DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s “Amendments” filed on 09/14/2026 has been considered.
Claims 18, 26, 31, and 34 are amended. Claims 18-37 remain pending in this application and an action on the merits follow.
Applicant’s response by virtue of amendment to claims 18, 26, and 34 has not overcome the Examiner’s rejection under 35 USC § 101.
Double Patenting
Claims 18-37 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 10846677. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims under examination anticipated by patent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 18-37 are rejected under 35 USC 101. The claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter because claims 18, 26, and 34 are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Claims 19-25, 27-33, and 35-37 fail to remedy these deficiencies.
Claims 18-37 should have been rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Independent claim 18 recites the following:
A system for accessing protected data,
Retriever system operating on a first processor
Configured to receive a data packet of encrypted data from a device
Configured to transmit a request including the data packet to a decryption system over a data communications medium
Decryption system operating on a second processor
Configured to receive the data packet
Configured to transmit a response that includes an account number associated with the data packet
If the request has been received from an authorized source (conditional gating)
Retriever system configured to receive the account number
Configured to display the account number for a predetermined period of time
After which the account number is deleted
Step 1: Statutory Category Determination
Claim 18 recites a “system” comprising two processors and associated functional components (retriever system, decryption system). This falls squarely within the statutory category of “machine” under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Conclusion on Step 1: The claim is directed to a machine. Passes Step 1.
Step 2A, Prong 1: Identification of Judicial Exception(s)
Analysis:
Claim 18 recites the following elements that must be evaluated for judicial exceptions:
A. Data Reception and Transmission (Limitations 3, 4, 6, 7, 9, 10)
The claim recites:
“receive a data packet of encrypted data”
“transmit a request including the data packet”
“receive the data packet”
“transmit a response to the request that includes an account number”
“receive the account number”
“display the account number”
PEG Analysis: These are data-manipulation steps. Standing alone, receiving, transmitting, and displaying data are mental processes or abstract ideas under the PEG grouping of “mental processes” (observations, evaluations, displaying results). See 2019 PEG, at 52–53; Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank, 573 U.S. 208 (2014); Bilski v. Kappos, 561 U.S. 593 (2010).
However, the critical question is whether these steps are merely abstract data manipulation or whether they are tied to a specific technological implementation that improves computer functioning.
B. Authorization Verification (Limitation 8: “if the request has been received from an authorized source”)
The claim recites a conditional gate: the decryption system transmits a response “if the request has been received from an authorized source.”
PEG Analysis: Authorization verification—determining whether a source is authorized—is an abstract idea falling under the PEG grouping of “methods of organizing human activity” (commercial/legal interactions, managing permissions). See 2019 PEG, at 52. Authorization and access control are fundamental business/legal concepts that can be performed in the human mind (e.g., a gatekeeper checking credentials).
C. Temporal Display and Deletion (Limitations 10–11: “display the account number for a predetermined period of time after which the account number is deleted”)
The claim recites displaying data for a set time and then deleting it.
PEG Analysis: This is a data-management step—a method of organizing information (storing, displaying, deleting) that is abstract. While the deletion mechanism (overwriting memory) has a technological component, the abstract concept being claimed is the idea of temporary display and deletion, not the specific technological implementation.
Step 2A, Prong 2: Integration into a Practical Application
Question: Do the claimed elements integrate the judicial exceptions into a practical application by improving computer functionality, improving another technology, or transforming an article?
Analysis of Claimed Technological Improvement:
1. Specific Machine Architecture:
The claim recites:
Two distinct processors (first processor, second processor)
A data communications medium (network)
Encrypted data packets
A decryption system (separate from the retriever system)
Assessment: The claim does specify a particular machine architecture (two-processor system with network communication). This is more specific than a generic “computer” or “processor.” However, specificity alone does not establish integration into a practical application. See Alice, 573 U.S. at 221–22 (merely implementing an abstract idea on a computer does not make it patent-eligible).
2. Technological Problem and Solution:
The specification (¶ [0010]–[0012]) describes a technological problem:
Point-of-sale systems are vulnerable to malware that can extract account numbers
Centralized encryption systems (per U.S. Pat. No. 7,451,481) cannot address all situations requiring account number access
The solution: a specialized, hardened retriever system with limited software update functionality that is separate from vulnerable point-of-sale systems
Claimed Solution:
Use a portable specialized data processing system (token retriever system) with limited algorithmic functionality (¶ [0011])
Implement multi-layer authorization (access device verification, user verification, source verification, terminal verification, token validation, rate limiting)
Employ temporal deletion of sensitive data (display for predetermined time, then irrevocably delete)
Critical Question: Does the claim recite the specific technological improvements that address the malware vulnerability problem?
