DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the cross-sectional polygonal shape (optional shape of claim 9) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7, 911-13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Strutt et al. (2019/0008349).
Regarding claim 1, Strutt discloses a cleaning device comprising: a suction device (motor-driven fan, not shown, disclosed in paragraph 64) configured to suck in a pollutant from a surface to be cleaned; and a main body (8) configured to collect the pollutant sucked in through the suction device, wherein the suction device includes: a rotatable drum (24) rotatable around an axis and having a hollow portion, a driving motor (34) disposed in the hollow portion of the rotatable drum and configured to apply a rotational force to the rotatable drum to rotate the rotatable drum around the axis, a rotatable chamber (within sleeves 116 and 118) surrounding the driving motor and disposed between the rotatable drum and the driving motor, the rotatable chamber rotatable coaxially with the axis, and a cooling fluid discharge hole (132 in Fig. 10) at a first end of the rotatable chamber to discharge the cooling fluid to an outside of the rotatable chamber.
Regarding claim 2, Strutt further discloses a cooling fluid passage (90) extending from a second end of the rotatable chamber opposite the first end of the rotatable chamber to the cooling fluid discharge hole so that the cooling fluid moves from the second end of the rotatable chamber to the first end of the rotatable chamber when a suction force is applied to the suction device.
Regarding claim 3, Strutt further discloses that the driving motor includes an outer surface, the rotatable chamber includes an inner surface, and the rotatable chamber is spaced apart from the driving motor so as to form a heat dissipation portion (gap 128 in Fig. 7) between the outer surface of the driving motor and the inner surface of the rotatable chamber through which the cooling fluid moves.
Regarding claim 4, Strutt further discloses that the cooling fluid is air.
Regarding claim 5, Strutt further discloses that a cross section of the rotatable chamber in a plane perpendicular to a direction the axis extends, has a circular shape (seen in Figs. 6-8), and the cooling fluid discharge hole includes a plurality of cooling fluid discharge holes (132) spaced apart from each other by a predetermined distance (any distance reads on a predetermined distance) in a circumferential direction of the circular shape (Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 7, Strutt further discloses a cross section of the rotatable chamber in a plane perpendicular to a direction the axis extends, has a circular shape (Figs. 6-8), and the cooling fluid discharge hole is spaced apart from a central portion of the circular shape by a first distance in a radial direction of the circular shape.
Regarding claim 9, Strutt further discloses a cross section of the rotatable chamber in a plane perpendicular to a direction the axis extends, has a circular shape (Figs. 6-8).
Regarding claim 11, Strutt further discloses the driving motor and the rotatable chamber are configured to be sequentially inserted into the hollow portion of the rotatable drum (process of assembly is considered to be a product-by-process limitation, wherein the structure of Strutt would be equivalent to the structure disclosed, regardless of what order the parts are inserted, or whether the parts are inserted simultaneously), the driving motor is configured to transmit the rotational force to the rotatable chamber, and the rotatable chamber is configured to transmit the rotational force to the rotatable drum.
Regarding claim 12, Strutt further discloses a cooling fluid inlet portion (108) at an end of the rotatable drum through which the cooling fluid is introduced into the rotatable drum when a suction force is applied to the suction device.
Regarding claim 13, Strutt further discloses a cooling fluid outlet (132) portion at an end of the rotatable drum to discharge the cooling fluid to an outside of the rotatable drum when a suction force is applied to the suction device
Regarding claim 15, Strutt further discloses a brush extending a predetermined length from an outer circumferential surface of the rotatable drum (paragraph 65).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strutt et al. (2019/0008349).
Regarding claim 6, although Strutt fails to disclose specific size of the cooling fluid discharge holes (132) or specific spacing, it would be understood to anyone of ordinary skill in the art, as a basic engineering principle, that the size of apertures through which air will flow will be result effective to the resulting airflow (i.e. smaller holes may reduce overall airflow, while larger will increase airflow therethrough). Further, MPEP 2144.04, section IV-A, states that:
“where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device”
Therefore, the specific range of sizes for the discharge holes would be obvious over the prior art based on MPEP 2144.04, with the discharge holes of Strutt providing the same function as the discharge holes of the current application, and further obvious to vary the size to vary the resulting airflow therethrough and to vary the size depending on the overall scale of the cleaner of Strutt as a whole. Further, regarding the spacing of the discharge holes, Strutt shows two holes adjacent to one another (approximately within the claimed spacing of 10+ degrees), with additional adjacent holes being spaced substantially further, and clearly falling within the range of 10-180 degrees.
Regarding claim 8, although Strutt fails to disclose the specific spacing of the discharge hole from the central portion of the circular cross-sectional shape, again MPEP 2144.04 makes obvious variation of size, wherein the spacing of the holes (132) from a central portion would obviously vary depending on the overall diameter of the rotatable drum and cleaner as a whole. Further, the term “central portion” is not limited to the absolute center of the circular shape, wherein any portion extending from the center may be considered a central portion, including any portion spaced between 5-25mm from the discharge holes, such that the structure disclosed by Strutt may be considered to read on the claimed range based on the broad definition of the term “central portion”.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strutt et al. (2019/0008349), as applied to claim 1 and in view of Gordon et al. (2017/0000305).
Regarding claim 10, Strutt fails to disclose any specific speed that the drum is configured to rotate. However, it is very well known in the art that cleaning brush drums may rotate at a range of different speeds, depending on application, and Gordon discloses a similar suction cleaner with a brush drum, and teaches that the motor for the drum is preferably capable of speeds between 1000-5000 RPM, of 2000-4000 RPM (paragraph 43). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to configure the motor and drum of Strutt to rotate at similar speeds, being known in the art to be desirable for similar cleaning functions. Note: the limitation that the drum is configured to rotate at the claimed speeds is not understood to require any specific structure for the drum, but would be more dependent on the motor. Thus, the claim is being interpreted to claim that the drum and motor are configured to rotate at the claimed speeds.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strutt et al. (2019/0008349), as applied to claim 1 and in view of Syverson et al. (6,848,147).
Regarding claim 14, Strutt fails to disclose a PCB board within a chamber of the drum. Syverson discloses a similar internally driven brush drum for a cleaning device, and teaches that a PCB may optionally be provided with the motor inside the interior of the drum (Col. 6, lines 12-28). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to optionally provide a PCB for controlling the drum motor of Strutt, within the internal chamber of the drum to allow the cooling air to also cool the PCB, wherein the two options would be within portions of the drum that are either upstream or downstream of the motor, such that the upstream option would provide the PCB within a chamber surrounding the PCB and disposed between the rotatable drum and the PCB, with the PCB chamber being rotatable coaxially with the axis.
Conclusion
/BRYAN R MULLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723 31 January 2026