DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the application filed on 12/30/2025.
Claims 1, 3, 6-11, 13, and 16-26 are currently pending and have been examined.
Claims 1, 11, 13, 17-20 are amended.
Claims 2, 4-5, 12, and 14-15 are cancelled.
Claims 21-26 are added.
Claims 1, 3, 6-11, 13, and 16-26 are currently rejected.
This action is made FINAL.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 12/30/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with regards to the art rejections have been considered and appear to be directed solely to the instant amendments to the claims. Accordingly, the claims are addressed in the body of the rejections below.
Claim Objections
Claims 3 and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claims 3 and 13 are dependent upon claims 2 and 12 respectively which have been cancelled. It appears the updated dependence was not properly updated. For purposes of examination, the examiner is interpreting claim 3 to be dependent upon claim 1 and claim 13 to be dependent upon claim 11. Appropriate correction is required.
A series of singular dependent claims is permissible in which a dependent claim refers to a preceding claim which, in turn, refers to another preceding claim.
A claim which depends from a dependent claim should not be separated by any claim which does not also depend from said dependent claim. It should be kept in mind that a dependent claim may refer to any preceding independent claim. In general, applicant's sequence will not be changed. See MPEP § 608.01(n).
Applicant’s claim ordering will be corrected upon allowance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6-8, 11, 13, 16-17, and 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stout et. al. (US 2024/0424862), herein Stout in view of Ucar et. al. (US 2023/0066199), herein Ucar (cite in office action dated 10/01/2025) and Ho et. al. (US 2010/0088595), herein Ho.
Regarding claim 1:
Stout teaches:
A method (A method of operating a climate control system [abstract]) comprising:
obtaining sensor data via a plurality of sensors of a vehicle (the signals from the sensors 54-58 and the driver preferences 214 and engine temperature 212 are provided to the controller 210 [0030]) pertaining to a climate control system of the vehicle (The controller 210 is programmed to perform various determinations and generate various intermediate signals used to ultimately control the climate control system. The sensors include the sun load sensors 54, the cabin temperature sensors 58, the thermal cameras 50 and other sensors including an engine temperature sensor 212 [0030]), the plurality of sensors including one or more detection sensors (The occupant position system 220C may determine an occupant location within the cabin, a seating bias, a learning bias, a reclining bias, a hunching bias and an over the wheel position. The occupant position system uses the thermal signals from the thermal cameras to determine the occupant position data. [0040]) and one or more power seating position sensors (), the sensor data pertaining to locations of a plurality of points corresponding to a plurality of different body parts of respective occupants inside a cabin of the vehicle (The head position, the torso position, the arm and hand position and the leg position may all be determine [0040]), including as to:
a first point associated with a head or face of the occupant (The head position, the torso position, the arm and hand position and the leg position may all be determine. [0040]);
a second point associated with a torso of the occupant (The head position, the torso position, the arm and hand position and the leg position may all be determine. [0040]); and
a third point associated with a hip of the occupant (The head position, the torso position, the arm and hand position and the leg position may all be determine. [0040]; Whether the legs are splayed or together may also be determined. [0040]); and
dynamically adjusting control of airflow of the climate control system toward a plurality of locations, including dynamic adjustments of control of the airflow to the first point, the second point, and the third point inside the cabin of the vehicle (The climate control system settings are determined at the classifier 230 such as the machine learning system or neural network based upon the weights as trained in the system. The vent position of each vent may be set in step 334, the temperature settings may be set in step 336 and the fan speed may be set in step 338 based on the determinations identified above. [0058]), via a processor of the vehicle (fig. 2, controller 210), based on the sensor data (fig. 2, sensors 54-58), including based on locations of the first point associated with the head or face of the occupant, the second point associated with the torso of the occupant, and the third point associated with the hip of the occupant (the occupant position system 220C determines the occupant position data. The occupant position system determines the relative position of the occupant relative to the seating position and therefore the vents within the passenger compartment 22. As mentioned above arm position, hand position, torso position may all be relevant determinations. [0052]); wherein:
the first point is determined by the processor based on sensor data from the one or more detection sensors of the vehicle (The occupant position system uses the thermal signals from the thermal cameras to determine the occupant position data. The head position, the torso position, the arm and hand position and the leg position may all be determine [0040]);
the third point is determined by the processor based on sensor data from the one or more power seating position sensors of the vehicle (The occupant position system uses the thermal signals from the thermal cameras to determine the occupant position data. The head position, the torso position, the arm and hand position and the leg position may all be determine [0040]); and
Stout does not explicitly teach, however Ucar teaches:
and one or more power seating position sensors (received from the force sensor 178, indicative that the first seat 114 is reclined, (6) received from the position sensor 180, indicative that the position of the first seat 114 is at the most forward setting [0044])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Stout to include the teachings as taught by Ucar with a reasonable expectation of success. Stout and Ucar are both in the same field of endeavor of controlling the HVAC system of a vehicle. Ucar teaches the benefit of “a vehicle can be manufactured with several components that have a variety of settings that can be set to specific values so that the vehicle can be configured according to the needs of different occupants. Such components can include, for example, a position of a seat, a height of the seat, a degree to which the seat reclines, a position of a ventilation duct, a direction of the ventilation duct, a temperature of a heating system or an air conditioning system, a speed of a fan of a ventilation system, a position of a rearview mirror, a tilt angle of a steering wheel, a longitudinal position of the steering wheel, a volume of a speaker, a tuner of a radio, or the like. An ability to have the settings of such components have the specific values can allow such components to be personalized for a particular occupant. [Ucar, 0002]”.
