DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Japan on February 22, 2023. It is noted that applicant has filed a certified copy on February 19, 2024 of the Japanese Patent Application JP 2023-025829 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Claims
Claims 1, 4-10, 13-16 and 18 are currently pending and have been considered below. Claims 1, 4, 6, 8, 10, 13, 15 and 18 have been amended and claims 2-3, 11-12, 17 and 19-20 have been cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 8, filed February 3, 2026, with respect to USC 112 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 15 and 18 have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments with respect to USC 101 has been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues on pages 8-9 that the claim limitation “output … at a time that is determined based on a combination of appropriateness and immediacy … to increase a probability of the user accepting an intervention measure” is a practical application of the abstract idea. Examiner disagrees. The Examiner finds that, as currently claimed, these limitations are expressed at a high level of generality and describe functional results or desired outcomes (e.g., “increase a probability of the user accepting an intervention measure”) rather than concrete technical means. The claims recite generic components (sensor, processor, notification outputs) performing routine functions without reciting how the claimed “appropriateness” and “immediacy” computations are specifically performed in a manner that improves device operation or solves a technical problem. Merely reciting the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(f) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application. Also, adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(g) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application. Finally, Applicant argues on page 9 that “This leads to promotion of a behavior of the user based on the notification, such as improvement of acceptability of an intervention measure based on the notification”. This improvement is not in the functioning of a computer, or an improvement to other technology or technical field but rather it is an improvement to the abstract idea of collecting data, analyzing it, and notifying a user based on the analysis.
Applicant's arguments with respect to USC 103 has been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues on pages 9-10 that Condie and Sundaram do not teach “output, based on a determination that the user is to be notified, a notification including at least one of a display on a screen, a vibration or a sound, wherein the notification is output to the user at a time that is determined based on a combination of appropriateness and immediacy of the notification to increase a probability of the user accepting an intervention measure.” Examiner disagrees. A new rejection of claims 1, 4-10, 13-16 and 18 will be presented below where it will be shown that Condie in view of Sundaram teach the limitations of claim 1. As will be seen below, Condie teaches “determine, based on the notification score, whether to notify the user of the event” and “output, based on a determination that the user is to be notified, a notification including at least one of a display on a screen, a vibration or a sound” in paragraphs 51 and 64 while Sundaram teaches “wherein the notification is output to the user at a time that is determined based on a combination of appropriateness and immediacy of the notification to increase a probability of the user accepting an intervention measure” in column 9, lines 64-67, column 10, lines 1-8 and 40-60 and column 22, lines 20-34.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The terms “appropriateness” and “immediacy” as seen in claims 1 and 10 are relative terms which renders the claim indefinite. The terms “appropriateness” and “immediacy” are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Dependent claims 4-9, 13-16 and 18 are rejected as being dependent on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 4-10, 13-16 and 18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1
In the instant case, claims 1 and 4-9 are directed to a device (i.e. a machine) while claims 10, 13-16 and 18 are directed to a method (i.e. processes). Thus, each of the claims falls within one of the four statutory categories. Nevertheless, the claims fall within the judicial exception of an abstract idea.
Step 2A- Prong 1
Independent claims 1 and 10 recites steps that, under their broadest reasonable interpretations, cover Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity, e.g. managing personal behavior, or relationships, or interactions between people. Specifically, claim 10 recites:
receiving, by a processor, biological measurement data of a user from a plurality of biological measurement sensors and situation expression data expressing a situation of the user;
evaluating, by a processor, based on the biological measurement data, an event score indicating a degree to which confirmation or an intervention behavior is to be performed by the user regarding an event that occurred with the user;
evaluating, by a processor, based on the situation expression data, a situation score indicating a degree of a situation in which the user easily performs a behavior regarding a notification;
calculating, by a processor, based on the event score and the situation score, a notification score indicating a degree of appropriateness to notify the user of occurrence of the event, and outputting the notification score
determining, based on the notification score, whether to notify the user of the event; and
outputting, based on a determination that the user is to be notified, a notification including at least one of a display on a screen, a vibration or a sound, wherein the notification is output to the user at a time that is determined based on a combination of appropriateness and immediacy of the notification to increase a probability of the user accepting an intervention measure.
