, video camera, microphone, and other input devices. Peripherals 1205 may also include output devices such as a display.” Thiel [0083]. A speaker can be another input device that can be hooked up to a standard computer.); providing a remote computing device equipped with a camera, monitor, microphone, speaker, (“Peripherals 1205 may include input peripherals such as a keyboard, mouse, trackball, video camera, microphone, and other input devices. Peripherals 1205 may also include output devices such as a display.” Thiel [0083]. A speaker can be another input device that can be hooked up to a standard computer.); providing a network interconnecting the local computing device and the remote computing device (“The first user's client device 150 and additional users' client device(s) 160 in this environment may be computers, and the video communication platform server 140 and processing engine 102 may be applications or software hosted on a computer or multiple computers which are communicatively coupled via remote server or locally.” Thiel [0021]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Bakshi with Thiel to allow participants to communicate remotely.
Additionally, Wasserman does teach a database of remotely located artists (“In one embodiment, the hardware processor 112 and non-transitory memory 114 includes an artist information database 116” Wasserman [0043]); generating by the UI a search screen and selection display screen for searching the database of remotely located artists (“In one embodiment, user 102 may utilize interface 400 to view an aggregated list of a set of tattoo artists along with a subset of components associated with the set of tattoo artists.” Wasserman [0058]; Fig. 4A); searching by a user of the local computing device, the database of remotely located artists (“In one embodiment, user 102 may utilize interface 400 to view an aggregated list of a set of tattoo artists along with a subset of components associated with the set of tattoo artists.” Wasserman [0058]); selecting by the user of the local computing device, a remotely located artist accessible on the remote computing device (“It is to be understood that selection of tattoo artist 108 by the user 102 is based upon satisfaction of user 102 with the preview on the selected segment depicting the personalized rendition of the one or more reference images in which server 112 schedules a booking between user 102 and tattoo artist 108 once user 102 confirms the quote.” Wasserman [0065]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Bakshi, in view of Thiel, with Wasserman to improve user satisfaction of paintings. Having a database of artists for users to parse through provides users with various options when selecting an artist. More options of artists allow users to select an artist or artwork that truly resonates with their preferences.
Lastly, Yabu does teach generating by the UI, a payment screen (Fig. 8; Yabu); selecting, by the user of the local computing device, a method of payment for the painted digital image (Fig. 8; Yabu).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Bakshi, in view of Thiel and Wasserman, with Yabu to provide a variety of different payment methods for the user.
Regarding claim 14, Bakshi, in view of Thiel, Wasserman, Yabu, and Toda, discloses the method for the remote creation and delivery of digital portraits of claim 13, further comprising the step of providing a plotter connected to the local computing device (“Whatever is touched onto the screen via hand, virtual pen, or other mechanism, is then conveyed on top of that image for both participants.” Bakshi (56)).
Regarding claim 15, Bakshi, in view of Thiel, Wasserman, Yabu, and Toda, discloses the method for the remote creation and delivery of digital portraits of claim 14, further comprising the step of using the plotter to add indicia to the printed, painted digital image (“Whatever is touched onto the screen via hand, virtual pen, or other mechanism, is then conveyed on top of that image for both participants.” Bakshi (56)).
Regarding claim 16, Bakshi, in view of Thiel, Wasserman, and Yabu, discloses the method for the remote creation and delivery of digital portraits of claim 12, further comprising the step of providing the camera of the local computing device with pan, tilt, zoom (“In an embodiment, individual virtual cameras may have the ability to pan, tilt, zoom, and move in other ways.” Thiel [0048]), and automatic face-tracking capabilities (“the facial expressions may be controlled by user interface controls, sensors, face detection, face tracking” Thiel [0060]).
Regarding claim 18, Bakshi discloses a method for the remote creation and delivery of digital images, comprising the steps of: providing a user interface ("UI") stored in memory on the local computing device (Fig. 3A, 204; Bakshi); generating by the UI, a painted version of the digital image (Fig. 5C; Bakshi); and delivering the painted version of the digital image (“the same digital canvas to create a global collaborative mural.” Bakshi (52). The painting is accessible in real-time by either participant.).
Bakshi does not expressively teach “providing a local computing device equipped with a camera, monitor, microphone, speaker, and, a database of digital images; generating by the UI a search screen and selection display screen for searching the database of digital images; searching by a user of the local computing device, the database of digital images; selecting by the user of the local computing device, a digital image; generating by the UI, a payment screen; selecting, by the user of the local computing device, a method of payment for the painted version of the digital image.
However, Thiel does teach providing a local computing device equipped with a camera, monitor, microphone, speaker (“Peripherals 1205 may include input peripherals such as a keyboard, mouse, trackball, video camera, microphone, and other input devices. Peripherals 1205 may also include output devices such as a display.” Thiel [0083]. A speaker can be another input device that can be hooked up to a standard computer.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Bakshi with Thiel to allow participants to communicate remotely.
