DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/17/2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because (1) the top shaded portion of figure 1 has two misspellings (“beztween” and “sugnalling”), (2) the text within the bottom shaded arrow of figure 1 is difficult to read, and (3) the unlabeled rectangular box(es) shown in figure 11 should be provided with descriptive text labels. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: paragraphs [0063], [0064], and [0065] make reference to 3GPP TS 23.427. This is believed to be a typographical error and that the actual value is 3GPP TS 23.247 (based on a Google Search, the entry on the 6/17/24 IDS, and other entries within the specification (see, for example, paragraph [0101])).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: there is a line of “hanging text” between the likely end of claim 13 and beginning of claim 14. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11, 13-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (US PG Pub 2025/0275013) in view of Baek (US PG Pub 2024/0040661).
As per claim 1, Xu et al. teach an apparatus [Xu, fig. 5, ¶ 0083, “the network element 500 may implement one or more logical functions/entities of a cellular core network”, An application function (AF) may be implemented by the network element of fig. 5.] comprising:
at least one processor [Xu, fig. 5, element 504, ¶ 0085, “The processor(s) 504 of the core network element 500”]; and
at least one memory [Xu, fig. 5, element 560, ¶ 0083, “The processor(s) 504 may also be coupled to memory management unit (MMU) 540, which may be configured to receive addresses from the processor(s) 504 and translate those addresses to locations in memory (e.g., memory 560 and read only memory (ROM) 550) or to other circuits or devices”, Memory (see element 560) contains necessary storage to implement network element functionality.] comprising: one or more index values, each index value of the one or more index values corresponding to a shared multicast/broadcast service to be provided via multiple public land mobile networks that are sharing radio access network nodes of a radio access network [Xu, ¶ 0123, “As shown, in 1412, the AF may be aware that MB-SMF-1/PLMN #1 and MB-SMF-2/PLMN #2 are shared, and may allocate unified MBS service ID #A for a MBS service”, The AF (see fig. 14, element 1410) determines that public land mobile network (PLMN) #1 and PLMN #2 share a MBS service (see ¶ 0097). In response to this determination, the AF is able to apply a common MBS service ID field to multiple TMGIs (see also ¶ 0122). In fig. 14, the exemplary value of the MBS service ID is “A”. An AF is able to apply one or more MBS services to operators (see also ¶ 0110).]; and
instructions which, when executed by the at least one processor cause the apparatus [Xu, ¶ 0085, “The processor(s) 504 of the core network element 500 may be configured to implement or support implementation of part or all of the methods described herein, e.g., by executing program instructions stored on a memory medium (e.g., a non-transitory computer-readable memory medium)”, The processor is configured to implement software instructions to perform network element functionality (see also ¶ 0083).] at least to:
determine that a shared multicast/broadcast service to be provided via the multiple public land mobile networks is to be established [Xu, ¶ 0123, “As shown, in 1412, the AF may be aware that MB-SMF-1/PLMN #1 and MB-SMF-2/PLMN #2 are shared, and may allocate unified MBS service ID #A for a MBS service”, The AF (see fig. 14, element 1410) determines that public land mobile network (PLMN) #1 and PLMN #2 share a MBS service (see ¶ 0097). In response to this determination, the AF is able to apply a common MBS service ID field to multiple TMGIs (see also ¶ 0122). In fig. 14, the exemplary value of the MBS service ID is “A”. An AF is able to apply one or more MBS services to operators (see also ¶ 0110).];
select an index value from the one or more index values corresponding to the determined shared share multicast/broadcast service [Xu, ¶ 0123, “As shown, in 1412, the AF may be aware that MB-SMF-1/PLMN #1 and MB-SMF-2/PLMN #2 are shared, and may allocate unified MBS service ID #A for a MBS service”, The AF (see fig. 14, element 1410) determines that public land mobile network (PLMN) #1 and PLMN #2 share a MBS service (see ¶ 0097). In response to this determination, the AF is able to apply a common MBS service ID field to multiple TMGIs (see also ¶ 0122). In fig. 14, the exemplary value of the MBS service ID is “A”. An AF is able to apply one or more MBS services to operators (see also ¶ 0110).];
send, to a multicast/broadcast session management function of a first public land mobile network of the multiple public land mobile networks, a [message] for allocation of a temporary mobile group identity, the [message] comprising an index value to be used to select a temporary mobile group identity for the shared multicast/broadcast service [Xu, ¶ 0123, “In 1418, the AF 1410 may create a MBS broadcast context with AMF-1/MB-SMF-1 1406, with TMGI #x having MBS service ID=A”, The context create process (see step 1418) encompasses a message sent by the AF (see element 1410) to the session management function (SMF) of the first PLMN (or, AMF-1/SMF-1 of PLMN#1, see element 1406). The context create request message sent conveys the MBS service ID#A identified in step 1412.]; and
receive, from the multicast/broadcast session management function of the first public land mobile network, a [second message] to the request for allocation of a temporary mobile group identity, the [second message] comprising a first temporary mobile group identity for the shared multicast/broadcast service selected by the multicast/broadcast session management function of the first public land mobile network [Xu, ¶ 0123, “In 1418, the AF 1410 may create a MBS broadcast context with AMF-1/MB-SMF-1 1406, with TMGI #x having MBS service ID=A”, The context create process (see step 1418) encompasses a message received by the AF (see element 1410) from the SMF of the first PLMN (or, AMF-1/SMF-1 of PLMN#1, see element 1406). The context create response message conveys the TMGI#x associated with MBS service ID=A, where the TMGI of the PLMN includes the MBS service ID (see also ¶ 0097). See also fig. 8, ¶ 0112.].
Xu et al. do not explicitly teach a request for allocation of a temporary mobile group identity…a response to the request for allocation of a temporary mobile group identity.