Answer: Partially, but insufficiently.
The claim recites:
? Two separate processors (architectural isolation)
? Authorization gating (“if the request has been received from an authorized source”)
? Temporal display and deletion
However, the claim does not recite:
? Limited software update functionality (mentioned in spec but not claimed)
? Specific encryption algorithms or protocols
? The specific multi-layer authorization mechanisms (access device validation, terminal authentication, rate limiting, token validation)
? How the decryption system verifies the “authorized source” (no technical mechanism claimed)
? Specific memory purging mechanisms (spec says “writing over the data buffer with null data set,” but claim only says “deleted”)
PEG Integration Analysis:
Under 2019 PEG Step 2A, Prong 2, the question is whether the claim recites:
An improvement to computer functionality (e.g., faster processing, reduced latency, improved memory management, enhanced security architecture)
An improvement to another technology (e.g., more secure transaction processing, reduced malware vulnerability)
A transformation of an article or physical object
Assessment:
The claim recites architectural separation (two processors, separate systems) and authorization gating, which could constitute an improvement to security. However, the claim is drafted at a high level of abstraction:
“configured to receive a data packet” — no specific protocol or algorithm
“to transmit a request” — no specific encryption or authentication mechanism
“if the request has been received from an authorized source” — no technical means of verification
“display the account number for a predetermined period of time after which the account number is deleted” — no specific deletion mechanism
The specification provides technical details (¶ [0011]–[0016]), but the claim does not recite them. This is a classic claim-drafting problem: the specification describes a technological solution, but the claims are drafted at an abstract level that does not capture the technological specificity.
Offending Clauses:
“receive a data packet of encrypted data from a device and to transmit a request including the data packet to a decryption system” — This is generic data reception and transmission without specifying the technological mechanism that improves security or computer functioning.
“if the request has been received from an authorized source” — This is an abstract authorization concept without reciting the specific technical means of verification (e.g., cryptographic validation, certificate checking, biometric authentication, hardware attestation).
“display the account number for a predetermined period of time after which the account number is deleted” — This is a data-management concept without reciting the specific technological mechanism (e.g., secure memory isolation, cryptographic erasure, hardware-backed deletion).
Conclusion on Step 2A, Prong 2: The claim recites judicial exceptions (abstract ideas: data manipulation, authorization, data management) that are NOT adequately integrated into a practical application. While the specification describes technological improvements, the claim itself is drafted at a level of abstraction that does not capture those improvements. The claim recites generic data reception, transmission, authorization, and deletion without specifying the technological mechanisms that would constitute an improvement to computer functioning or security architecture.
Result: FAILS Step 2A, Prong 2.
Step 2B: Significantly More / WURC Analysis
Question: Do the additional claim elements (beyond the judicial exceptions) constitute “significantly more” than the exception? Are they well-understood, routine, conventional (WURC)?
Analysis:
Additional Elements Beyond the Abstract Ideas:
Two processors (first processor, second processor)
Data communications medium
Encrypted data packets
Separate decryption system
Conditional gating on authorization
WURC Assessment:
Under Berkheimer v. HP Inc., 881 F.3d 1360 (Fed. Cir. 2018), the question is whether these elements are well-understood, routine, and conventional in the field of data security and transaction processing.
Finding:
Two-processor architecture: Well-understood and conventional in distributed systems and client-server architectures. Routine in the art.
Data communications medium (network): Conventional and well-understood.
Encrypted data packets: Well-understood encryption is routine and conventional. The claim does not specify a novel encryption algorithm or protocol.
Separate decryption system: Conventional separation of concerns in security architecture.
Conditional authorization gating: Routine access control logic, well-understood and conventional in the art.
Evidentiary Support:
The specification does not provide technical evidence that the claimed architecture or authorization mechanism is non-routine or non-conventional. The specification describes the system as using “conventional forms of data security” (¶ [0012]) and references existing patents (U.S. Pat. No. 7,451,481) for encryption and protection. The specification does not provide comparative technical data, performance metrics, or evidence that the claimed approach represents a non-obvious or non-conventional improvement.
