DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Observation 1: Claims 2, 3-5, 7-8, 11 introduce contingent limitations in method sets. Claims 2, 3-5, 7-8, 11 recites "in a case ..”, examiner is not required to provide a prior art for contingent
limitations in the method claims. See eMPEP 2111.04 Il "contingent limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1, 16, 19, 20: The instant claims recite “the number of TCI states”. The term the number has never been introduced or recited earlier in these claims. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. This will render the claims indefinite.
Regarding claims 2-15, 17-18: Dependent claims 2-15, 17-18 are rejected as they depend on claims 1, 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a2) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (“Kim”, US 20220224482 A1) hereinafter Kim.
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state determining method ([0020] TCI state), comprising:
receiving, by a terminal a first command ([0011-0020] receiving by a user equipment DCi information); and
determining, by the terminal, the number of TCI states applicable for a target resource, based on the first command ([0011-0020] ([0011-0020] Fig. 6, Fig. 1, a plurality of TCI states being indicated based on the second field and (ii) non-overlapping resources in a frequency domain related to each TCI state of the plurality of TCI states, the frequency density of the PTRS is determined by (i) a number of resource blocks related to each TCI state and (ii) the threshold information included in the second information)([0147-0150] Fig. 6, A UE that completes the initial cell search receives a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) and a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDSCH) according to information loaded on the PDCCH to acquire more specific system information (S602))([0159] TCI field consists of 3 bits, and the QCL for the DMRS may be dynamically indicated by indicating a maximum of 8 TCI states according to the TCI field value).
Regarding claim 2, Kim teaches the method according to claim 1,
wherein in a case that one TCI state is applicable for the target resource, the method further comprises:
receiving, by the terminal, a second command ([0147-0150] Fig. 6, A UE that completes the initial cell search receives a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) and a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDSCH) according to information loaded on the PDCCH to acquire more specific system information (S602)) ([0159] TCI field consists of 3 bits, and the QCL for the DMRS may be dynamically indicated by indicating a maximum of 8 TCI states according to the TCI field value); and
determining, by the terminal, a TCI state to be applied for transmission of the target resource, based on the second command ([0147-0150] Fig. 6, A UE that completes the initial cell search receives a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) and a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDSCH) according to information loaded on the PDCCH to acquire more specific system information (S602)).
Regarding claim 4, Kim teaches the method according to claim 2,
Kim teaches wherein the second command indicates a plurality of downlink TCI states and/or a plurality of uplink TCI states, and the determining, by the terminal, a TCI state to be applied for transmission of the target resource ([0011, 0020-0024] downlink control information DCI)([0057] Fig. 2, downlink (DL) means communication from the base station to the terminal and uplink (UL) means communication from the terminal to the base station)([Fig 6-8])([0147-0149] A UE that completes the initial cell search receives a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) and a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDSCH) according to information loaded on the PDCCH to acquire more specific system information (S602).), based on the second command comprises:
in a case that the target resource is a downlink resource, using a first target downlink TCI state among the plurality of downlink TCI states, as the TCI state to be applied for transmission of the target resource ([0011, 0020-0024] downlink control information DCI)([0057] Fig. 2, downlink (DL) means communication from the base station to the terminal and uplink (UL) means communication from the terminal to the base station)([Fig 6-8])([0147-0149] A UE that completes the initial cell search receives a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) and a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDSCH) according to information loaded on the PDCCH to acquire more specific system information (S602).),; or
in a case that the target resource is an uplink resource, using a first target uplink TCI state among the plurality of uplink TCI states, as the TCI state to be applied for transmission of the target resource.
Regarding claim 5, Kim teaches the method according to claim 1,
Kim teaches wherein in a case that a plurality of TCI states are applicable for the target resource ([0142-0143] if a specific field (e.g., BWP indicator field) indicating the BWP is included in DCI (e.g., DCI format 1_1) for scheduling of the PDSCH, a value of the corresponding field may be configured to indicate a specific DL BWP (e.g., active DL BWP) among a DL BWP set (pre-)configured for DL reception to the UE. In this case, the UE receiving the DCI may be configured to receive DL data in the specific DL BWP indicated by the corresponding field. And/or, if a specific field (e.g., BWP indicator field) indicating the BWP is included in DCI (e.g., DCI format 11) for scheduling of the PUSCH, a value of the corresponding field may be configured to indicate a specific UL BWP (e.g., active UL BWP) among a UL BWP set (pre-)configured for UL transmission to the UE. In this case, the UE receiving the DCI may be configure to transmit UL data in the specific UL BWP indicated by the corresponding field.)([0150-0156] Fig. 7 including scheduling information of the PDSCH) on the PDCCH (S702). DCI format 1_0 or DCI format 11 may be used for the downlink scheduling and specifically, DCI format 11 may include information such as the following examples: Identifier for DCI formats, Bandwidth part indicator, Frequency domain resource assignment, Time domain resource assignment, PRB bundling size indicator, Rate matching indicator, ZP CSI-RS trigger, Antenna port(s), Transmission configuration indication (TCI), SRS request, and Demodulation Reference Signal (DMRS) sequence initialization.), the method further comprises:
