DETAILED ACTION
The following Office action concerns Patent Application Number 18/413,993. Claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
Claims 7-9 and 13-20 have been withdrawn from consideration as being drawn to non-elected inventions or species.
The previous grounds of rejection are maintained in this action and discussed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §§ 102 and 103
Claims 1-6 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by, or, alternatively, under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being obvious over Sumida et al (US 2021/0242416).
Sumida et al teaches a semiconductor device which includes an anode (electrode), a cathode (electrode) and two functional layers between the anode and cathode (par. 5). The functional layer is a photoelectric conversion layer (par. 45). The functional layer includes quantum dots and ligands (par. 15). A quantum dot is a nanoparticle (par. 55). The ligands are bound to the quantum dots (par. 53). The quantum dots include PbS (par. 55). Lead is a group 14 element and sulfur is a group 16 element. The nanoparticles have a size of 0.5-100 nm (par. 55). The semiconductor device is a photoelectric conversion element (par. 3). The electrodes contain titanium (par. 65).
The ligand includes 2,5-diamino-1,4-benzenedithiol (par. 53). The amino group is a cationic ligand and the thiol group is an anionic ligand as those terms are described in the application. The molecular weight of both ligands is less than 250. The quantum dots further include a halogen ligand such as iodine (par. 80).
In the event that the above disclosure is not sufficiently specific to anticipate the above listed claims, the examiner submits that selection of the instantly claimed ligand and resultant properties would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art since Sumida et al teaches a photoelectric conversion element having the claimed structure and comprising each of the claimed components.
Response to Arguments
The applicant argues that Sumida et al lists 2,5-diamino-1,4-benzenedithiol as a generic dithiol ligand. However, the examiner was unable to find any disclosure suggesting that 2,5-diamino-1,4-benzenedithiol was generic. Sumida et al teaches 2,5-diamino-1,4-benzenedithiol as one of a finite group of ligands having similar structures and functional groups which bind to quantum dots.
The applicant argues that Sumida et al does not teach that 2,5-diamino-1,4-benzenedithiol is superior to the other ligands in the reference. Sumida et al teaches that the 2,5-diamino-1,4-benzenedithiol ligand binds to quantum dots in order to control the quantum efficiency of the semiconductor device (par. 53). Therefore, 2,5-diamino-1,4-benzenedithiol is known in the prior art for the stated purpose, which satisfies 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. § 103 as prior art.
The applicant argues that the invention provides an unexpected benefit of high quantum efficiency. However, the examples in the specification are of no probative value in determining patentability of claims since they do not involve a comparison of applicant’s invention of a photoelectric conversion element with the closest applied prior art. See In re De Blawe, 222 USPQ 191 (Fed. Cir. 1984) and In re Fenn, 208 USPQ 470 (CCPA 1981). Even if, arguendo, the comparison had been done between the applicants’ invention and the closest applied prior art, the claims would not be deemed patentable over the references of record since they are not commensurate in scope with the probative value of data in the examples. See In re Clemens, 206 USPQ 289 (CCPA 1980).
Conclusion
No new ground of rejection was presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Examiner’s Information