Conclusion on Step 2B: The additional elements are WURC—well-understood, routine, and conventional in the art of data security and transaction processing. They do not constitute “significantly more” than the judicial exceptions.
Result: FAILS Step 2B.
Conclusion: Claim 18
CLAIM 18 IS INELIGIBLE UNDER 35 U.S.C. § 101. Claims 26 and 34 are NELIGIBLE UNDER 35 U.S.C. § 101 based on the reasoning above.
Reasoning Summary:
Claim 18 recites judicial exceptions: abstract ideas of data manipulation (receiving, transmitting, displaying encrypted data), authorization verification, and data management (temporal deletion).
These exceptions are not integrated into a practical application. While the specification describes technological improvements (hardened architecture, multi-layer authorization, temporal deletion), the claim itself is drafted at a high level of abstraction that does not recite the specific technological mechanisms.
The additional elements (two processors, network communication, encrypted data) are well-understood, routine, and conventional in the art.
The claim fails both Step 2A, Prong 2 (integration into practical application) and Step 2B (significantly more).
The claims 18, 26, and 34 recite transmitting an encrypted data package, receiving the encrypted data package/token, decrypting the encrypted data packet/token, reconstructing the account number into a data string having predetermine parameters, temporarily store the data string in a data buffer, and purging/deleting the data in the data buffer.
The claims 18, 26, and 34 recite decrypting and reconstructing steps as drafted, are processes that under broadest reasonable interpretation, cover performance of utilizing mathematical algorithms/functions but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting “a retriever system, a first processor, a device, a decryption system, a data communication medium, a second processor, and a data buffer”, nothing in the claim element precludes the steps from practically being performed by utilizing mathematical algorithms. For example, but for the “the retriever system, the first processor, the device, the decryption system, the data communication medium, the second processor, and the data buffer” in the context of these claims encompasses a person manually utilizes mathematical algorithms/functions to decrypt the encrypted data packet/token and to reconstruct the account number into a data string having predetermine parameters. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation by utilizing mathematical algorithms/functions but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mathematical Concepts” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
The claims 18, 26, and 24 recite transmitting, receiving, storing, and purging/deleting steps as drafted, are processes that under broadest reasonable interpretation, cover performance of managing personal behavior, but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting “the retriever system, the first processor, the device, the decryption system, the data communication medium, the second processor, and the data buffer”, nothing in the claim element precludes the steps from practically being performed by organizing human activity. For example, but for the “the retriever system, the first processor, the device, the decryption system, the data communication medium, the second processor, and the data buffer” in the context of these claims encompasses a person manually transmits an encrypted data package, receives the encrypted data package/token, temporarily stores the data string in a data buffer/storage, and purges/deletes the data. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation by managing personal behavior but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claims as a whole merely describe how to generally “apply” the concept of transmitting, receiving, decrypting, reconstructing, storing, and purging/deleting in a computer environment. The claimed computer components such as the retriever system, the first processor, the device, the decryption system, the data communication medium, the second processor, and the data buffer are recited at a high level of generality and are merely invoked as tools to perform transmitting, receiving, decrypting, reconstructing, storing, and purging/deleting steps. Simply implementing the abstract idea on a generic computer is not a practical application of the abstract idea. Claims 18, 26, and 34, disclose insignificant helpful content to further describe content, such as the retriever system is separate and distinct from the device and the device is unable to modify an algorithm operating on the retriever system. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims 18, 26, and 34 are directed to an abstract idea.
The claims 18, 26, and 34 do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of using the retriever system, the first processor, the device, the decryption system, the data communication medium, the second processor, and the data buffer to perform transmitting, receiving, decrypting, reconstructing, storing, and purging/deleting steps amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. Therefore, the claim does not amount to significantly more than the recited abstract idea (Step 2B: NO). The claims 18, 26, and 34 are not patent eligible.
The claims 19-25, 27-33, and 35-37 recite determining, limiting, authenticating, replacing, and determining a state of operation steps as drafted, are processes that under broadest reasonable interpretation, cover performance of managing personal behavior, but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting “an access device”, nothing in the claim element precludes the steps from practically being performed by organizing human activity. For example, but for the “the access device” in the context of these claims encompasses a person manually determines whether the access device is associated with an authorized user, limits a number of decryption procedures, authenticates the system, replaces a security certificate, and determines a state of operation. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation by managing personal behavior but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claims as a whole merely describe how to generally “apply” the concept of determining, limiting, authenticating, replacing, and determining in a computer environment. The claimed computer components such as the access device is recited at a high level of generality and are merely invoked as tools to perform determining, limiting, authenticating, replacing, and determining steps. Simply implementing the abstract idea on a generic computer is not a practical application of the abstract idea. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims 19-25, 27-33, and 35-37 are directed to an abstract idea.
