DETAILED ACTION
This is response to Application 18/413,631 filed on 01/16/2024 in which claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(a) the invention was known or used by others in this country, or patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country, before the invention thereof by the applicant for a patent.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by Yuan et al. (US 2005/0271019 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yuan teaches a mobile station (Figure 5 Terminal Node) comprising:
a receiver configured to:
receive, from a base station, two or more scheduled data bursts (Figures 4 and 5 Paragraph [0035] block of packets); and
receive, from the base station, an acknowledgment/negative acknowledgment (ACK/NAK) aggregation indicator, wherein a number of ACK/NAKs are aggregated into an aggregated ACK/NAK report based on the ACK/NAK aggregation indicator (Fig. 4 and 5 Paragraph [0035] single acknowledgement packet); and
a transmitter configured to, subsequent to the reception of the two or more
scheduled data bursts, transmit, to the base station, the aggregated ACK/NAK
report (Fig. 4 and 5 Paragraph [0035] single acknowledgement packet), wherein the aggregated ACK/NAK report includes an indication of whether (a) a number of the two or more scheduled data bursts corresponding to the number of ACK/NAKs aggregated into the aggregated ACK/NAK report was successfully received or not according to the ACK/NAK aggregation indicator (Fig, 4 and 5 Paragraph [0035] single acknowledgement packet indicates entire block of packets were correctly received or some or all need to be retransmitted) or (b) a number of data blocks within the two or more scheduled data bursts corresponding to the number of ACK/NAKs aggregated into the aggregated ACK/NAK report was successfully received or not according to the ACK/NAK aggregation indicator (Fig, 4 and 5 Paragraph [0035] single acknowledgement packet indicates entire block of packets were correctly received or some or all need to be retransmitted).
Regarding claim 9, Yuan teaches a method for use by a mobile station, the method comprising:
receiving, from a base station, two or more scheduled data bursts (Figures 4 and 5 Paragraph [0035] block of packets); and
receiving, from the base station, an acknowledgment/negative acknowledgment (ACK/NAK) aggregation indicator, wherein a number of ACK/NAKs are aggregated into an aggregated ACK/NAK report based on the ACK/NAK aggregation indicator (Fig. 4 and 5 Paragraph [0035] single acknowledgement packet); and
transmitting to the base station, subsequent to the reception of the two or more
scheduled data bursts, the aggregated ACK/NAK report (Fig. 4 and 5 Paragraph [0035] single acknowledgement packet), wherein the aggregated ACK/NAK report includes an indication of whether (a) a number of the two or more scheduled data bursts corresponding to the number of ACK/NAKs aggregated into the aggregated ACK/NAK report was successfully received or not according to the ACK/NAK aggregation indicator (Fig, 4 and 5 Paragraph [0035] single acknowledgement packet indicates entire block of packets were correctly received or some or all need to be retransmitted) or (b) a number of data blocks within the two or more scheduled data bursts corresponding to the number of ACK/NAKs aggregated into the aggregated ACK/NAK report was successfully received or not according to the ACK/NAK aggregation indicator (Fig, 4 and 5 Paragraph [0035] single acknowledgement packet indicates entire block of packets were correctly received or some or all need to be retransmitted).
Regarding claims 2 and 10, Yuan teaches, wherein transmitter is further configured to transmit the aggregated ACK/NAK report over a single channel (Paragraph [0033] single channel).
Regarding claims 3 and 11, Yuan teaches, wherein the receiver is further configured to receive the two or more scheduled data bursts over a single channel (Fig, 4 and 5 Paragraphs [0033] to [0035] single acknowledgement packet indicates entire block of packets were correctly received or some or all need to be retransmitted).
Regarding claims 4 and 12, Yuan teaches, wherein transmitter is further configured to transmit the aggregated ACK/NAK report at a time that is based on a specified delay period after a scheduled data burst (Fig. 4, Paragraphs [0102] to [0104] ACK 431, differential backoffs for various access categories, reduces average delay by about 54%).
