DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant submitted amendments and remarks on July 28, 2026. Therein, Applicant submitted substantive arguments. Claim 1 has been amended. Claim 21 was added. Claims 4-5 and 7 were cancelled.
The submitted claims are considered below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an
abstract idea with significantly more.
Regarding claim 1,
101 Analysis – Step 1
Claim 1 is directed toward a collision avoidance directive generation system which enables a processor and memory to determine whether an ego aircraft is engaged in a take-off or landing, automatically activate the collision avoidance directive generation system based on the determination, receive a location and velocity of an intruder aircraft, determine a current lateral incursion of the intruder aircraft onto a runway, define an incursion line extending across the runway, determine a time to collision, generate a predicted lateral incursion of the intruder aircraft onto the runway, determine whether a lateral margin between the ego aircraft and the intruder aircraft on the runway at the time to collision is greater than a lateral margin tolerance, make a second determination whether a difference between an altitude of the ego aircraft on a flight path during take-off at an incursion line and a height of the intruder aircraft at the incursion line is greater than a height threshold, make a third determination whether a sum of the predicted lateral intrusion, half a wing-span of the ego aircraft, and the lateral margin tolerance is less than half a width of the runway, generate a first directive alert to proceed with the one of a take-off and a landing via the runway to be output to an output device of the ego aircraft based on the first, second, and third determinations, make a fourth determination whether a sum of an ego aircraft response time distance and a maximum ego aircraft stopping distance is less than a distance between a current location of the ego aircraft on the runway and the incursion line, generate a second directive alert to stop the ego aircraft on the runway and abort the take-off to be output to the output device of the ego aircraft based on the fourth determination, make a fifth determination whether an altitude of the ego aircraft along a flight path of the ego aircraft during an aborted landing is greater than the height threshold with respect to the height of the intruder aircraft at the incursion line, and generate a third directive alert to fly over the intruder aircraft and abort a landing to be output to the output device the ego aircraft based on the fifth determination (a machine). Therefore, claim 1 is within at least one of the four statutory categories.
101 Analysis – Step 2A, Prong I
Regarding Prong I of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether they recite subject matter that falls within one of the follow groups of abstract ideas: a) mathematical concepts, b) certain methods of organizing human activity, and/or c) mental processes.
Independent claim 1 includes limitations that recite an abstract idea (emphasized below) and
will be used as a representative claim for the remainder of the 101 rejection. Claim 1 recites:
An ego aircraft including a collision avoidance directive generation system comprising:
a communication system of the ego aircraft;
at least one geospatial sensor of the ego aircraft;
an output device of the ego aircraft;
at least one processor of the ego aircraft communicatively coupled to the communication system, the at least one geospatial sensor, and the output device;
and at least one memory of the ego aircraft communicatively coupled to the at least one processor, the at least one memory comprising instructions that upon execution by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to:
receive a location and a velocity of an intruder aircraft via the communication system;
determine a current lateral incursion of the intruder aircraft onto a runway based on the location of the intruder aircraft;
define an incursion line extending across the runway based on the location of the intruder aircraft;
receive a current location and a velocity of the ego aircraft from the at least one geospatial sensor;
determine a time to collision, wherein the ego aircraft is expected to cross the incursion line on the runway at the time to collision, wherein the time to collision is based on the velocity of the ego aircraft and a distance between the current location of the ego aircraft and the incursion line;
generate a predicted lateral incursion of the intruder aircraft onto the runway based on the time to collision, the current lateral incursion of the intruder aircraft, and the velocity of the intruder aircraft;
make a first determination whether a lateral margin between the ego aircraft and the intruder aircraft on the runway at the time to collision is greater than a lateral margin tolerance, the lateral margin being based at least in part on the predicted lateral incursion;
make a second determination whether a difference between an altitude of the ego aircraft on a flight path during take-off at the incursion line and a height of the intruder aircraft at the incursion line is greater than a height threshold;
make a third determination whether a sum of the predicted lateral intrusion, half a wing-span of the ego aircraft, and the lateral margin tolerance is less than half a width of the runway;
and generate a first directive alert to proceed with the take-off via the runway to be output to the output device of the ego aircraft based on the first, second, and third determinations;
make a fourth determination whether a sum of an ego aircraft response time distance and a maximum ego aircraft stopping distance is less than a distance between a current location of the ego aircraft on the runway and the incursion line;
generate a second directive alert to stop the ego aircraft on the runway and abort the take-off to be output to the output device of the ego aircraft based on the fourth determination;
make a fifth determination whether an altitude of the ego aircraft along a flight path of the ego aircraft during an aborted landing is greater than the height threshold with respect to the height of the intruder aircraft at the incursion line;
and generate a third directive alert to fly over the intruder aircraft and abort a landing to be output to the output device the ego aircraft based on the fifth determination.
The examiner submits that the foregoing bolded limitation constitutes a “mental process”
because under its broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim covers performance of the limitation in
the human mind. For example, “receive”, “determine”, “define”, and “generate” in the context of this claim encompasses a person (operator) looking at information collected and forming a simple judgment.
Accordingly, the claim recites at one abstract idea.