The claims 19-25, 27-33, and 35-37 do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of using the access device to perform determining, limiting, authenticating, replacing, and determining steps amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. Therefore, the claim does not amount to significantly more than the recited abstract idea (Step 2B: NO). The claims 19-25, 27-33, and 35-37 are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18-21, 24-29, and 32-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0163617 to Laxminarayanan et al., in view of Canadian Patent Application Publication No. CA 3,006,132 to Howe et al.
With regard to claims 18, 26, and 34, Laxminarayanan discloses a system for accessing protected data comprising:
a retriever system operating on a first processor and configured to receive a data packet of encrypted data from a device and to transmit a request including the data packet to a decryption system over a data communications medium using the device, wherein the retriever system is separate and distinct from the device and the device is unable to modify an algorithm operating on the retriever system (Fig. 1, paragraphs 7, 26-27, 45, 57, 66, 72, and 82, The detokenization module 170F may comprise code that causes the processor 170A to detokenize payment tokens. For example, the detokenization module 170F may contain logic that causes the processor 170A to identify a token record associated with a payment token in the token record database 170C. A set of payment credentials associated with the payment token (as indicated in the token record) can then be identified. In some embodiments, the detokenization module 170F may include instructions to detokenize a payment token in response to a detokenization request message (e.g., received from the transaction processing computer 150 or any other suitable entity). Examiner notes that the transaction processing computer can be considered as “a retriever system” and the detokenization module 170F may contain logic that causes the processor 170A, which can be considered as “a decryption system”. The token processing module 150F may receive a payment token from the transport computer 140 and send the payment token to the tokenization computer 170. Examiner notes the transport computer can be considered as “a device, wherein the retriever system is separate and distinct from the device and the device is unable to modify an algorithm operating on the retriever system”. );
the decryption system operating on a second processor and configured to receive the data packet and to transmit a response to the request that includes an encrypted data packet/token containing an account number associated with the data packet if the request has been received from an authorized source (Fig. 4, Paragraphs 7, 26-27, 40-43, 45, 82, 93-101, and 143-144, At step 534, the token provider computer 570 can send a detokenization response message back to the transaction processing computer 550. The verification data generation module 170G may include instructions for associating a verification value with token domain controls. As a result, when a token is used for a transaction and the corresponding verification value is being validated, domain controls associated with the verification value can be checked. As an example, a verification value can be linked to a certain token requestor ID, thereby indicating that only a certain token requestor can use the verification value and payment token. if the verification value is validated and the domain controls are met, the token provider computer 570 may proceed to detokenize the payment token. A “payment token” may include an identifier for a payment account that is a substitute for an account identifier, such as a primary account number (PAN). Tokenization may be used to enhance transaction efficiency, improve transaction security, increase service transparency, or to provide a method for third-party enablement. Examiner notes that a payment authorization request includes a payment token which contains transaction data and a primary account number, which is considered as “an encrypted data packet/token containing an account number”); and
wherein the retriever system is configured to receive the encrypted data packet/token containing the account number (paragraphs 38, 120-123, 144, and 151, At step 534, the token provider computer 570 can send a detokenization response message back to the transaction processing computer 550. The detokenization response message may include the payment credentials, the payment token, a transaction ID, and/or any other suitable information. “Payment credentials” may include any suitable information associated with an account (e.g., a payment account and/or payment device associated with the account). Such information may be directly related to the account or may be derived from information related to the account. Examples of payment credentials may include a PAN (primary account number or “account number”), user name, and an expiration date. The transaction processing computer can utilize the received payment credentials including a payment account to process a transaction),
decrypt the encrypted data packet/token (paragraphs 66 and 72, the token provider computer 170, which can in turn decrypt the data with a corresponding private key upon receipt of the authorization request message. For example, the token processing module 150F may contain logic that causes the processor 150A to detokenize a payment token in an authorization request message.), reconstruct the account number into a data string having predetermined parameters (paragraphs 40-41, For example, a token “4900 0000 0000 0001” may be used in place of a PAN “4147 0900 0000 1234.” In some embodiments, a token may be “format preserving” and may have a numeric format that conforms to the account identifiers used in existing transaction processing networks (e.g., ISO 8583 financial transaction message format). In some embodiments, a token may be used in place of a PAN to initiate, authorize, settle or resolve a payment transaction or represent the original credential in other systems where the original credential would typically be provided. “Tokenization” is a process by which data is replaced with substitute data. For example, a payment account identifier (e.g., a primary account number (PAN)) may be tokenized by replacing the primary account identifier with a substitute number (e.g. a token) that may be associated with the payment account identifier. Examiner notes that the primary account identifier can be reconstructed by a substitute number (e.g. a token), which is considered as “reconstruct the account number into a data string having predetermined parameters”.).
