DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of claims 23-28 and 37-44 in the reply filed on 5/1/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is not a serious search burden to the examiner. This is not found persuasive because each species requires a separate search in different classes/subclasses.
Claims 29-36 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 5/1/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 40-41 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 40-41 are indefinite because they depend from canceled claim 22.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 23-28 and 37-44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye et al. (US 2002/0156459) in view of Crosby et al. (EP 0124955).
Ye discloses a microcatheter comprising an inner layer of PTFE (PTFE tube) having a wall thickness of less than about 0.1 mm (paragraphs [0002], [0020-0021]).
Ye does not disclose the PTFE of the inner layer comprising a second polymer which is a polyolefin in an amount of less than 50%, or 10%, by weight of the PTFE.
Crosby discloses that a blend of PTFE and polyethylene provides significantly greater reductions in mating plastic wear (improved lubricity) than polytetrafluoroethylene lubricant alone (page 3, lines 18-56 and page 7, lines 3-6).
Therefore it would have been obvious to have provided that the PTFE of the inner layer comprising a second polymer which is a polyolefin in an amount of less than 50% by weight of the PTFE in Ye in order to provide improved lubricity as taught or suggested by Crosby.
Modified Ye does not specifically disclose applicant’s recited change in coefficient of friction wherein the comparable PTFE tube is unfilled or virgin PTFE and storage modulus. However, applicant’s recited change in coefficient of friction wherein the comparable PTFE tube is unfilled or virgin PTFE and storage modulus are necessarily present in modified Ye since modified Ye discloses the same structure and materials recited by applicant in the claims. Something which is old does not become patentable upon the discovery of new properties (MPEP 2112). It would have been obvious to have provided applicant’s recited change in coefficient of friction wherein the comparable PTFE tube is unfilled or virgin PTFE and storage modulus in order to provide improved stability and/or lubricity.
Double Patenting
Claims 23-28 and 37-44 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-23 of U.S. Patent No. 11,912,854. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-23 of U.S. Patent No. 11,912,854 encompass the scope of instant claims 23-28 and 37-44.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL C MIGGINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782
MCM
June 8, 2026