receiving, by the terminal, a third command, wherein the third command is used to schedule transmission of the target resource ([0142-0143] if a specific field (e.g., BWP indicator field) indicating the BWP is included in DCI (e.g., DCI format 1_1) for scheduling of the PDSCH, a value of the corresponding field may be configured to indicate a specific DL BWP (e.g., active DL BWP) among a DL BWP set (pre-)configured for DL reception to the UE. In this case, the UE receiving the DCI may be configured to receive DL data in the specific DL BWP indicated by the corresponding field. And/or, if a specific field (e.g., BWP indicator field) indicating the BWP is included in DCI (e.g., DCI format 11) for scheduling of the PUSCH, a value of the corresponding field may be configured to indicate a specific UL BWP (e.g., active UL BWP) among a UL BWP set (pre-)configured for UL transmission to the UE. In this case, the UE receiving the DCI may be configure to transmit UL data in the specific UL BWP indicated by the corresponding field.)([0150-0156] Fig. 7 including scheduling information of the PDSCH) on the PDCCH (S702). DCI format 1_0 or DCI format 11 may be used for the downlink scheduling and specifically, DCI format 11 may include information such as the following examples: Identifier for DCI formats, Bandwidth part indicator, Frequency domain resource assignment, Time domain resource assignment, PRB bundling size indicator, Rate matching indicator, ZP CSI-RS trigger, Antenna port(s), Transmission configuration indication (TCI), SRS request, and Demodulation Reference Signal (DMRS) sequence initialization.); and
determining, by the terminal, a TCI state to be applied for transmission of the target resource, based on the third command ([0142-0143] if a specific field (e.g., BWP indicator field) indicating the BWP is included in DCI (e.g., DCI format 1_1) for scheduling of the PDSCH, a value of the corresponding field may be configured to indicate a specific DL BWP (e.g., active DL BWP) among a DL BWP set (pre-)configured for DL reception to the UE. In this case, the UE receiving the DCI may be configured to receive DL data in the specific DL BWP indicated by the corresponding field. And/or, if a specific field (e.g., BWP indicator field) indicating the BWP is included in DCI (e.g., DCI format 11) for scheduling of the PUSCH, a value of the corresponding field may be configured to indicate a specific UL BWP (e.g., active UL BWP) among a UL BWP set (pre-)configured for UL transmission to the UE. In this case, the UE receiving the DCI may be configure to transmit UL data in the specific UL BWP indicated by the corresponding field.)([0150-0156] Fig. 7 including scheduling information of the PDSCH) on the PDCCH (S702). DCI format 1_0 or DCI format 11 may be used for the downlink scheduling and specifically, DCI format 11 may include information such as the following examples: Identifier for DCI formats, Bandwidth part indicator, Frequency domain resource assignment, Time domain resource assignment, PRB bundling size indicator, Rate matching indicator, ZP CSI-RS trigger, Antenna port(s), Transmission configuration indication (TCI), SRS request, and Demodulation Reference Signal (DMRS) sequence initialization.);
wherein
the third command contains a first indicator field, and the first indicator field is used to indicate, from the plurality of TCI states indicated for the target resource ([0142-0143] if a specific field (e.g., BWP indicator field) indicating the BWP is included in DCI (e.g., DCI format 1_1) for scheduling of the PDSCH, a value of the corresponding field may be configured to indicate a specific DL BWP (e.g., active DL BWP) among a DL BWP set (pre-)configured for DL reception to the UE. In this case, the UE receiving the DCI may be configured to receive DL data in the specific DL BWP indicated by the corresponding field. And/or, if a specific field (e.g., BWP indicator field) indicating the BWP is included in DCI (e.g., DCI format 11) for scheduling of the PUSCH, a value of the corresponding field may be configured to indicate a specific UL BWP (e.g., active UL BWP) among a UL BWP set (pre-)configured for UL transmission to the UE. In this case, the UE receiving the DCI may be configure to transmit UL data in the specific UL BWP indicated by the corresponding field.)([0150-0156] Fig. 7 including scheduling information of the PDSCH) on the PDCCH (S702). DCI format 1_0 or DCI format 11 may be used for the downlink scheduling and specifically, DCI format 11 may include information such as the following examples: Identifier for DCI formats, Bandwidth part indicator, Frequency domain resource assignment, Time domain resource assignment, PRB bundling size indicator, Rate matching indicator, ZP CSI-RS trigger, Antenna port(s), Transmission configuration indication (TCI), SRS request, and Demodulation Reference Signal (DMRS) sequence initialization.), one of the following:
one TCI state to be applied for transmission of the target resource ([0142-0143] if a specific field (e.g., BWP indicator field) indicating the BWP is included in DCI (e.g., DCI format 1_1) for scheduling of the PDSCH, a value of the corresponding field may be configured to indicate a specific DL BWP (e.g., active DL BWP) among a DL BWP set (pre-)configured for DL reception to the UE. In this case, the UE receiving the DCI may be configured to receive DL data in the specific DL BWP indicated by the corresponding field. And/or, if a specific field (e.g., BWP indicator field) indicating the BWP is included in DCI (e.g., DCI format 11) for scheduling of the PUSCH, a value of the corresponding field may be configured to indicate a specific UL BWP (e.g., active UL BWP) among a UL BWP set (pre-)configured for UL transmission to the UE. In this case, the UE receiving the DCI may be configure to transmit UL data in the specific UL BWP indicated by the corresponding field.)([0150-0156] Fig. 7 including scheduling information of the PDSCH) on the PDCCH (S702). DCI format 1_0 or DCI format 11 may be used for the downlink scheduling and specifically, DCI format 11 may include information such as the following examples: Identifier for DCI formats, Bandwidth part indicator, Frequency domain resource assignment, Time domain resource assignment, PRB bundling size indicator, Rate matching indicator, ZP CSI-RS trigger, Antenna port(s), Transmission configuration indication (TCI), SRS request, and Demodulation Reference Signal (DMRS) sequence initialization.);
a plurality of TCI states to be applied for transmission of the target resource; and
an order of a plurality of TCI states to be applied for transmission of the target resource.
