DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gunji (US 20200072290) in view of Pearman (US 6046672) further in view of Yankowitz (US 20240348097).
Regarding claim 1, A wheel rim device adapted to be mounted on an axle of a vehicle and to be signally connected to a host computer of a tire pressure device, and adapted for a tire pressure detector of the tire pressure device to be mounted thereon, comprising: a wheel rim body adapted to be mounted on the axle and adapted for the tire pressure detector to be mounted thereon; an electric power generating mechanism mounted to said wheel rim body and configured to be driven by said wheel rim body to rotate to generate electric power; and a tire pressure indicator mounted to said wheel rim body and including a wireless communication module, , a control module that is signally connected to said wireless communication module, and a power storage module that is electrically coupled to said electric power generating mechanism to store the electric power generated by said electric power generating mechanism, that is electrically coupled to said wireless communication module, and said control module to supply the electric power, said wireless communication module being adapted to wirelessly receive a tire pressure value signal that indicates a tire pressure value and that is transmitted by the host computer (“In the rolling bearing unit 1 for supporting wheel of this example, of the bearing portion 10, the hub 17 which is a rotating ring rotates when the wheel (tire 2 and wheel 3) rotates as the vehicle travels. The rotor 61 that is supported by and fastened to the inside end portion in the axial direction of the hub 17 relatively rotates with respect to the stator 60 that is supported by and fastened to the outer ring 16 which is a stationary ring. Due to this, the generator 11 comprising the stator 60 and the rotor 61 generates electricity. The AC voltage that is generated by the generator 11 is sent to the battery 13 via the wiring 57. The electric power stored in the battery 13 is supplied to the tire-side sensor 58a that is provided on the tire 2 and the wheel-side sensor 58b that is provided on the wheel 3 via the connector 15. The tire-side sensor 58a and the wheel-side sensor 58b detects the state quantity of the tire 2 and the wheel 3, that is, the sensors detect the tire pressure, strain of tire or wheel, the vertical force, acceleration, temperature, etc. The electric power stored in the battery 13 is also supplied to the wireless communication apparatus 12 and interface circuit 14” Gunji: paragraph 68)
The claimed a light emitting module with a plurality of light-emission modes that is connected to the control module and power storage module, said control module being configured to, after the tire pressure value signal is received, control said light emitting module to emit light in one of the light-emission modes according to the tire pressure value is not specifically disclosed by Gunji. Pearman teaches a tire pressure monitoring system that includes transmitting the tire pressure information to a visual display and displaying it using LEDs (“Dual display 92 displays the value of either pressure or temperature which value is selected by mode switch 98.1. and indicated via LED's 134.1 and 134.2” Pearman: column 7, lines 26-30). Modifying Gunji to include a visual display for displaying the tire pressure information using LEDs would increase the overall functionality of the system by providing the user with easy to understand information regarding the tire pressure. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Gunji according to Pearman.
Gunji and Pearman fail to specifically disclose the claimed LEDs being mounted to the wheel rim body. Yankowitz discloses a wheel assembly that includes a tire pressure monitoring system that includes LEDs mounted to the wheel rim (“In some implementations, the electronic components 122 can be included as part of the receiver PCB 124. The electronics in the receiver PCB 124 can include the LEDs.” Yankowitz: paragraph 27 & “FIG. 4B illustrates a vehicle wheel structure showing a wireless power receiver embedded in a vehicle's wheel rim. In some implementations, the wireless power receiver can include a receiver antenna 420A (or multiple receiver antennas) and a receiver PCB 420B. The receiver PCB 420B can include other electronics including a battery buffer and one or more LEDs. In some implementations, the LEDs and battery can be positioned at a different part of the movable wheel portion 218.” Yankowitz: paragraph 35) that can be modified by the user as desired (“The control tasks can include, for example, changing the intensity, luminosity, or brightness of the LEDs, enabling certain color LEDs or certain color configurations, and creating customized effects such as strobing with different strobe periodicity.” Yankowitz: paragraph 28). Modifying Gunji and Pearman to include LEDs in the wheel rim would increase the overall functionality of the system by providing the user with additional means to recognize potential tire-pressure issues. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Gunji and Pearman according to Yankowitz.