101 Analysis - Step 2A, Prong II
Regarding Prong II of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether the claim, as a whole, integrates the abstract into the practical application. As noted in the 2019 PEG, it must be determined whether any additional elements in the claim beyond the abstract idea integrate the exception into a practical application in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The courts have indicated that additional elements merely using a computer to implement an abstract idea, adding insignificant extra solution activity, or generally linking use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use do not integrate a judicial exception into a “practical application.” In the present case, a processor and memory are provided for the purpose of implementing the abstract ideas. However, these features are mere computers and do not give practical application to the receiving, determining, defining, and generating steps.
101 Analysis – Step 2B
Regarding Step 2B of the 2019 PEG, as noted above, representative independent claim 1 does not include additional elements (considered both individually and as an ordered combination) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reasons to those discussed above with respect to determining that the claim does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, there are no additional limitations that amount to significantly more.
Dependent claims 2-3 and 8-9 do not recite any further limitations that cause the claim to be patent eligible. Rather, the limitations of the dependent claim are directed toward additional aspects of the judicial exception and/or well-understood, routine, and conventional additional elements that do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Claim 2 uses the limitation of “received from an automatic dependent surveillance broadcast (ADS-B) system”, which amounts to data gathering and is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity.
Claim 3 uses the limitations of “determine whether the predicted lateral incursion of the intruder aircraft onto the runway is less than zero” and “generate the first directive alert to proceed with the take-off based on the determination”, which amounts to data gathering and is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity.
Claim 8 uses the limitations of “determine whether a sum of an ego aircraft response time distance and a maximum ego aircraft stopping distance is less than a distance between a touchdown location on the runway and the incursion line” and “and generate a fourth directive alert to proceed with a landing based on the determination”, which amounts to data gathering and is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity.
Claim 9 uses the limitations of “determine whether a safety margin between the ego aircraft and the intruder aircraft on a horizontal plane of a flight path of the ego aircraft enables the ego aircraft to implement an emergency turn” and “generate a fifth directive alert to implement the emergency turn and abort a landing to be output to the output device of the ego aircraft based on the determination”, which amounts to data gathering and is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gariel, et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20210350716) in view of Sharma, et al. (U.S. Patent No. 8019529) and in further view of Robin, et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20170301251) and in further view of Fabre, et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20080195301) and in further view of Zammit-Mangion, et al. (U.S. Patent No. 7158052) and in further view of Schultz, et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20100292871).
Regarding claim 1, Gariel, et al. teaches: An ego aircraft including a collision avoidance directive generation system comprising: (Paragraph [0071]: "FIGS. 2C-2D are functional block diagrams of an example avoidance system (200-1) [collision avoidance directive generations system]. The avoidance system (200-1) includes a data acquisition and processing module (242) (hereinafter “data processing module (242)”) [processor] that receives data from the sensors (204), communication systems (206), and navigations systems (208).")
a communication system of the ego aircraft; (Fig. 2A, Paragraph [0043]: "communication systems (206) [communication system]")
at least one geospatial sensor of the ego aircraft; (Fig. 2A, Paragraph [0043]: "sensors (204) [geospatial sensor]")
an output device of the ego aircraft; (Fig. 2A, Paragraph [0043]: "pilot input/output (I/O) (216) [output device]")
at least one processor of the ego aircraft communicatively coupled to the communication system, the at least one geospatial sensor, and the output device; (Figs. 2C-2D, Paragraph [0071]: "The avoidance system (200-1) includes a data acquisition and processing module (242) (hereinafter “data processing module (242)”) [processor] that receives data from the sensors (204), communication systems (206), and navigations systems (208) [coupled to communication system, geospatial sensor and output device].")
and at least one memory of the ego aircraft communicatively coupled to the at least one processor, the at least one memory comprising instructions that upon execution by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to: (Paragraph [0150]: "The electronic hardware and software components may include, but are not limited to, one or more processing units, one or more memory components [memory], one or more input/output (I/O) components, and interconnect components. Interconnect components may be configured to provide communication between the one or more processing units, the one or more memory components, and the one or more I/O components [communicatively coupled to processor].")
determine whether the ego aircraft is engaged in one of a take-off and a landing; (Paragraph [0083]: "The trajectory determination module (244) may determine traffic classification data based on the final tracking data […] For example, the traffic classification data may indicate whether an aircraft [ego aircraft] is in a specific traffic pattern (e.g., a landing pattern, takeoff pattern [engaged in a take-off and landing]")
automatically activate the collision avoidance directive generation system based on the determination; (Paragraph [0028]: "…the avoidance system (200) may operate during takeoff and landing near airports, where there may be a high density of traffic and greater likelihood of aircraft maneuvering. In some implementations, the avoidance system (200) may be configured to operate in different manners, depending on the flight scenario (e.g., en-route, landing, takeoff etc. [collision avoidance based on take-off or landing status]" ; Paragraph [0104]: "in some implementations, the avoidance system (200) may generate resolution maneuvers that are automatically executed by the aircraft (e.g., an autopilot). Automatically executed resolution maneuvers may be performed with or without additional GUI input/output [automatic activation].")