Regarding claim 6, Kim teaches the method according to claim 5,
Kim teaches wherein the method further comprises:
determining that the third command contains the first indicator field ([0246-0247] Fig. 12A, a frequency resource allocation (FRA) field in DCI indicates scheduling frequency resources for all TRPs, and different TRPs may share the frequency resources scheduled by DCI based on signaling (e.g., higher layer signaling/DCI)), in at least one of the following cases:
upper-layer signaling configures that the third command contains the first indicator field ([0246-0247] Fig. 12A, a frequency resource allocation (FRA) field in DCI indicates scheduling frequency resources for all TRPs, and different TRPs may share the frequency resources scheduled by DCI based on signaling (e.g., higher layer signaling/DCI)); or
the number of TCI states applicable for the target resource as determined based on the first command is greater than one ([0283] when PRG=‘Wideband’ is configured and the number of TCI states is greater than 1 (i.e., >1), the UE may assume that only an antenna port included in a band corresponding to the ‘scheduled BW/number of TCI states’ is the same antenna port.)([0333, 0355]).
Regarding claim 7, Kim teaches the method according to claim 5,
Kim teaches wherein the determining a TCI state to be applied for transmission of the target resource, based on the third command comprises ([0143, 0150, 0155, 0160] DCI format 0_0 and DCI format 0_1 are used for scheduling of PUSCH in one cell, and DCI format 1_0 and DCI format 1_1 are used for scheduling PDSCH in one cell. Information included in DCI format 0_0 is CRC scrambled by C-RNTI or CS-RNTI or MCS-C-RNTI and transmitted. And, DCI format 0_1 is used for reserving PUSCH in one cell.):
in a case that the third command is in a first format, using a first target TCI state, among the TCI states indicated for the target resource, as the TCI state to be applied for transmission of the target resource ([0143, 0150, 0155, 0160] DCI format 0_0 and DCI format 0_1 are used for scheduling of PUSCH in one cell, and DCI format 1_0 and DCI format 1_1 are used for scheduling PDSCH in one cell. Information included in DCI format 0_0 is CRC scrambled by C-RNTI or CS-RNTI or MCS-C-RNTI and transmitted. And, DCI format 0_1 is used for reserving PUSCH in one cell.).
Regarding claim 11, Kim teaches the method according to claim 2,
Kim teaches wherein a second command indicates a plurality of TCI states, and in a case that a plurality of TCI states are applicable for the target resource, the method further comprises at least one of the following:
in a case that the target resource is a PUSCH and a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource set used for transmission of the PUSCH is associated with a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), determining a TCI state to be applied for transmission of the CSI-RS from the plurality of TCI states indicated by the second command, based on an identifier of the SRS resource set; or
in a case that the target resource is a PUSCH, determining a TCI state to be applied for transmission of the SRS resource set from the plurality of TCI states indicated by the second command, based on an identifier of an SRS resource set, wherein the SRS resource set is used for transmission of the PUSCH ([0170-0174] When the PUSCH is scheduled by DCI format 00, the PUSCH transmission is based on a single antenna port. In the case of the codebook based transmission, the PUSCH may be scheduled by DCI format 0_0, DCI format 0_1, or semi-statically. When the PUSCH is scheduled by DCI format 0_1, the UE determines a PUSCH transmission precoder based on the SRI, the Transmit Precoding Matrix Indicator (TPMI), and the transmission rank from the DCI as given by the SRS resource indicator and the Precoding information and number of layers field. The TPMI is used for indicating a precoder to be applied over the antenna port and when multiple SRS resources are configured, the TPMI corresponds to the SRS resource selected by the SRI).
Regarding claim 12, The method according to claim 5,
Kim teaches wherein before the receiving, by the terminal, a third command, the method further comprises:
determining, by the terminal, a size of the third command based on a second command; wherein the second command is used to determine a TCI state to be applied for transmission of the target resource ([0166] the UE may first read a 5-bit MCD field in the DCI and determine the modulation order and the target code rate.)([0170-0174] TPMI , SRI indicators)(Fig. 7, Fig. 8 DCI for downlink scheduling, S702, then downlink Data S703, DMRS sequence initialization, and Uplink Shared Channel (UL-SCH) indicator, SRC indicator field). {Examiner interprets this limitation based on the paragraph 0089-0090 in the instant application}
Regarding claim 13, The method according to claim 12,
Kim teaches wherein the determining, by the terminal, a size of the third command based on a second command comprises:
determining, by the terminal based on the second command, at least one of the following: whether a second indicator field is present in the third command ([0166] the UE may first read a 5-bit MCD field in the DCI and determine the modulation order and the target code rate.)([0170-0174] TPMI , SRI indicators)(Fig. 7, Fig. 8 DCI for downlink scheduling, S702, then downlink Data S703, DMRS sequence initialization, and Uplink Shared Channel (UL-SCH) indicator, SRC indicator field). {Examiner interprets this limitation based on the paragraph 0089-0090 in the instant application};
number of second indicator fields in the third command; or
bit length of the second indicator field in the third command.