But for the recitation of generic computer components like a processor, biological measurement sensors, heartbeat sensor (claim 1), electrodermal sensor (claim 1) and movement sensor (claim 1) these functions, when considered as a whole, describe a medical diagnostic interaction that could take place between various human entities of a patient's care team, e.g. the patient and one or more medical professionals. For example, a patient could provide biological measurement data and situation expression data related to a medical condition to a clinician during an appointment or other interaction, and the clinician might analyze the received information and other known healthcare information to make a diagnostic decision such as a list of potential diagnoses for the patient with associated degrees of urgency, severity, risk, etc. They can then notify the patient based on the information a certain way to improve the chances of the patient accepting the intervention measure. Thus, claim 10 recites an abstract idea, as does claim 1 which recites substantially similar subject matter.
Dependent claims 4-9 inherit the limitations that recite an abstract idea from their dependence on claim 1, and dependent claims 13-16 and 18 inherit the limitations that recite an abstract idea from their dependence on claim 10 and thus these claims also recite an abstract idea under the Step 2A - Prong 1 analysis.
Claim 8 specifies that based on a score, the clinician may or may not disclose to the patient information.
Claims 4 and 13 specify showing or displaying results to a patient.
Claims 5-7 specify the time frames being reviewed.
Claims 9 and 14 further limits that types of data being collected.
Claims 15 and 18 further limit a notification based on the probability of the user being able to respond to it.
Claim 16 further limit the appropriateness of timing at which to notify a user of an event.
However, recitation of an abstract idea is not the end of the analysis. Each of the claims must be analyzed for additional elements that indicate the abstract idea is integrated into a practical application to determine whether the claim is considered to be “directed to” an abstract idea.
Step 2A- Prong 2
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The additional elements of claims 1, 4-10, 13-16 and 18 include a processor, a memory storing a program, biological measurement sensors, heartbeat sensor, electrodermal sensor and movement sensor to perform the various functions/steps.
These additional elements, when considered in the context of each claim as a whole, merely serve to automate interactions and behavior that could occur between and by human actors (as described above), and thus amount to implementation of an abstract idea on generic computer components. For example, various entities of a patient care team can interact to share information, make diagnostic decisions, and output data. The processor, a memory storing a program, biological measurement sensors, heartbeat sensor, electrodermal sensor and movement sensor, merely digitizes these otherwise-abstract functions, and thus these generic computer elements amount to mere instructions to apply the abstract idea on a computer (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The judicial exception recited in dependent claims 4-9, 13-16 and 18 is also not integrated into a practical application under a similar analysis as above. Although, additional elements processor, memory storing a program, and biological measurement sensors are seen in claims 4-9, 13-16 and 18, they also amount to using generic computer elements to apply an abstract idea on a computer (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Accordingly, the additional elements of claims 1, 4-10, 13-16 and 18 do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Claims 1, 4-10, 13-16 and 18 are directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of the various units of the healthcare device used to perform the receiving, evaluating, calculating and outputting, etc. steps of the invention amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). As evidence of the generic nature of the above recited additional elements, Examiner notes at least paragraphs 48 and 53 of Applicant’s specification, which describe the healthcare device and its associated components in terms of known types of computing devices such as a smart phone and smart watch. These disclosures do not indicate that the elements of the invention are particular machines and provide generic examples of computer hardware, such that one of ordinary skilled the art would understand that any generic computing device could be used to implement the healthcare device. Further, the combination of these additional elements is not expanded upon in the specification as a unique arrangement and as such relies on the knowledge of one of ordinary skill in the art to understand the combination of components within a computer system as a well-known and generic combination for automating an abstract idea that could otherwise be performed as a certain method of organizing human activity and thus do not provide an inventive concept.
Analyzing these additional elements as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when considering the elements individually; the overall effect of the electronic implementation, the processor, a memory storing a program, biological measurement sensors, heartbeat sensor, electrodermal sensor and movement sensor in combination is to digitize and/or automate a health data sharing and medical diagnosis operation that could otherwise be achieved as a certain method of organizing human activity. Thus, when considered as a whole and in combination, claims 1, 4-10, 13-16 and 18 are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-10, 13-16 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Condie et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication 2020/0090812 (see attached PTO-892, Ref. A) in view of Sundaram et al., U.S. Patent 11,672,477 (see attached PTO-892, Ref. F).