receive a location and a velocity of an intruder aircraft via the communication system; (Paragraph [0030]: "Referring to FIG. 1, the ownship (100) and the other aircraft (102) [intruder aircraft] may be associated with a historical trajectory (e.g., (110), (112-1), (112-2)) and a predicted trajectory (e.g., (114), (116-1), (116-2)). A trajectory may refer to a sequence of positions of an aircraft over time. In some implementations, a trajectory may also refer to other parameters of the aircraft, such as a velocity of the aircraft at different points in time [velocity]. In some implementations, the velocity of the aircraft may be determined based on the change in position [locations] of the aircraft." ; Paragraph [0060]: Paragraph [0060]: "The avoidance system (200) may use data from the […] communication system (206) in order to determine the historic / current state of the ownship and other aircraft [intruder aircraft via communication system].")
receive a current location and a velocity of the ego aircraft from the at least one geospatial sensor; (Paragraph [0060]: Paragraph [0060]: "The avoidance system (200) may use data from the […] sensors (204), […] in order to determine the historic / current state of the ownship and other aircraft [ego aircraft via sensor]. For example, the avoidance system (200) may determine historic/current attitude, position, and/or velocity of the ownship and other aircraft [current location and velocity from sensor].")
determine a time to collision, wherein the ego aircraft is expected to cross the incursion line on the runway at the time to collision, wherein the time to collision is based on the velocity of the ego aircraft and a distance between the current location of the ego aircraft and the incursion line; (Paragraph [0115]: "Additional example intruder aircraft information may include an available intruder tail number (e.g., N123AB), an aircraft type, an approximate time of arrival at the conflict zone (e.g., 45 seconds in FIG. 3B) [time to collision - incursion line]" ; Paragraph [0133]: "In some implementations, the avoidance GUI may use colors and/or patterns to indicate a level of urgency (e.g., a time to conflict) associated with a rendered zone [notification of time to collision - incursion line]." ; Paragraph [0135]: "…the maneuver indicator (600-1) may indicate a change in velocity vector for the ownship that may resolve the predicted conflict [velocity of ego aircraft]." ; Paragraph [0087]: "The conflict determination module (246) may include conflict parameters that define when a predicted/realized conflict may occur. For example, the conflict determination module (246) may include defined distance values (e.g., in meters) that define when two aircraft are in a conflict [...] Additionally, a second defined distance that is less than the first defined distance may be defined for a near mid-air collision (NMAC) [notification of time to collision - parameter of collision based on distance].")
generate a predicted lateral incursion of the intruder aircraft onto the runway based on the time to collision, the current lateral incursion of the intruder aircraft, and the velocity of the intruder aircraft (Paragraph [0069]: "…the avoidance system (200-1) performs conflict determination operations. The conflict determination operations may include determining whether one or more of the predicted trajectories of the other aircraft may conflict with the ownship trajectory. The conflict determination operations may also include determining whether any of the other aircraft are currently in conflict with the ownship [trajectory (time/velocity) and position prediction - lateral incursion]. The conflict determination operations may also include determining one or more conflict zones associated with the one or more determined conflicts.").
Gariel, et al. does not teach determine a current lateral incursion of the intruder aircraft onto a runway based on the location of the intruder aircraft; define an incursion line extending across the runway based on the location of the intruder aircraft; make a first determination whether a lateral margin between the ego aircraft and the intruder aircraft on the runway at the time to collision is greater than a lateral margin tolerance, the lateral margin being based at least in part on the predicted lateral incursion; is less than a distance between a current location of the ego aircraft on the runway and the incursion line.
In a similar field of endeavor (aircraft conflict avoidance), Sharma, et al. teaches: determine a current lateral incursion of the intruder aircraft onto a runway based on the location of the intruder aircraft; (Col. 9, lines 12-17: "Conflict detector (30) is configured to receive the current and predicted ownship, traffic, and obstacle [intruder aircraft] states from predictions processor (28) and determine whether there is or will be a conflict on the runway, taxiway, or other airport surface movement region between a protection zone around the ownship and the protection zones around traffic and obstacles [lateral incursion of intruder aircraft].")
define an incursion line extending across the runway based on the location of the intruder aircraft; (Col. 9, lines 27-36: "Conformance monitor (32) may also be configured to monitor traffic conformance [intruder aircraft] with operational and alerting rules (48), runway or taxiway dimensions (42) received from runway/taxiway generator (18), traffic intent and clearances (41) received by the traffic surveillance processor (14) (e.g., is the traffic on the correct route, has the traffic violated any clearances like crossing a hold-line prior to receiving appropriate clearance, etc.) received from the traffic surveillance processor (16) [incursion line extending across runway]")
make a first determination whether a lateral margin between the ego aircraft and the intruder aircraft on the runway at the time to collision is greater than a lateral margin tolerance, the lateral margin being based at least in part on the predicted lateral incursion; (Col. 10, lines 19-23: "At step (112), possible runway incursion alerts are computed based on the current and predicted ownship and target states of step (110), runway/taxiway geometry, operational and alerting rules (58), and/or ground alerts (50). If an error is encountered, RIA algorithm (100) may be terminated [predicted lateral incursion procedure]." ; Col. 10, lines 48-53: "If a conflict alert level is greater than the conformance alert level (e.g., based on ownship conflict alert level, target alert level, target conformance alert type), the degree to which the conflict level is greater than the conformance level may determine the overall alert level [margin between ego aircraft and intruder aircraft].")
is less than a distance between a current location of the ego aircraft on the runway and the incursion line (Col. 10, lines 19-23: "…possible runway incursion alerts are computed based on the current and predicted ownship and target states of step (110), runway/taxiway geometry, operational and alerting rules (58), and/or ground alerts (50). If an error is encountered, RIA algorithm (100) may be terminated [predicted lateral incursion determination procedure]." ; Col. 10, lines 48-53: "If a conflict alert level is greater than the conformance alert level (e.g., based on ownship conflict alert level, target alert level, target conformance alert type), the degree to which the conflict level is greater than the conformance level may determine the overall alert level [margin alert - less than safe distance between ego aircraft and incursion line on runway].")