Regarding claim 14, Kim teaches the method according to claim 1,
Kim teaches receiving, by the terminal, a fourth command, wherein the fourth command is used to activate a TCI state to be applied for transmission of the target resource ([abstract] wherein the DCI includes a first field indicating an activated BWP among the one or more BWPs configured on the basis of the first information, and a second field related to a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state;).
Regarding claim 15, Kim teaches the method according to claim 1,
Kim teaches wherein the method further comprises: receiving, by the terminal, a fifth command, wherein the fifth command is used to indicate at least one of the following:
a resource pool of the TCI state ([0014-0019] resource group corresponding to TCI state, overlapping, nonoverlapping) or a mode of the TCI state, wherein the mode of the TCI state comprises joint indication or separate indication.
Regarding claim 16, Kim teaches a TCI state determining method, comprising:
sending, by a network-side device, a first command, wherein the first command is used for a terminal to determine the number of TCI states applicable for a target resource ([0021-0023] transmitting by a base station PTRS to a user equipment, first information, second information, the PTRS in the active BWP, wherein based on (i) a plurality of TCI states being indicated based on the second field, the frequency density of the PTRS is determined by (i) a number of resource blocks related to each TCI state and (ii) the threshold information included in the second information.).
Regarding claim 17, Kim teaches the method according to claim 16, wherein the first command is used for the terminal to determine that one TCI state is applicable for the target resource ([0011-0020] ([0011-0020] Fig. 6, Fig. 1, a plurality of TCI states being indicated based on the second field and (ii) non-overlapping resources in a frequency domain related to each TCI state of the plurality of TCI states, the frequency density of the PTRS is determined by (i) a number of resource blocks related to each TCI state and (ii) the threshold information included in the second information)([0147-0150] Fig. 6, A UE that completes the initial cell search receives a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) and a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDSCH) according to information loaded on the PDCCH to acquire more specific system information (S602))([0159] TCI field consists of 3 bits, and the QCL for the DMRS may be dynamically indicated by indicating a maximum of 8 TCI states according to the TCI field value), and the method further comprises:
sending, by the network-side device, a second command ([0021-0023] transmitting by a base station PTRS to a user equipment, first information, second information, the PTRS in the active BWP, wherein based on (i) a plurality of TCI states being indicated based on the second field, the frequency density of the PTRS is determined by (i) a number of resource blocks related to each TCI state and (ii) the threshold information included in the second information.).
, wherein the second command is used for the terminal to determine a TCI state to be applied for transmission of the target resource command ([0147-0150] Fig. 6, A UE that completes the initial cell search receives a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) and a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDSCH) according to information loaded on the PDCCH to acquire more specific system information (S602)).
Regarding claim 18, Kim teaches the method according to claim 16,
Kim teaches wherein the first command is used for the terminal to determine that a plurality of TCI states are applicable for the target resource ([0011-0020] ([0011-0020] Fig. 6, Fig. 1, a plurality of TCI states being indicated based on the second field and (ii) non-overlapping resources in a frequency domain related to each TCI state of the plurality of TCI states, the frequency density of the PTRS is determined by (i) a number of resource blocks related to each TCI state and (ii) the threshold information included in the second information)([0147-0150] Fig. 6, A UE that completes the initial cell search receives a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) and a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDSCH) according to information loaded on the PDCCH to acquire more specific system information (S602))([0159] TCI field consists of 3 bits, and the QCL for the DMRS may be dynamically indicated by indicating a maximum of 8 TCI states according to the TCI field value)., and the method further comprises:
sending, by the network-side device, a third command, wherein the third command is used to schedule transmission of the target resource ([0142-0143] if a specific field (e.g., BWP indicator field) indicating the BWP is included in DCI (e.g., DCI format 1_1) for scheduling of the PDSCH, a value of the corresponding field may be configured to indicate a specific DL BWP (e.g., active DL BWP) among a DL BWP set (pre-)configured for DL reception to the UE. In this case, the UE receiving the DCI may be configured to receive DL data in the specific DL BWP indicated by the corresponding field. And/or, if a specific field (e.g., BWP indicator field) indicating the BWP is included in DCI (e.g., DCI format 11) for scheduling of the PUSCH, a value of the corresponding field may be configured to indicate a specific UL BWP (e.g., active UL BWP) among a UL BWP set (pre-)configured for UL transmission to the UE. In this case, the UE receiving the DCI may be configure to transmit UL data in the specific UL BWP indicated by the corresponding field.)