Stout in view of Ucar does not explicitly teach, however Ho teaches:
the second point is determined by the processor by calculating a midpoint between the first point and the second point (The first center position <Xc,Yc> may be calculated as a midpoint of the first position and the second position [0022]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Stout and Ucar to include the teachings as taught by Ho with a reasonable expectation of success. Ho teaches the ability to calculate the midpoint when two other locations are known. Ho does not explicitly teach that those two points are that of a head and a hip to determine the location of a torso. However this would be obviousness of species when prior art teaches genus. Stout teaches the ability to determine though the use of sensors the first, second, and third points. One would be able to recognize that geometrically the location of the torso is roughly midway between the head and hips. Using the teachings of Ho, one would be able to apply the same calculations to the first and third points to calculate the second point as claimed. Replacing a sensor reading with a simple equation would reduce the processing need on the vehicle to be able to identify and directly measure the location of all three points.
Regarding claim 3:
Stout in view of Ucar and Ho teaches all the limitations of claim 2 (interpreting dependence upon claim 1 since claim 2 has been cancelled), upon which this claim is dependent.
Stout further teaches:
the sensor data further pertains to respective seating positions, within the particular seats, of the respective occupants (The occupant position system 220C may determine an occupant location within the cabin, a seating bias, a learning bias, a reclining bias, a hunching bias and an over the wheel position [0040]); and
the step of dynamically adjusting the control of the airflow comprises dynamically adjusting the control of the airflow based also on the seating positions of the respective occupants (There is high value in directing airflow to the hands and then the arms. Such air also directed toward the core as well. This is useful, particularly during initial warming of the cabin. The vents may direct air such as warming air in a direction encompassing the hands, arm and torso core based on the occupant hand/arm/torso position. [0040]).
Regarding claim 6:
Stout in view of Ucar and Ho teaches all the limitations of claim 3, upon which this claim is dependent.
Stout further teaches:
obtaining, from a computer memory (The driver preferences 214 may store preferences for various occupants of the vehicle. [0056]), previously stored airflow directional settings for each of the respective occupants based on user profiles in the vehicle (The driver preferences 214 may include, but are not limited to, the desired position or amount of blowing of the vent air to the facial region of an occupant, the temperature of the occupant, a temperature differential for the occupant, such as but not limited to warmer at the feet and cooler at the face [0030]);
wherein the step of dynamically adjusting the control of the airflow (fig. 3, step 332) comprises dynamically adjusting the control of the airflow based on the particular seats that are occupied by the respective occupants (fig. 3, step 320; The occupant position signal corresponds to data of the position of the occupant relative to the passenger compartment 22. [0039]) and the respective seating positions thereof (fig. 3, step 320; The occupant position system 220C may determine an occupant location within the cabin, a seating bias, a learning bias, a reclining bias, a hunching bias and an over the wheel position [0040]), in combination with the previously stored airflow directional settings of the respective occupants (fig. 3, step 328).
Regarding claim 7:
Stout in view of Ucar and Ho teaches all the limitations of claim 6, upon which this claim is dependent.
Stout further teaches:
the previously stored airflow directional settings comprise, for each occupant (The driver preferences 214 may store preferences for various occupants of the vehicle [0056]), a preference as to having airflow directed toward or away from one or more body parts of the occupant (The driver preferences 214 may include, but are not limited to, the desired position or amount of blowing of the vent air to the facial region of an occupant, the temperature of the occupant, a temperature differential for the occupant, such as but not limited to warmer at the feet and cooler at the face [0030]).
Regarding claim 8:
Stout in view of Ucar and Ho teaches all the limitations of claim 3, upon which this claim is dependent.
Stout further teaches:
obtaining, via one or more input sensors, user inputs from one or more of the respective occupants (Driver preferences 214 may be controlled by a user interface 216. [0030]);
wherein the step of dynamically adjusting the control of the airflow comprises dynamically adjusting the control of the airflow based also on the user inputs (the driver preferences, … may be used to ultimately control the climate control system. [0030]).