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gariel, et al. to include the teaching of Sharma, et al. based on a reasonable expectation of success and motivation to improve the process of preventing conflict between the trajectories of aircraft (Sharma, et al. Col. 1, lines 16-25).
The combination of Gariel, et al. and Sharma, et al. does not teach make a second determination whether a difference between an altitude of the ego aircraft on a flight path during take-off at the incursion line and a height of the intruder aircraft at the incursion line is greater than a height threshold; generate a first directive alert to proceed with the take-off via the runway to be output to the output device of the ego aircraft based on the first, second, and third determinations.
In a similar field of endeavor (collision avoidance for aircraft), Robin, et al. teaches: make a second determination whether a difference between an altitude of the ego aircraft on a flight path during take-off at the incursion line and a height of the intruder aircraft at the incursion line is greater than a height threshold; (Paragraph [0066]: "In practice, the embedded anti-collision system (4) computes, generally, a time of collision in the horizontal plane (ratio between the horizontal distance between the two aircraft and their relative horizontal speed) and a time of collision in the vertical plane (ratio between the vertical distance between the two aircraft and their relative vertical speed). The duly computed collision times are compared to predetermined thresholds for the TA alerts and for the RA alerts (the predetermined thresholds also being a function of the altitude) [determining difference between altitude of ego aircraft on flight path and height of intruder aircraft at incursion line is greater than height threshold]")
generate a first directive alert to proceed with the take-off via the runway to be output to the output device of the ego aircraft based on the first, second, and third determinations (Paragraph [0066]: "If appropriate, the anti-collision system (4) also emits, for the attention of the crew, a vertical avoidance maneuver command (for example via the display unit (12)) in order to exit from the potential collision situation: such an avoidance maneuver command is generally called "resolution advice" or "RA alert" [proceed with take-off procedure based on determinations].").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Gariel, et al. and Sharma, et al. to include the teaching of Robin, et al. based on a reasonable expectation of success and motivation to improve the collision avoidance procedure for an aircraft formation relative to an intruder aircraft (Robin, et al. Paragraph [0002]).
The combination of Gariel, et al., Sharma, et al., and Robin, et al. does not teach make a third determination whether a sum of the predicted lateral intrusion, half a wing-span of the ego aircraft, and the lateral margin tolerance is less than half a width of the runway.
In a similar field of endeavor (runway incursion alerting system for aircraft), Fabre, et al. teaches: make a third determination whether a sum of the predicted lateral intrusion, half a wing-span of the ego aircraft, and the lateral margin tolerance is less than half a width of the runway (Paragraph [0018]: "analyzing the risks of runway incursion related to the position of the aircraft and, possibly to its motion, and, in the event of detecting a risk or a runway intrusion, determining the appropriate alert or alarm and triggering its emission by the alerts and alarms emitter [analyzing lateral intrusion]." ; Paragraph [0046]: "…the device considers that the aircraft is on a runway when the component D.sub.RWY normal to the axis of the runway considered, of a vector joining the aircraft to the start of the runway considered, component termed axial distance of the aircraft with respect to the runway considered, is lower, in modulus, than the sum of a position error margin EPE allowed for the locating device, of the longitudinal distance ALR separating the front end of the aircraft from the airplane reference point used for its measurements, by the locating device, and of half the width of the runway RW.sub.RWY considered, and when the component L.sub.RWY parallel to the axis of the runway considered of the same vector, component termed longitudinal distance of the aircraft with respect to the runway considered, lies between the opposite of the error margin -EPE and the sum of the position error margin EPE and of the runway length RL.sub.RWY [determination of whether a sum of the predicted lateral intrusion, half a wing-span of the ego aircraft, and the lateral margin tolerance is less than half a width of the runway]").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Gariel, et al., Sharma, et al., and Robin, et al. to include the teaching of Fabre, et al. based on a reasonable expectation of success and motivation to improve the process of notifying an aircraft crew about normal or abnormal crossings as a result over the course of a flight maneuver (Fabre, et al. Paragraph [0002]).
The combination of Gariel, et al., Sharma, et al., and Robin, et al., and Fabre, et al. does not teach make a fourth determination whether a sum of an ego aircraft response time distance and a maximum ego aircraft stopping distance; generate a second directive alert to stop the ego aircraft on the runway and abort the take-off to be output to the output device of the ego aircraft based on the fourth determination.
