DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-9, 11-12, 14-15, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20220109496 A1 to Shrestha et al. (hereinafter “Shrestha”).
As per claim 1, Shrestha discloses an operation method of a terminal (Shrestha Fig. 7), the operation method comprising: receiving a synchronization signal from a first satellite in a first satellite group that includes a plurality of first satellites (Shrestha [0005,0008-0009,00016] and [0079] In a network configured for UL-based mobility, UL reference signals from each UE may be utilized by the network to select a serving cell for each UE. In some examples, the base stations 110, 112, and 114/116 may broadcast unified synchronization signals (e.g., unified Primary Synchronization Signals (PSSs), unified Secondary Synchronization Signals (SSSs) and unified Physical Broadcast Channels (PBCH)). The UEs 122, 124, 126, 128, 130, and 132 may receive the unified synchronization signals, derive the carrier frequency and radio frame timing from the synchronization signals, and in response to deriving timing, transmit an uplink pilot or reference signal. The uplink pilot signal transmitted by a UE (e.g., UE 124) may be concurrently received by two or more cells (e.g., base stations 110 and 114/116) within the RAN 100. Each of the cells may measure a strength of the pilot signal, and the RAN (e.g., one or more of the base stations 110 and 114/116 and/or a central node within the core network) may determine a serving cell for the UE 124. As the UE 124 moves through the RAN 100, the network may continue to monitor the uplink pilot signal transmitted by the UE 124. When the signal strength or quality of the pilot signal measured by a neighboring cell exceeds that of the signal strength or quality measured by the serving cell, the RAN 100 may handover the UE 124 from the serving cell to the neighboring cell, with or without informing the UE 124. See also [0106]), the first satellite group being configured to support a plurality of radio access technologies (RATs) (Shrestha [0009,0014,0027,0136,0137]); performing a higher layer signaling procedure with the first satellite, based on the synchronization signal (Shrestha [0135-0137]); transmitting, based on the higher layer signaling procedure, to the first satellite, first channel status information regarding a second satellite group including a plurality of second satellites from among the plurality of first satellites (Shrestha [0005] A method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) is provided. The method includes selecting a first cell associated with a first satellite for wireless communication in the non-terrestrial network. The method also includes determining whether to use one or more standard parameters or one or more satellite-cell specific parameters for accessing the first cell. The one or more standard parameters are based on one or more standard characteristics common to a plurality of satellites including the first satellite. The one or more satellite-cell specific parameters are based on a change to at least one standard characteristic of the one or more standard characteristics of the first satellite. The UE may then communicate with a base station via the first satellite using the one or more standard parameters or one or more satellite-cell specific parameters. See also [0008-0009,0016]), the second satellite group being configured to support a RAT supported by the terminal (Shrestha [0009,0014,0027,0136,0137]); and performing wireless communication with a satellite in the second satellite group that is configured as a primary satellite, based on the first channel status information (Shrestha [0005-0009,0014,0027,0114,0123-0124,0127,0136,0137]).
As per claim 2, Shrestha discloses the operation method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, from the primary satellite, supporting satellite list information associated with the second satellite group (Shrestha [0005-0009,0014,0027,0114,0123-0124,0127,0136,0137]); and attempting to access, based on the supporting satellite list information, one of the plurality of second satellites from the second satellite group by moving from the primary satellite (Shrestha [0005-0009,0014,0027,0114,0123-0124,0127,0136,0137]).
As per claim 3, Shrestha discloses the operation method of claim 2, wherein the supporting satellite list information comprises information about a position, a speed, and a band of each of the plurality of second satellites in the second satellite group (Shrestha [0014,0016,0018,0059-0060,0115-0116,0123,0129] discloses the beam/band, position, and velocity of the satellites).
As per claim 4, Shrestha discloses the operation method of claim 2, wherein attempting to access comprises: transmitting, based on the supporting satellite list information, second channel status information about each of the plurality of second satellites in the second satellite group to the primary satellite (Shristha [0033-0035,0039]).
As per claim 5, Shrestha discloses the operation method of claim 1, wherein performing the wireless communication comprises receiving a rate-matched downlink signal from the primary satellite (Shrestha [0074]).
As per claim 8, Shrestha discloses the operation method of claim 1, wherein the first satellite group transmits a plurality of synchronization signals each corresponding to two or more different RATs, and receiving the synchronization signal comprises: receiving, from the first satellite, one of the plurality of synchronization signals corresponding to the two or more different RATs (Shrestha [0005-0009,0014,0027,0114,0123-0124,0127,0136,0137]).
As per claim 9, Shrestha discloses the operation method of claim 1, wherein performing the higher layer signaling procedure comprises: transmitting terminal information to the first satellite (Shrestha [0023]); and receiving satellite information from the first satellite, based on the terminal information (Shrestha [0023-0027]).
