DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 9-10, 12-13, 15-16 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xin et al. (US 20220053560 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Xin teaches a buffer report sending method (non-AP STA sharing its TXOP within its associated BSS and requests a P2P transmission during the shared TXOP by sending a P2P-BSR frame, [0217], Fig. 42), wherein the method comprises:
generating, by a non-access point multi-link device (e.g. MLD#4 and his affiliate STA4, Fig. 20), a buffer report (STA4 gains channel access 652 and sends a P2P-BSR frame 656 to the AP, [0219]), wherein the buffer report comprises a request for a duration of direct transmission performed by a first affiliated non-access point station (STA requests to share its TXOP within the BSS and requests a P2P transmission during the shared TXOP, [0220]), the first direct link is a link between a first target non-AP STA and the first affiliated non-AP STA of the non-AP MLD (The P2P transmission of STA4 is transmitted over RU3 to STA5, [0221], Fig. 20), and the first target non-AP STA and the first affiliated non-AP STA of the non-AP MLD belong to a same basic service set (BSS) (non-AP STA sharing its TXOP within its associated BSS, [0217]); and
sending, by the non-AP MLD, the buffer report to an access point multi-link device (AP MLD) on a first uplink or downlink (STA4 gains channel access 652 and sends a P2P-BSR frame 656 to the AP, [0219] and STA1 collects buffer status on Link1 by sending a BSRP 1038 and receives various BSR responses, [0265], STA 1 and STA 1′ are affiliated with AP MLD1, [0126]; Fig. 20).
Regarding claim 2, Xin teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the buffer report comprises link information, and the link information indicates the first direct link (A Frame Control field indicates the type of frame. A Duration field contains NAV information used for CSMA/CA channel access. A RA field contains an address for the recipient of the frame. A TA field contains the address of the STA that transmitted the frame, [0274]).
Regarding claim 4, Xin teaches the method according to claim 2, wherein the buffer report comprises transmission duration information, the transmission duration information indicates a first transmission duration, and the first transmission duration is the duration of direct transmission performed by the first affiliated non-AP STA of the non-AP MLD on the first direct link (A Requested time field indicates the time requested by the STA to access the channel upon receiving the TF from the A STA requests to share its TXOP within the BSS and requests a P2P transmission during the shared TXOP, [0220]).
Regarding claim 5, Xin teaches the method according to claim 2, wherein the first uplink or downlink is one of a plurality of uplinks or downlinks that are set up between the non-AP MLD and the AP MLD (AP sends a P2P TF 668 to launch multi-user UL transmissions 670, 672, 674, 676 of STA2 and STA3 and a P2P transmission 678, 680 between STA4 and STA5, [0220]).
Regarding claim 6, Xin teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the buffer report further comprises buffer type information, and the buffer type information indicates that the buffer report is a buffer report corresponding to direct transmission (FIG. 49 illustrates an example embodiment 1150 of a BSR frame of any type, including the BSR frame defined in IEEE 802.11ax, P2P-BSR, and RTA-BSR. A Frame Control field indicates the type of frame, [0273]-[0274]).
Regarding claim 7, Xin teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the buffer report does not comprise link information indicating the first direct link (see BSR frame of Fig. 13), the buffer report comprises transmission duration information that indicates a first transmission duration, and the first transmission duration is the duration of direct transmission performed by the first affiliated non-AP STA of the non-AP MLD on the first direct link (It is possible that the TXOP sharing time field in the RTF can be replaced by setting frame duration of the RTF, [0141], Fig. 55).
Regarding claim 9, Xin teaches an apparatus (MLD 10 of Fig. 19), comprising at least one processor (CPU 36) and a memory (RAM 38), wherein the memory is coupled to the at least one processor and storing programming instructions (MLD management entity 30) for execution by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to perform the following operations:
generating, a buffer report, wherein the buffer report comprises a request for a duration of direct transmission performed by a first affiliated non-access point station (non-AP STA) of the apparatus on a first direct link (STA4 gains channel access 652 and sends a P2P-BSR frame 656 to the AP, [0219]; (STA requests to share its TXOP within the BSS and requests a P2P transmission during the shared TXOP, [0220]), the first direct link is a link between a first target non-AP STA and the first affiliated non-AP STA of the apparatus (The P2P transmission of STA4 is transmitted over RU3 to STA5, [0221], Fig. 20), and the first target non-AP STA and the first affiliated non-AP STA of the apparatus belong to a same basic service set (BSS) (non-AP STA sharing its TXOP within its associated BSS, [0217]); and
sending, the buffer report to an access point multi-link device (AP MLD) on a first uplink or downlink (STA4 gains channel access 652 and sends a P2P-BSR frame 656 to the AP, [0219] and STA1 collects buffer status on Link1 by sending a BSRP 1038 and receives various BSR responses, [0265], STA 1 and STA 1′ are affiliated with AP MLD1, [0126]; Fig. 20).
