DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 1-7 and 18-19, without traverse in the reply filed on August 7, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Objection
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2: the claim ends with a comma instead of a period. Each claim must be a single sentence ending with one period.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, line 7-8, the phrase “the first metal particles” is unclear because it lacks antecedent basis. The claim previously recites “one or more micro-sized first metal particles” which may be a single particle. It is suggested that the claim recites “the one or more micro-sized first metal particles” to be consistent with the rest of the claims.
Regarding claim 2, the phrase “the micro-sized first metal particles” is unclear because it lacks antecedent basis. Claim 1 previously recites “one or more micro-sized first metal particles” which may be a single particle. It is suggested that the claim recites “the one or more micro-sized first metal particles” to be consistent with the rest of the claims.
Regarding claims 3-5, the phrase “the second metal hydroxide” is indefinite because it lacks antecedent basis. Claim 1 introduces “a second metal hydroxide coating layer,” but does not introduce “a second metal hydroxide” as a standalone element, making it unclear if the reference is to the layer itself or the material comprising it.
Claims 6, 7, 18, 19 are further rejected by virtue of their dependence upon the rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Choi et al. (US 20190071787).
Regarding claim 1, Choi et al. teaches catalyst electrode for production of 2,5-furandicarboxylic acid (paragraph 5), comprising:
a first metal substrate (i.e., bulk copper anode; paragraph 30); and
a second metal hydroxide coating layer (i.e., copper hydroxide present at the surface of the anode; paragraph 28) located on a surface of the first metal substrate (see Figs. 6-7 showing the coated copper hydroxide),
wherein the first metal substrate includes one or more micro-sized first metal particles (i.e., the initial electrodeposition of copper forms the agglomerated islands of less than 1 micron shown in Figs. 6-7; paragraph 39, 50-51) on the surface thereof, and
the second metal hydroxide coating layer is located on a surface of the first metal particles (i.e., the copper hydroxide is formed by electrochemical oxidation on the top surface of the particles shown in Figs. 6-7; paragraph 40).
Regarding claim 2, Choi et al. teaches wherein the micro-sized first metal particles are secondary particles formed by agglomerating first metal primary particles (see agglomerated islands in Figs. 6-7) with an average particle size (D50) of 5 um or less (i.e., Choi et al. teaches the nanoscale surface feature has a size of no greater than 1000 nm or 1 micrometer; paragraph 30).
Regarding claim 3, Choi et al. teaches wherein the second metal hydroxide is dispersed and located on the surface of the first metal substrate in an island shape (i.e., the copper hydroxide is formed on the surface of the particles shown in Figs. 6-7).
Regarding claim 7, Choi et al. teaches wherein the second metal hydroxide coating layer is a copper hydroxide coating layer (paragraphs 28-29).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al.
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Choi et al. does not explicitly teach the second metal hydroxide is located on 5% to 20% of a surface area of the first metal substrate (claim 4) or the average thickness of the copper hydroxide (claim 5). However, Choi et al. teaches at the copper oxide passivation layer may be imperfect (paragraph 40) suggesting that the coverage of the copper hydroxide is less than 100%. Since the catalytic activity of the electrode is affected by the presence of copper hydroxide, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the coverage amount and thickness of the copper hydroxide on the surface of the electrode in order to improve electrode catalytic activity.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. in view of Shao et al. (CN 112921350 A).
Choi et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the first metal substrate includes one or more types selected from a nickel foam and a nickel foil. However, Choi et al. teaches that the electrode can include nickel (paragraph 29)
Shao et al. teaches a catalyst electrode for electrocatalytic oxidation of 5-hydroxymethylfurfural to 2,5-furandicarboxylic acid (paragraph 3) using a bimetallic hydroxide electrode (Abstract). Shao et al. teaches that the conductive substrate can be nickel foam or nickel sheet (paragraph 17).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the conductive substrate using nickel foam, as taught by Shao et al., in the electrode of Choi et al. because Shao et al. teaches a nickel foam is a suitable substrate for a catalyst electrode.
Claims 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. in view of Liu et al. ("The production of valuable biopolymer precursors from fructose." Green Chemistry 22.19 (2020): 6531-6539.).
Regarding claim 18, Choi et al. teaches using an electrochemical cell to oxidize 5-hydroxymethylfurfural (HMF) by applying an anode potential to the anode that induces the electrochemical oxidation of the HMF to form high purity 2,5-furandicarboxylic acid (paragraphs 5 and 47),
wherein the catalyst electrode of claim 1, discussed above, is applied as the catalyst (i.e., copper-based electrode with copper hydroxide having catalytic activity; paragraphs 53-54).
Choi et al. does not explicitly teach that the HMF solution contains residual fructose.
Liu et al. teaches a process for the direct production of two biopolymer precursors, 2,5-furandicarboxylic acid (FDCA) and 2,5-bis(hydroxymethyl)furan (BHMF), from fructose, derived from HMF (see Abstract). Optimized fructose dehydration under microwave irradiation achieved a high HMF yield (83%). The subsequent electrocatalytic conversion of the resulting microwave reaction mixture allows it to carry out either oxidation or reduction via readily tuning the electrochemical parameters to yield FDCA or BHMF, respectively. HMF is not isolated to 100% due to high cost (see Abstract), thus the feed would contain residual fructose.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention modify the process of Choi et al. to use HMF with residual fructose, as suggested by Liu et al., because the solution would be economically attractive to convert HMF to FDCA (Abstract of Liu et al.).
Regarding claim 19, Choi et al. teaches wherein high-purity 2,5-furandicarboxylic acid is produced by applying a potential of 1.62 VRHE (paragraph 55) to the catalyst electrode.
Conclusion
/LUAN V VAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1795