Drawings
The drawings are objected to for failing to comply with 37 C.F.R. 1.84 (p)(3) because numbers, letters, and reference characters must measure at least .32 cm (1/8 inch) in height. MPEP 608.02 V.
The drawings are objected to for failing to comply with 37 C.F.R. 1.84(a)(2) as no petition has been submitted or approved allowing color drawings in this application.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 C.F.R. 1.84(q) because lead lines must originate in the immediate proximity of the reference character and extend to the feature. MPEP 608.02 V. At least the lead line associated with reference character 108 does not extend to the feature as it is broken where it crosses a channel tube.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with C.F.R 1.84(m) because the use of shading in views is encouraged if it aids in understanding of the invention and if it does not reduce legibility. Shading is used to indicate the surface of spherical, cylindrical, and conical elements of an object. Flat parts may also be lightly shaded. Spaced lines for shading are preferred. These lines must be thin, as few in number as practicable, and they must contrast with the rest of the drawings. As a substitute for shading, heavy lines on the shade side of objects can be used except where they superimpose on each other or obscure reference characters. Light should come from the upper left corner at an angle of 45 degrees. Surface delineations should preferably be shown by proper shading. Solid black shading areas are not permitted, except when used to represent bar graphs or color. MPEP 608.02 V. The shading of at least the containers is improper and reduces legibility.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "201" and "200" have both been used to designate container.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "300" and "301" have both been used to designate channel tubes. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because reference characters 101-110, 201-206, and 301-304 have all been used to designate item.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: there are multiple instances of reference character 105 floating with no associated structure. See at least P. 0011 & 0013.
Appropriate correction is required.
The disclosure is objected to because reference character “300” has been used to designate channel tubes, channels/tubes, and channels/tubs.
The disclosure is objected to because reference character “200” has been used to designate collection containers, collector containers, and containers.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “configured to debris from a vehicle” of line 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “arrange” of line 3 should be corrected to “arranged”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “betwenthe” of line 5 should be corrected to “between the”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the the” of line 8 should be corrected to “the”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng (US 5556692) further in view of Hernandez (US 20050284704).
Claim 1: Zheng discloses a collection system, configured to debris from a vehicle; the collection system comprising: a pair of parking pads 10 (vehicle tracks) arrange parallel to one another; garden hoses (plurality of channel tubes); wherein the garden hoses (channel tubes) are in communication with the parking pads 10 (tracks) via openings 24, such that debris that falls from the vehicle onto the pair of parking pads 10 (vehicle tracks) may flow from the parking pads 10 (tracks), through the garden hoses (channel tubes) (see fig. 1-2 and C. 2 L. 61-67).
Zheng does not disclose a pair of collection containers arranged between the pair of vehicle tracks; the plurality of channel tubes being arranged between the pair of vehicle tracks; wherein the channels tubes are in communication with the collection containers, such that debris that falls from the vehicle onto the pair of vehicle tracks may flow from the tracks, through the channel tubes, to the pair of collection containers.
Hernandez teaches a drip mat 10 having a well 35a for the collection of fluids, a drain port 60 at an end of the well 35a, a container 90 (collection container) for draining fluids from well 35a, and a flexible hose 44 used to connect the drain port 60 to the container 90 (collection container) (see fig. 1 and 3A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have provided each of the parking pads 10 (vehicle tracks) with a container 90 (collection container) connected thereto via garden hoses (channel tubes), as taught by Hernandez, in order to permit a user to dispose of debris and liquids at any desired location without moving the parking pads 10 (vehicle tracks) and without being restricted by the length of the garden hose (channel tube). Examiner notes that it has been held that the mere duplication of the essential working parts for a multiplied effect is obvious unless there is a synergistic effect. See St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis CO., Inc., 193 USPQ 8, 11 (7th Cir. 1977).
When locating the containers 90 (collection containers) during draining of the parking pads 10 (vehicle tracks) there are three identified, predictable solutions. One being on parking pads 10 (vehicle tracks), one being outside of the parking pads 10 (vehicle tracks), and the other being between the parking pads 10 (vehicle tracks). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have located the containers 90 (collection containers) between the parking pads 10 (vehicle tracks), as it would have been obvious to try the last identified predictable solution with a reasonable expectation of success.
The combination discloses the containers 90 (pair of collection containers) being arranged between the pair of parking pads 10 (vehicle tracks) during draining of the parking pads 10 (vehicle tracks); the plurality of garden hoses (channel tubes) being arranged between the pair of parking pads 10 (vehicle tracks), as the containers 90 (pair of collection containers) the garden hoses (channel tubes) are attached to are arranged between the pair of parking pads 10 (vehicle tracks) during draining; wherein the garden hoses (channel tubes) are in communication with the containers 90 (collection containers), such that debris that falls from the vehicle onto the pair of parking pads 10 (vehicle tracks) may flow from the parking pads 10 (tracks), through the garden hoses (channel tubes), to the pair of containers 90 (collection containers).
Claim 2: The combination discloses wherein the parking pads 10 (tracks) include a slope 12 (elevated entry mount portion) to allow the vehicle to enter into the parking pad 10 (track) (see fig. 1).
Claim 3: The combination discloses wherein the parking pads 10 (tracks) are made of a single material of vinyl plastic, such that the slope 12 (elevated entry mount portion) is made of vinyl plastic (flexible material) such that it compresses under some level of pressure and returns substantially to its initial form after that level pressure is removed as vinyl plastic is known to be resilient (see C. 2 L. 39-40).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng (US 5556692) and Hernandez (US 20050284704) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hyman (US 9506264).
Claim 4: The combination discloses openings 24 (holes) in the parking pads 10 (tracks) that are in communication with the garden hoses (channel tubes) to facilitate the flow of debris from the parking pads 10 (tracks), through the garden hoses (channel tubes), to the containers 90 (collection containers) and the parking pads 10 (tracks) having a draining trough 22 and surface 14 (see fig. 2).
The combination does not disclose wherein the tracks have a wedge shape that is tilted towards the entry mount portion to facilitate the flow of debris towards holes in the tracks that are in communication with the channel tubes to facilitate the flow of debris from the tracks, through the channel tubes, to the collector container.
Hyman teaches a device 10 having a parking area 40 with a ramped upper surface 42 which directs drippings 18 towards a leading edge 56 (see fig. 2-3, 5-6, and C. 3 L. 13-15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the draining trough 22 and surface 14 of the parking pads 10 (tracks) be ramped towards the openings 24 (holes) and slope 12 (elevated entry mount portion), as taught by Hyman, in order to allow liquid and debris to flow better to the garden hoses (channel tubes).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US D598833, US D353505, US D329996, US 6301848, US 6120876, US 6106712, US 5478625, US 4246982, US 20220355767, US 20180017212, US 20150375983, US 10520241, KR 20180075975, and EP 0161676 are considered pertinent to collection systems with vehicle tracks.
/ALLAN D STEVENS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3736