DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-6, 8-15, and 17-20 are pending. Claims 1, 8, 11, and 17 have been amended. Claims 7 and 16 have been canceled. By virtue of dependency, the depending claims 2-6, 8-10, 12-15 and 17-20 are also amended in scope.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-6, 8-15, and 17-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: expansion device in claims 3-4 and 14-15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8-9, 11-14, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akiike (5,052,189) in view of Trask (3,529,659).
Regarding Claim 1: Akiike teaches a reversible heat pump refrigeration system (title, via valve 4) comprising: a refrigeration loop (see Figure 12) comprising an outdoor heat exchanger (5) and an indoor heat exchanger (61/60); a valve body (body of 4) fluidly coupled to the refrigeration loop (see Figure 12), the valve body (body of 4) comprising: a valve inlet and a valve outlet (see 4 in Figure 12); and a first port and a second port (see 4 in Figure 12); a compressor (1) having a suction side fluidly coupled to the valve outlet and a pressure side fluidly coupled to the valve inlet (the refrigeration loop of Figure 12 is closed loop); and a bypass fluid path (line 27), wherein: the valve outlet (see 4 in Figure 12) includes a heat exchanger (6) having a first connection (line into 6) and a second connection (line out of 6); and the bypass fluid path (line 27) extends directly between the first connection and the second connection (see Figure 12) whereby fluid is permitted to flow through the bypass fluid path (line 27) directly from one of the first connection or the second connection to the other of the first connection or the second connection to bypass the heat exchanger (6).
Akiike fails to teach a shuttle selectively movable in the valve body between a first position and a second position.
Trask teaches a shuttle (7) selectively movable in a valve body (body of 4) between a first position and a second position (Column 3, lines 20-27).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a shuttle selectively movable in the valve body between a first position and a second position to the structure of Akiike as taught by Trask in order to advantageously close and open valve pathways depending on operation mode (see Trask, Column 3, lines 20-27).
Regarding Claim 2: Akiike further teaches wherein: the outdoor heat exchanger (5) is fluidly coupled to the refrigeration loop (see Figure 12) between the first port (the refrigeration loop of Figure 12 is closed loop) and the first connection (line into 6); and the indoor heat exchanger (61/60) is fluidly coupled to the refrigeration loop (see Figure 12) between the second port and the second connection (line out of 6, the refrigeration loop of Figure 12 is closed loop).
Regarding Claim 3: Akiike further teaches further comprising an expansion device (8) fluidly coupled to the refrigeration loop (the refrigeration loop of Figure 12 is closed loop) between the second connection (line out of 6) and the indoor heat exchanger (61/60).
Regarding Claim 5: Akiike teaches wherein: the shuttle in the first position fluidly couples the first port with the valve outlet and fluidly couples the valve inlet with the second port.
Trask further teaches wherein: a shuttle (7) in a first position fluidly couples a first port with a valve outlet and fluidly couples a valve inlet with a second port (see Figure 1, Column 3, lines 20-27).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein: the shuttle in the first position fluidly couples the first port with the valve outlet and fluidly couples the valve inlet with the second port to the structure of Akiike as taught by Trask in order to advantageously close and open valve pathways depending on operation mode (see Trask, Column 3, lines 20-27).
Regarding Claim 6: Akiike fails to teaches wherein: the shuttle in the second position fluidly couples the valve outlet with the second port and fluidly couples the valve inlet with the first port.
Trask further teaches wherein: a shuttle (7) in a second position fluidly couples a valve outlet with a second port and fluidly couples a valve inlet with a first port (Column 3, lines 20-27).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein: the shuttle in the second position fluidly couples the valve outlet with the second port and fluidly couples the valve inlet with the first port to the structure of Akiike as taught by Trask in order to advantageously close and open valve pathways depending on operation mode (see Trask, Column 3, lines 20-27).
Regarding Claim 8: Akiike teaches further comprising a check valve (9) in the bypass fluid path (line 27).
Regarding Claim 9: Akiike teaches wherein: the check valve (9) blocks a fluid flow in the bypass fluid path (line 27) from the first connection (line into 6, see Figure 12) to the second connection (line out of 6); and the check valve (9) facilitates a fluid flow in the bypass fluid path (line 27) from the second connection (line out of 6, see Figure 12) to the first connection (line into 6, see Figure 12).
Regarding Claim 11: Akiike teaches a reversing valve assembly (via valve 4) comprising: a valve body (body of 4) comprising: a valve inlet and a valve outlet (see 4 in Figure 12); and a first port and a second port (see 4 in Figure 12); and a bypass fluid path (line 27), wherein: the valve outlet (see 4 in Figure 12) includes a heat exchanger (6) having a first connection (line into 6) and a second connection (line out of 6); and the bypass fluid path (line 27) extends directly between the first connection (line into 6) and the second connection (line out of 6) whereby fluid is permitted to flow through the bypass fluid path (line 27) directly from one of the first connection (line into 6) or the second connection (line exiting 6) to the other of the first connection (line into 6) or the second connection (line exiting 6) to bypass the heat exchanger (6).