Regarding claim 11:
Stout teaches:
A system (a system of detecting a thermal state of an occupant of a vehicle [0001]) comprising:
a plurality of sensors configured to obtain sensor data (the signals from the sensors 54-58 and the driver preferences 214 and engine temperature 212 are provided to the controller 210 [0030]) pertaining to a climate control system of a vehicle (The controller 210 is programmed to perform various determinations and generate various intermediate signals used to ultimately control the climate control system. The sensors include the sun load sensors 54, the cabin temperature sensors 58, the thermal cameras 50 and other sensors including an engine temperature sensor 212 [0030]) the plurality of sensors including one or more detection sensors (The occupant position system 220C may determine an occupant location within the cabin, a seating bias, a learning bias, a reclining bias, a hunching bias and an over the wheel position. The occupant position system uses the thermal signals from the thermal cameras to determine the occupant position data. [0040]) and one or more power seating position sensors (), the sensor data pertaining to locations of a plurality of points corresponding to a plurality of different body parts of respective occupants inside a cabin of the vehicle (The head position, the torso position, the arm and hand position and the leg position may all be determine [0040]), including as to:
a first point associated with a head or face of the occupant (The head position, the torso position, the arm and hand position and the leg position may all be determine. [0040]);
a second point associated with a torso of the occupant (The head position, the torso position, the arm and hand position and the leg position may all be determine. [0040]); and
a third point associated with a hip of the occupant (The head position, the torso position, the arm and hand position and the leg position may all be determine. [0040]; Whether the legs are splayed or together may also be determined. [0040]); and
a processor that is coupled to the plurality of sensors and that is configured to at least facilitate dynamically adjusting control of airflow of the climate control system toward a plurality of locations a plurality of locations, including dynamic adjustments of control of the airflow to the first point, the second point, and the third point inside the cabin of the vehicle (The climate control system settings are determined at the classifier 230 such as the machine learning system or neural network based upon the weights as trained in the system. The vent position of each vent may be set in step 334, the temperature settings may be set in step 336 and the fan speed may be set in step 338 based on the determinations identified above. [0058]), based on the sensor data (fig. 2, sensors 54-58).
obtaining sensor data via a plurality of sensors of a vehicle (the signals from the sensors 54-58 and the driver preferences 214 and engine temperature 212 are provided to the controller 210 [0030]) pertaining to a climate control system of the vehicle (The controller 210 is programmed to perform various determinations and generate various intermediate signals used to ultimately control the climate control system. The sensors include the sun load sensors 54, the cabin temperature sensors 58, the thermal cameras 50 and other sensors including an engine temperature sensor 212 [0030]),
dynamically adjusting control of airflow of the climate control system toward a plurality of locations, including dynamic adjustments of control of the airflow to the first point, the second point, and the third point inside the cabin of the vehicle (The climate control system settings are determined at the classifier 230 such as the machine learning system or neural network based upon the weights as trained in the system. The vent position of each vent may be set in step 334, the temperature settings may be set in step 336 and the fan speed may be set in step 338 based on the determinations identified above. [0058]), via a processor of the vehicle (fig. 2, controller 210), based on the sensor data (fig. 2, sensors 54-58), including based on locations of the first point associated with the head or face of the occupant, the second point associated with the torso of the occupant, and the third point associated with the hip of the occupant (the occupant position system 220C determines the occupant position data. The occupant position system determines the relative position of the occupant relative to the seating position and therefore the vents within the passenger compartment 22. As mentioned above arm position, hand position, torso position may all be relevant determinations. [0052]); wherein:
the first point is determined by the processor based on sensor data from the one or more detection sensors of the vehicle (The occupant position system uses the thermal signals from the thermal cameras to determine the occupant position data. The head position, the torso position, the arm and hand position and the leg position may all be determine [0040]);
the third point is determined by the processor based on sensor data from the one or more power seating position sensors of the vehicle (The occupant position system uses the thermal signals from the thermal cameras to determine the occupant position data. The head position, the torso position, the arm and hand position and the leg position may all be determine [0040]); and
Stout does not explicitly teach, however Ucar teaches:
and one or more power seating position sensors (received from the force sensor 178, indicative that the first seat 114 is reclined, (6) received from the position sensor 180, indicative that the position of the first seat 114 is at the most forward setting [0044])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Stout to include the teachings as taught by Ucar with a reasonable expectation of success. Stout and Ucar are both in the same field of endeavor of controlling the HVAC system of a vehicle. Ucar teaches the benefit of “a vehicle can be manufactured with several components that have a variety of settings that can be set to specific values so that the vehicle can be configured according to the needs of different occupants. Such components can include, for example, a position of a seat, a height of the seat, a degree to which the seat reclines, a position of a ventilation duct, a direction of the ventilation duct, a temperature of a heating system or an air conditioning system, a speed of a fan of a ventilation system, a position of a rearview mirror, a tilt angle of a steering wheel, a longitudinal position of the steering wheel, a volume of a speaker, a tuner of a radio, or the like. An ability to have the settings of such components have the specific values can allow such components to be personalized for a particular occupant. [Ucar, 0002]”.
Stout in view of Ucar does not explicitly teach, however Ho teaches:
the second point is determined by the processor by calculating a midpoint between the first point and the second point (The first center position <Xc,Yc> may be calculated as a midpoint of the first position and the second position [0022]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Stout and Ucar to include the teachings as taught by Ho with a reasonable expectation of success. Ho teaches the ability to calculate the midpoint when two other locations are known. Ho does not explicitly teach that those two points are that of a head and a hip to determine the location of a torso. However this would be obviousness of species when prior art teaches genus. Stout teaches the ability to determine though the use of sensors the first, second, and third points. One would be able to recognize that geometrically the location of the torso is roughly midway between the head and hips. Using the teachings of Ho, one would be able to apply the same calculations to the first and third points to calculate the second point as claimed. Replacing a sensor reading with a simple equation would reduce the processing need on the vehicle to be able to identify and directly measure the location of all three points.