In a similar field of endeavor (monitoring aircraft performance), Zammit-Mangion, et al. teaches: make a fourth determination whether a sum of an ego aircraft response time distance and a maximum ego aircraft stopping distance (Col. 11, lines 23-30: "To summarise, acceleration data is acquired throughout the take-off run, the speed of the aircraft and the distance travelled since the beginning of the run is determined for each of those values by a process of integration, and this data is stored. The sampling rate of typically 10 Hz is high, particularly as compared to the duration of the run (up to 60 seconds) and the response time of the aircraft (a few seconds) [response time distance of ego aircraft]." ; Col. 8, lines 47-56: "The extrapolation therefore provides an indication that the aircraft will be unable to achieve the decision speed V.sub.1 before it reaches the critical distance D.sub.crit. This implies that there would be insufficient distance available to safely either continue to a safe take-off or to stop from the decision speed, V.sub.1 [maximum ego aircraft stopping distance].")
generate a second directive alert to stop the ego aircraft on the runway and abort the take-off to be output to the output device of the ego aircraft based on the fourth determination (Col. 8, lines 47-56: "The extrapolation therefore provides an indication that the aircraft will be unable to achieve the decision speed V.sub.1 before it reaches the critical distance D.sub.crit. This implies that there would be insufficient distance available to safely either continue to a safe take-off or to stop from the decision speed, V.sub.1 [maximum ego aircraft stopping distance]. It should be noted that because under-performance is detected well before the aircraft reaches the critical distance D.sub.crit, the decision could be taken to abandon the take-off while there is still a sufficient length of runway available for the aircraft to be brought safely to a halt [decision to stop ego aircraft on runway and abort take-off].").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Gariel, et al., Sharma, et al., Robin, et al., and Fabre, et al. to include the teaching of Zammit-Mangion, et al. based on a reasonable expectation of success and motivation to improve the monitoring of the mechanical performance of an aircraft during runway movements (Zammit-Mangion, et al. Col. 4, lines 18-23).
The combination of Gariel, et al., Sharma, et al., and Robin, et al., Fabre, et al., and Zammit-Mangion, et al. does not teach make a fifth determination whether an altitude of the ego aircraft along a flight path of the ego aircraft during an aborted landing is greater than the height threshold with respect to the height of the intruder aircraft at the incursion line; generate a third directive alert to fly over the intruder aircraft and abort a landing to be output to the output device the ego aircraft based on the fifth determination.
In a similar field of endeavor (aircraft collision avoidance and interception), Schultz, et al. teaches: make a fifth determination whether an altitude of the ego aircraft along a flight path of the ego aircraft during an aborted landing is greater than the height threshold with respect to the height of the intruder aircraft at the incursion line; (Paragraph [0069]: "In a preferred embodiment, the collision emergency threshold defines the boundaries of the collision volume. The collision volume can be a cylindrical volume of airspace centered on the aircraft with a horizontal radius of 500 feet and a vertical height of 200 feet (±100 feet). A threat is an obstacle determined to pose a collision risk (e.g., an obstacle within the self-separation threshold T.sub.ss). Different threats can have different thresholds [height threshold measurement]." ; Paragraph [0070]: "If at decision block (230) it is determined that the aircraft is not below the collision emergency threshold T.sub.ce, then at decision block (240) a determination is made whether or not the aircraft is below a collision avoidance threshold T.sub.ca with respect to threats." ; Paragraph [0094]: "The guidance routine (200) shown in FIG. 3 determines which behavior to activate if the proposed guidance method is used. Performing the trajectory adjustments of block (261) can trigger the "reach target" behavior or any other behavior used to maneuver the aircraft back onto its intended trajectory for the purpose of station keeping and interception of targets, takeoff, landing [aborted landing because of avoidance maneuver] and taxiing of the aircraft.")
generate a third directive alert to fly over the intruder aircraft and abort a landing to be output to the output device the ego aircraft based on the fifth determination (Paragraph [0073]: "If at decision block (260) it is determined that the aircraft is above the intended trajectory threshold, then at block (261) a trajectory adjustment procedure is performed, maneuvering the aircraft back onto its intended trajectory [flying over intruder and aborting landing to avoid collision]." ; Paragraph [0039]: "The command and control system (60) is configured to display aircraft status, navigation and surveillance information, alerts [generate alert], and guidance commands […] to control the aircraft.").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Gariel, et al., Sharma, et al., and Robin, et al. to include the teaching of Schultz, et al. based on a reasonable expectation of success and motivation to improve the operational capabilities and safety of aircraft by detecting and avoiding collisions (Schultz, et al. Paragraph [0014]).
Regarding claim 2, Gariel, et al., Sharma, et al., Robin, et al., Fabre, et al., Zammit-Mangion, et al., and Schultz, et al. remain as applied to claim 1, and in a further embodiment, teach: The ego aircraft of claim 1, wherein the location of the intruder aircraft and the current velocity of the intruder aircraft are received from an automatic dependent surveillance broadcast (ADS-B) system (Gariel, et al. Paragraph [0080]: "The trajectory determination module (244) may detect, track, and classify surrounding traffic as well as predict their behavior. The trajectory determination module (244) may receive data that includes ADS-B data [location/velocity of intruder aircraft received from ADS-B system]").