However, in an analogous art, Baek teaches send, to a multicast/broadcast session management function…a request for allocation of a temporary mobile group identity, the request comprising an index value [Baek, fig. 6, steps 610 and 615, “In operation 610, the AF may transmit, to the NEF, a message for requesting MBS session generation for the TMGI. For example, the message for requesting the MBS session generation may be an Nnef_MBSSsession_Create request message. In operation 615, the NEF having received the message for requesting the MBS session generation may transmit an MBS session generation request message to the MB-SMF. For example, the message transmitted to the MB-SMF by the NEF may be an Nmbsmf_MBSSession_Create request message. In other words, in operations 610 and 615, the AF may request MBS session generation for the TMGI from the MB-SMF through the NEF in a specific operator network. That is, the AF may request the MBS session for the TMGI through the MBS session generation request message (e.g., Nnef_MBSSession_Create request and Nmbsmf_MBSSession_Create request messages). The MB S session generation request message may include at least one of a TMGI, a broadcast service ID”, The AF identifies that multiple TMGIs are used for the same broadcast service (see step 605) and determines a broadcast service ID (¶ 0100). In response, the AF sends a MBS Session create request, including a broadcast service ID, to the MB-SMF via a network expansion function (NEF, see steps 610 and 615). It is reasonable to conclude that the messaging process of Baek may be used for both PLMNs.]; and
receive, from the multicast/broadcast session management function…a response to the request for allocation of a temporary mobile group identity, the response comprising a first temporary mobile group identity [Baek, ¶ 0109, “In operations 625b and 630b, the MB-SMF may transfer a response to operations 610 and 615 to the AF. The message in operations 625b and 630b may include a part or all of the broadcast service ID, the primary TMGI information”, In step 655 (see ¶ 0108), the MB-SMF receives a primary TMGI for usage. The primary TMGI is then passed back to the AF, in response to the AF request of messages 610 and 615, via message 630b. It is reasonable to conclude that the messaging process of Baek may be used for both PLMNs.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the context request and context response messaging of Baek into Xu et al. One would have been motivated to do this because the context request/response process as taught by Baek is a recognizable substitute to carry the context request/response messages and their MBS service IDs as taught by Xu et al. and such combination would yield the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 2, Xu et al. in view of Baek teaches the apparatus as claimed in claim 1. Xu et al. also teach wherein the at least one memory comprises further instructions which, when executed by the at least one processor cause the apparatus to:
send a [third message] for allocation of a temporary mobile group identity to a multicast/broadcast session management function of a core network of a second public land mobile network of the multiple public land mobile networks, the [third message] comprising the index value to be used for allocation of a temporary mobile group identity for the shared multicast/broadcast service [Xu, ¶ 0123, “In 1424, the AF 1410 may create a MBS broadcast context with AMF-2/MB-SMF-2 1408, with TMGI #y having MBS service ID=A”, The context create process (see step 1424s) encompasses a message sent by the AF (see element 1410) to the session management function (SMF) of the second PLMN (or, AMF-2/SMF-2 of PLMN#2, see element 1408). The context create request message sent conveys the MBS service ID#A identified in step 1412.]; and
receive, from the multicast/broadcast session management function of the core network of the second public land mobile network of the multiple public land mobile networks, a [fourth message] to the second temporary mobile group identity allocation request, the [fourth message] to the second temporary mobile group identity allocation request comprising a second a temporary mobile group identity for the shared multicast/broadcast service selected by the session management function of the core network of the second public land mobile network based on the index value [Xu, ¶ 0123, “In 1418, the AF 1410 may create a MBS broadcast context with AMF-1/MB-SMF-1 1406, with TMGI #x having MBS service ID=A”, The context create process (see step 1424) encompasses a message received by the AF (see element 1410) from the SMF of the second PLMN (or, AMF-2/SMF-2 of PLMN#1, see element 1406). The context create response message conveys the TMGI#y associated with MBS service ID=A, where the TMGI of the PLMN includes the MBS service ID (see also ¶ 0097). See also fig. 8, ¶ 0112.].
Xu et al. do not explicitly teach send a second request for allocation of a temporary mobile group identity…receive…a response to the second temporary mobile group identity allocation request.
However, in an analogous art, Baek teaches send a second request for allocation of a temporary mobile group identity to a multicast/broadcast session management function of a core network [Baek, fig. 6, steps 610 and 615, “In operation 610, the AF may transmit, to the NEF, a message for requesting MBS session generation for the TMGI. For example, the message for requesting the MBS session generation may be an Nnef_MBSSsession_Create request message. In operation 615, the NEF having received the message for requesting the MBS session generation may transmit an MBS session generation request message to the MB-SMF. For example, the message transmitted to the MB-SMF by the NEF may be an Nmbsmf_MBSSession_Create request message. In other words, in operations 610 and 615, the AF may request MBS session generation for the TMGI from the MB-SMF through the NEF in a specific operator network. That is, the AF may request the MBS session for the TMGI through the MBS session generation request message (e.g., Nnef_MBSSession_Create request and Nmbsmf_MBSSession_Create request messages). The MB S session generation request message may include at least one of a TMGI, a broadcast service ID”, The AF identifies that multiple TMGIs are used for the same broadcast service (see step 605) and determines a broadcast service ID (¶ 0100). In response, the AF sends a MBS Session create request, including a broadcast service ID, to the MB-SMF via a network expansion function (NEF, see steps 610 and 615). It is reasonable to conclude that the messaging process of Baek may be used for both PLMNs.]; and
receive, from the multicast/broadcast session management function of the core network of the second public land mobile network….a response to the second temporary mobile group identity allocation request, the response to the second temporary mobile group identity allocation request comprising a second a temporary mobile group identity [Baek, ¶ 0109, “In operations 625b and 630b, the MB-SMF may transfer a response to operations 610 and 615 to the AF. The message in operations 625b and 630b may include a part or all of the broadcast service ID, the primary TMGI information”, In step 655 (see ¶ 0108), the MB-SMF receives a primary TMGI for usage. The primary TMGI is then passed back to the AF, in response to the AF request of messages 610 and 615, via message 630b. It is reasonable to conclude that the messaging process of Baek may be used for both PLMNs.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the context request and context response messaging of Baek into Xu et al. One would have been motivated to do this because the context request/response process as taught by Baek is a recognizable substitute to carry the context request/response messages and their MBS service IDs as taught by Xu et al. and such combination would yield the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 3, Xu et al. in view of Baek teaches the apparatus as claimed in claim 1. Xu et al. also teach wherein the request for allocation of a temporary mobile group identity is a temporary mobile group identity request.