Regarding claim 13:
Stout in view of Ucar and Ho teaches all the limitations of claim 12, upon which this claim is dependent.
Stout further teaches:
the plurality of sensors are configured to obtain the sensor data pertaining to respective seating positions, within the particular seats, of the respective occupants (The occupant position system 220C may determine an occupant location within the cabin, a seating bias, a learning bias, a reclining bias, a hunching bias and an over the wheel position [0040]); and
the processor is further configured to at least facilitate dynamically adjusting the control of the airflow based also on the seating positions of the respective occupants (There is high value in directing airflow to the hands and then the arms. Such air also directed toward the core as well. This is useful, particularly during initial warming of the cabin. The vents may direct air such as warming air in a direction encompassing the hands, arm and torso core based on the occupant hand/arm/torso position. [0040]).
Regarding claim 16:
Stout in view of Ucar and Ho teaches all the limitations of claim 13, upon which this claim is dependent.
Stout further teaches:
a non-transitory computer readable storage medium (The driver preferences 214 may store preferences for various occupants of the vehicle. [0056]) configured to store previously stored airflow directional settings for each of the respective occupants based on user profiles in the vehicle (The driver preferences 214 may include, but are not limited to, the desired position or amount of blowing of the vent air to the facial region of an occupant, the temperature of the occupant, a temperature differential for the occupant, such as but not limited to warmer at the feet and cooler at the face [0030]);
wherein the processor is further configured to at least facilitate dynamically adjusting the control of the airflow (fig. 3, step 332) based on the particular seats that are occupied by the respective occupants (fig. 3, step 320; The occupant position signal corresponds to data of the position of the occupant relative to the passenger compartment 22. [0039]) and the respective seating positions thereof (fig. 3, step 320; The occupant position system 220C may determine an occupant location within the cabin, a seating bias, a learning bias, a reclining bias, a hunching bias and an over the wheel position [0040]), in combination with the previously stored airflow directional settings of the respective occupants (fig. 3, step 328);
wherein the previously stored airflow directional settings comprise, for each occupant (The driver preferences 214 may store preferences for various occupants of the vehicle [0056]), a preference as to having airflow directed toward or away from one or more body parts of the occupant (The driver preferences 214 may include, but are not limited to, the desired position or amount of blowing of the vent air to the facial region of an occupant, the temperature of the occupant, a temperature differential for the occupant, such as but not limited to warmer at the feet and cooler at the face [0030]).
Regarding claim 17:
Stout in view of Ucar and Ho teaches all the limitations of claim 13, upon which this claim is dependent.
Stout further teaches:
the plurality of sensors further comprise one or more input sensor configured to obtain user inputs from one or more of the respective occupants (Driver preferences 214 may be controlled by a user interface 216. [0030]);
wherein the processor is further configured to at least facilitate dynamically adjusting the control of the airflow based also on the user inputs (the driver preferences, … may be used to ultimately control the climate control system. [0030]).
Regarding claim 19:
Stout teaches:
A vehicle (a vehicle [0001]) comprising:
a climate control system (Climate control system [0003]):
a plurality of sensors configured to obtain sensor data (the signals from the sensors 54-58 and the driver preferences 214 and engine temperature 212 are provided to the controller 210 [0030]) pertaining to a climate control system of a vehicle (The controller 210 is programmed to perform various determinations and generate various intermediate signals used to ultimately control the climate control system. The sensors include the sun load sensors 54, the cabin temperature sensors 58, the thermal cameras 50 and other sensors including an engine temperature sensor 212 [0030]) the plurality of sensors including one or more detection sensors (The occupant position system 220C may determine an occupant location within the cabin, a seating bias, a learning bias, a reclining bias, a hunching bias and an over the wheel position. The occupant position system uses the thermal signals from the thermal cameras to determine the occupant position data. [0040]) and one or more power seating position sensors (), the sensor data pertaining to locations of a plurality of points corresponding to a plurality of different body parts of respective occupants inside a cabin of the vehicle (The head position, the torso position, the arm and hand position and the leg position may all be determine [0040]), including as to:
a first point associated with a head or face of the occupant (The head position, the torso position, the arm and hand position and the leg position may all be determine. [0040]);
a second point associated with a torso of the occupant (The head position, the torso position, the arm and hand position and the leg position may all be determine. [0040]); and
a third point associated with a hip of the occupant (The head position, the torso position, the arm and hand position and the leg position may all be determine. [0040]; Whether the legs are splayed or together may also be determined. [0040]); and
a processor that is coupled to the plurality of sensors and that is configured to at least facilitate dynamically adjusting control of airflow of the climate control system toward a plurality of locations a plurality of locations, including dynamic adjustments of control of the airflow to the first point, the second point, and the third point inside the cabin of the vehicle (The climate control system settings are determined at the classifier 230 such as the machine learning system or neural network based upon the weights as trained in the system. The vent position of each vent may be set in step 334, the temperature settings may be set in step 336 and the fan speed may be set in step 338 based on the determinations identified above. [0058]), based on the sensor data (fig. 2, sensors 54-58).