([0150-0156] Fig. 7 including scheduling information of the PDSCH) on the PDCCH (S702). DCI format 1_0 or DCI format 11 may be used for the downlink scheduling and specifically, DCI format 11 may include information such as the following examples: Identifier for DCI formats, Bandwidth part indicator, Frequency domain resource assignment, Time domain resource assignment, PRB bundling size indicator, Rate matching indicator, ZP CSI-RS trigger, Antenna port(s), Transmission configuration indication (TCI), SRS request, and Demodulation Reference Signal (DMRS) sequence initialization.),, and the third command is further used for the terminal to determine a TCI state to be applied for transmission of the target resource ([0142-0143] if a specific field (e.g., BWP indicator field) indicating the BWP is included in DCI (e.g., DCI format 1_1) for scheduling of the PDSCH, a value of the corresponding field may be configured to indicate a specific DL BWP (e.g., active DL BWP) among a DL BWP set (pre-)configured for DL reception to the UE. In this case, the UE receiving the DCI may be configured to receive DL data in the specific DL BWP indicated by the corresponding field. And/or, if a specific field (e.g., BWP indicator field) indicating the BWP is included in DCI (e.g., DCI format 11) for scheduling of the PUSCH, a value of the corresponding field may be configured to indicate a specific UL BWP (e.g., active UL BWP) among a UL BWP set (pre-)configured for UL transmission to the UE. In this case, the UE receiving the DCI may be configure to transmit UL data in the specific UL BWP indicated by the corresponding field.)([0150-0156] Fig. 7 including scheduling information of the PDSCH) on the PDCCH (S702). DCI format 1_0 or DCI format 11 may be used for the downlink scheduling and specifically, DCI format 11 may include information such as the following examples: Identifier for DCI formats, Bandwidth part indicator, Frequency domain resource assignment, Time domain resource assignment, PRB bundling size indicator, Rate matching indicator, ZP CSI-RS trigger, Antenna port(s), Transmission configuration indication (TCI), SRS request, and Demodulation Reference Signal (DMRS) sequence initialization.);
wherein
the third command contains a first indicator field, and the first indicator field is used to indicate, from the plurality of TCI states indicated for the target resource ([0142-0143] if a specific field (e.g., BWP indicator field) indicating the BWP is included in DCI (e.g., DCI format 1_1) for scheduling of the PDSCH, a value of the corresponding field may be configured to indicate a specific DL BWP (e.g., active DL BWP) among a DL BWP set (pre-)configured for DL reception to the UE. In this case, the UE receiving the DCI may be configured to receive DL data in the specific DL BWP indicated by the corresponding field. And/or, if a specific field (e.g., BWP indicator field) indicating the BWP is included in DCI (e.g., DCI format 11) for scheduling of the PUSCH, a value of the corresponding field may be configured to indicate a specific UL BWP (e.g., active UL BWP) among a UL BWP set (pre-)configured for UL transmission to the UE. In this case, the UE receiving the DCI may be configure to transmit UL data in the specific UL BWP indicated by the corresponding field.)([0150-0156] Fig. 7 including scheduling information of the PDSCH) on the PDCCH (S702). DCI format 1_0 or DCI format 11 may be used for the downlink scheduling and specifically, DCI format 11 may include information such as the following examples: Identifier for DCI formats, Bandwidth part indicator, Frequency domain resource assignment, Time domain resource assignment, PRB bundling size indicator, Rate matching indicator, ZP CSI-RS trigger, Antenna port(s), Transmission configuration indication (TCI), SRS request, and Demodulation Reference Signal (DMRS) sequence initialization.), one of the following:
one TCI state to be applied for transmission of the target resource ([0142-0143] if a specific field (e.g., BWP indicator field) indicating the BWP is included in DCI (e.g., DCI format 1_1) for scheduling of the PDSCH, a value of the corresponding field may be configured to indicate a specific DL BWP (e.g., active DL BWP) among a DL BWP set (pre-)configured for DL reception to the UE. In this case, the UE receiving the DCI may be configured to receive DL data in the specific DL BWP indicated by the corresponding field. And/or, if a specific field (e.g., BWP indicator field) indicating the BWP is included in DCI (e.g., DCI format 11) for scheduling of the PUSCH, a value of the corresponding field may be configured to indicate a specific UL BWP (e.g., active UL BWP) among a UL BWP set (pre-)configured for UL transmission to the UE. In this case, the UE receiving the DCI may be configure to transmit UL data in the specific UL BWP indicated by the corresponding field.)([0150-0156] Fig. 7 including scheduling information of the PDSCH) on the PDCCH (S702). DCI format 1_0 or DCI format 11 may be used for the downlink scheduling and specifically, DCI format 11 may include information such as the following examples: Identifier for DCI formats, Bandwidth part indicator, Frequency domain resource assignment, Time domain resource assignment, PRB bundling size indicator, Rate matching indicator, ZP CSI-RS trigger, Antenna port(s), Transmission configuration indication (TCI), SRS request, and Demodulation Reference Signal (DMRS) sequence initialization.);
a plurality of TCI states to be applied for transmission of the target resource; and
an order of a plurality of TCI states to be applied for transmission of the target resource.
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim 1.
Regarding claim 20, claim 20 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being un-patentable by Kim et al. (“Kim”, US 20220224482 A1) hereinafter Kim, in view of Li (“Li”, US 20240291617 A1) hereinafter Li.