However, in an analogous art, Baek teaches wherein the request for allocation of a temporary mobile group identity is a temporary mobile group identity request [Baek, fig. 6, steps 610 and 615, “In operation 610, the AF may transmit, to the NEF, a message for requesting MBS session generation for the TMGI. For example, the message for requesting the MBS session generation may be an Nnef_MBSSsession_Create request message. In operation 615, the NEF having received the message for requesting the MBS session generation may transmit an MBS session generation request message to the MB-SMF. For example, the message transmitted to the MB-SMF by the NEF may be an Nmbsmf_MBSSession_Create request message. In other words, in operations 610 and 615, the AF may request MBS session generation for the TMGI from the MB-SMF through the NEF in a specific operator network. That is, the AF may request the MBS session for the TMGI through the MBS session generation request message (e.g., Nnef_MBSSession_Create request and Nmbsmf_MBSSession_Create request messages). The MB S session generation request message may include at least one of a TMGI, a broadcast service ID”, The AF identifies that multiple TMGIs are used for the same broadcast service (see step 605) and determines a broadcast service ID (¶ 0100). In response, the AF sends a MBS Session create request, including a broadcast service ID, to the MB-SMF via a network expansion function (NEF, see steps 610 and 615). It is reasonable to conclude that the messaging process of Baek may be used for both PLMNs.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the context request and context response messaging of Baek into Xu et al. One would have been motivated to do this because the context request/response process as taught by Baek is a recognizable substitute to carry the context request/response messages and their MBS service IDs as taught by Xu et al. and such combination would yield the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 4, Xu et al. in view of Baek teaches the apparatus as claimed in claim 2. Xu et al. also teach wherein the second request for allocation of a temporary mobile group identity is a temporary mobile group identity request.
However, in an analogous art, Baek teaches wherein the second request for allocation of a temporary mobile group identity is a temporary mobile group identity request [Baek, fig. 6, steps 610 and 615, “In operation 610, the AF may transmit, to the NEF, a message for requesting MBS session generation for the TMGI. For example, the message for requesting the MBS session generation may be an Nnef_MBSSsession_Create request message. In operation 615, the NEF having received the message for requesting the MBS session generation may transmit an MBS session generation request message to the MB-SMF. For example, the message transmitted to the MB-SMF by the NEF may be an Nmbsmf_MBSSession_Create request message. In other words, in operations 610 and 615, the AF may request MBS session generation for the TMGI from the MB-SMF through the NEF in a specific operator network. That is, the AF may request the MBS session for the TMGI through the MBS session generation request message (e.g., Nnef_MBSSession_Create request and Nmbsmf_MBSSession_Create request messages). The MB S session generation request message may include at least one of a TMGI, a broadcast service ID”, The AF identifies that multiple TMGIs are used for the same broadcast service (see step 605) and determines a broadcast service ID (¶ 0100). In response, the AF sends a MBS Session create request, including a broadcast service ID, to the MB-SMF via a network expansion function (NEF, see steps 610 and 615). It is reasonable to conclude that the messaging process of Baek may be used for both PLMNs.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the context request and context response messaging of Baek into Xu et al. One would have been motivated to do this because the context request/response process as taught by Baek is a recognizable substitute to carry the context request/response messages and their MBS service IDs as taught by Xu et al. and such combination would yield the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 5, Xu et al. in view of Baek teaches the apparatus as claimed in claim 2. Xu et al. also teach wherein instructions which, when executed by the at least one processor further cause the apparatus to at least one of:
trigger creation of a multicast/broadcast service session for the shared multicast/broadcast service in the first public land mobile network using the first temporary mobile group identity for the shared multicast/broadcast service [Xu, ¶ 0123, “In 1420, the AMF-1/MB-SMF-1 1406 may perform MBS broadcast setup with gNB 1404 for TMGI #x”, A MBS broadcast is created (see steps 1420 and 1422) using the TMGI#x for PLMN#1.];
or trigger creation of a multicast/broadcast service session for the shared multicast/broadcast service in the second public land mobile network using the second temporary mobile group identity for the shared multicast/broadcast service [Xu, ¶ 0123, “In 1426, the AMF-2/MB-SMF-2 1408 may perform MBS broadcast setup with gNB 1404 for TMGI #y”, A MBS broadcast is created (see steps 1426 and 1430) using the TMGI#y for PLMN#2.].
As per claim 6, Xu et al. in view of Baek teaches the apparatus as claimed in claim 1. Xu et al. also teach wherein the [message] for allocation of a temporary mobile group identity is a multicast/broadcast service session creation request comprising an indication that a temporary mobile group identity is to be allocated for the shared multicast/broadcast service [Xu, ¶ 0123, “In 1418, the AF 1410 may create a MBS broadcast context with AMF-1/MB-SMF-1 1406, with TMGI #x having MBS service ID=A”, The context create process (see step 1418) encompasses a message sent by the AF (see element 1410) to the session management function (SMF) of the first PLMN (or, AMF-1/SMF-1 of PLMN#1, see element 1406). The context create request message sent conveys the MBS service ID#A identified in step 1412. The context create request is sent as a result of the determination that there is a shared MBS service (see step 1412).].
However, in an analogous art, Baek teaches wherein the request for allocation of a temporary mobile group identity is a multicast/broadcast service session creation request [Baek, fig. 6, steps 610 and 615, “In operation 610, the AF may transmit, to the NEF, a message for requesting MBS session generation for the TMGI. For example, the message for requesting the MBS session generation may be an Nnef_MBSSsession_Create request message. In operation 615, the NEF having received the message for requesting the MBS session generation may transmit an MBS session generation request message to the MB-SMF. For example, the message transmitted to the MB-SMF by the NEF may be an Nmbsmf_MBSSession_Create request message. In other words, in operations 610 and 615, the AF may request MBS session generation for the TMGI from the MB-SMF through the NEF in a specific operator network. That is, the AF may request the MBS session for the TMGI through the MBS session generation request message (e.g., Nnef_MBSSession_Create request and Nmbsmf_MBSSession_Create request messages). The MB S session generation request message may include at least one of a TMGI, a broadcast service ID”, The AF identifies that multiple TMGIs are used for the same broadcast service (see step 605) and determines a broadcast service ID (¶ 0100). In response, the AF sends a MBS Session create request, including a broadcast service ID, to the MB-SMF via a network expansion function (NEF, see steps 610 and 615). It is reasonable to conclude that the messaging process of Baek may be used for both PLMNs.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the context request and context response messaging of Baek into Xu et al. One would have been motivated to do this because the context request/response process as taught by Baek is a recognizable substitute to carry the context request/response messages and their MBS service IDs as taught by Xu et al. and such combination would yield the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 7, Xu et al. in view of Baek teaches the apparatus as claimed in claim 2. Xu et al. also teach wherein the [third message] for allocation of a temporary mobile group identity is a second MBS session creation request comprising an indication that a temporary mobile group identity is to be allocated for the shared multicast/broadcast service [Xu, ¶ 0123, “In 1424, the AF 1410 may create a MBS broadcast context with AMF-2/MB-SMF-2 1408, with TMGI #y having MBS service ID=A”, The context create process (see step 1424s) encompasses a message sent by the AF (see element 1410) to the session management function (SMF) of the second PLMN (or, AMF-2/SMF-2 of PLMN#2, see element 1408). The context create request message sent conveys the MBS service ID#A identified in step 1412. The context create request is sent as a result of the determination that there is a shared MBS service (see step 1412).].