obtaining sensor data via a plurality of sensors of a vehicle (the signals from the sensors 54-58 and the driver preferences 214 and engine temperature 212 are provided to the controller 210 [0030]) pertaining to a climate control system of the vehicle (The controller 210 is programmed to perform various determinations and generate various intermediate signals used to ultimately control the climate control system. The sensors include the sun load sensors 54, the cabin temperature sensors 58, the thermal cameras 50 and other sensors including an engine temperature sensor 212 [0030]),
dynamically adjusting control of airflow of the climate control system toward a plurality of locations, including dynamic adjustments of control of the airflow to the first point, the second point, and the third point inside the cabin of the vehicle (The climate control system settings are determined at the classifier 230 such as the machine learning system or neural network based upon the weights as trained in the system. The vent position of each vent may be set in step 334, the temperature settings may be set in step 336 and the fan speed may be set in step 338 based on the determinations identified above. [0058]), via a processor of the vehicle (fig. 2, controller 210), based on the sensor data (fig. 2, sensors 54-58), including based on locations of the first point associated with the head or face of the occupant, the second point associated with the torso of the occupant, and the third point associated with the hip of the occupant (the occupant position system 220C determines the occupant position data. The occupant position system determines the relative position of the occupant relative to the seating position and therefore the vents within the passenger compartment 22. As mentioned above arm position, hand position, torso position may all be relevant determinations. [0052]); wherein:
the first point is determined by the processor based on sensor data from the one or more detection sensors of the vehicle (The occupant position system uses the thermal signals from the thermal cameras to determine the occupant position data. The head position, the torso position, the arm and hand position and the leg position may all be determine [0040]);
the third point is determined by the processor based on sensor data from the one or more power seating position sensors of the vehicle (The occupant position system uses the thermal signals from the thermal cameras to determine the occupant position data. The head position, the torso position, the arm and hand position and the leg position may all be determine [0040]); and
Stout does not explicitly teach, however Ucar teaches:
and one or more power seating position sensors (received from the force sensor 178, indicative that the first seat 114 is reclined, (6) received from the position sensor 180, indicative that the position of the first seat 114 is at the most forward setting [0044])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Stout to include the teachings as taught by Ucar with a reasonable expectation of success. Stout and Ucar are both in the same field of endeavor of controlling the HVAC system of a vehicle. Ucar teaches the benefit of “a vehicle can be manufactured with several components that have a variety of settings that can be set to specific values so that the vehicle can be configured according to the needs of different occupants. Such components can include, for example, a position of a seat, a height of the seat, a degree to which the seat reclines, a position of a ventilation duct, a direction of the ventilation duct, a temperature of a heating system or an air conditioning system, a speed of a fan of a ventilation system, a position of a rearview mirror, a tilt angle of a steering wheel, a longitudinal position of the steering wheel, a volume of a speaker, a tuner of a radio, or the like. An ability to have the settings of such components have the specific values can allow such components to be personalized for a particular occupant. [Ucar, 0002]”.
Stout in view of Ucar does not explicitly teach, however Ho teaches:
the second point is determined by the processor by calculating a midpoint between the first point and the second point (The first center position <Xc,Yc> may be calculated as a midpoint of the first position and the second position [0022]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Stout and Ucar to include the teachings as taught by Ho with a reasonable expectation of success. Ho teaches the ability to calculate the midpoint when two other locations are known. Ho does not explicitly teach that those two points are that of a head and a hip to determine the location of a torso. However this would be obviousness of species when prior art teaches genus. Stout teaches the ability to determine though the use of sensors the first, second, and third points. One would be able to recognize that geometrically the location of the torso is roughly midway between the head and hips. Using the teachings of Ho, one would be able to apply the same calculations to the first and third points to calculate the second point as claimed. Replacing a sensor reading with a simple equation would reduce the processing need on the vehicle to be able to identify and directly measure the location of all three points.
Regarding claim 20:
Stout in view of Ucar and Ho teaches all the limitations of claim 19, upon which this claim is dependent.
Stout further teaches:
the plurality of sensors are configured to obtain the sensor data pertaining to particular seats of the vehicle that are each occupied by one or more respective occupants (The occupant position signal corresponds to data of the position of the occupant relative to the passenger compartment 22. [0039]) in addition to respective seating positions, within the particular seats, of the respective occupants (The occupant position system 220C may determine an occupant location within the cabin, a seating bias, a learning bias, a reclining bias, a hunching bias and an over the wheel position [0040]); and
the processor is further configured to at least facilitate dynamically adjusting the control of the airflow from an outlet based on the particular seats that are occupied by the one or more respective occupants (There is high value in directing airflow to the hands and then the arms. Such air also directed toward the core as well. This is useful, particularly during initial warming of the cabin. The vents may direct air such as warming air in a direction encompassing the hands, arm and torso core based on the occupant hand/arm/torso position. [0040]) in addition to respective seating positions, within the particular seats, of the respective occupants.
