DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The proposed reply filed 06/17/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 11-16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0062402 (Dunn hereinafter) in view of US 2018/0163340 (Lee hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Dunn teaches a condenser dryer (Figure 3) that discloses a cabinet (Cabinet 12) defining an indoor air vent (Indoor vent at the side of AA in Figure 3 and CA/AA in Figure 4) and an external air vent (External vent at 126); a drum rotatably mounted within the cabinet (Drum 26), the drum defining a chamber for receipt of articles for drying (Chamber 25 for laundry LA), the drum being fluidly coupled to a supply duct (Supply duct 41) and a return duct (Return duct 44); a conditioning system positioned within the cabinet, wherein the conditioning system is fluidly coupled to the supply duct and the return duct to define a process air flow path and is fluidly coupled to the indoor air vent and the external air vent to define a cooling air flow path (Conditioning system 40 per ¶ 45-47); a blower fan fluidly coupled to the process air flow path for urging a flow of process air along the process air flow path (Blower 48 per ¶ 44); and a cooling air fan fluidly coupled to the cooling air flow path for urging a flow of cooling air along the cooling air flow path (Cooling air fan 100 per ¶ 46-47), wherein the cooling air fan is operable in a first mode of operation to draw the flow of cooling air in through the indoor air vent and discharge the flow of cooling air through the external air vent (Figure 3 shows the intake at AA and the discharge at 126) and in a second mode of operation to discharge the flow of cooling air through the indoor air vent (Figure 4).
Dunn is silent with respect to a second mode of operation to draw the flow of cooling air in through the external air vent and discharge the flow of cooling air through the indoor air vent.
However, Lee teaches a dryer that discloses using external air as part of a heat exchanger system (Figure 3 shows the outside air taken in at 161). The resultant combination would be such that the external air is used in the second operation mode of Dunn to draw in from 126 of Dunn and then exit the interior vent as shown in Figure 4 of Dunn, thus teaching a second mode of operation to draw the flow of cooling air in through the external air vent and discharge the flow of cooling air through the indoor air vent.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the cooling operation mode of Dunn with the teachings of Lee to allow for increased cooling of the heat exchanger system.
Regarding claim 2, Dunn’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 where the combination of Dunn and Lee would further disclose that a controller in operative communication with the cooling air fan (¶ 48-49 of Dunn discloses a controller), the controller being configured to: operate the cooling air fan in the first mode of operation (¶ 48-49 of Dunn); identify a trigger condition (¶ 48-49 details sensing a temperature); and operate the cooling air fan in the second mode of operation in response to identifying the trigger condition (¶ 48-49 of Dunn).
Regarding claim 3, Dunn’s modified teachings are described above in claim 2 where the combination of Dunn and Lee would further disclose that identifying the trigger condition comprises: obtaining at least one of an indoor temperature or an outdoor temperature (Dunn ¶ 48-49); and identifying the trigger condition based at least in part on the indoor temperature or the outdoor temperature (¶ 48-49 of Dunn).
Regarding claim 4, Dunn’s modified teachings are described above in claim 2 where the combination of Dunn and Lee would further disclose that the trigger condition is based on an outdoor temperature or a time of year (¶ 48-49 of Dunn details sensing a temperature).
Regarding claim 5, Dunn’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 where the combination of Dunn and Lee would further disclose that the indoor air vent is in fluid communication with an indoor environment (¶ 49 of Dunn).
Regarding claim 6, Dunn’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 where the combination of Dunn and Lee would further disclose that the external air vent is in fluid communication with an outdoor environment (Exterior vent 126 per ¶ 33 of Dunn).
Regarding claim 7, Dunn’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 where the combination of Dunn and Lee would further disclose that the conditioning system comprises an air-to-air heat exchanging condenser (¶ 28 of Dunn).
Regarding claim 11, Dunn’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 where the combination of Dunn and Lee would further disclose that the process air flow path is a closed loop airflow circuit (Evident of Dunn Figures 3 and 4 and ¶ 19 of Dunn).
Regarding claim 12, Dunn teaches a condenser dryer (Figure 3) with a conditioning system (40 per ¶ 28) that discloses a process air flow path comprising a supply duct (Supply duct 41) and a return duct (Return duct 44) fluidly coupled to a drum of the condenser dryer (Drum 26 per Figure 3); a cooling air flow path comprising an indoor air duct fluidly coupled to an indoor environment (Indoor vent at the side of AA in Figure 3 and CA/AA in Figure 4) and an external air duct fluidly coupled to an outdoor environment (External vent at 126 per ¶ 33); a condenser fluidly coupled to the supply duct, the return duct, the indoor air duct, and the external air duct such that the process air flow path and the cooling air flow path are in thermal communication with each other while remaining in fluid isolation (¶ 28 and Figures 3/4); and a cooling air fan fluidly coupled to the cooling air flow path for urging a flow of cooling air along the cooling air flow path (Cooling air fan 100 per ¶ 46-47), wherein the cooling air fan is operable in a first mode of operation to draw the flow of cooling air in from the indoor environment (Figure 3 shows the intake at AA and the discharge at 126) and in a second mode of operation to discharge the flow of cooling air through the indoor air vent (Figure 4).
Dunn is silent with respect to a second mode of operation to draw the flow of cooling air in from the outdoor environment.
However, Lee teaches a dryer that discloses using external air as part of a heat exchanger system (Figure 3 shows the outside air taken in at 161). The resultant combination would be such that the external air is used in the second operation mode of Dunn to draw in from 126 of Dunn and then exit the interior vent as shown in Figure 4 of Dunn, thus teaching a second mode of operation to draw the flow of cooling air in from the outdoor environment.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the cooling operation mode of Dunn with the teachings of Lee to allow for increased cooling of the heat exchanger system.
