DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/17/26 have been fully considered but they are not fully persuasive.
Regarding claim 17, the amendment includes elements of previous claim 7 without the limitations from previous parent claim 6. As noted below, Bobgan shows the claimed elements from previous claim 7 without parent claim 6, and thus claims 17, 18, and 20 stand rejected. Dependent claim 21 would be allowable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17, 18, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bobgan (US 2017/0050032) in view of Iyer (US 2021/0187291) and English (US 2021/0251488).
Regarding claim 17, Bobgan discloses substantially the same invention as claimed (Figure 2 shown above for example), including a medical device (abstract) comprising a first housing section including a first cavity (Figure 2: 202); a second housing section coupled to the first housing section and including a second cavity (Figure 2: 204); a first circuit board section positioned within the first cavity (Figures 3A-5B; Paragraph 72; scaffold supports circuit components); a second circuit board section positioned within the second cavity (Paragraph 75); and an antenna coupled to the first circuit board section and positioned within the medical device to transmit signals (Paragraph 74).
Further regarding claim 17, Bobgan discloses the first housing encloses the antenna, but does not disclose the first housing material. However, Iyer teaches selecting a first housing material to be ceramic, in order to facilitate wireless communication (Paragraph 24; Figures 2A-B: 24). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bobgan as taught by Iyer to include ceramic as recited, in order to facilitate wireless communication.
Further regarding claim 17, Bobgan does not explicitly disclose hermeticity. However, English teaches hermeticity is typically desired, and includes using an electrode as part of the hermetic seal (Paragraph 79), in order to protect the device from the body environment and vice versa. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bobgan and Iyer as taught by English to include hermeticity as recited, in order to protect the device from the body environment and vice versa.
Further regarding claim 17, Bobgan discloses traces of the first circuit board section and the second circuit board section are configured to transmit electrical signals from the first housing section to the second housing section (Paragraphs 72, 75).
Regarding claim 18, Bobgan discloses a third housing section coupling between the first and second housing sections (e.g. Figures 4A-B: 402). Bobgan does not disclose brazing or welding as recited. However, Iyers teaches the intercoupling third housing section is brazed and welded to first and second housing sections as recited (Paragraph 33), in order to provide a more effective hermetic seal. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Bobgan as taught by Iyers to include brazing and welding as recited, in order to provide a more effective hermetic seal.
Regarding claim 20, Bobgan discloses inserting a conductive pin through an aperture as recited (Figures 3A-B, 9-15).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-5, 9-16, 22-24 allowed.
Claim 21 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lim (US 2019/0232066) shows a monolithic ceramic header.
Bobgan (US 2022/0111218) shows an IMD with a ceramic header and no feedthru.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Eugene T Wu/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796