Regarding claim 21:
Stout in view of Ucar and Ho teaches all the limitations of claim 1, upon which this claim is dependent.
Stout further teaches:
wherein the first point is determined by the processor based on sensor data from one or more in-cabin radar sensors of the vehicle (The occupant position system uses the thermal signals from the thermal cameras to determine the occupant position data [0040]).
Claim(s) 9-10 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stout et. al. (US 2024/0424862), herein Stout in view of Ucar et. al. (US 2023/0066199), herein Ucar (cite in office action dated 10/01/2025) and Ho et. al. (US 2010/0088595), herein Ho in further view of Feltham et. al. (US 2023/0191871), herein Feltham.
Regarding claim 9:
Stout in view of Ucar and Ho teaches all the limitations of claim 1, upon which this claim is dependent.
Stout in view of Ucar and Ho doesn’t explicitly teach, however Feltham teaches:
the sensor data further includes temperature data as to a temperature of one or more surfaces inside the vehicle (seat 124 may comprise one or more temperature sensors, e.g., a back temperature sensor, a sensor positioned in a cushion the user sits on, and a state of seat 124 may be determined based on readings any of the one or more sensors, or any combination thereof. In some embodiments, a temperature for seat 124 may be determined at least in part based on a temperature of a surface of seat 124. [0063]);
wherein the step of dynamically adjusting the control of the airflow comprises dynamically adjusting the control of the airflow toward one or more of the surfaces based on a respective temperature thereof from the sensor data (processing circuitry 102 may boost heating or cooling energy being applied to seat 124, based on a temperature of one or more of the ambient environment and the vehicle cabin 302, based on whether a vehicle door was left open or based on any other suitable factor, or any combination thereof. In some embodiments, HVAC system 116 may facilitate the thermal storage of energy in vehicle seat 124 directing thermal energy to ventilated seat 124 of vehicle 101 (e.g., instead of blowing at least a portion of such energy via air vent 120), which may store thermal energy and provide thermal comfort to occupant 312 upon his or her return. [0089]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Stout in view of Ucar and Ho to include the teachings as taught by Feltham with a reasonable expectation of success. Stout and Feltham are both in the same field of endeavor of controlling the HVAC system of a vehicle. Feltham additionally teaches the benefit of “efficiently maintaining the thermal conditions of electric vehicles. In some embodiments, a vehicle is provided which comprises a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) system, and processing circuitry configured to determine a vehicle occupant has left a seat of the vehicle, and, in response to determining the vehicle occupant has left the seat, cause the HVAC system to thermally store energy in the seat [Feltham, 0003]”.
Regarding claim 10:
Stout in view of Ucar and Ho teaches all the limitations of claim 1, upon which this claim is dependent.
Stout in view of Ucar and Ho does not explicitly teach, however Feltham teaches:
the dynamically adjusting of the control is performed during vehicle warm up and cool down (where the occupant is not present, and potentially out of an open door or window [0059]), allowing flexibility to achieve system level warm up and cool down targets by allowing specific airflow patterns (at least a portion of air being provided via air vent 120 can be re-directed or caused to be transferred towards a component (e.g., vehicle seat, steering wheel or any other suitable thermal storage device, or any combination thereof) for storage therein, instead of being blown into an environment where the occupant is not present, and potentially out of an open door or window. [0059]) by manipulating outlet direction to help adjust cabin temperature of the vehicle more efficiently (Such aspects enable thermal energy (heat or cooling) to be stored in areas of driver zone 302 (e.g., above and beyond the thermal energy being provided when occupant 312 left vehicle 101) that are largely shielded from heavy energy exchange with the ambient [0059]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Stout in view of Ucar and Ho to include the teachings as taught by Feltham with a reasonable expectation of success. Stout and Feltham are both in the same field of endeavor of controlling the HVAC system of a vehicle. Feltham additionally teaches the benefit of “efficiently maintaining the thermal conditions of electric vehicles. In some embodiments, a vehicle is provided which comprises a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) system, and processing circuitry configured to determine a vehicle occupant has left a seat of the vehicle, and, in response to determining the vehicle occupant has left the seat, cause the HVAC system to thermally store energy in the seat [Feltham, 0003]”.
Regarding claim 18:
Stout in view of Ucar and Ho teaches all the limitations of claim 10, upon which this claim is dependent.