However, Laxminarayanan does not disclose temporarily store the data string in a data buffer, and to display the account number for a predetermined period of time, after which the account number is deleted by purging the data buffer through storage of null data values in the data buffer.
However, Howe teaches temporarily store the data string in a data buffer (the memory 1520 may receive, store, and facilitate use of the decrypted plaintext data (e.g., by providing the decrypted data for display to a user). Examiner notes that the memory storing the decrypted plaintext data can be considered as “a data buffer”., Fig. 15, Fig. 19, page 41, lines 11-28, page 45, lines 3-28), display the account number for a predetermined period of time after which the account number is deleted by purging the data buffer through storage of null data values in the data buffer/ after which it is overwritten with other data in memory, and/or deleting the account number after displaying it by purging it from a buffer (the memory 1520 may receive, store, and facilitate use of the decrypted plaintext data (e.g., by providing the decrypted data for display to a user). In an example, for both encryption and decryption systems, the memories 1505 and/or 1510 may be configured to receive an erase signal (e.g., also referred to as an overwrite signal or erase/overwrite signal) that, when enabled (e.g., set to a logic high), causes the memories 1505 and/or 1510 to erase contents of the memories 1505 and/or 1510. For example, in some cases, the memory 1510 may receive the erase signal that, when enabled, causes the memory 1510 to erase the key stored in the memory 1510. In some aspects, the erase signal is enabled nearly simultaneously with an output being generated at the logic circuit 1515, where the output is encrypted data for an encryption system or decrypted data for a decryption system. At a time t4, the memory 1520 may store the output received from the logic circuit 1515, and the memories 1505 and/or 1510 may receive an erase signal that overwrites the memories 1505 and/or 1510. The erasing of the memories 1505 and/or 1510 may occur within a duration of one clock cycle of the period T1. Fig. 15, Fig. 19, page 41, lines 11-28, page 45, lines 3-28).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Laxminarayanan to include, temporarily store the data string in a data buffer, and to display the account number for a predetermined period of time, after which the account number is deleted by purging the data buffer through storage of null data values in the data buffer, as taught in Howe, in order to shorten the duration of time that the key and/or
associated data remain stored in their respective memories, thus enhancing security (Howe, page 12, lines 20-22).
With regard to claims 19, 27, and 35, Laxminarayanan discloses the retriever system is configured to receive an access device and to determine whether the access device is associated with an authorized user (fig. 1, paragraphs 57, 118, and 121, The payment token may only be considered valid if accompanied by an approved token requestor ID or other identifier associated with the resource provider computer 530. The payment token may be associated with a user account, a user device 520 identifier, or otherwise associated with the user. As a result, the payment token can be identified and utilized for future transactions between the user and resource provider).
With regard to claims 20, 28, and 36, Laxminarayanan discloses the decryption system further comprises a limit system configured to limit a number of decryption procedures from the retriever system and associated deletion procedures within a predetermined period of time (Laxminarayanan, paragraphs 141-143, Howe, Fig. 15, Fig. 19, page 41, lines 11-28, page 45, lines 3-28).
With regard to claims 21, 29, and 37, Laxminarayanan discloses the decryption system further comprises a terminal management system configured to interface with the retriever system and to authenticate the retriever system (paragraphs 47 and 99, A “verification value” may include information for authentication. The verification data validation module 170H may then, in conjunction with the processor 170A, regenerate the verification value based on the identified dynamic data element and the received token, the received token expiration date, the received token requestor ID, and/or any other suitable information. The regenerated verification value can be compared with the received verification value. If the values match, the received verification value may be considered authentic and validated).