Regarding claim 3, Kim teaches the method according to claim 2,
wherein the second command indicates one or a plurality of joint TCI states, and the determining, by the terminal, a TCI state to be applied for transmission of the target resource ([0147-0150] Fig. 6, A UE that completes the initial cell search receives a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) and a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDSCH) according to information loaded on the PDCCH to acquire more specific system information (S602), based on the second command comprises:
Kim does not explicitly teach, but
in a case that the second command indicates one joint TCI state, using the one joint TCI state as the TCI state to be applied for transmission of the target resource ([0023] the UE may obtain the indication information transmitted by the base station and the indication information includes the at least one TCI state ID corresponding to the at least one codepoint. Afterwards, according to the indication information, the UE determines that the TCI state corresponding to the at least one TCI state ID is the joint TCI state and/or the separate TCI state); or
in a case that the second command indicates a plurality of joint TCI states, using a first target joint TCI state among the plurality of joint TCI states, as the TCI state to be applied for transmission of the target resource ([0023, 0030-0031] the UE may obtain the indication information transmitted by the base station and the indication information includes the at least one TCI state ID corresponding to the at least one codepoint. Afterwards, according to the indication information, the UE determines that the TCI state corresponding to the at least one TCI state ID is the joint TCI state and/or the separate TCI state).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Kim in view of Li in order to have in the obtained information joint TCI state because it provides indicating a certain TCI state for uplink transmission and downlink reception at the same time (Li [0030]).
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being un-patentable by Kim et al. (“Kim”, US 20220224482 A1) hereinafter Kim, in view of Guo (“Guo”, US 20190297603 A1) hereinafter Guo.
Regarding claim 8, Kim teaches the method according to claim 1,
wherein a second command indicates a plurality of TCI states, and in a case that a plurality of TCI states are applicable for the target resource ([0147-0150] Fig. 6, A UE that completes the initial cell search receives a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) and a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDSCH) according to information loaded on the PDCCH to acquire more specific system information (S602)) ([0159] TCI field consists of 3 bits, and the QCL for the DMRS may be dynamically indicated by indicating a maximum of 8 TCI states according to the TCI field value) ([0147-0150] Fig. 6, A UE that completes the initial cell search receives a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) and a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDSCH) according to information loaded on the PDCCH to acquire more specific system information (S602)).
Kim does not explicitly teach, but Guo teaches the method further comprises at least one of the following:
in a case that the target resource is a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), determining a TCI state to be applied for transmission of the PDCCH from the plurality of TCI states indicated by the second command, based on an identifier of a search space associated with the PDCCH ([0166-0167] a UE can be configured with a control resource set p and a search space set s configured for the UE to monitor PDCCH. The search space set s is associated with control resource set p. In search space set s, a PDCCH monitoring periodicity of k.sub.p,s slots is configured by higher layer parameter monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset, The UE can be configured with a monitoring pattern for TCI states {TCI.sub.1, TCI.sub.2, TCI.sub.3 and TCI.sub.4}, which indicates which PDCCH(s) transmission is associated with each of those TCI states {TCI.sub.1, TCI.sub.2, TCI.sub.3 and TCI.sub.4}, When monitoring PDCCH in search space set s, the UE can be requested to calculate the QCL assumption TCI state for one PDCCH reception based on the slot location of PDCCH, the configured TCI state monitoring pattern, the PDCCH monitoring offset, the PDCCH monitoring periodicity. In one example, to receive PDCCH in slot o.sub.p,s+m×k.sub.p,s (m=0, 1, 2, . . . ), the UE may assume the DM-RS antenna port associated with PDCCH transmission(s)); or
in a case that the target resource is a PDCCH, determining a TCI state to be applied for transmission of the PDCCH from the plurality of TCI states indicated by the second command, based on an identifier of a control resource set associated with a search space associated with the PDCCH ([0166-0167] a UE can be configured with a control resource set p and a search space set s configured for the UE to monitor PDCCH. The search space set s is associated with control resource set p. In search space set s, a PDCCH monitoring periodicity of k.sub.p,s slots is configured by higher layer parameter monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset, The UE can be configured with a monitoring pattern for TCI states {TCI.sub.1, TCI.sub.2, TCI.sub.3 and TCI.sub.4}, which indicates which PDCCH(s) transmission is associated with each of those TCI states {TCI.sub.1, TCI.sub.2, TCI.sub.3 and TCI.sub.4}, When monitoring PDCCH in search space set s, the UE can be requested to calculate the QCL assumption TCI state for one PDCCH reception based on the slot location of PDCCH, the configured TCI state monitoring pattern, the PDCCH monitoring offset, the PDCCH monitoring periodicity. In one example, to receive PDCCH in slot o.sub.p,s+m×k.sub.p,s (m=0, 1, 2, . . . ), the UE may assume the DM-RS antenna port associated with PDCCH transmission(s)).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Kim in view of Guo in order to determine TCI state applied for PDCCH transmission based on search space parameter because it provides the User equipment the tools to monitor several neighboring cells by attempting to detect their synchronization signals and/or measuring the associated cell-specific reference signals (RSs). For next generation cellular systems such as third generation partnership-new radio access or interface (3GPP-NR), efficient and unified radio resource acquisition or tracking mechanism which works for various use cases such as enhanced mobile broadband (eMBB), ultra-reliable low latency (URLLC), massive machine type communication (mMTC), each corresponding to a different coverage requirement and frequency bands with different propagation losses is desirable (GUO [0011]).