Regarding claims 5 and 13, Yuan teaches, wherein a corresponding specified delay period after a first scheduled data burst of the two or more scheduled data bursts is different than a corresponding specified delay period after a second scheduled data burst of the two or more schedule data bursts (Fig. 4, Paragraphs [0102] to [0104] ACK 431, differential backoffs for various access categories, reduces average delay by about 54%).
Regarding claims 6 and 14, Yuan teaches, wherein the aggregated ACK/NAK report comprises a plurality of aggregated ACK/NAK reports, and wherein one aggregated ACK/NAK report of the plurality of aggregated ACK/NAK reports indicates whether a number of data blocks within the two or more scheduled data bursts was successfully received or not according to the ACK/NAK aggregation indicator (Fig, 4 and 5 Paragraphs [0033] to [0035] single acknowledgement packet indicates entire block of packets were correctly received or some or all need to be retransmitted).
Regarding claims 7 and 15, Yuan teaches wherein the ACK/NAK aggregation
indicator indicates one of four values (Fig. 4, Paragraphs [0102] to [0104] ACK 431, differential backoffs for various access categories/4 values).
9. Regarding claim 17, Yuan teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing
instructions thereon that, when executed by at least one processor (Fig. 4 and 5), cause an apparatus to:
receive, from a base station, two or more scheduled data bursts (Figures 4 and 5 Paragraph [0035] block of packets); and
receive, from the base station, an acknowledgment/negative acknowledgment (ACK/NAK) aggregation indicator, wherein a number of ACK/NAKs are aggregated into an aggregated ACK/NAK report based on the ACK/NAK aggregation indicator (Fig. 4 and 5 Paragraph [0035] single acknowledgement packet); and
a transmitter configured to, subsequent to the reception of the two or more
scheduled data bursts, transmit, to the base station, the aggregated ACK/NAK
report (Fig. 4 and 5 Paragraph [0035] single acknowledgement packet), wherein the aggregated ACK/NAK report includes an indication of whether (a) a number of the two or more scheduled data bursts corresponding to the number of ACK/NAKs aggregated into the aggregated ACK/NAK report was successfully received or not according to the ACK/NAK aggregation indicator (Fig, 4 and 5 Paragraph [0035] single acknowledgement packet indicates entire block of packets were correctly received or some or all need to be retransmitted) or (b) a number of data blocks within the two or more scheduled data bursts corresponding to the number of ACK/NAKs aggregated into the aggregated ACK/NAK report was successfully received or not according to the ACK/NAK aggregation indicator (Fig, 4 and 5 Paragraph [0035] single acknowledgement packet indicates entire block of packets were correctly received or some or all need to be retransmitted).
10. Regarding claim 18, Yuan teaches
transmit the aggregated ACK/NAK report at a time that is based on a specified delay period after a scheduled data burst (Fig. 4, Paragraphs [0102] to [0104] ACK 431, differential backoffs for various access categories, reduces average delay by about 54%);
wherein a corresponding specified delay period after a first scheduled data
burst of the two or more scheduled data bursts is different than a corresponding
specified delay period after a second scheduled data burst of the two or more schedule data bursts (Fig. 4, Paragraphs [0102] to [0104] ACK 431, differential backoffs for various access categories, reduces average delay by about 54%).
11. Regarding claim 19, Yuan teaches wherein the aggregated ACK/NAK report comprises a plurality of aggregated ACK/NAK reports, and wherein one aggregated ACK/NAK report of the plurality of aggregated ACK/NAK reports indicates whether a number of data blocks within the two or more scheduled data bursts was successfully received or not according to the ACK/NAK aggregation indicator (Fig, 4 and 5 Paragraphs [0033] to [0035] single acknowledgement packet indicates entire block of packets were correctly received or some or all need to be retransmitted).
Regarding claims 8, 16, and 20, Yuan teaches wherein the ACK/NAK aggregation indicator is included in a transmission schedule which includes a schedule of one or more downlink data bursts, and wherein a data burst is transmitted together with the transmission schedule (Fig. 3 and 4 beacon frame).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Surineni et al. (US 2008/0095091 A1) Paragraph [0081]
/DIANE L LO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466