With regard to claims 24 and 32, Laxminarayanan discloses the decryption system further comprises a security access system configured to interface with the retriever system and an access device and to determine whether the access device is associated with an authorized user (paragraphs 22, 57-58, and 96).
With regard to claims 25 and 33, Laxminarayanan discloses the retriever system further comprises a first security access system configured to interface with an access device and to determine whether the access device is associated with an authorized user, and the decryption system further comprises a second security access system configured to interface with the first security access system and the access device and to determine whether the access device is associated with an authorized user (paragraphs 22, 28, 57-58, and 96).
Claims 22-23 and 30-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0163617 to Laxminarayanan et al., in view of Canadian Patent Application Publication No. CA 3,006,132 to Howe et al., and further in view of China Patent Application Publication No. CN 101477661 to Liu.
With regard to claims 22 and 30, the combination of references substantially disclose the claimed invention, however, the combination of references does not disclose a terminal management system configured to interface with the retriever system and to replace a security certificate at the retriever system.
However, Liu teaches a terminal management system configured to interface with the retriever system and to replace a security certificate at the retriever system (Meanwhile, in the certificate state table, the digital certificate corresponding to the contents of the update status field is set to "yes". Correspondingly, one can by periodically scanning the certificate state table checking whether digital certificate is in the updating state, for example, can be a timer every 5 minutes the certificate state table is scanned once, according to the certificate state table " is the content of the update status field, determining whether the corresponding digital certificate is in the updating state. Examiner notes that a certificate updating testing is scanned/tested periodically and when the digital certificate is in the updating state, a digital certificate can be updated, which is considered as “the decryption system further comprises a terminal management system configured to interface with the retriever system and to replace a security certificate at the retriever system”, Fig. 1, claim 7, page 3, lines 32-page 4, 11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of references to include, a terminal management system configured to interface with the retriever system and to replace a security certificate at the retriever system, as taught in Liu, in order to apply to improve the security of managing the digital certificate. (Liu, abstract).
With regard to claims 23 and 31, the combination of references discloses wherein the retriever system is separate and distinct from the device and the device is unable to modify an algorithm operating on the retriever system (Laxminarayanan, Fig. 1, paragraphs 7, 26-27, 45, 57, 66, 72, and 82), however, the combination of references does not disclose a terminal management system configured to interface with the retriever system and to determine a state of operation of the retriever system.
However, Liu teaches a terminal management system configured to interface with the retriever system and to determine a state of operation of the retriever system (Meanwhile, in the certificate state table, the digital certificate corresponding to the contents of the update status field is set to "yes". Correspondingly, one can by periodically scanning the certificate state table checking whether digital certificate is in the updating state, for example, can be a timer every 5 minutes the certificate state table is scanned once, according to the certificate state table " is the content of the update status field, determining whether the corresponding digital certificate is in the updating state. Examiner notes that a certificate updating testing is scanned/tested periodically to determine whether the digital certificate is in the updating state, which is considered as “he decryption system further comprises a terminal management system configured to interface with the retriever system and to determine a state of operation of the retriever system”, Fig. 1, claim 7, page 3, lines 32-page 4, 11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of references to include, a terminal management system configured to interface with the retriever system and to determine a state of operation of the retriever system, as taught in Liu, in order to apply to improve the security of managing the digital certificate. (Liu, abstract).
Response to Arguments
Applicants' arguments filed on 09/14/2026 have been fully considered but they are not fully persuasive especially in light of the previously references applied in the rejections.
Applicants remark that “the combination of references does not disclose wherein the retriever system is separate and distinct from the device and the device is unable to modify an algorithm operating on the retriever system; wherein the retriever system is configured to receive the encrypted data packet containing the account number, decrypt the encrypted data packet, reconstruct the account number into a data string having predetermined parameters, temporarily store the data string in a data buffer, and to display the account number for a predetermined period of time, after which the account number is deleted by purging the data buffer through storage of null data values in the data buffer”.
Examiner directs Applicants' attention to the office action above.
Applicants remark that “Applicant’s response by virtue of amendment to claims 18, 26, and 34 has overcome the Examiner’s rejection under 35 USC § 101”.
Examiner directs Applicants' attention to the office action above.
Conclusion
Please refer to form 892 for cited references.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ARIEL J YU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3627