As per claim 1, Condie teaches a biological measurement data processing device comprising:
a plurality of biological measurement sensors configured to obtain biological measurements of a user including at least one of a heartbeat sensor, electrodermal sensor, or a movement sensor (see paragraph 49);
a memory storing a program (see Figure 11 and paragraphs 94-102); and
a processor configured to execute the program (see Figure 11 and paragraphs 94-102), which when executed causes the processor to
receive biological measurement data of the user and situation expression data expressing a situation of the user, including at least one of a heartbeat sensor, an electrodermal sensor, or a movement sensor (see paragraph 40, mental health module, 102 and paragraph 49, user's smart watch or other wearable sensor, and data from sensors such as sleep apnea devices);
evaluate, based on the biological measurement data, an event score indicating a degree to which confirmation or an intervention behavior is to be performed by the user regarding an event that occurred with the user (see paragraphs 41, heart rate data, bp data and paragraph 84);
evaluate, based on the situation expression data, a situation score indicating a degree of a situation in which the user easily performs a behavior regarding a notification (see paragraph 42, ratings); and
calculate, based on the event score and the situation score, a notification score expressing a degree of appropriateness to notify the user of occurrence of the event, and output the notification score (see paragraph 58, overall health score and paragraphs 63-65)
determine, based on the notification score, whether to notify the user of the event (see paragraph 64); and
output, based on a determination that the user is to be notified, a notification including at least one of a display on a screen, a vibration or a sound (see paragraphs 51).
Examiner notes that although Condie discloses the above limitations, Condie does not use the same terminology as seen in claims 1, 4-10, 13-16 and 18 of instant application. Condie also discloses health data which is equivalent to biological measurement data of a user and rating that include metrics which is equivalent to situation expression data expressing a situation of the user. Also, an event score or situation score is similar to Condie’s rating while the notification score is equivalent to overall health score.
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Condie because simple substitution of one known element or term for another to obtain predictable results will help individuals control their overall health and wellbeing by recording data, seeing historical trends and receiving predictions and advice as taught by Condie (see paragraph 24).
Sundaram teaches wherein the notification is output to the user at a time that is determined based on a combination of appropriateness and immediacy of the notification to increase a probability of the user accepting an intervention measure (see column 9, lines 64-67, column 10, lines 1-8 and 40-60 and column 22, lines 20-34).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Condie and Sundaram to determine the probability if a user confirms a notification and responds to it because it would help individuals control their overall health and wellbeing as taught Condie (see paragraph 6).
As per claim 4, Condie and Sundaram teach the device of claim 1. Condie further teaches wherein the program further causes the processor to display, on a terminal used by the user, at least one of the notification score calculated by the notification score evaluation unit and the event score evaluated by the event score evaluation unit as the notification indicating occurrence of the event (see Figure 7, “Overall Score”, and paragraph 74).
As per claim 5, Condie and Sundaram teach the device of claim 1. Condie further teaches wherein
the processor evaluates the event score up to a time point t (see paragraph 74-75, The user may request any suitable graph that may compare different metrics against each other, may compare metrics over time),
evaluates the situation score up to a time point (t + T) that is a time point after the time point t by a time T (see paragraph 74-75, The user may request any suitable graph that may compare different metrics against each other, may compare metrics over time), and
calculates the notification score up to the time point (t + T) based on the event score up to the time point t and the situation score up to the time point (t + T) (see paragraph 74-75, The user may request any suitable graph that may compare different metrics against each other, may compare metrics over time).
As per claim 6, Condie and Sundaram teach the device of claim 1. Condie further teaches wherein
among a plurality of the notification scores calculated at a plurality of time points, the processor sets the notification scores whose calculation time points are within a predetermined time range as a group of notification scores, and performs the notification determination based on the group of notification scores (see paragraph 74-75, The user may request any suitable graph that may compare different metrics against each other, may compare metrics over time…It should be appreciated that the system can generate any suitable reports or graphs that are beneficial to the user in different implementations… This allows the user to identify trends in their moods and emotions and allows the user to preemptively take actions that might be needed as the user experiences trials and stressful experiences), and
collectively outputs a plurality of notifications indicating occurrence of the event based on a result of the notification determination (see paragraph 74-75, The user may request any suitable graph that may compare different metrics against each other, may compare metrics over time…It should be appreciated that the system can generate any suitable reports or graphs that are beneficial to the user in different implementations… This allows the user to identify trends in their moods and emotions and allows the user to preemptively take actions that might be needed as the user experiences trials and stressful experiences).
As per claim 7, Condie and Sundaram teach the device of claim 1. Condie further teaches wherein the processor discretizes the situation expression data in any period of time by a predetermined time width, and stores the discretized situation expression data as a code string of a behavior pattern in the period of time (see paragraphs 74-75).
As per claim 8, Condie and Sundaram teach the device of claim 1. Condie further teaches wherein the processor determines at least one of an information amount to be presented and a response amount required for the user in the notification output based on predetermined setting (see paragraphs 65-66).