However, in an analogous art, Baek teaches wherein the second request for allocation of a temporary mobile group identity is a second MBS session creation request [Baek, fig. 6, steps 610 and 615, “In operation 610, the AF may transmit, to the NEF, a message for requesting MBS session generation for the TMGI. For example, the message for requesting the MBS session generation may be an Nnef_MBSSsession_Create request message. In operation 615, the NEF having received the message for requesting the MBS session generation may transmit an MBS session generation request message to the MB-SMF. For example, the message transmitted to the MB-SMF by the NEF may be an Nmbsmf_MBSSession_Create request message. In other words, in operations 610 and 615, the AF may request MBS session generation for the TMGI from the MB-SMF through the NEF in a specific operator network. That is, the AF may request the MBS session for the TMGI through the MBS session generation request message (e.g., Nnef_MBSSession_Create request and Nmbsmf_MBSSession_Create request messages). The MB S session generation request message may include at least one of a TMGI, a broadcast service ID”, The AF identifies that multiple TMGIs are used for the same broadcast service (see step 605) and determines a broadcast service ID (¶ 0100). In response, the AF sends a MBS Session create request, including a broadcast service ID, to the MB-SMF via a network expansion function (NEF, see steps 610 and 615). It is reasonable to conclude that the messaging process of Baek may be used for both PLMNs.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the context request and context response messaging of Baek into Xu et al. One would have been motivated to do this because the context request/response process as taught by Baek is a recognizable substitute to carry the context request/response messages and their MBS service IDs as taught by Xu et al. and such combination would yield the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 8, Xu et al. in view of Baek teaches the apparatus as claimed in claim 1. Xu et al. do not explicitly teach wherein the request for allocation of a temporary mobile group identity is sent to the multicast/broadcast session management function of the core network of the public land mobile network via a network exposure function of the core network of the public land mobile network.
However, in an analogous art, Baek teaches wherein the request for allocation of a temporary mobile group identity is sent to the multicast/broadcast session management function of the core network of the public land mobile network via a network exposure function of the core network of the public land mobile network [Baek, fig. 6, steps 610 and 615, “In operation 610, the AF may transmit, to the NEF, a message for requesting MBS session generation for the TMGI. For example, the message for requesting the MBS session generation may be an Nnef_MBSSsession_Create request message. In operation 615, the NEF having received the message for requesting the MBS session generation may transmit an MBS session generation request message to the MB-SMF. For example, the message transmitted to the MB-SMF by the NEF may be an Nmbsmf_MBSSession_Create request message. In other words, in operations 610 and 615, the AF may request MBS session generation for the TMGI from the MB-SMF through the NEF in a specific operator network. That is, the AF may request the MBS session for the TMGI through the MBS session generation request message (e.g., Nnef_MBSSession_Create request and Nmbsmf_MBSSession_Create request messages). The MB S session generation request message may include at least one of a TMGI, a broadcast service ID”, The AF identifies that multiple TMGIs are used for the same broadcast service (see step 605) and determines a broadcast service ID (¶ 0100). In response, the AF sends a MBS Session create request, including a broadcast service ID, to the MB-SMF via a network expansion function (NEF, see steps 610 and 615). It is reasonable to conclude that the messaging process of Baek may be used for both PLMNs.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the context request and context response messaging of Baek into Xu et al. One would have been motivated to do this because the context request/response process as taught by Baek is a recognizable substitute to carry the context request/response messages and their MBS service IDs as taught by Xu et al. and such combination would yield the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 9, Xu et al. in view of Baek teaches the apparatus as claimed in claim 2. Xu et al. do not explicitly teach wherein the second request for allocation of a temporary mobile group identity is sent to the multicast/broadcast session management function of the core network of the second public land mobile network via a network exposure function of the core network of the second public land mobile network.
However, in an analogous art, Baek teaches wherein the second request for allocation of a temporary mobile group identity is sent to the multicast/broadcast session management function of the core network of the second public land mobile network via a network exposure function of the core network of the second public land mobile network [Baek, fig. 6, steps 610 and 615, “In operation 610, the AF may transmit, to the NEF, a message for requesting MBS session generation for the TMGI. For example, the message for requesting the MBS session generation may be an Nnef_MBSSsession_Create request message. In operation 615, the NEF having received the message for requesting the MBS session generation may transmit an MBS session generation request message to the MB-SMF. For example, the message transmitted to the MB-SMF by the NEF may be an Nmbsmf_MBSSession_Create request message. In other words, in operations 610 and 615, the AF may request MBS session generation for the TMGI from the MB-SMF through the NEF in a specific operator network. That is, the AF may request the MBS session for the TMGI through the MBS session generation request message (e.g., Nnef_MBSSession_Create request and Nmbsmf_MBSSession_Create request messages). The MB S session generation request message may include at least one of a TMGI, a broadcast service ID”, The AF identifies that multiple TMGIs are used for the same broadcast service (see step 605) and determines a broadcast service ID (¶ 0100). In response, the AF sends a MBS Session create request, including a broadcast service ID, to the MB-SMF via a network expansion function (NEF, see steps 610 and 615). It is reasonable to conclude that the messaging process of Baek may be used for both PLMNs.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the context request and context response messaging of Baek into Xu et al. One would have been motivated to do this because the context request/response process as taught by Baek is a recognizable substitute to carry the context request/response messages and their MBS service IDs as taught by Xu et al. and such combination would yield the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 10, Xu et al. in view of Baek teaches the apparatus as claimed in claim 1. Xu et al. also teach wherein the instructions which, when executed by the at least one processor further cause the apparatus to: send service announcements related to the shared multicast/broadcast service to one or more user equipment in the public land mobile network using the first temporary mobile group identity [Xu, ¶ 0123, “In 1422, the gNB 1404 may provide broadcast MBS session configuration for MBS session #1 with TMGI #x”, After MBS Context Create (see step 1418) and MBS broadcast setup (see step 1420), a Broadcast MBS session config (step 1422) is sent to the UE (see element 1402) over PLMN#1 using TMGI#x.].