Regarding claim 10, Xin teaches the apparatus according to claim 9, wherein the buffer report comprises link information, and the link information indicates the first direct link (A Frame Control field indicates the type of frame. A Duration field contains NAV information used for CSMA/CA channel access. A RA field contains an address for the recipient of the frame. A TA field contains the address of the STA that transmitted the frame, [0274]).
Regarding claim 12, Xin teaches the apparatus according to claim 9, wherein the buffer report further comprises buffer type information, and the buffer type information indicates that the buffer report is a buffer report corresponding to direct transmission (FIG. 49 illustrates an example embodiment 1150 of a BSR frame of any type, including the BSR frame defined in IEEE 802.11ax, P2P-BSR, and RTA-BSR. A Frame Control field indicates the type of frame, [0273]-[0274]).
Regarding claim 13, Xin teaches the apparatus according to claim 9, wherein the buffer report does not comprise link information indicating the first direct link (see BSR frame of Fig. 13), the buffer report comprises transmission duration information that indicates a first transmission duration, and the first transmission duration is the duration of direct transmission performed by the first affiliated non-AP STA of the apparatus on the first direct link (It is possible that the TXOP sharing time field in the RTF can be replaced by setting frame duration of the RTF, [0141], Fig. 55).
Regarding claim 15, Xin teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a computer program (MLD 10 of Fig. 19), wherein the computer program comprises instructions that, when the instructions are run, cause a computer to perform the following operations:
generating, a buffer report, wherein the buffer report comprises a request for a duration of direct transmission performed by a first affiliated non-access point station (non-AP STA) of a non-access point multi-link device (non-AP MLD) on a first direct link (STA4 gains channel access 652 and sends a P2P-BSR frame 656 to the AP, [0219]; (STA requests to share its TXOP within the BSS and requests a P2P transmission during the shared TXOP, [0220]), the first direct link is a link between a first target non-AP STA and the first affiliated non-AP STA of the non-AP MLD (The P2P transmission of STA4 is transmitted over RU3 to STA5, [0221], Fig. 20), and the first target non-AP STA and the first affiliated non-AP STA of the non-AP MLD belong to a same basic service set (BSS) (non-AP STA sharing its TXOP within its associated BSS, [0217]); and
sending, the buffer report to an access point multi-link device (AP MLD) on a first uplink or downlink (non-AP STA sharing its TXOP within its associated BSS, [0217]) (STA4 gains channel access 652 and sends a P2P-BSR frame 656 to the AP, [0219] and STA1 collects buffer status on Link1 by sending a BSRP 1038 and receives various BSR responses, [0265], STA 1 and STA 1′ are affiliated with AP MLD1, [0126]; Fig. 20).
Regarding claim 16, Xin teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 15, wherein the buffer report comprises link information, and the link information indicates the first direct link (A Frame Control field indicates the type of frame. A Duration field contains NAV information used for CSMA/CA channel access. A RA field contains an address for the recipient of the frame. A TA field contains the address of the STA that transmitted the frame, [0274]).
Regarding claim 18, Xin teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 15, wherein the buffer report further comprises buffer type information, and the buffer type information indicates that the buffer report is a buffer report corresponding to direct transmission (FIG. 49 illustrates an example embodiment 1150 of a BSR frame of any type, including the BSR frame defined in IEEE 802.11ax, P2P-BSR, and RTA-BSR. A Frame Control field indicates the type of frame, [0273]-[0274]).