Regarding claim 9, Kim and Guo teach the method according to claim 8,
Kim does not explicitly teach, but Guo teaches
wherein the plurality of TCI states indicated by the second command comprise a first TCI state and a second TCI state, and the search space comprises a first search space and a second search space ([0166-0167] a UE can be configured with a control resource set p and a search space set s configured for the UE to monitor PDCCH. The search space set s is associated with control resource set p. In search space set s, a PDCCH monitoring periodicity of k.sub.p,s slots is configured by higher layer parameter monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset; a PDCCH monitoring offset of o.sub.p,s slots, where 0≤o.sub.p,s<k.sub.p,s is configured by higher layer parameter monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset; a PDCCH monitoring pattern within a slot, indicating first symbol(s) of the control resource set within a slot for PDCCH monitoring, is configured by higher layer parameter monitoringSymbolsWithinSlot. For control resource set p, the UE can be configured or indicated with 4 TCI states: TCI.sub.1, TCI.sub.2, TCI.sub.3 and TCI.sub.4. (Here 4 is used for exemplary purpose. It is easy to extend the embodiment to other values). The UE can be configured with a monitoring pattern for TCI states {TCI.sub.1, TCI.sub.2, TCI.sub.3 and TCI.sub.4}, which indicates which PDCCH(s) transmission is associated with each of those TCI states {TCI.sub.1, TCI.sub.2, TCI.sub.3 and TCI.sub.4}. In one example, it can be configured through a TCI-state-Map with L entries {a.sub.1, a.sub.2, a.sub.3, . . . , a.sub.L}. The monitoring pattern for TCI states {TCI.sub.1, TCI.sub.2, TCI.sub.3 and TCI.sub.4} on PDCCH of control resource set p has periodicity of L PDCCH transmissions. The value of each a.sub.1 indicates one TCI state out of {TC.sub.1, TCI.sub.2, TCI.sub.3 and TCI.sub.4} and a.sub.1 indicating TCI.sub.i (i=1, 2, 3, 4) can mean that the UE can be requested to assume the QCL assumption of l-th PDCCH transmission in each TCI state monitoring pattern period is TCI.sub.i.); wherein
the determining a TCI state to be applied for transmission of the PDCCH from the plurality of TCI states indicated by the second command comprises: applying the first TCI state for a PDCCH transmitted through the first search space, and applying the second TCI state for a PDCCH transmitted through the second search space ([0166-0167] a UE can be configured with a control resource set p and a search space set s configured for the UE to monitor PDCCH. The search space set s is associated with control resource set p. In search space set s, a PDCCH monitoring periodicity of k.sub.p,s slots is configured by higher layer parameter monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset; a PDCCH monitoring offset of o.sub.p,s slots, where 0≤o.sub.p,s<k.sub.p,s is configured by higher layer parameter monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset; a PDCCH monitoring pattern within a slot, indicating first symbol(s) of the control resource set within a slot for PDCCH monitoring, is configured by higher layer parameter monitoringSymbolsWithinSlot. For control resource set p, the UE can be configured or indicated with 4 TCI states: TCI.sub.1, TCI.sub.2, TCI.sub.3 and TCI.sub.4. (Here 4 is used for exemplary purpose. It is easy to extend the embodiment to other values). The UE can be configured with a monitoring pattern for TCI states {TCI.sub.1, TCI.sub.2, TCI.sub.3 and TCI.sub.4}, which indicates which PDCCH(s) transmission is associated with each of those TCI states {TCI.sub.1, TCI.sub.2, TCI.sub.3 and TCI.sub.4}. In one example, it can be configured through a TCI-state-Map with L entries {a.sub.1, a.sub.2, a.sub.3, . . . , a.sub.L}. The monitoring pattern for TCI states {TCI.sub.1, TCI.sub.2, TCI.sub.3 and TCI.sub.4} on PDCCH of control resource set p has periodicity of L PDCCH transmissions. The value of each a.sub.1 indicates one TCI state out of {TC.sub.1, TCI.sub.2, TCI.sub.3 and TCI.sub.4} and a.sub.1 indicating TCI.sub.i (i=1, 2, 3, 4) can mean that the UE can be requested to assume the QCL assumption of l-th PDCCH transmission in each TCI state monitoring pattern period is TCI.sub.i.);.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Kim in view of Guo in order to determine TCI state applied for PDCCH transmission based on search space parameter because it provides the User equipment the tools to monitor several neighboring cells by attempting to detect their synchronization signals and/or measuring the associated cell-specific reference signals (RSs). For next generation cellular systems such as third generation partnership-new radio access or interface (3GPP-NR), efficient and unified radio resource acquisition or tracking mechanism which works for various use cases such as enhanced mobile broadband (eMBB), ultra-reliable low latency (URLLC), massive machine type communication (mMTC), each corresponding to a different coverage requirement and frequency bands with different propagation losses is desirable (GUO [0011]).