As per claim 11, Xu et al. in view of Baek teaches the apparatus as claimed in claim 2. Xu et al. also teach wherein the at least one memory comprises further instructions which, when executed by the at least one processor cause the apparatus to: send service announcements related to the shared multicast/broadcast service to one or more user equipment in the second public land mobile network using the second temporary mobile group identity [Xu, ¶ 0123, “Accordingly, in 1430, the gNB 1404 may provide broadcast MBS session configuration for MBS session #1 with both TMGI #x and TMGI #y”, After MBS Context Create (see step 1424) and MBS broadcast setup (see step 1428), a Broadcast MBS session config (step 1430) is sent to the UE (see element 1402) over PLMN#2 using TMGI#y.].
As per claim 13, Xu et al. teach an apparatus [Xu, fig. 5, ¶ 0083, “the network element 500 may implement one or more logical functions/entities of a cellular core network”, An application function (AF) may be implemented by the network element of fig. 5.] comprising:
at least one processor [Xu, fig. 5, element 504, ¶ 0085, “The processor(s) 504 of the core network element 500”];
at least one memory [Xu, fig. 5, element 560, ¶ 0083, “The processor(s) 504 may also be coupled to memory management unit (MMU) 540, which may be configured to receive addresses from the processor(s) 504 and translate those addresses to locations in memory (e.g., memory 560 and read only memory (ROM) 550) or to other circuits or devices”, Memory (see element 560) contains necessary storage to implement network element functionality.] comprising: information identifying a first public land mobile network comprising a lead multicast/broadcast session management function of multiple public land mobile networks [Xu, ¶ 0123, “the AF may be aware that MB-SMF-1/PLMN #1 and MB-SMF-2/PLMN #2 are shared, and may allocate unified MBS service ID #A for a MBS service”, As seen in the figure, there are two PLMNs: #1 and #2. As shown in the figure and recited in the claim, PLMN #1 (or the lead PLMN) is handled first, followed by PLMN #2.] that are sharing one or more radio access network nodes and provide at least one shared multicast/broadcast service [Xu, ¶ 0123, “As shown, in 1412, the AF may be aware that MB-SMF-1/PLMN #1 and MB-SMF-2/PLMN #2 are shared, and may allocate unified MBS service ID #A for a MBS service”, The AF (see fig. 14, element 1410) determines that public land mobile network (PLMN) #1 and PLMN #2 share a MBS service (see ¶ 0097). In response to this determination, the AF is able to apply a common MBS service ID field to multiple TMGIs (see also ¶ 0122). In fig. 14, the exemplary value of the MBS service ID is “A”. An AF is able to apply one or more MBS services to operators (see also ¶ 0110).];
instructions which, when executed by the at least one processor cause the apparatus [Xu, ¶ 0085, “The processor(s) 504 of the core network element 500 may be configured to implement or support implementation of part or all of the methods described herein, e.g., by executing program instructions stored on a memory medium (e.g., a non-transitory computer-readable memory medium)”, The processor is configured to implement software instructions to perform network element functionality (see also ¶ 0083).] at least to:
determine that a shared multicast/broadcast service to be provided via the multiple public land mobile networks is to be established [Xu, ¶ 0123, “As shown, in 1412, the AF may be aware that MB-SMF-1/PLMN #1 and MB-SMF-2/PLMN #2 are shared, and may allocate unified MBS service ID #A for a MBS service”, The AF (see fig. 14, element 1410) determines that public land mobile network (PLMN) #1 and PLMN #2 share a MBS service (see ¶ 0097). In response to this determination, the AF is able to apply a common MBS service ID field to multiple TMGIs (see also ¶ 0122). In fig. 14, the exemplary value of the MBS service ID is “A”. An AF is able to apply one or more MBS services to operators (see also ¶ 0110).];
send a first [message] for the allocation of a temporary mobile group identity to the lead multicast/broadcast session management function of a first public land mobile network of the multiple public land mobile networks, the first [message] comprising an indication indicating that first request relates to a shared multicast/broadcast service [Xu, ¶ 0123, “In 1418, the AF 1410 may create a MBS broadcast context with AMF-1/MB-SMF-1 1406, with TMGI #x having MBS service ID=A”, The context create process (see step 1418) encompasses a message sent by the AF (see element 1410) to the session management function (SMF) of the first PLMN (or, AMF-1/SMF-1 of PLMN#1, see element 1406). The context create request message sent conveys the MBS service ID#A identified in step 1412.]; and
receive, from the lead multicast/broadcast session management function, a [first response] to the first request for the allocation of a temporary mobile group identity, the [first response] comprising a first temporary mobile group identity selected by the lead multicast/broadcast session management function for the shared multicast/broadcast session [Xu, ¶ 0123, “In 1418, the AF 1410 may create a MBS broadcast context with AMF-1/MB-SMF-1 1406, with TMGI #x having MBS service ID=A”, The context create process (see step 1418) encompasses a message received by the AF (see element 1410) from the SMF of the first PLMN (or, AMF-1/SMF-1 of PLMN#1, see element 1406). The context create response message conveys the TMGI#x associated with MBS service ID=A, where the TMGI of the PLMN includes the MBS service ID (see also ¶ 0097). See also fig. 8, ¶ 0112.];
send a second [message] for the allocation of a second temporary mobile group identity to a second multicast/broadcast session management function of a second public land mobile network of the multiple public land mobile networks, the second [message] comprising the first temporary mobile group identity [Xu, ¶ 0123, “In 1424, the AF 1410 may create a MBS broadcast context with AMF-2/MB-SMF-2 1408, with TMGI #y having MBS service ID=A”, The context create process (see step 1424s) encompasses a message sent by the AF (see element 1410) to the session management function (SMF) of the second PLMN (or, AMF-2/SMF-2 of PLMN#2, see element 1408). The context create request message sent conveys the MBS service ID#A identified in step 1412.]; and
receive, from second multicast/broadcast session management function, a [second response] to the second request, the [second response] comprising the second temporary mobile group identity for the shared multicast/broadcast service selected by the second multicast/broadcast session management function based on the first temporary mobile group identity [Xu, ¶ 0123, “In 1418, the AF 1410 may create a MBS broadcast context with AMF-1/MB-SMF-1 1406, with TMGI #x having MBS service ID=A”, The context create process (see step 1424) encompasses a message received by the AF (see element 1410) from the SMF of the second PLMN (or, AMF-2/SMF-2 of PLMN#1, see element 1406). The context create response message conveys the TMGI#y associated with MBS service ID=A, where the TMGI of the PLMN includes the MBS service ID (see also ¶ 0097). See also fig. 8, ¶ 0112.].
