DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it refers to the purported merits. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: In paragraph 47, line 7, “biasing member 71” should be “biasing member 70”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “drive member” and “biasing member” in claims 1 and 10. The drive member is discussed in paragraph 34 of the specification. The biasing member is discussed in paragraph 36. Claim 8 does not invoke 112(f) for the biasing member for setting forth sufficient structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 16, the claim requires the engagement surface to create “an instability between a biasing member and the pawl…”. While the examiner agrees that the pawl does play a part in this function, it is also dependent of the size, shape, orientation, type of engagement, biasing direction, and biasing force of the biasing member. Because the biasing member is not part of the invention of the claimed pawl this therefore requires the pawl to be structured to accommodate an unclaimed feature with an infinite number of variations which makes the scope of the claim indefinite. See 2173.05(b) II. REFERENCE TO AN OBJECT THAT IS VARIABLE MAY RENDER A CLAIM INDEFINITE.
In additional, to described above, the phrase “forced in either a first rotational direction or….” requires additional structure that the pawl by itself does not contain. For example if the pawl were not attached to the ratchets and confined to generally pivotal motion it is unclear how contact by a spring biased member would inherently force rotational motion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Adibi (U.S Patent No. 12,138,748).
Regarding claim 1, Adibi teaches (Figures 1 and 3-5) a ratchet tool having a ratchet head (100). The ratchet head has a cavity (110) with a ratchet gear (200) disposed within. The ratchet gear includes a drive member (220) for transmitting torque to a work piece. The ratchet gear defines a perimeter and has a plurality of teeth (210) disposed around the perimeter. The ratchet head additionally includes a pawl (300) operable to selectively engage with the ratchet gear. The pawl (300) includes a front surface having a front surface midpoint (location bisected by dividing line A300 in Figure 5). The front surface has a first plurality of pawl teeth (310) disposed on a first side of the front surface relative to the midpoint and a second plurality of pawl teeth (320) on a second side of the front surface relative to the midpoint. The pawl is operable to selectively engage either of the first and second plurality of teeth are selectively engageable with ratchet gear teeth (Col. 4, lines 30-56) to limit rotational motion of the ratchet gear in one of a first rotational direction and a second rotational direction. Both sets of teeth are engageable with the ratchet teeth. The pawl additionally includes a rear surface (370 & 372) which defines a rear surface midpoint (location dividing line A300 passes through in Figure 5; Col. 6, lines 28-37) wherein a mid-plane (A300) intersects the front and rear surface midpoints. The rear surface defines an engagement surface (372) disposed in an engagement plane, the engagement plane is disposed at a selected angle with respect to the midplane (Figure 5). Adibi additionally teaches the use of a lever/switch (410) disposed in a switch aperture in the ratchet assembly cavity, a spring biased pusher (420), and a spring (not shown; Col. 5, lines 14-49) wherein the spring is between the lever and the pusher such that the pusher engages the rear surface (372) of the pawl (Figure 4) to bias the pawl into engagement with the ratchet gear.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Adibi teaches (Figure 5) the selected angle of the engagement surface is non-perpendicular (i.e. the angle between A300 and the convex surface it intersects) and sloped relative to the mid-plane of the pawl.
Regarding claim 4, due to the relative shape of the engagement surface as compared to Figure 4 of the instant invention and the claimed structural requirements the engagement surface and the pawl the device of Adibi inherently creates an instability between a biasing member and the pawl when the biasing member contacts the pawl at the mid-plane of the pawl such that the pawl is forced in either a first rotational direction or a second rotational direction when inside a ratchet device.
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Adibi teaches (Figure 5) the engagement surface includes first and second concave curves and a convex curve formed between the first and second concave curves. The convex curve is positioned off-center relative to the dividing line A300 and a tangent of the convex curve forms a non-perpendicular angle relative to the mid-plane (A300).
Regarding claim 7, due to the relative shape of the convex engagement surface as compared to Figure 4 of the instant invention and the claimed structural requirements the engagement surface and the pawl the device of Adibi inherently creates an instability between a biasing member and the pawl when the biasing member contacts the pawl at the mid-plane of the pawl such that the pawl is forced in either a first rotational direction or a second rotational direction when inside a ratchet device.
Regarding claim 16, Adibi teaches (Figure 5) a pawl (300) for a ratchet tool. The pawl (300) includes a front surface having a front surface midpoint (location bisected by dividing line A300 in Figure 5). The front surface has a first plurality of pawl teeth (310) disposed on a first side of the front surface relative to the midpoint and a second plurality of pawl teeth (320) on a second side of the front surface relative to the midpoint. The pawl is operable to selectively engage either of the first and second plurality of teeth are selectively engageable with ratchet gear teeth (Col. 4, lines 30-56). Both sets of teeth are engageable with the ratchet teeth. The pawl additionally includes a rear surface (370 & 372) which defines a rear surface midpoint (location dividing line A300 passes through in Figure 5; Col. 6, lines 28-37) wherein a mid-plane (A300) intersects the front and rear surface midpoints. The rear surface defines an engagement surface (372) disposed in an engagement plane, the engagement plane is disposed at a selected angle with respect to the midplane (Figure 5). Due to the relative shape of the engagement surface as compared to Figure 4 of the instant invention and the claimed structural requirements the engagement surface inherently creates an instability between a biasing member and the pawl when the biasing member contacts the pawl at the mid-place of the pawl such that the pawl is forced in either a first rotational direction or a second rotational direction when inside a ratchet device.