As per claim 11, Shrestha discloses the operation method of claim 1, wherein the first satellite group comprises a group configured based on an altitude and a speed of each of the plurality of first satellites and based on a RAT supported by each of the plurality of first satellites (Shrestha [0014,0016,0018,0059-0060,0115-0116,0123,0127,0129]).
As per claim 12, Shrestha discloses an operation method of a terminal (Shrestha Fig. 7), the operation method comprising: receiving a synchronization signal from a first satellite in a first satellite group that includes a plurality of first satellites (Shrestha [0005,0008-0009,00016] and [0079] In a network configured for UL-based mobility, UL reference signals from each UE may be utilized by the network to select a serving cell for each UE. In some examples, the base stations 110, 112, and 114/116 may broadcast unified synchronization signals (e.g., unified Primary Synchronization Signals (PSSs), unified Secondary Synchronization Signals (SSSs) and unified Physical Broadcast Channels (PBCH)). The UEs 122, 124, 126, 128, 130, and 132 may receive the unified synchronization signals, derive the carrier frequency and radio frame timing from the synchronization signals, and in response to deriving timing, transmit an uplink pilot or reference signal. The uplink pilot signal transmitted by a UE (e.g., UE 124) may be concurrently received by two or more cells (e.g., base stations 110 and 114/116) within the RAN 100. Each of the cells may measure a strength of the pilot signal, and the RAN (e.g., one or more of the base stations 110 and 114/116 and/or a central node within the core network) may determine a serving cell for the UE 124. As the UE 124 moves through the RAN 100, the network may continue to monitor the uplink pilot signal transmitted by the UE 124. When the signal strength or quality of the pilot signal measured by a neighboring cell exceeds that of the signal strength or quality measured by the serving cell, the RAN 100 may handover the UE 124 from the serving cell to the neighboring cell, with or without informing the UE 124. See also [0106]), the first satellite group being configured to support a plurality of radio access technologies (RATs) (Shrestha [0009,0014,0027,0136,0137]); transmitting terminal information to the first satellite, based on the synchronization signal (Shrestha [0023-0027]); receiving satellite information from the first satellite, based on the terminal information (Shrestha [0023-0027]); transmitting, based on the satellite information, to the first satellite, first channel status information regarding a second satellite group including a plurality of second satellites among the plurality of first satellites (Shrestha [0005] A method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) is provided. The method includes selecting a first cell associated with a first satellite for wireless communication in the non-terrestrial network. The method also includes determining whether to use one or more standard parameters or one or more satellite-cell specific parameters for accessing the first cell. The one or more standard parameters are based on one or more standard characteristics common to a plurality of satellites including the first satellite. The one or more satellite-cell specific parameters are based on a change to at least one standard characteristic of the one or more standard characteristics of the first satellite. The UE may then communicate with a base station via the first satellite using the one or more standard parameters or one or more satellite-cell specific parameters. See also [0008-0009,00016]), the second satellite group being configured to support a RAT supported by the terminal (Shrestha [0009,0014,0027,0136,0137]); and performing wireless communication with a satellite from among the plurality of second satellites of the second satellite group that is configured as a primary satellite, based on the first channel status information (Shrestha [0005-0009,0014,0027,0114,0123-0124,0127,0136,0137]).
As per claim 14, Shrestha discloses the operation method of claim 12, further comprising: receiving, from the primary satellite, supporting satellite list information associated with the second satellite group (Shrestha [0005-0009,0014,0027,0114,0123-0124,0127,0136,0137]); transmitting, based on the supporting satellite list information, second channel status information about each of the plurality of second satellites of the second satellite group to the primary satellite (Shristha [0033-0035,0039]); and attempting to access, based on the second channel status information, one of the plurality of second satellites from the second satellite group by moving from the primary satellite (Shrestha [0005-0009,0014,0027,0114,0123-0124,0127,0136,0137]).
As per claim 15, Shrestha discloses the operation method of claim 12, wherein performing the wireless communication comprises receiving a rate-matched downlink signal from the primary satellite (Shrestha [0074]).