Xu et al. do not explicitly teach send a first request for the allocation of a temporary mobile group identity… receive…a response to the first request for the allocation of a temporary mobile group identity… send a second request for the allocation of a second temporary mobile group identity… receive, from second multicast/broadcast session management function, a response to the second request, the response comprising the second temporary mobile group identity.
However, in an analogous art, Baek teaches send a first request for the allocation of a temporary mobile group identity… [Baek, fig. 6, steps 610 and 615, “In operation 610, the AF may transmit, to the NEF, a message for requesting MBS session generation for the TMGI. For example, the message for requesting the MBS session generation may be an Nnef_MBSSsession_Create request message. In operation 615, the NEF having received the message for requesting the MBS session generation may transmit an MBS session generation request message to the MB-SMF. For example, the message transmitted to the MB-SMF by the NEF may be an Nmbsmf_MBSSession_Create request message. In other words, in operations 610 and 615, the AF may request MBS session generation for the TMGI from the MB-SMF through the NEF in a specific operator network. That is, the AF may request the MBS session for the TMGI through the MBS session generation request message (e.g., Nnef_MBSSession_Create request and Nmbsmf_MBSSession_Create request messages). The MB S session generation request message may include at least one of a TMGI, a broadcast service ID”, The AF identifies that multiple TMGIs are used for the same broadcast service (see step 605) and determines a broadcast service ID (¶ 0100). In response, the AF sends a MBS Session create request, including a broadcast service ID, to the MB-SMF via a network expansion function (NEF, see steps 610 and 615). It is reasonable to conclude that the messaging process of Baek may be used for both PLMNs.]; and
receive…a response to the first request for the allocation of a temporary mobile group identity [Baek, ¶ 0109, “In operations 625b and 630b, the MB-SMF may transfer a response to operations 610 and 615 to the AF. The message in operations 625b and 630b may include a part or all of the broadcast service ID, the primary TMGI information”, In step 655 (see ¶ 0108), the MB-SMF receives a primary TMGI for usage. The primary TMGI is then passed back to the AF, in response to the AF request of messages 610 and 615, via message 630b. It is reasonable to conclude that the messaging process of Baek may be used for both PLMNs.].
send a second request for the allocation of a second temporary mobile group identity to a second multicast/broadcast session management function [Baek, fig. 6, steps 610 and 615, “In operation 610, the AF may transmit, to the NEF, a message for requesting MBS session generation for the TMGI. For example, the message for requesting the MBS session generation may be an Nnef_MBSSsession_Create request message. In operation 615, the NEF having received the message for requesting the MBS session generation may transmit an MBS session generation request message to the MB-SMF. For example, the message transmitted to the MB-SMF by the NEF may be an Nmbsmf_MBSSession_Create request message. In other words, in operations 610 and 615, the AF may request MBS session generation for the TMGI from the MB-SMF through the NEF in a specific operator network. That is, the AF may request the MBS session for the TMGI through the MBS session generation request message (e.g., Nnef_MBSSession_Create request and Nmbsmf_MBSSession_Create request messages). The MB S session generation request message may include at least one of a TMGI, a broadcast service ID”, The AF identifies that multiple TMGIs are used for the same broadcast service (see step 605) and determines a broadcast service ID (¶ 0100). In response, the AF sends a MBS Session create request, including a broadcast service ID, to the MB-SMF via a network expansion function (NEF, see steps 610 and 615). It is reasonable to conclude that the messaging process of Baek may be used for both PLMNs.]; and
receive, from second multicast/broadcast session management function, a response to the second request, the response comprising the second temporary mobile group identity [Baek, ¶ 0109, “In operations 625b and 630b, the MB-SMF may transfer a response to operations 610 and 615 to the AF. The message in operations 625b and 630b may include a part or all of the broadcast service ID, the primary TMGI information”, In step 655 (see ¶ 0108), the MB-SMF receives a primary TMGI for usage. The primary TMGI is then passed back to the AF, in response to the AF request of messages 610 and 615, via message 630b. It is reasonable to conclude that the messaging process of Baek may be used for both PLMNs.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the context request and context response messaging of Baek into Xu et al. One would have been motivated to do this because the context request/response process as taught by Baek is a recognizable substitute to carry the context request/response messages and their MBS service IDs as taught by Xu et al. and such combination would yield the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 14, Xu et al. in view of Baek teaches the apparatus as claimed in claim 13. Xu et al. also teach wherein at least one of the first request for allocation of a temporary mobile group identity or the second request is for allocation of a temporary mobile group identity a temporary mobile group identity request.
However, in an analogous art, Xu et al. teach wherein at least one of the first request for allocation of a temporary mobile group identity or the second request is for allocation of a temporary mobile group identity a temporary mobile group identity request [Baek, fig. 6, steps 610 and 615, “In operation 610, the AF may transmit, to the NEF, a message for requesting MBS session generation for the TMGI. For example, the message for requesting the MBS session generation may be an Nnef_MBSSsession_Create request message. In operation 615, the NEF having received the message for requesting the MBS session generation may transmit an MBS session generation request message to the MB-SMF. For example, the message transmitted to the MB-SMF by the NEF may be an Nmbsmf_MBSSession_Create request message. In other words, in operations 610 and 615, the AF may request MBS session generation for the TMGI from the MB-SMF through the NEF in a specific operator network. That is, the AF may request the MBS session for the TMGI through the MBS session generation request message (e.g., Nnef_MBSSession_Create request and Nmbsmf_MBSSession_Create request messages). The MB S session generation request message may include at least one of a TMGI, a broadcast service ID”, The AF identifies that multiple TMGIs are used for the same broadcast service (see step 605) and determines a broadcast service ID (¶ 0100). In response, the AF sends a MBS Session create request, including a broadcast service ID, to the MB-SMF via a network expansion function (NEF, see steps 610 and 615). It is reasonable to conclude that the messaging process of Baek may be used for both PLMNs.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the context request and context response messaging of Baek into Xu et al. One would have been motivated to do this because the context request/response process as taught by Baek is a recognizable substitute to carry the context request/response messages and their MBS service IDs as taught by Xu et al. and such combination would yield the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 15, Xu et al. in view of Baek teaches the apparatus as claimed in claim 13. Xu et al. also teach wherein the instructions which, when executed by the at least one processor further cause the apparatus to at least one of: trigger creation of a multicast/broadcast service session for the shared multicast/broadcast service in the first public land mobile network using the first temporary mobile group identity for the shared multicast/broadcast service [Xu, ¶ 0123, “In 1420, the AMF-1/MB-SMF-1 1406 may perform MBS broadcast setup with gNB 1404 for TMGI #x”, A MBS broadcast is created (see steps 1420 and 1422) using the TMGI#x for PLMN#1.]; or trigger creation of a multicast/broadcast service session for the shared multicast/broadcast service in the second public land mobile network using the second temporary mobile group identity for the shared multicast/broadcast service [Xu, ¶ 0123, “In 1426, the AMF-2/MB-SMF-2 1408 may perform MBS broadcast setup with gNB 1404 for TMGI #y”, A MBS broadcast is created (see steps 1426 and 1430) using the TMGI#y for PLMN#2.].