Regarding claim 3, Gariel, et al., Sharma, et al., Robin, et al., Fabre, et al., Zammit-Mangion, et al., and Schultz, et al. remain as applied to claim 1, and in a further embodiment, teach: The ego aircraft of claim 1, wherein, the at least one memory comprises instructions that upon execution by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to: determine whether the predicted lateral incursion of the intruder aircraft onto the runway is less than zero; (Gariel, et al. Paragraph [0112]: "In FIGS. 3A - 3E, the location of the flight path vector (308) indicates that the ownship heading is in a direction that will avoid the rendered zone (300). As such, the avoidance GUIs in FIGS. 3A - 3E indicate that there is not a predicted conflict with other aircraft [determination that predicated lateral incursion probability is low or nonexistent (less than zero)].")
and generate the first directive alert to proceed with the take-off based on the determination (Gariel, et al. Paragraph [0028]: "…the avoidance system (200) may operate during takeoff and landing near airports, where there may be a high density of traffic and greater likelihood of aircraft maneuvering. In some implementations, the avoidance system (200) may be configured to operate in different manners, depending on the flight scenario (e.g., en-route, landing, takeoff, etc.) [proceed with take-off and landing based on determination]." ; Gariel, et al. Paragraph [0088]: "…different alerting levels may be associated with the different minimum separation distances, where more severe alerts may be used to indicate shorter predicted minimum distances between aircraft [alert based on determination].").
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Gariel, et al., Sharma, et al., Robin, et al., Fabre, et al., Zammit-Mangion, et al., and Schultz, et al. remain as applied to claim 1, and in a further embodiment, Gariel, et al. teaches: is less than a distance between a touchdown location on the runway and the incursion line; (Paragraph [0039]: "Although a runway (104) is illustrated, other touchdown areas may include, but are not limited to, a heliport, a vertiport, a seaport, unprepared landing areas, and a moving touchdown area (e.g., an aircraft carrier). Although a single runway at a single airport is illustrated in FIG. 1, one or more airports may each include one or more runways [touchdown location]." ; Paragraph [0087]: "The conflict determination module (246) may include conflict parameters that define when a predicted/realized conflict may occur. For example, the conflict determination module (246) may include defined distance values (e.g., in meters) that define when two aircraft are in a conflict.")
and generate a fourth directive alert to proceed with a landing based on the determination (Paragraph [0028]: "…the avoidance system (200) may operate during takeoff and landing near airports, where there may be a high density of traffic and greater likelihood of aircraft maneuvering. In some implementations, the avoidance system (200) may be configured to operate in different manners, depending on the flight scenario (e.g., en-route, landing) [proceed with landing based on determination]." ; Paragraph [0088]: "…different alerting levels may be associated with the different minimum separation distances, where more severe alerts may be used to indicate shorter predicted minimum distances between aircraft [alert based on determination].").
Gariel, et al. does not teach the ego aircraft of claim 1, wherein, the at least one memory comprises instructions that upon execution by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to: determine whether a sum of an ego aircraft response time distance and a maximum ego aircraft stopping distance.
In a similar field of endeavor (monitoring aircraft performance), Zammit-Mangion, et al. teaches: The ego aircraft of claim 1, wherein, the at least one memory comprises instructions that upon execution by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to: determine whether a sum of an ego aircraft response time distance and a maximum ego aircraft stopping distance (Col. 11, lines 23-30: "To summarise, acceleration data is acquired throughout the take-off run, the speed of the aircraft and the distance travelled since the beginning of the run is determined for each of those values by a process of integration, and this data is stored. The sampling rate of typically 10 Hz is high, particularly as compared to the duration of the run (up to 60 seconds) and the response time of the aircraft (a few seconds) [response time distance of ego aircraft]." ; Col. 8, lines 47-56: "The extrapolation therefore provides an indication that the aircraft will be unable to achieve the decision speed V.sub.1 before it reaches the critical distance D.sub.crit. This implies that there would be insufficient distance available to safely either continue to a safe take-off or to stop from the decision speed, V.sub.1 [maximum ego aircraft stopping distance].").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gariel, et al. to include the teaching of Zammit-Mangion, et al. based on a reasonable expectation of success and motivation to improve the monitoring of the mechanical performance of an aircraft during runway movements (Zammit-Mangion, et al. Col. 4, lines 18-23).
Regarding claim 9, Gariel, et al., Sharma, et al., Robin, et al., Fabre, et al., Zammit-Mangion, et al., and Schultz, et al. remain as applied to claim 1, and in a further embodiment, teach: The ego aircraft of claim 1, wherein, the at least one memory comprises instructions that upon execution by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to: determine whether a safety margin between the ego aircraft and the intruder aircraft on a horizontal plane of a flight path of the ego aircraft enables the ego aircraft to implement an emergency turn; (Gariel, et al. Paragraph [0019]: "The avoidance system (200) may predict the trajectory of the ownship (100) and other aircraft (102-1), (102-2). The avoidance system (200) may determine whether the other aircraft will conflict with the ownship based on the predicted trajectories. A conflict between the ownship and another aircraft may refer to a scenario where the ownship and the other aircraft come within less than a threshold distance from one another (e.g., violate a minimum safe distance) [safety margin between ego aircraft and intruder aircraft heads gets below specific value]." ; Gariel, et al. Paragraph [0054]: "In some implementations, the FMS modules (224) may also include a contingency/emergency management module [emergency mode]." ; Gariel, et al. Paragraph [0136]: "FIG. 6B illustrates another example maneuver indicator (600-2) that indicates a direction for the ownship to avoid the conflict zone [turn to avoid collision].")