Regarding claim 2, The wheel rim device as claimed in claim 1, wherein said electric power generating mechanism includes a rotor module fixedly connected to said wheel rim body and electrically coupled to said tire pressure indicator, a stator module rotatable relative to said rotor module and coaxially mounted in said rotor module, and a counterweight member rotatable relative to said rotor module and fixedly and eccentrically mounted to said stator module, when said wheel rim body rotates, said rotor module being driven to rotate relative to said stator module which does not rotate along with said rotor module due to a force of gravity of said counterweight member, and generating the electric power through electromagnetic induction. (“In the rolling bearing unit 1 for supporting wheel of this example, of the bearing portion 10, the hub 17 which is a rotating ring rotates when the wheel (tire 2 and wheel 3) rotates as the vehicle travels. The rotor 61 that is supported by and fastened to the inside end portion in the axial direction of the hub 17 relatively rotates with respect to the stator 60 that is supported by and fastened to the outer ring 16 which is a stationary ring. Due to this, the generator 11 comprising the stator 60 and the rotor 61 generates electricity. The AC voltage that is generated by the generator 11 is sent to the battery 13 via the wiring 57. The electric power stored in the battery 13 is supplied to the tire-side sensor 58a that is provided on the tire 2 and the wheel-side sensor 58b that is provided on the wheel 3 via the connector 15. The tire-side sensor 58a and the wheel-side sensor 58b detects the state quantity of the tire 2 and the wheel 3, that is, the sensors detect the tire pressure, strain of tire or wheel, the vertical force, acceleration, temperature, etc. The electric power stored in the battery 13 is also supplied to the wireless communication apparatus 12 and interface circuit 14” Gunji: paragraph 68 and figures 2-6)
Regarding claim 3, The wheel rim device as claimed in claim 2, wherein said rotor module includes a housing base coaxially and fixedly connected to said wheel rim body along an axis, and a coil unit disposed in said housing base about said axis, said stator module including a rotating shaft that is coaxially mounted to said housing base and that is rotatable relative to said housing base, and a plurality of magnets that are disposed on said rotating shaft and that are angularly spaced apart from one another about said axis, when said wheel rim body rotates, said coil unit of said rotor module rotating relative to said magnets of said stator module, thereby generating the electric power, said counterweight member being fixedly and eccentrically mounted to said rotating shaft. (“In the rolling bearing unit 1 for supporting wheel of this example, of the bearing portion 10, the hub 17 which is a rotating ring rotates when the wheel (tire 2 and wheel 3) rotates as the vehicle travels. The rotor 61 that is supported by and fastened to the inside end portion in the axial direction of the hub 17 relatively rotates with respect to the stator 60 that is supported by and fastened to the outer ring 16 which is a stationary ring. Due to this, the generator 11 comprising the stator 60 and the rotor 61 generates electricity. The AC voltage that is generated by the generator 11 is sent to the battery 13 via the wiring 57. The electric power stored in the battery 13 is supplied to the tire-side sensor 58a that is provided on the tire 2 and the wheel-side sensor 58b that is provided on the wheel 3 via the connector 15. The tire-side sensor 58a and the wheel-side sensor 58b detects the state quantity of the tire 2 and the wheel 3, that is, the sensors detect the tire pressure, strain of tire or wheel, the vertical force, acceleration, temperature, etc. The electric power stored in the battery 13 is also supplied to the wireless communication apparatus 12 and interface circuit 14” Gunji: paragraph 68 and figures 2-6)
Regarding claim 4, The wheel rim device as claimed in claim 3, wherein said housing base includes a base body coaxially and fixedly mounted to said wheel rim body and having a side opening, and a side cover covering said side opening and cooperating with said base body to define an enclosed space, said coil unit being disposed in said enclosed space, said rotating shaft being rotatably mounted to said base body and said side cover. (“In the rolling bearing unit 1 for supporting wheel of this example, of the bearing portion 10, the hub 17 which is a rotating ring rotates when the wheel (tire 2 and wheel 3) rotates as the vehicle travels. The rotor 61 that is supported by and fastened to the inside end portion in the axial direction of the hub 17 relatively rotates with respect to the stator 60 that is supported by and fastened to the outer ring 16 which