Stout in view of Ucar and Ho doesn’t explicitly teach, however Feltham teaches:
he one or more sensors comprise one or more temperature sensors configured to obtain the sensor data as to a temperature of one or more surfaces inside the vehicle (seat 124 may comprise one or more temperature sensors, e.g., a back temperature sensor, a sensor positioned in a cushion the user sits on, and a state of seat 124 may be determined based on readings any of the one or more sensors, or any combination thereof. In some embodiments, a temperature for seat 124 may be determined at least in part based on a temperature of a surface of seat 124. [0063]); and
the processor is further configured to at least facilitate dynamically adjusting the control of the airflow toward one or more of the surfaces based on a respective temperature thereof from the sensor data (processing circuitry 102 may boost heating or cooling energy being applied to seat 124, based on a temperature of one or more of the ambient environment and the vehicle cabin 302, based on whether a vehicle door was left open or based on any other suitable factor, or any combination thereof. In some embodiments, HVAC system 116 may facilitate the thermal storage of energy in vehicle seat 124 directing thermal energy to ventilated seat 124 of vehicle 101 (e.g., instead of blowing at least a portion of such energy via air vent 120), which may store thermal energy and provide thermal comfort to occupant 312 upon his or her return. [0089]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Stout in view of Ucar and Ho to include the teachings as taught by Feltham with a reasonable expectation of success. Stout and Feltham are both in the same field of endeavor of controlling the HVAC system of a vehicle. Feltham additionally teaches the benefit of “efficiently maintaining the thermal conditions of electric vehicles. In some embodiments, a vehicle is provided which comprises a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) system, and processing circuitry configured to determine a vehicle occupant has left a seat of the vehicle, and, in response to determining the vehicle occupant has left the seat, cause the HVAC system to thermally store energy in the seat [Feltham, 0003]”.
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stout et. al. (US 2024/0424862), herein Stout in view of Ucar et. al. (US 2023/0066199), herein Ucar (cite in office action dated 10/01/2025) and Ho et. al. (US 2010/0088595), herein Ho in further view of Park (US 2026/0003031), herein Park.
Regarding claim 22:
Stout in view of Ucar and Ho teaches all the limitations of claim 1, upon which this claim is dependent.
Stout in view of Ucar and Ho doesn’t explicitly teach, however Park teaches:
wherein the first point is determined by the processor based on sensor data from one or more in-cabin cameras of the vehicle (the radar module in the embodiment may be an In-Cabin Radar [0077]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Stout in view of Ucar and Ho to include the teachings as taught by Park with a reasonable expectation of success. Park teaches the benefit of “The rear occupant alert device generates a driver's cluster warning and warning sound when a rear occupant is sensed when the driver gets out of the vehicle. If the driver does not recognize the infant in a rear seat and completely gets out and locks a door, the rear occupant alert device senses movement inside the vehicle by operating the radar device installed at a vehicle ceiling. Thereafter, when movement of the rear occupant is sensed, the rear occupant alert device performs at least one of following actions: generating a horn sound, flashing an emergency light, and sending a text message. Accordingly, it is possible to prevent accidents of neglecting the infant [Park, 0006]”.
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stout et. al. (US 2024/0424862), herein Stout in view of Ucar et. al. (US 2023/0066199), herein Ucar (cite in office action dated 10/01/2025) and Ho et. al. (US 2010/0088595), herein Ho in further view of Perez (US 2019/0168575), herein Perez (cited in office action dated 10/01/2025).
Regarding claim 23:
Stout in view of Ucar and Ho teaches all the limitations of claim 1, upon which this claim is dependent.
Stout in view of Ucar and Ho doesn’t explicitly teach, however Perez teaches:
wherein the direction of the airflow is dynamically adjusted by the processor when a particular occupant changes a seating position within a particular seat in which the particular passenger is seated, including in order to reach a desired target point that corresponds to a new position of the particular occupant within the particular seat (with the passenger's head 160 in the position shown in FIG. 7A, according to the position of the head in the grid 164 the controller 128 causes actuators 136, 138 horizontal vanes 132f,g,h,i to rotate to 5 degrees and vertical vanes 132a,b,c,d,e to rotate to 35 degrees. If the passenger has shifted positions, according to the position of the passenger's head 160 in the grid 164 as shown in FIG. 7B, the controller 128 causes actuators 136, 138 horizontal vanes 132f,g,h,i to rotate to 10 degrees and vertical vanes 132a,b,c,d,e to rotate to −30 degrees to keep an airflow from air register 106 focused on the passengers head. [0057]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Stout in view of Ucar and Ho to include the teachings as taught by Perez with a reasonable expectation of success. Stout and Perez are both in the same field of endeavor of controlling the HVAC system of a vehicle. Perez additionally teaches the benefit of “a system for tracking movement of a passenger and automatically keeping an airflow from a register according to FIGS. 4A and 4B flowing towards that passengers' head [Perez, 0028]”.
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stout et. al. (US 2024/0424862), herein Stout in view of Ucar et. al. (US 2023/0066199), herein Ucar (cite in office action dated 10/01/2025) and Ho et. al. (US 2010/0088595), herein Ho in further view of Ganguly (US 2019/0322154), herein Ganguly.
Regarding claim 24:
Stout in view of Ucar and Ho teaches all the limitations of claim 1, upon which this claim is dependent.