Regarding claim 19, Xin teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 15, wherein the buffer report does not comprise link information indicating the first direct link (see BSR frame of Fig. 13), the buffer report comprises transmission duration information that indicates a first transmission duration, and the first transmission duration is the duration of direct transmission performed by the first affiliated non-AP STA of the non-AP MLD on the first direct link (It is possible that the TXOP sharing time field in the RTF can be replaced by setting frame duration of the RTF, [0141], Fig. 55).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 8, 11, 14, 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xin et al. (US 20220053560 A1) in view of Viger et al. (US 20230119901 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Xin teaches the method according to claim 2.
However, Xin does not teach wherein the link information is an identifier of the first direct link or a bitmap.
In an analogous art, Viger teaches wherein the link information is an identifier of the first direct link or a bitmap (The new Link field may indicate, if the stream was transitioned, a Link ID that is now servicing the stream identified by the TID field, [0182]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the p2p transmission of Xin with the link ID of Viger to provide a solution to create a peer to peer link between two STA MLDs and saving thus resources of the wireless network, such as bandwidth and response time as suggested, Viger [0017].
Regarding claim 8, Xin teaches the method according to claim 7.
However, Xin does not teach wherein an identifier of the first uplink or downlink is the same as an identifier of the first direct link.
In an analogous art, Viger teaches wherein an identifier of the first uplink or downlink is the same as an identifier of the first direct link (The new Link field may indicate, if the stream was transitioned, a Link ID that is now servicing the stream identified by the TID field, [0182]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the p2p transmission of Xin with the link ID of Viger to provide a solution to create a peer to peer link between two STA MLDs and saving thus resources of the wireless network, such as bandwidth and response time as suggested, Viger [0017].
Regarding claim 11, Xin teaches the apparatus according to claim 10.
However, Xin does not teach wherein the link information is an identifier of the first direct link or a bitmap.
In an analogous art, Viger teaches wherein the link information is an identifier of the first direct link or a bitmap (The new Link field may indicate, if the stream was transitioned, a Link ID that is now servicing the stream identified by the TID field, [0182]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the p2p transmission of Xin with the link ID of Viger to provide a solution to create a peer to peer link between two STA MLDs and saving thus resources of the wireless network, such as bandwidth and response time as suggested, Viger [0017].
Regarding claim 14, Xin teaches the apparatus according to claim 13.
However, Xin does not teach wherein an identifier of the first uplink or downlink is the same as an identifier of the first direct link.
In an analogous art, Viger teaches wherein an identifier of the first uplink or downlink is the same as an identifier of the first direct link (The new Link field may indicate, if the stream was transitioned, a Link ID that is now servicing the stream identified by the TID field, [0182]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the p2p transmission of Xin with the link ID of Viger to provide a solution to create a peer to peer link between two STA MLDs and saving thus resources of the wireless network, such as bandwidth and response time as suggested, Viger [0017].
Regarding claim 17, Xin teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 16.
However, Xin does not teach wherein the link information is an identifier of the first direct link or a bitmap.
In an analogous art, Viger teaches wherein the link information is an identifier of the first direct link or a bitmap (The new Link field may indicate, if the stream was transitioned, a Link ID that is now servicing the stream identified by the TID field, [0182]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the p2p transmission of Xin with the link ID of Viger to provide a solution to create a peer to peer link between two STA MLDs and saving thus resources of the wireless network, such as bandwidth and response time as suggested, Viger [0017].
Regarding claim 20, Xin teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 19.
However, Xin does not teach wherein an identifier of the first uplink or downlink is the same as an identifier of the first direct link.
In an analogous art, Viger teaches wherein an identifier of the first uplink or downlink is the same as an identifier of the first direct link (The new Link field may indicate, if the stream was transitioned, a Link ID that is now servicing the stream identified by the TID field, [0182]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the p2p transmission of Xin with the link ID of Viger to provide a solution to create a peer to peer link between two STA MLDs and saving thus resources of the wireless network, such as bandwidth and response time as suggested, Viger [0017].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kim (US 20230135332 A1): A method and a device are disclosed for direct communication in a wireless local area network (LAN) system. An operation method of an access point comprises the steps of: transmitting a first frame including time information of a first communication period to a first station in order to configure the first communication period; receiving, from the first station, a second frame that is a response frame to the first frame, and configuring the first communication period; and after receiving the second frame, transmitting a third frame including time information of a second communication period to a second station in order to configure the second communication period within the first communication period.
/NICOLE M LOUIS-FILS/Examiner, Art Unit 2641
/CHARLES N APPIAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2641