Akiike fails to teach a shuttle selectively movable in the valve body between a first position and a second position.
Trask teaches a shuttle (7) selectively movable in a valve body (body of 4) between a first position and a second position (Column 3, lines 20-27).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a shuttle selectively movable in the valve body between a first position and a second position to the structure of Akiike as taught by Trask in order to advantageously close and open valve pathways depending on operation mode (see Trask, Column 3, lines 20-27).
Regarding Claim 12: Akiike fails to teach the shuttle in the first position fluidly couples the first port with the valve outlet and fluidly couples the valve inlet with the second port.
Trask teaches wherein: the shuttle (7) in the first position fluidly couples the first port with the valve outlet and fluidly couples the valve inlet with the second port (Column 3, lines 20-27).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the shuttle in the first position fluidly couples the first port with the valve outlet and fluidly couples the valve inlet with the second port to the structure of Akiike as taught by Trask in order to advantageously close and open valve pathways depending on operation mode (see Trask, Column 3, lines 20-27).
Regarding Claim 13: Akiike fails to teach wherein: the shuttle in the second position fluidly couples the valve outlet with the second port and fluidly couples the valve inlet with the first port.
Trask teaches wherein: a shuttle (7) in a second position fluidly couples a valve outlet with a second port and fluidly couples a valve inlet with a first port (Column 3, lines 20-27).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein: the shuttle in the second position fluidly couples the valve outlet with the second port and fluidly couples the valve inlet with the first port to the structure of Akiike as taught by Trask in order to advantageously close and open valve pathways depending on operation mode (see Trask, Column 3, lines 20-27).
Regarding Claim 14: Akiike teaches further comprising an expansion device (8) fluidly coupled to the second connection (line out of 6, see Figure 12).
Regarding Claim 17: Akiike teaches further comprising a check valve (9) in the bypass fluid path (line 27, see Figure 12).
Regarding Claim 18: Akiike teaches wherein: the check valve (9) blocks a fluid flow in the bypass fluid path (line 27) from the first connection (line into 6) to the second connection (line exit after 6, see Figure 12); and the check valve (9) facilitates a fluid flow in the bypass fluid path (line 27) from the second connection (line exit after 6 see Figure 12) to the first connection (line into 6, the refrigeration loop of Figure 12 is closed loop).
Claims 4 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akiike (5,052,189) in view of Trask (3,529,659), as applied to claims 3 and 14 above, and further in view of Junge et al. (US 2016/0109160 A1), hereafter referred to as “Junge.”
Regarding Claim 4: Akiike modified supra fails to teach wherein the expansion device is an electronic expansion valve.
Junge teaches wherein an expansion device is an electronic expansion valve (paragraph [0002]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein the expansion device is an electronic expansion valve to the structure of Akiike modified supra as taught by Junge in order to advantageously provide various examples of known valve structures (see Junge, paragraph [0002]).
Regarding Claim 15: Akiike modified supra fails to teach wherein the expansion device is an electronic expansion valve.
Junge teaches wherein an expansion device is an electronic expansion valve (paragraph [0002]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein the expansion device is an electronic expansion valve to the structure of Akiike modified supra as taught by Junge in order to advantageously provide various examples of known valve structures (see Junge, paragraph [0002]).
Claims 10 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akiike (5,052,189) in view of Trask (3,529,659), as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Cochran, Jr. (3,823,572).
Regarding Claim 10: Akiike modified supra fails to teach wherein the heat exchanger is one of a tube-in-tube heat exchanger or a shell and coil heat exchanger.
Cochran teaches a heat exchanger is one of a tube-in-tube heat exchanger or a shell and coil heat exchanger (Column 1, lines 29-39).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein the heat exchanger is one of a tube-in-tube heat exchanger or a shell and coil heat exchanger to the structure of Akiike modified supra as taught by Cochran in order to advantageously provide various examples of known heat exchanger structures (see Cochran, Column 1, lines 29-39).
Regarding Claim 19: Akiike modified supra fails to teach wherein the heat exchanger is a tube-in-tube heat exchanger.
Cochran teaches a heat exchanger is a tube-in-tube heat exchanger (Column 1, lines 29-39).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein the heat exchanger is a tube-in-tube heat exchanger to the structure of Akiike modified supra as taught by Cochran in order to advantageously provide various examples of known heat exchanger structures (see Cochran, Column 1, lines 29-39).
Regarding Claim 20: Akiike modified supra fails to teach wherein the heat exchanger is a shell and coil heat exchanger.
Cochran teaches a heat exchanger is a shell and coil heat exchanger (Column 1, lines 29-39).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein the heat exchanger is a shell and coil heat exchanger to the structure of Akiike modified supra as taught by Cochran in order to advantageously provide various examples of known heat exchanger structures (see Cochran, Column 1, lines 29-39).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. McCloy (2,351,140).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KIRSTIN U OSWALD/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/LEN TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763