and generate a fifth directive alert to implement the emergency turn and abort a landing to be output to the output device of the ego aircraft based on the determination (Gariel, et al. Paragraph [0136]: "…the avoidance system (200) and flight control system (210) may include automation for controlling the ownship. For example, if the pilot fails to steer the ownship when the ownship is nearing/entering a conflict zone, the autopilot may automatically steer the ownship away from the potential/realized conflict (e.g., according to the maneuver data) [implement emergency turn and avoid landing].").
Regarding claim 10, Gariel, et al., Sharma, et al., Robin, et al., Fabre, et al., Zammit-Mangion, et al., and Schultz, et al. remain as applied to claim 1, and in a further embodiment, teach: The ego aircraft of claim 1, wherein the output device of the ego aircraft is one of a display device and a speaker (Gariel, et al. Paragraph [0017]: "For example, the avoidance system (200) may render an avoidance graphical user interface (GUI) on an ownship display that the pilot may use to avoid conflicts with the other aircraft (102-1), (102-2) [display device].").
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gariel, et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20210350716), Sharma, et al. (U.S. Patent No. 8019529), Robin, et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20170301251), Fabre, et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20080195301), Zammit-Mangion, et al. (U.S. Patent No. 7158052) and Schultz, et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20100292871) in view of Gavrilets, et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10332409).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Gariel, et al., Sharma, et al., Robin, et al., Fabre, et al., Zammit-Mangion, et al., and Schultz, et al. does not teach the ego aircraft of claim 1, wherein, the at least one memory comprises instructions that upon execution by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to generate the predicted lateral incursion of the intruder aircraft onto the runway based on the time to collision, the current lateral incursion of the intruder aircraft, and the velocity of the intruder aircraft using the relationship defined in the equation:
[AltContent: textbox ((math)<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<formulawrapper><mml:math xmlns:mml="http://www.w3.org/1998/Math/MathML" xmlns:m="http://schemas.openxmlformats.org/officeDocument/2006/math"><mml:msub><mml:mrow><mml:mi>x</mml:mi></mml:mrow><mml:mrow><mml:mi>i</mml:mi><mml:mi>n</mml:mi><mml:mi>t</mml:mi><mml:mi>r</mml:mi><mml:mi>u</mml:mi><mml:mo>_</mml:mo><mml:mi>l</mml:mi><mml:mi>a</mml:mi><mml:mi>t</mml:mi><mml:mo>_</mml:mo><mml:mi>p</mml:mi><mml:mi>r</mml:mi><mml:mi>e</mml:mi><mml:mi>d</mml:mi></mml:mrow></mml:msub><mml:mo>=</mml:mo><mml:msub><mml:mrow><mml:mi>x</mml:mi></mml:mrow><mml:mrow><mml:mi>i</mml:mi><mml:mi>n</mml:mi><mml:mi>t</mml:mi><mml:mi>r</mml:mi><mml:mi>u</mml:mi><mml:mo>_</mml:mo><mml:mi>l</mml:mi><mml:mi>a</mml:mi><mml:mi>t</mml:mi></mml:mrow></mml:msub><mml:mo>-</mml:mo><mml:mo>(</mml:mo><mml:msub><mml:mrow><mml:mi>t</mml:mi></mml:mrow><mml:mrow><mml:mi>c</mml:mi><mml:mi>o</mml:mi><mml:mi>l</mml:mi><mml:mi>l</mml:mi><mml:mi>i</mml:mi><mml:mi>s</mml:mi><mml:mi>i</mml:mi><mml:mi>o</mml:mi><mml:mi>n</mml:mi></mml:mrow></mml:msub><mml:mo>)</mml:mo><mml:mo>(</mml:mo><mml:mi>v</mml:mi><mml:mo>)</mml:mo></mml:math></formulawrapper>)]
wherein: xintru_lat_pred is the predicted lateral incursion of the intruder aircraft onto the runway, x_intru_lat is the current lateral incursion of the intruder aircraft, t_collision is the time to collision, and v is the velocity of the intruder aircraft.
In a similar field of endeavor (midair collision threat detection), Gavrilets, et al. teaches the process in which equations can be derived in order to create the previously described equation. Specifically, “…the processor (220) is configured to utilize at least one algorithm to determine whether the intruder (106) poses a collision threat to the aircraft (102)” by determining the angular size (110) of an intruder aircraft (106) as measured by a sensor (204) through the equation (1)
φ
≈
b
r
“where phi is the angular size of the intruder, b is the maximum linear dimension of the intruder, and r is the range between the intruder (106) and the aircraft (102). […] if the intruder (106) and the aircraft (102) are on a collision course, the intruder (106) will be stationary or substantially stationary in consecutive images acquired by the sensor (204)” (Col. 11, line 60 to Col. 12, lines 1-11).