Regarding claim 13, Dunn’s modified teachings are described above in claim 12 where the combination of Dunn and Lee would further disclose that a controller in operative communication with the cooling air fan (¶ 48-49 of Dunn discloses a controller), the controller being configured to: operate the cooling air fan in the first mode of operation (¶ 48-49 of Dunn); identify a trigger condition (¶ 48-49 details sensing a temperature); and operate the cooling air fan in the second mode of operation in response to identifying the trigger condition (¶ 48-49 of Dunn).
Regarding claim 14, Dunn’s modified teachings are described above in claim 13 where the combination of Dunn and Lee would further disclose that identifying the trigger condition comprises: obtaining at least one of an indoor temperature or an outdoor temperature (Dunn ¶ 48-49); and identifying the trigger condition based at least in part on the indoor temperature or the outdoor temperature (¶ 48-49 of Dunn).
Regarding claim 15, Dunn’s modified teachings are described above in claim 13 where the combination of Dunn and Lee would further disclose that the trigger condition is based on an outdoor temperature or a time of year (¶ 48-49 of Dunn details sensing a temperature).
Regarding claim 16, Dunn’s modified teachings are described above in claim 12 where the combination of Dunn and Lee would further disclose that the conditioning system comprises an air-to-air heat exchanging condenser (¶ 28 of Dunn).
Regarding claim 20, Dunn’s modified teachings are described above in claim 12 where the combination of Dunn and Lee would further disclose that the process air flow path is a closed loop airflow circuit (Evident of Dunn Figures 3 and 4 and ¶ 19 of Dunn).
Claims 8, 9, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0062402 (Dunn) in view of US 2018/0163340 (Lee) and further in view of US 2011/0000100 (Malcher hereinafter).
Regarding claim 8, Dunn’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 but are silent with respect to a heating assembly positioned within the process air flow path for heating the flow of process air.
However, Malcher teaches a drying that discloses a heating assembly positioned within the process air flow path for heating the flow of process air (¶ 7 and Figure 1 with heater 11 in the equivalent supply duct 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the supply duct of Dunn with the heater of Malcher to ensure that the supplied air is heated to the desired temperature thus ensuring effective drying of the laundry.
Regarding claim 9, Dunn’s modified teachings are described above in claim 8 where the combination of Dunn, Lee, and Malcher would further disclose that the heating assembly comprises a resistance heater positioned within the return duct upstream of a return opening (Figure 1 of Malcher shows the heater 11 in the supply duct and when added to Dunn would be upstream of the return opening connecting 44 to 26 of Dunn).
Regarding claim 17, Dunn’s modified teachings are described above in claim 12 but are silent with respect to a heating assembly positioned within the process air flow path for heating the flow of process air.
However, Malcher teaches a drying that discloses a heating assembly positioned within the process air flow path for heating the flow of process air (¶ 7 and Figure 1 with heater 11 in the equivalent supply duct 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the supply duct of Dunn with the heater of Malcher to ensure that the supplied air is heated to the desired temperature thus ensuring effective drying of the laundry.
Regarding claim 18, Dunn’s modified teachings are described above in claim 17 where the combination of Dunn, Lee, and Malcher would further disclose that the heating assembly comprises a resistance heater positioned within the return duct upstream of a return opening (Figure 1 of Malcher shows the heater 11 in the supply duct and when added to Dunn would be upstream of the return opening connecting 44 to 26 of Dunn).
Claims 10 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0062402 (Dunn) in view of US 2018/0163340 (Lee) and further in view of US 2011/0277334 (Sangik hereinafter).
Regarding claim 10, Dunn’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 but are silent with respect that the cooling air fan is a reversible axial fan positioned within an indoor air duct or an external air duct. It should be noted that the combination of Dunn and Lee would rely on a reversible flow created by some manner.
However, Sangik teaches a dryer with a heat exchanger cooling system that discloses using a reversible axial cooling fan (¶ 112 and 117). The resultant combination would control the first operation mode and second operation mode air flows of Dunn/Lee with the reversible axial fan taught by Sangik to allow for air flow to cross the cabinet in either direction without the need for any specific channels.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the operation of the cooling fan of Dunn with the reversible aspect of Sangik to allow for easier flow path control to cool the conditioning system of Dunn.
Regarding claim 19, Dunn’s modified teachings are described above in claim 1 but are silent with respect that the cooling air fan is a reversible axial fan positioned within an indoor air duct or an external air duct. It should be noted that the combination of Dunn and Lee would rely on a reversible flow created by some manner.
However, Sangik teaches a dryer with a heat exchanger cooling system that discloses using a reversible axial cooling fan (¶ 112 and 117). The resultant combination would control the first operation mode and second operation mode air flows of Dunn/Lee with the reversible axial fan taught by Sangik to allow for air flow to cross the cabinet in either direction without the need for any specific channels.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the operation of the cooling fan of Dunn with the reversible aspect of Sangik to allow for easier flow path control to cool the conditioning system of Dunn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, Applicant argues that the combination of Dunn and Lee would lack teaching, suggestion, or motivation due to Lee teaching away from Dunn. Applicant argues that the introduction of external air as taught by Lee would render the operation of Dunn to be flawed. Dunn utilizes the heated air from cooling the compressor to supplement the heat within a house during colder months. However, the Examiner is of the position that air drawn from the outside and passing by the compressor would not only increasing the cooling effectiveness onto the compressor but that the compressor would provide ample heat to the air to prevent any undue cooling to the air within the house. Therefore, the operation of the combination of Dunn and Lee would function in materially the same way as Dunn alone and Applicant’s arguments regarding the Lee reference teaching away from Dunn are not found to be persuasive.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CONNOR J TREMARCHE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762