As per claim 16, Xu et al. in view of Baek teaches the apparatus as claimed in claim 13. Xu et al. also teach wherein at least one of the first request for allocation of a temporary mobile group identity or the second request for allocation of a temporary mobile group identity is a multicast/broadcast service session creation request comprising an indication that a temporary mobile group identity is to be allocated for the shared multicast/broadcast service [Xu, ¶ 0123, “In 1418, the AF 1410 may create a MBS broadcast context with AMF-1/MB-SMF-1 1406, with TMGI #x having MBS service ID=A”, The context create process (see step 1418) encompasses a message sent by the AF (see element 1410) to the session management function (SMF) of the first PLMN (or, AMF-1/SMF-1 of PLMN#1, see element 1406). The context create request message sent conveys the MBS service ID#A identified in step 1412. The context create request is sent as a result of the determination that there is a shared MBS service (see step 1412).].
As per claim 17, Xu et al. in view of Baek teaches the apparatus as claimed in claim 13. Xu et al. do not explicitly teach wherein the first request for allocation of a temporary mobile group identity is sent to the multicast/broadcast session management function of the core network of the first public land mobile network via a network exposure function of the core network of the first public land mobile network and the second request for allocation of a temporary mobile group identity is sent to the multicast/broadcast session management function of the core network of the second public land mobile network via a network exposure function of the core network of the second public land mobile network.
However, in an analogous art, Baek teaches wherein the first request for allocation of a temporary mobile group identity is sent to the multicast/broadcast session management function of the core network of the first public land mobile network via a network exposure function of the core network of the first public land mobile network [Baek, fig. 6, steps 610 and 615, “In operation 610, the AF may transmit, to the NEF, a message for requesting MBS session generation for the TMGI. For example, the message for requesting the MBS session generation may be an Nnef_MBSSsession_Create request message. In operation 615, the NEF having received the message for requesting the MBS session generation may transmit an MBS session generation request message to the MB-SMF. For example, the message transmitted to the MB-SMF by the NEF may be an Nmbsmf_MBSSession_Create request message. In other words, in operations 610 and 615, the AF may request MBS session generation for the TMGI from the MB-SMF through the NEF in a specific operator network. That is, the AF may request the MBS session for the TMGI through the MBS session generation request message (e.g., Nnef_MBSSession_Create request and Nmbsmf_MBSSession_Create request messages). The MB S session generation request message may include at least one of a TMGI, a broadcast service ID”, The AF identifies that multiple TMGIs are used for the same broadcast service (see step 605) and determines a broadcast service ID (¶ 0100). In response, the AF sends a MBS Session create request, including a broadcast service ID, to the MB-SMF via a network expansion function (NEF, see steps 610 and 615). It is reasonable to conclude that the messaging process of Baek may be used for both PLMNs.] and the second request for allocation of a temporary mobile group identity is sent to the multicast/broadcast session management function of the core network of the second public land mobile network via a network exposure function of the core network of the second public land mobile network [Baek, fig. 6, steps 610 and 615, “In operation 610, the AF may transmit, to the NEF, a message for requesting MBS session generation for the TMGI. For example, the message for requesting the MBS session generation may be an Nnef_MBSSsession_Create request message. In operation 615, the NEF having received the message for requesting the MBS session generation may transmit an MBS session generation request message to the MB-SMF. For example, the message transmitted to the MB-SMF by the NEF may be an Nmbsmf_MBSSession_Create request message. In other words, in operations 610 and 615, the AF may request MBS session generation for the TMGI from the MB-SMF through the NEF in a specific operator network. That is, the AF may request the MBS session for the TMGI through the MBS session generation request message (e.g., Nnef_MBSSession_Create request and Nmbsmf_MBSSession_Create request messages). The MB S session generation request message may include at least one of a TMGI, a broadcast service ID”, The AF identifies that multiple TMGIs are used for the same broadcast service (see step 605) and determines a broadcast service ID (¶ 0100). In response, the AF sends a MBS Session create request, including a broadcast service ID, to the MB-SMF via a network expansion function (NEF, see steps 610 and 615). It is reasonable to conclude that the messaging process of Baek may be used for both PLMNs.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the context request and context response messaging of Baek into Xu et al. One would have been motivated to do this because the context request/response process as taught by Baek is a recognizable substitute to carry the context request/response messages and their MBS service IDs as taught by Xu et al. and such combination would yield the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 18, Xu et al. in view of Baek teaches the apparatus as claimed in claim 13. Xu et al. also teach wherein the at instructions which, when executed by the at least one processor further cause the apparatus to at least one of: send service announcements related to the shared multicast/broadcast service to one or more user equipment in the first public land mobile network using the first temporary mobile group identity [Xu, ¶ 0123, “In 1422, the gNB 1404 may provide broadcast MBS session configuration for MBS session #1 with TMGI #x”, After MBS Context Create (see step 1418) and MBS broadcast setup (see step 1420), a Broadcast MBS session config (step 1422) is sent to the UE (see element 1402) over PLMN#1 using TMGI#x.]; or send service announcements related to the shared multicast/broadcast service to one or more user equipment in the second public land mobile network using the second temporary mobile group identity [Xu, ¶ 0123, “Accordingly, in 1430, the gNB 1404 may provide broadcast MBS session configuration for MBS session #1 with both TMGI #x and TMGI #y”, After MBS Context Create (see step 1424) and MBS broadcast setup (see step 1428), a Broadcast MBS session config (step 1430) is sent to the UE (see element 1402) over PLMN#2 using TMGI#y.].