Regarding claims 17 and 18, Adibi teaches (Figure 5) the selected angle of the engagement surface is non-perpendicular (i.e. the angle between A300 and the convex surface it intersects) and sloped relative to the mid-plane of the pawl.
Regarding claims 19 and 20, Adibi teaches (Figure 5) the engagement surface includes first and second concave curves and a convex curve formed between the first and second concave curves. The convex curve is positioned off-center relative to the dividing line A300.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adibi in view of Anderson et al (U.S Patent No. 9,815,179), hereinafter Anderson.
Regarding claim 9, Adibi teaches (Figure 3) the pin/pusher (420) includes a non-planar surface.
Regarding claims 10, Adibi teaches (Figures 1 and 3-5) a ratchet tool having a ratchet head (100). The ratchet head has a cavity (110) with a ratchet gear (200) disposed within. The ratchet gear includes a drive member (220) for transmitting torque to a work piece. The ratchet gear defines a perimeter and has a plurality of teeth (210) disposed around the perimeter. The ratchet head additionally includes a pawl (300) operable to selectively engage with the ratchet gear. The pawl (300) includes a front surface having a front surface midpoint (location bisected by dividing line A300 in Figure 5). The front surface has a first plurality of pawl teeth (310) disposed on a first side of the front surface relative to the midpoint and a second plurality of pawl teeth (320) on a second side of the front surface relative to the midpoint. The pawl is operable to selectively engage either of the first and second plurality of teeth are selectively engageable with ratchet gear teeth (Col. 4, lines 30-56). Both sets of teeth are engageable with the ratchet teeth to limit rotational motion of the ratchet gear in one of a first rotational direction and a second rotational direction. The pawl additionally includes a rear surface (370 & 372) which defines a rear surface midpoint (location dividing line A300 passes through in Figure 5; Col. 6, lines 28-37) wherein a mid-plane (A300) intersects the front and rear surface midpoints. The rear surface defines an engagement surface (372) disposed in an engagement plane, the engagement plane is disposed at a selected angle with respect to the midplane (Figure 5). Adibi teaches the use of a lever/switch (410) disposed in a switch aperture in the ratchet assembly cavity, a spring biased pusher (420), and a spring (not shown; Col. 5, lines 14-49) wherein the spring is between the lever and the pusher such that the pusher engages the rear surface (372) of the pawl (Figure 3) to bias the pawl into engagement with the ratchet gear. A central axis of the biasing member and the engagement surface of the pawl form a non-perpendicular angle when the biasing member contacts the engagement surface of the pawl (inherent as both 420 and the engagement surface are curved; Figure 4)
Regarding claim 11, Adibi teaches (Figure 5) the engagement surface is non-perpendicular (i.e. sloped relative to the mid-plane of the pawl.
Regarding claim 12, due to the relative shape of the engagement surface as compared to Figure 4 of the instant invention and the claimed structural requirements the engagement surface and the pawl the device of Adibi inherently creates an instability between a biasing member and the pawl when the biasing member contacts the pawl at the mid-plane of the pawl such that the pawl is forced in either a first rotational direction or a second rotational direction when inside a ratchet device.
Regarding claims 13 and 14, Adibi teaches (Figure 5) the engagement surface includes first and second concave curves and a convex curve formed between the first and second concave curves. The convex curve is positioned off-center relative to the dividing line A300 and a tangent of the convex curve forms a non-perpendicular angle relative to the mid-plane (A300).
Regarding claim 15, due to the relative shape of the convex engagement surface as compared to Figure 4 of the instant invention and the claimed structural requirements the engagement surface and the pawl the device of Adibi inherently creates an instability between a biasing member and the pawl when the biasing member contacts the pawl at the mid-plane of the pawl such that the pawl is forced in either a first rotational direction or a second rotational direction when inside a ratchet device.
Regarding claims 8 and 10, Adibi teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above except the biasing member being partially disposed within the switch.
Anderson teaches (Figure 3B) it is common when utilizing a pivotal lever (122) to engage a pawl (94a&b) via a spring biased pin/pusher (138a&B) to at least partially dispose the spring (136a&b) within the lever (122).
Because Adibi is silent to the exactly location and configuration of the spring utilized and because Anderson teaches a known construction that allows for successful biasing of a pin/pusher into engagement with a pivotal pawl relative to the movement of a lever, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to try at least partially disposing the spring in the lever to achieve the predictable result of successfully biasing the pusher into engagement with the pawl.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wu (U.S Publication No. 20030221522), Arnold (U.S Publication No. 20040083860), Hu (U.S Patent No. 6,450,068), Ling et al (U.S Publication No. 20060230883), Chaconas et al (U.S Patent No. 5,782,147), Lee et al (U.S Publication No. 20050145075), Arnold (US Publication No. 20060123954), and Wang (U.S Patent No. 9,522,460) teach elements of the current invention.
/EDWARD F LANDRUM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761