As per claim 9, Condie and Sundaram teach the device of claim 1. Condie further teaches wherein the event that occurred with the user is a change or an abnormality in a subjective condition of the user, and the subjective condition is a physical and mental condition felt by the user (see paragraph 65, In an example, the trigger event is the user indicating that the user's diet has been poor for a time period. The user may specify this trigger event and indicate that the system should reach out to the user's dietician to request a communication from the dietician, an updated meal plan, and so forth).
As per claim 10, Condie teaches:
receiving, by a processor, biological measurement data of a user from a plurality of biological measurement sensors and situation expression data expressing a situation of the user (see paragraphs 40-41, mental health module, 102);
evaluating, by the processor, based on the biological measurement data, an event score indicating a degree to which confirmation or an intervention behavior is to be performed by the user regarding an event that occurred with the user (see paragraphs 41, heart rate data, bp data and paragraph 84);
evaluating, by the processor, based on the situation expression data, a situation score indicating a degree of a situation in which the user easily performs a behavior regarding a notification (see paragraph 42, ratings); and
calculating, by the processor, based on the event score and the situation score, a notification score indicating a degree of appropriateness to notify the user of occurrence of the event, and outputting the notification score (see paragraph 58, overall health score and paragraphs 63-65);
determining, based on the notification score, whether to notify the user of the event (see paragraph 64); and
outputting, based on a determination that the user is to be notified, a notification including at least one of a display on a screen, a vibration or a sound (see paragraphs 51).
Examiner notes that although Condie discloses the above limitations, Condie does not use the same terminology as seen in claims 1, 4-10, 13-16 and 18 of instant application. Condie also discloses health data which is equivalent to biological measurement data of a user and rating that include metrics which is equivalent to situation expression data expressing a situation of the user. Also, an event score or situation score is similar to Condie’s rating while the notification score is equivalent to overall health score.
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Condie because simple substitution of one known element or term for another to obtain predictable results will help individuals control their overall health and wellbeing by recording data, seeing historical trends and receiving predictions and advice as taught by Condie (see paragraph 24).
Sundaram teaches wherein the notification is output to the user at a time that is determined based on a combination of appropriateness and immediacy of the notification to increase a probability of the user accepting an intervention measure (see column 9, lines 64-67, column 10, lines 1-8 and 40-60 and column 22, lines 20-34).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Condie and Sundaram to determine the probability if a user confirms a notification and responds to it because it would help individuals control their overall health and wellbeing as taught Condie (see paragraph 6).
As per claim 13, Condie and Sundaram teach the method of claim 10. Condie further teaches a result display step of displaying, on a terminal used by the user, at least one of the notification score calculated in the notification score evaluation step and the event score evaluated in the event score evaluation step as the notification indicating occurrence of the event (see Figure 7, “Overall Score”, and paragraph 74).
As per claim 14, Condie and Sundaram teach the method of claim 10. Condie further teaches wherein the event that occurred with the user is a change or an abnormality in a subjective condition of the user, and the subjective condition is a physical and mental condition felt by the user (see paragraph 65, In an example, the trigger event is the user indicating that the user's diet has been poor for a time period. The user may specify this trigger event and indicate that the system should reach out to the user's dietician to request a communication from the dietician, an updated meal plan, and so forth).
As per claim 15, Condie and Sundaram teach the device of claim 1. Sundaram further teaches wherein the degree of the situation in which the user easily performs the behavior regarding the notification is a probability that the user can confirm the notification and respond to it.
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Condie and Sundaram to determine the probability if a user confirms a notification and responds it because it would help individuals control their overall health and wellbeing as taught Condie (see paragraph 6).
As per claim 16, Condie and Sundaram teach the device of claim 1. Sundaram further teaches wherein the degree of appropriateness to notify the user of occurrence of the event indicates a timing at which to notify the user of the event.
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Condie and Sundaram to notify the user of occurrence of the event indicates a timing at which to notify the user of the event because it would help individuals control their overall health and wellbeing as taught Condie (see paragraph 6).
As per claim 18, Condie teaches the method of claim 10. Sundaram further teaches wherein the degree of the situation in which the user easily performs the behavior regarding the notification is a probability that the user can confirm the notification and respond to it.
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Condie and Sundaram to determine the probability if a user confirms a notification and responds it because it would help individuals control their overall health and wellbeing as taught Condie (see paragraph 6).
Conclusion
/Shahid Merchant/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3684