Stout in view of Ucar and Ho doesn’t explicitly teach, however Ganguly teaches:
wherein the dynamically adjusting control of airflow of the climate control system comprises directing airflow to the each of the first, second, and third points separately via different outlets of the climate control system in accordance with instructions provided by the processor (The one or more processors 20A-D may be configured to execute a thermal control model 34 to generate airflow parameters 36 for each vent 12 based on the sensor input, to control the estimated temperature 16 to trend toward a respective target temperature for each target surface 18 [0018]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Stout in view of Ucar and Ho to include the teachings as taught by Ganguly with a reasonable expectation of success. Stout and Ganguly are both in the same field of endeavor of controlling the HVAC system of a vehicle. Ganguly additionally teaches the benefit of “an air conditioning control system is provided that includes a plurality of air vents in a space and a plurality of sensors configured to generate sensor input including an estimated temperature of at least one target surface of an occupant or object in the space. The system may further include one or more processors configured to execute a thermal control model to generate airflow parameters for each vent based on the sensor input, to control the estimated temperature to trend toward a respective target temperature for each target surface [Ganguly, 0002]”.
Claim(s) 25-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stout et. al. (US 2024/0424862), herein Stout in view of Ucar et. al. (US 2023/0066199), herein Ucar (cite in office action dated 10/01/2025) and Ho et. al. (US 2010/0088595), herein Ho in further view of Pelsemaeker et. al. (US 2021/0402847), herein Pelsemaeker.
Regarding claim 25:
Stout in view of Ucar and Ho teaches all the limitations of claim 1, upon which this claim is dependent.
Stout in view of Ucar and Ho doesn’t explicitly teach, however Pelsemaeker teaches:
wherein the dynamically adjusting control of airflow of the climate control system comprises directing airflow in a manner that oscillates between the first, second, and third points in accordance with instructions provided by the processor (The third step 203 is the step of actuating the vent orientation motor 45 and the motor 39 for moving the needle valve in translation. The vent orientation motor 45 is actuated so as to oscillate the orientation of the vent 11 between an upper position in which the flow of air is oriented toward the head of the occupant U and a lower position in which the flow of air is oriented toward the torso or pelvis of the occupant U [0140]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Stout in view of Ucar and Ho to include the teachings as taught by Pelsemaeker with a reasonable expectation of success. Stout and Pelsemaeker are both in the same field of endeavor of controlling the HVAC system of a vehicle. Pelsemaeker additionally teaches the benefit of “a vent makes it possible to target the flow of air onto different parts of the body of the vehicle occupant. [Pelsemaeker, 0019]”.
Regarding claim 26:
Stout in view of Ucar, Ho, and Palsemaeker teaches all the limitations of claim 25, upon which this claim is dependent.
Pelsemaeker further teaches:
wherein the dynamically adjusting control of airflow of the climate control system comprises directing airflow in a manner that oscillates between the first, second, and third points via a single outlet of the climate control system in accordance with the instructions provided by the processor (The third step 203 is the step of actuating the vent orientation motor 45 and the motor 39 for moving the needle valve in translation. The vent orientation motor 45 is actuated so as to oscillate the orientation of the vent 11 between an upper position in which the flow of air is oriented toward the head of the occupant U and a lower position in which the flow of air is oriented toward the torso or pelvis of the occupant U [0140]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bhambare (US 2023/0322043) discloses A system and method are provided for an air vent system in, for example, a vehicle. The air vent system is configured to direct air flow to a point relative to a user's position in the vehicle. A camera may capture a view of the user and processing circuitry may analyze the captured information to determine a position of the user in the vehicle and control the direction of air flow based on the determined position of the user.
Looy (US 2023/0111256) discloses A system and method for controlling motorized vents of an HVAC system of a vehicle including at least one motor to move air louvers of an HVAC vent of the HVAC system, a position and motion control for controlling movement of the at least one motor, and one or more sensors to detect hot/cold areas and send information on the detected hot/cold areas to the position and motion control, wherein the position and motion control automatically determines a targeted positioning of airflow based on hot/cold areas.
Perry (US 2025/0162385) discloses An air ventilation arrangement for a motor vehicle includes means for detecting a location of a human hand in a space in proximity to an air vent of the motor vehicle. An actuator moves baffles of the air vent to thereby change a direction of air flow out of the air vent. An electronic processor is communicatively coupled to the detecting means and to the actuator. The electronic processor controls the actuator to move the baffles such that the air flows out of the air vent in a direction toward the detected location of the human hand.
Yamamoto (US 2020/0324675) discloses A system and method for alleviating sensory conflict in a vehicle are provided. According to one aspect, a computer-implemented method for alleviating sensory conflict in a vehicle is provided. The method includes identifying a sensory conflict for a vehicle occupant based on a sensory event at a location. The method also includes determining an inurement action to alleviate an impact of the sensory conflict on the vehicle occupant. The method further includes determining an actuation schedule for performing the inurement action an N number of times for a predetermined amount of time. The method yet further includes controlling a haptic device to perform the inurement action according to the activation schedule in response to the vehicle occupant being located in a seat of the vehicle.
Stahl (DE 102019207729) discloses a vehicle seat with an activation system for increasing occupant protection, in particular during autonomous driving, taking into account the whiplash effect.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Scott R. Jagolinzer
Examiner
Art Unit 3665
/S.R.J./Examiner, Art Unit 3665 /CHRISTIAN CHACE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3665