As per claim 18, Shrestha discloses a wireless communication system comprising: a satellite group including a plurality of satellites, the satellite group configured to support a plurality of radio access technologies (RATs) (Shrestha [0005,0008-0009,00016] and [0079] In a network configured for UL-based mobility, UL reference signals from each UE may be utilized by the network to select a serving cell for each UE. In some examples, the base stations 110, 112, and 114/116 may broadcast unified synchronization signals (e.g., unified Primary Synchronization Signals (PSSs), unified Secondary Synchronization Signals (SSSs) and unified Physical Broadcast Channels (PBCH)). The UEs 122, 124, 126, 128, 130, and 132 may receive the unified synchronization signals, derive the carrier frequency and radio frame timing from the synchronization signals, and in response to deriving timing, transmit an uplink pilot or reference signal. The uplink pilot signal transmitted by a UE (e.g., UE 124) may be concurrently received by two or more cells (e.g., base stations 110 and 114/116) within the RAN 100. Each of the cells may measure a strength of the pilot signal, and the RAN (e.g., one or more of the base stations 110 and 114/116 and/or a central node within the core network) may determine a serving cell for the UE 124. As the UE 124 moves through the RAN 100, the network may continue to monitor the uplink pilot signal transmitted by the UE 124. When the signal strength or quality of the pilot signal measured by a neighboring cell exceeds that of the signal strength or quality measured by the serving cell, the RAN 100 may handover the UE 124 from the serving cell to the neighboring cell, with or without informing the UE 124. See also [0027,0106,0136,0137]); a base station configured to perform a first higher layer signaling procedure with the satellite group (Shrestha Fig. 9); and a terminal (Shrestha Fig. 7) configured to: receive a synchronization signal from the satellite group and perform, based on the synchronization signal, a second higher layer signaling procedure with a first satellite in the satellite group (Shrestha [0005,0008-0009,00016] and [0079] In a network configured for UL-based mobility, UL reference signals from each UE may be utilized by the network to select a serving cell for each UE. In some examples, the base stations 110, 112, and 114/116 may broadcast unified synchronization signals (e.g., unified Primary Synchronization Signals (PSSs), unified Secondary Synchronization Signals (SSSs) and unified Physical Broadcast Channels (PBCH)). The UEs 122, 124, 126, 128, 130, and 132 may receive the unified synchronization signals, derive the carrier frequency and radio frame timing from the synchronization signals, and in response to deriving timing, transmit an uplink pilot or reference signal. The uplink pilot signal transmitted by a UE (e.g., UE 124) may be concurrently received by two or more cells (e.g., base stations 110 and 114/116) within the RAN 100. Each of the cells may measure a strength of the pilot signal, and the RAN (e.g., one or more of the base stations 110 and 114/116 and/or a central node within the core network) may determine a serving cell for the UE 124. As the UE 124 moves through the RAN 100, the network may continue to monitor the uplink pilot signal transmitted by the UE 124. When the signal strength or quality of the pilot signal measured by a neighboring cell exceeds that of the signal strength or quality measured by the serving cell, the RAN 100 may handover the UE 124 from the serving cell to the neighboring cell, with or without informing the UE 124. See also [0106,0135-0137]), receive satellite information based on the second higher layer signaling procedure (Shrestha [0005-0009,0014,0027,0114,0123-0124,0127,0136,0137]), and transmit, based on the satellite information, first channel status information regarding a sub-satellite group of the satellite group that includes satellites configured to support a RAT supported by the terminal (Shrestha [0005] A method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) is provided. The method includes selecting a first cell associated with a first satellite for wireless communication in the non-terrestrial network. The method also includes determining whether to use one or more standard parameters or one or more satellite-cell specific parameters for accessing the first cell. The one or more standard parameters are based on one or more standard characteristics common to a plurality of satellites including the first satellite. The one or more satellite-cell specific parameters are based on a change to at least one standard characteristic of the one or more standard characteristics of the first satellite. The UE may then communicate with a base station via the first satellite using the one or more standard parameters or one or more satellite-cell specific parameters. See also [0008-0009,0014,0016,0027,0136-0137]), wherein the base station is further configured to configure one satellite of the sub-satellite group as a primary satellite, based on the first channel status information (Shrestha [0005-0009,0014,0027,0114,0123-0124,0127,0136,0137]), and wherein the primary satellite is configured to perform wireless communication with the terminal (Shrestha [0005-0009,0014,0027,0114,0123-0124,0127,0136,0137]).
As per claim 19, Shrestha discloses the wireless communication system of claim 18, wherein the terminal is further configured to: receive, from the primary satellite, supporting satellite list information associated with the sub-satellite group (Shrestha [0005-0009,0014,0027,0114,0123-0124,0127,0136,0137]), transmit, based on the supporting satellite list information, second channel status information about each of the satellites in the sub-satellite group to the primary satellite (Shrestha [0033-0035,0039]), and attempt to access, based on the second channel status information, one of the satellites from the sub-satellite group by moving from the primary satellite (Shrestha [0005-0009,0014,0027,0114,0123-0124,0127,0136,0137]).
As per claim 20, Shrestha discloses the wireless communication system of claim 18, wherein the terminal is further configured to receive a rate-matched downlink signal from the primary satellite based on a RAT different from a RAT supported by the primary satellite (Shrestha [0005-0009,0014,0027,0074,0114,0123-0124,0127,0136,0137]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7, 10, 13, and 16-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
FAIYAZKHAN GHAFOERKHAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2476
/FAIYAZKHAN GHAFOERKHAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476