Regarding claim 10, Kim and Guo teach the method according to claim 8,
Kim does not explicitly teach, but Guo teaches
wherein the plurality of TCI states indicated by the second command comprise a first TCI state and a second TCI state, and the control resource set comprises a first control resource set and a second control resource set ([0166-0167] a UE can be configured with a control resource set p and a search space set s configured for the UE to monitor PDCCH. The search space set s is associated with control resource set p. In search space set s, a PDCCH monitoring periodicity of k.sub.p,s slots is configured by higher layer parameter monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset; a PDCCH monitoring offset of o.sub.p,s slots, where 0≤o.sub.p,s<k.sub.p,s is configured by higher layer parameter monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset; a PDCCH monitoring pattern within a slot, indicating first symbol(s) of the control resource set within a slot for PDCCH monitoring, is configured by higher layer parameter monitoringSymbolsWithinSlot. For control resource set p, the UE can be configured or indicated with 4 TCI states: TCI.sub.1, TCI.sub.2, TCI.sub.3 and TCI.sub.4. (Here 4 is used for exemplary purpose. It is easy to extend the embodiment to other values). The UE can be configured with a monitoring pattern for TCI states {TCI.sub.1, TCI.sub.2, TCI.sub.3 and TCI.sub.4}, which indicates which PDCCH(s) transmission is associated with each of those TCI states {TCI.sub.1, TCI.sub.2, TCI.sub.3 and TCI.sub.4}. In one example, it can be configured through a TCI-state-Map with L entries {a.sub.1, a.sub.2, a.sub.3, . . . , a.sub.L}. The monitoring pattern for TCI states {TCI.sub.1, TCI.sub.2, TCI.sub.3 and TCI.sub.4} on PDCCH of control resource set p has periodicity of L PDCCH transmissions. The value of each a.sub.1 indicates one TCI state out of {TC.sub.1, TCI.sub.2, TCI.sub.3 and TCI.sub.4} and a.sub.1 indicating TCI.sub.i (i=1, 2, 3, 4) can mean that the UE can be requested to assume the QCL assumption of l-th PDCCH transmission in each TCI state monitoring pattern period is TCI.sub.i.);.
Wherein the determining a TCI state to be applied for transmission of the PDCCH from the plurality of TCI states indicated by the second command comprises: applying the first TCI state for a PDCCH transmitted through the first control resource set, and applying the second TCI state for a PDCCH transmitted through the second control resource set ([0166-0167] a UE can be configured with a control resource set p and a search space set s configured for the UE to monitor PDCCH. The search space set s is associated with control resource set p. In search space set s, a PDCCH monitoring periodicity of k.sub.p,s slots is configured by higher layer parameter monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset; a PDCCH monitoring offset of o.sub.p,s slots, where 0≤o.sub.p,s<k.sub.p,s is configured by higher layer parameter monitoringSlotPeriodicityAndOffset; a PDCCH monitoring pattern within a slot, indicating first symbol(s) of the control resource set within a slot for PDCCH monitoring, is configured by higher layer parameter monitoringSymbolsWithinSlot. For control resource set p, the UE can be configured or indicated with 4 TCI states: TCI.sub.1, TCI.sub.2, TCI.sub.3 and TCI.sub.4. (Here 4 is used for exemplary purpose. It is easy to extend the embodiment to other values). The UE can be configured with a monitoring pattern for TCI states {TCI.sub.1, TCI.sub.2, TCI.sub.3 and TCI.sub.4}, which indicates which PDCCH(s) transmission is associated with each of those TCI states {TCI.sub.1, TCI.sub.2, TCI.sub.3 and TCI.sub.4}. In one example, it can be configured through a TCI-state-Map with L entries {a.sub.1, a.sub.2, a.sub.3, . . . , a.sub.L}. The monitoring pattern for TCI states {TCI.sub.1, TCI.sub.2, TCI.sub.3 and TCI.sub.4} on PDCCH of control resource set p has periodicity of L PDCCH transmissions. The value of each a.sub.1 indicates one TCI state out of {TC.sub.1, TCI.sub.2, TCI.sub.3 and TCI.sub.4} and a.sub.1 indicating TCI.sub.i (i=1, 2, 3, 4) can mean that the UE can be requested to assume the QCL assumption of l-th PDCCH transmission in each TCI state monitoring pattern period is TCI.sub.i.);.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Kim in view of Guo in order to determine TCI state applied for PDCCH transmission based on search space parameter because it provides the User equipment the tools to monitor several neighboring cells by attempting to detect their synchronization signals and/or measuring the associated cell-specific reference signals (RSs). For next generation cellular systems such as third generation partnership-new radio access or interface (3GPP-NR), efficient and unified radio resource acquisition or tracking mechanism which works for various use cases such as enhanced mobile broadband (eMBB), ultra-reliable low latency (URLLC), massive machine type communication (mMTC), each corresponding to a different coverage requirement and frequency bands with different propagation losses is desirable (GUO [0011]).
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FADI HAJ SAID whose telephone number is (571)272-2833. The examiner can normally be reached on 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, John Follansbee can be reached on 571-272-3964. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/FADI HAJ SAID/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2444