As a result, the rate of change of the linear size of the intruder aircraft as it enters the runway is determined by the equation (2)
φ
˙
≈
-
b
r
˙
r
2
=
-
φ
r
˙
r
“where r dot is the rate of change of the range between the intruder (106) and the aircraft (102)” (Col. 12, lines 11-21).
Subsequently, “…a time to collision of the intruder (106) and the aircraft (102)” is calculated by “…combining Equation 1 and Equation 2, which results in the following exemplary equation (3):
t
=
-
r
γ
=
φ
φ
˙
where t equals the time to collision of the intruder (106) and the aircraft (102). In other words, time collision is equal to the negative ratio of range to range rate” (Col. 12, lines 21-35).
Additionally, the relative velocity (404) of the intruder aircraft (106) can be determined in the relationship as “…perpendicular to the line of sight connecting the intruder (106) and the aircraft (102), and the range between the intruder (106) and the aircraft (102) using the following exemplary equation (4):
μ
˙
=
V
T
r
“where V.sub.T is the component of relative velocity (404) of the intruder (106) with respect to the aircraft (102) perpendicular to the line of sight connecting the intruder (106) and the aircraft (102)” (Col. 12, lines 43-59).
Therefore, when equation (4) is combined with equations (3) and (1), they yield the given equation, which states the relationship between the anticipated lateral incursion of the intruder aircraft onto the runway as a function of the intruder aircraft’s current lateral incursion, time to collision, and velocity.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Gariel, et al., Sharma, et al., Robin, et al., Fabre, et al., Zammit-Mangion, et al., and Schultz, et al. to include the teaching of Gavrilets, et al. based on a reasonable expectation of success and motivation to improve the process of aircraft collision avoidance (Gavrilets, et al. Col. 1, line 45 to Col. 2, lines 1-2).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on July 28, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserted that amended claim 1 was patentable over Gariel, et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20210350716) in view of Sharma, et al. (U.S. Patent No. 8019529) and in further view of Robin, et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20170301251) because the references did not meet the claim limitation “determine whether the ego aircraft is engaged in one of a take-off and a landing”. The examiner disagrees. In Gariel, et al. the “…trajectory determination module (244) may determine traffic classification data based on the final tracking data”, such as when an aircraft is in a “…specific traffic pattern (e.g., a landing pattern, takeoff pattern)” (Paragraph [0083]). Subsequently, it would have been obvious to combine Gariel, et al. with Sharma, et al. and Robin, et al. because Sharma, et al. teaches the determination of a take-off protocol based on a lateral margin tolerance measurement and a predicted lateral incursion value between an ego aircraft and an intruder aircraft on a runway (Col. 10, lines 19-55) and Robin, et al. teaches the process in which a second determination is made with respect to a difference between an altitude of an ego aircraft on a flight path during take-off at an incursion line and the height of the intruder aircraft at the incursion line is greater than a height threshold (Paragraph [0066]).
Applicant also asserted that amended claim 1 was patentable over Gariel, et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20210350716) in view of Sharma, et al. (U.S. Patent No. 8019529) and in further view of Robin, et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20170301251) because the references did not meet the claim limitation “automatically activate the collision avoidance directive generation system based on the determination”. The examiner disagrees. In Gariel, et al. the collision avoidance system (200) can be activated based on operations “…in different manners, depending on the flight scenario (e.g., en-route, landing, takeoff etc.” (Paragraph [0028]) and in a fashion “…automatically executed by the aircraft” (Paragraph [0104]). Subsequently, it would have been obvious to combine Gariel, et al. with Sharma, et al. and Robin, et al. because Sharma, et al. teaches the determination of a take-off protocol based on a lateral margin tolerance measurement and a predicted lateral incursion value between an ego aircraft and an intruder aircraft on a runway (Col. 10, lines 19-55) and Robin, et al. teaches the process in which a second determination is made with respect to a difference between an altitude of an ego aircraft on a flight path during take-off at an incursion line and the height of the intruder aircraft at the incursion line is greater than a height threshold (Paragraph [0066]).
Therefore, it can be concluded that since the combination of Gariel, et al., Sharma, et al., and Robin, et al. reads on the claim limitations “determine whether the ego aircraft is engaged in one of a take-off and a landing” and “automatically activate the collision avoidance directive generation system based on the determination”, as stated in amended claim 1, the arguments presented by the Applicant are not persuasive, and the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Levy (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20100109936) teaches a system and method for avoiding aircraft collisions using a ground-based monitoring station, a mobile unit which produces position-dependent signals of an object to the station, a collision prediction unit which takes the position-dependent signals and the static position data of the airport infrastructure to predict collisions, and a warning unit coupled to the collision prediction unit which conveys a respective warning to the one or more mobile objects to allow evasive action.
Pilley, et al. (U.S. Patent No. 6195609) teaches a system and method for providing a computer human interface by use by an air traffic controller supported by various Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) compatible control and management commands.
Applicant is considered to have implicit knowledge of the entire disclosure once a reference has been cited. Therefore, any previously cited figures, columns and lines should not be considered to limit the references in any way. The entire reference must be taken as a whole; accordingly, the Examiner contends that the art supports the rejection of the claims and the rejection is maintained.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TORRENCE S MARUNDA II/ Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ANGELA Y ORTIZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663