is a stationary ring. Due to this, the generator 11 comprising the stator 60 and the rotor 61 generates electricity. The AC voltage that is generated by the generator 11 is sent to the battery 13 via the wiring 57. The electric power stored in the battery 13 is supplied to the tire-side sensor 58a that is provided on the tire 2 and the wheel-side sensor 58b that is provided on the wheel 3 via the connector 15. The tire-side sensor 58a and the wheel-side sensor 58b detects the state quantity of the tire 2 and the wheel 3, that is, the sensors detect the tire pressure, strain of tire or wheel, the vertical force, acceleration, temperature, etc. The electric power stored in the battery 13 is also supplied to the wireless communication apparatus 12 and interface circuit 14” Gunji: paragraph 68 and figures 2-6)
Regarding claim 5, The wheel rim device as claimed in claim 4, wherein said rotating shaft has a mounting end portion protruding out of said side cover, said counterweight member being fixedly and eccentrically mounted to said mounting end portion and being located outside said housing base. (“In the rolling bearing unit 1 for supporting wheel of this example, of the bearing portion 10, the hub 17 which is a rotating ring rotates when the wheel (tire 2 and wheel 3) rotates as the vehicle travels. The rotor 61 that is supported by and fastened to the inside end portion in the axial direction of the hub 17 relatively rotates with respect to the stator 60 that is supported by and fastened to the outer ring 16 which is a stationary ring. Due to this, the generator 11 comprising the stator 60 and the rotor 61 generates electricity. The AC voltage that is generated by the generator 11 is sent to the battery 13 via the wiring 57. The electric power stored in the battery 13 is supplied to the tire-side sensor 58a that is provided on the tire 2 and the wheel-side sensor 58b that is provided on the wheel 3 via the connector 15. The tire-side sensor 58a and the wheel-side sensor 58b detects the state quantity of the tire 2 and the wheel 3, that is, the sensors detect the tire pressure, strain of tire or wheel, the vertical force, acceleration, temperature, etc. The electric power stored in the battery 13 is also supplied to the wireless communication apparatus 12 and interface circuit 14” Gunji: paragraph 68 and figures 2-6)
Claim(s) 6, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gunji in view of Pearman further in view of Yankowitz and further in view of Neil (US 20150154836).
Regarding claim 6, The wheel rim device as claimed in claim 1, wherein said control module is configured to control said light emitting module to emit the light in different levels of brightness according to the tire pressure value is not specifically disclosed by Gunji, Pearman and Yankowitz. Neil teaches an LED indicator that changes in brightness based on status (“The separate PWM values permit the brightness to be adjusted for each LED 335, 336, and 337 individually” Neil: paragraph 65 & “The apparatus includes a first visual indicator that indicates a status of a first activity, a second visual indicator that indicate a status of a second activity, and a control circuit adjusting an intensity for the first visual indicator when the first visual indicator is illuminated in response to the status of the first activity and adjusting an intensity for the second visual indicator when the second visual indicator is illuminated in response to the status of the second activity” Neil: abstract). Modifying Gunji, Pearman and Yankowitz to include intensity-based indications for the tire pressure would increase the flexibility of the system by providing the user with additional means to customize how indications are provided. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Gunji, Pearman and Yankowitz according to Neil.
Regarding claim 8, The wheel rim device as claimed in claim 1, wherein said control module is configured to control said light emitting module to intermittently emit the light at different frequencies according to the tire pressure value. (“The separate PWM values permit the brightness to be adjusted for each LED 335, 336, and 337 individually” Neil: paragraph 65 & “The apparatus includes a first visual indicator that indicates a status of a first activity, a second visual indicator that indicate a status of a second activity, and a control circuit adjusting an intensity for the first visual indicator when the first visual indicator is illuminated in response to the status of the first activity and adjusting an intensity for the second visual indicator when the second visual indicator is illuminated in response to the status of the second activity” Neil: abstract)
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gunji in view of Pearman further in view of Yankowitz and further in view of Petrucelli (US 7889064).
