Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1, line 6 recites "means of connecting portions”. It is unclear whether these connecting portions are the same as the connecting portions recited earlier in line 3. For the purpose of examination, claim 1, line 6 reads on "the connecting portions". Dependent claims fall herewith.
Claim 1, line 16 recites "the respective connecting groove". This term does not have proper antecedent basis. For the purpose of examination, claim 1, line 16 reads on "each connecting groove". Dependent claims fall herewith.
Claim 1, line 18 recites "the connecting areas". This term is not previously used and does not have proper antecedent basis, making it unclear what element is being referenced. For the purpose of examination, claim 1, line 18 reads on "connecting areas". Dependent claims fall herewith.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cheng (US PG Pub 2021/0136497).
Regarding claim 1, Cheng teaches a diaphragm manufacturing method (paras. 0021, 0029, 0036, and other citations below), comprising steps of:
a) providing a base (40 in Figs. 1, 3, and 8), the base is assembled from a main body portion (as shown in Fig. 3), an external portion (outer wall of 40), and connecting portions (wall portions of 40), wherein the center of the main body portion is provided with a through hole (as shown in Figs. 3); the external portion is configured on the periphery of the main body portion (as shown in Figs. 3 and 8), and is mutually joined thereto by means of connecting portions (as shown in Fig. 3); connecting grooves that afford passage to the through hole (45 in Figs. 3 or 8 and paras. 0035 or 0038) are formed on the external portion and the connecting portions (as shown in Fig. 8);
b) providing a membrane (50 in Fig. 3 and para. 0032), the membrane is fitted at a central location of the through hole (as shown in Fig. 3), and forms an interspace in the main body portion (as shown in Fig. 1, 3);
c) providing a molding step (paras. 0021, 0029, 0036), the molding step comprises molding a suspending edge between the main body portion and the membrane (60 in para. 0036 and Fig. 3), the suspending edge connects the main body portion and the membrane (per para. 0036 and as shown in Fig. 1), and the suspending edge is formed with extended portions that correspondingly extend into the respective connecting groove (extended portions 62 in paras. 0035-0036 and 0038 and as shown in Fig. 3); and
d) providing a cutting step (para. 0036), the cutting step comprises a cutting operation carried out on connecting areas between the main body portion and the connecting portions (para. 0036 and as shown in Fig. 3), concurrently cutting the connecting portions and the extended portions (para. 0036); the diaphragm is thereby formed from the main body portion, the membrane, and the suspending edge (as shown in Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 2, Cheng teaches the suspending edge (60 in Fig. 3) further comprises a first joining portion that connects to the membrane (first joining portion 61), a second joining portion that connects to the main body portion (second joining portion 43 as shown in Fig. 3), and an elastic portion positioned between the first joining portion and the second joining portion (drum portion 63 in para. 0035 which is elastic since it is made from silica gel per para. 0036; see also Fig. 3); moreover, the elastic portion is positioned in the interspace (as shown in Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 3, Cheng teaches the extended portions are formed to extend from the second joining portion into the corresponding connecting groove (as shown in Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 4, Cheng teaches the suspending edge is formed by injection molding using silica gel material (para. 0036).
Regarding claim 6, Cheng teaches the membrane is formed from metallic material (para. 0003).
Regarding claim 7, Cheng teaches wherein after forming the diaphragm, first cut-out sections are formed on the side of the main body portion located at the positions corresponding to the connecting portions (as shown in Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 8, Cheng teaches wherein after forming the diaphragm, second cut-out sections are formed on the side of the suspending edge located at the positions corresponding to the extended portions (as shown in Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 9, Cheng teaches a plurality of protruding portions are formed on the external portion (Fig. 3 shows two protruding portions 62).
Regarding claim 10, Cheng teaches a plurality of positioning holes are formed on the external portion (64 in Fig. 3 and para. 0036).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng, as applied to claim 1 above) in view of True (US PG Pub 2005/0111689)
Regarding claim 5, Cheng teaches the base is formed as an integral body (as shown in Fig. 3).
Cheng does not explicitly teach that the base is formed using plastic material.
However, it is conventional in the loudspeaker diaphragm arts to form the base as an integral body using plastic material, as taught for example by True (abstract, claim 1, para. 0013).
In view of True’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to form the base in Cheng’s method as an integral body using plastic material, as taught by True, to predictably obtain suitable means for obtaining the base component in a manner compatible with low-cost, high volume injection molding.
Conclusion
/JIMMY R SMITH JR./Examiner, Art Unit 1745