As per claim 20, Xu et al. teach an apparatus of a public land mobile network [Xu, fig. 5, ¶ 0083, “the network element 500 may implement one or more logical functions/entities of a cellular core network, such as…session management function (SMF)”, An application function (AF) may be implemented by the network element of fig. 5.], the apparatus comprising:
at least one processor [Xu, fig. 5, element 504, ¶ 0085, “The processor(s) 504 of the core network element 500”];
at least one memory [Xu, fig. 5, element 560, ¶ 0083, “The processor(s) 504 may also be coupled to memory management unit (MMU) 540, which may be configured to receive addresses from the processor(s) 504 and translate those addresses to locations in memory (e.g., memory 560 and read only memory (ROM) 550) or to other circuits or devices”, Memory (see element 560) contains necessary storage to implement network element functionality.] comprising : instructions which, when executed by the at least one processor cause the apparatus [Xu, ¶ 0085, “The processor(s) 504 of the core network element 500 may be configured to implement or support implementation of part or all of the methods described herein, e.g., by executing program instructions stored on a memory medium (e.g., a non-transitory computer-readable memory medium)”, The processor is configured to implement software instructions to perform network element functionality (see also ¶ 0083).] at least to:
receive, from an application function of a content provider, a [message] for allocation of a temporary mobile group identity for a shared multicast/broadcast session comprising an index value [Xu, ¶ 0123, “In 1418, the AF 1410 may create a MBS broadcast context with AMF-1/MB-SMF-1 1406, with TMGI #x having MBS service ID=A”, The context create process (see step 1418) encompasses a message sent by the AF (see element 1410) to the session management function (SMF) of the first PLMN (or, AMF-1/SMF-1 of PLMN#1, see element 1406). The context create request message sent conveys the MBS service ID#A identified in step 1412.] to be used to select a temporary mobile group identity for the shared multicast/broadcast service from the list of temporary mobile group identities for shared services [Xu, ¶ 0123, “As shown, in 1412, the AF may be aware that MB-SMF-1/PLMN #1 and MB-SMF-2/PLMN #2 are shared, and may allocate unified MBS service ID #A for a MBS service”, The AF (see fig. 14, element 1410) determines that public land mobile network (PLMN) #1 and PLMN #2 share a MBS service (see ¶ 0097). In response to this determination, the AF is able to apply a common MBS service ID field to multiple TMGIs (see also ¶ 0122). In fig. 14, the exemplary value of the MBS service ID is “A”. An AF is able to apply one or more MBS services to operators (see also ¶ 0110).];
select, based on the index value, a temporary mobile group identity for the shared multicast/broadcast service [Xu, ¶ 0123, “In 1418, the AF 1410 may create a MBS broadcast context with AMF-1/MB-SMF-1 1406, with TMGI #x having MBS service ID=A. In 1420, the AMF-1/MB-SMF-1 1406 may perform MBS broadcast setup with gNB 1404 for TMGI #x. In 1422, the gNB 1404 may provide broadcast MBS session configuration for MBS session #1 with TMGI #x. In 1424, the AF 1410 may create a MBS broadcast context with AMF-2/MB-SMF-2 1408, with TMGI #y having MBS service ID=A”, The MB-SMF chooses a TMGI based on the MBS service ID (or index value).] from a list or range of temporary mobile group identities for shared services [Xu, fig. 16, Box at bottom of the figure, The box at the bottom of the figure describes the MBS session ID information carried as part of broadcast setup messages (1616 and 1622 – which correlate to fig. 14, steps 1418 and 1424). Paragraph [0127] further describes that a TMGI is selected for the UE to use based on the MBS service ID.]; and
send, to the application function, the selected temporary mobile group identity for the shared multicast/broadcast service [Xu, ¶ 0123, “In 1418, the AF 1410 may create a MBS broadcast context with AMF-1/MB-SMF-1 1406, with TMGI #x having MBS service ID=A”, The context create process (see step 1418) encompasses a message received by the AF (see element 1410) from the SMF of the first PLMN (or, AMF-1/SMF-1 of PLMN#1, see element 1406). The context create response message conveys the TMGI#x associated with MBS service ID=A, where the TMGI of the PLMN includes the MBS service ID (see also ¶ 0097). See also fig. 8, ¶ 0112.].
Xu et al. do not explicitly teach receive, from an application function of a content provider, a request for allocation of a temporary mobile group identity for a shared multicast/broadcast session
However, in an analogous art, Baek teaches receive, from an application function of a content provider, a request for allocation of a temporary mobile group identity [Baek, fig. 6, steps 610 and 615, “In operation 610, the AF may transmit, to the NEF, a message for requesting MBS session generation for the TMGI. For example, the message for requesting the MBS session generation may be an Nnef_MBSSsession_Create request message. In operation 615, the NEF having received the message for requesting the MBS session generation may transmit an MBS session generation request message to the MB-SMF. For example, the message transmitted to the MB-SMF by the NEF may be an Nmbsmf_MBSSession_Create request message. In other words, in operations 610 and 615, the AF may request MBS session generation for the TMGI from the MB-SMF through the NEF in a specific operator network. That is, the AF may request the MBS session for the TMGI through the MBS session generation request message (e.g., Nnef_MBSSession_Create request and Nmbsmf_MBSSession_Create request messages). The MB S session generation request message may include at least one of a TMGI, a broadcast service ID”, The AF identifies that multiple TMGIs are used for the same broadcast service (see step 605) and determines a broadcast service ID (¶ 0100). In response, the AF sends a MBS Session create request, including a broadcast service ID, to the MB-SMF via a network expansion function (NEF, see steps 610 and 615). It is reasonable to conclude that the messaging process of Baek may be used for both PLMNs.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the context request and context response messaging of Baek into Xu et al. One would have been motivated to do this because the context request/response process as taught by Baek is a recognizable substitute to carry the context request/response messages and their MBS service IDs as taught by Xu et al. and such combination would yield the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The reference, Baek (US PG Pub 2025/0212295), teaches identical broadcast services in NG-RAN (see at least fig. 4).
The reference, Rönneke et al. (US PG Pub 2023/0086661), teach MB sessions served by the same MB-SMF pool (see at least figs. 5 and 9).
The reference, Ericsson et al. (S2-2210253), teaches providing identity to the same MBS service across different operators (see box, pg. 1).
The reference, Shrivastava et al. (NPL), provides an overview of MBS services in Rel-17 (see at least fig. 2).
/Paul H. Masur/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2417