Regarding claim 7, The wheel rim device as claimed in claim 1, wherein said control module is configured to control said light emitting module to emit the light in different colors according to the tire pressure value is not specifically disclosed by Gunji, Pearman and Yankowitz. Petrucelli teaches a tire pressure monitoring system that provides indications of the tire pressure using different colors (“A first output type may provide an indication that the pressure is acceptable, and may be in the nature of, by way of example, activation of a green LED, activation of a multi-color LED to provide a green output, or activation of a lamp to provide a continuous light or an on/off pattern, any one of which may be understood by a user to indicate an acceptable pressure value. If the result of the comparison is that the measured value is greater than the second threshold, then the process flow proceeds to activating a second output type of the emitter, as indicated by block 926. A second output type may provide an indication that the pressure represents a significant overpressurization, and may be in the nature of, by way of example, activation of a blue LED, activation of a multi-color LED to provide a blue output, or activation of a lamp to provide a continuous light or an on/off pattern, any one of which may be understood by a user to indicate a significant overpressurization, requiring a reduction in pressure” Petrucelli: column 9, lines 43-50). Modifying Gunji, Pearman and Yankowitz to include color-based indications for the tire pressure would increase the flexibility of the system by providing the user with additional means to customize how indications are provided. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Gunji, Pearman and Yankowitz according to Petrucelli.
Claim(s) 9, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gunji in view of Pearman further in view of Yankowitz and further in view of Thomas (US 4761577).
Regarding claim 9, The wheel rim device as claimed in claim 1, further comprising a decorative cover that is mounted to said wheel rim body and that covers said electric power generating mechanism is not specifically disclosed by Gunji, Pearman and Yankowitz. Thomas teaches a wheel-based power generating mechanism with a transparent cover (“The apparatus of claim 10 wherein said cup-shaped housing cover is at least partially transparent.” Thomas: claim 11, “The generator consists of a stator 37 which is fixed relative to yoke 25 and a rotor, inside of the stator, having a projecting rotating shaft 39, extending through locking bracket 35. A rotary member 41 may be a wheel with a rubber rim which is intended to make contact with the circumferential periphery 44 of housing base 15. The base may incorporate a race or rim or shoulder for contact with the rotary member, although this is not necessary. The shoulder may have about the same width as the wheel or be slightly wider. A round circuit board 43 is also supported by yoke 25, to take advantage of radial space not occupied by the generator 33. The generator has output electrical wires 45 which feed power to circuit board 43. The circuit board carries an electrical utilization circuit, using power from the generator 33, carried along lines 45, to perform a useful function such as illumination of lamps 47. Other circuits described below may also be mounted on the board and components 46 are associated with the various circuits. If cup-shaped housing lid 23 is transparent, light from lamps 47 may be seen through the housing.” Thomas: column 2, lines 39-59, and figures 1 & 2). Modifying Gunji, Pearman and Yankowitz to include a transparent housing cover would increase the overall flexibility of the system by providing the user with additional cosmetic means. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Gunji, Pearman and Yankowitz according to Thomas.
Regarding claim 10, The wheel rim device as claimed in claim 1, wherein said wheel rim body has a side surface recessed with an installation space, said wheel rim device further comprising a decorative plate that is light transmissive, that is mounted to said wheel rim body and that covers said installation space, said light emitting module being disposed in said installation space. (“The apparatus of claim 10 wherein said cup-shaped housing cover is at least partially transparent.” Thomas: claim 11, “The generator consists of a stator 37 which is fixed relative to yoke 25 and a rotor, inside of the stator, having a projecting rotating shaft 39, extending through locking bracket 35. A rotary member 41 may be a wheel with a rubber rim which is intended to make contact with the circumferential periphery 44 of housing base 15. The base may incorporate a race or rim or shoulder for contact with the rotary member, although this is not necessary. The shoulder may have about the same width as the wheel or be slightly wider. A round circuit board 43 is also supported by yoke 25, to take advantage of radial space not occupied by the generator 33. The generator has output electrical wires 45 which feed power to circuit board 43. The circuit board carries an electrical utilization circuit, using power from the generator 33, carried along lines 45, to perform a useful function such as illumination of lamps 47. Other circuits described below may also be mounted on the board and components 46 are associated with the various circuits. If cup-shaped housing lid 23 is transparent, light from lamps 47 may be seen through the housing.” Thomas: column 2, lines 39-59, and figures 1 & 2).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) above have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/TRAVIS R HUNNINGS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2689