Additionally, Wasserman does teach a database of digital images (“Referring now to FIG. 5, a tattoo artist catalogue user interface 500 is depicted on user computing device 104, according to an exemplary embodiment. In one embodiment, interface 500 presents images, videos, and any other applicable media associated with tattoo artist 108 depicting previous work that tattoo artist 108 has rendered.” Wasserman [0059]; Fig. 5); generating by the UI a search screen and selection display screen for searching the database of digital images (“Referring now to FIG. 5, a tattoo artist catalogue user interface 500 is depicted on user computing device 104, according to an exemplary embodiment. In one embodiment, interface 500 presents images, videos, and any other applicable media associated with tattoo artist 108 depicting previous work that tattoo artist 108 has rendered.” Wasserman [0059]; Fig. 5); searching by a user of the local computing device, the database of digital images (In one embodiment, user 102 may utilize interface 400 to view an aggregated list of a set of tattoo artists along with a subset of components associated with the set of tattoo artists. The subset of components may include but are not limited to artist biography, location, rates, artwork catalogues (maintained on database 114), specialty, techniques, or any other applicable information associated with tattoo artist 108 that may be useful to user 102 when determining whether to select a particular tattoo artist.” Wasserman [0058]); selecting by the user of the local computing device, a digital image (Fig. 4A; Wasserman. User selects a tattoo from an artist and can submit an estimation or booking request.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Bakshi, in view of Thiel, with Wasserman to improve user satisfaction of paintings. Having a database of artists for users to parse through provides users with various options when selecting an artist. More options of artists allow users to select an artist or artwork that truly resonates with their preferences.
Finally, Yabu does teach generating by the UI, a payment screen (Fig. 8; Yabu); selecting, by the user of the local computing device, a method of payment for the painted version of the digital image (Fig. 8; Yabu).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Bakshi, in view of Thiel and Wasserman, with Yabu to provide a variety of different payment methods for the user.
Claims 13 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bakshi (US 11979448 B1) in view of Thiel (US 20230137265 A1), Wasserman (US 20210217066 A1), Yabu (US 20170091737 A1), and further in view of Toda (US 20080117453 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Bakshi, in view of Thiel, Wasserman, and Yabu, discloses the method for the remote creation and delivery of digital portraits of claim 12.
Bakshi, in view of Thiel, Wasserman, and Yabu, does not expressively teach “wherein the step of delivering the painted digital image comprises creating by the UI, a printing status screen, and, printing using a printer connected to the local computing device, the painted digital image.”
However, Toda does teach wherein the step of delivering the painted digital image comprises creating by the UI, a printing status screen (“a linked printing status screen generation part 37” Toda [0075]), and, printing using a printer connected to the local computing device, the painted digital image (“According to one embodiment of the present invention, there is provided an image processor implementing a linked printing function, including a communications part configured to perform communications with an external image processor having a slave unit function of linked printing” Toda [0016]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Bakshi, in view of Thiel, Wasserman, and Yabu, with Toda to provide a physical means for the user to obtain the digital painting.
Regarding claim 19, Bakshi, in view of Thiel, Wasserman, and Yabu, discloses the method for the remote creation and delivery of digital portraits of claim 18.
Bakshi, in view of Thiel, Wasserman, and Yabu, does not expressively teach “wherein the step of delivering the painted digital image comprises creating by the UI, a printing status screen and printing using a printer connected to the local computing device, the painted digital image.”
However, Toda does teach wherein the step of delivering the painted digital image comprises creating by the UI, a printing status screen (“a linked printing status screen generation part 37” Toda [0075]); and printing using a printer connected to the local computing device, the painted digital image (“According to one embodiment of the present invention, there is provided an image processor implementing a linked printing function, including a communications part configured to perform communications with an external image processor having a slave unit function of linked printing” Toda [0016]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Bakshi, in view of Thiel, Wasserman, and Yabu, with Toda to provide a physical means for the user to obtain the digital painting.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bakshi (US 11979448 B1) in view of Thiel (US 20230137265 A1), Wasserman (US 20210217066 A1), Yabu (US 20170091737 A1), and further in view of Li et. al (US 20080320501 A1, hereinafter Li).
Regarding claim 17, Bakshi, in view of Thiel, Wasserman, and Yabu, discloses the method for the remote creation and delivery of digital portraits of claim 16.
Bakshi, in view of Thiel, Wasserman, and Yabu, does not expressively teach “further comprising the step of providing the remote computing device with the ability to control the camera of the local computing device.”
However, Li does teach “further comprising the step of providing the remote computing device with the ability to control the camera of the local computing device (“For example, a user can couple two or more computing machines into an aggregated computer system, and thereafter control each machine's connected hardware devices (via wired and/or wireless connections) from a uniform user interface, such as to perform pointing device (e.g., mouse) switching, keyboard switching, use a SmartPhone as a media center user interface, use a SmartPhone camera as a local computer camera, provide a multiple-display system, and access a vast amount of storage space.” Li [0020]).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Bakshi, in view of Thiel, Wasserman, and Yabu, with Li to improve the quality of the painting. Providing the remote artist with control of the local user’s camera would allow the artist to make any required changes to the user’s camera settings to ensure the painting is made accordingly.
Conclusion
/SAAD AHMED SYED/ Examiner, Art Unit 2691
/DUC NGUYEN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2691