DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (Claims 2-16) in the reply filed on 10/17/25 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/21/25 and 8/13/24 were filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 1/16/24. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2-6 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2016/0036030 A1 (“US’030”).
As to Claim 2:
US’030 discloses a battery ([0090]–[0096]; Figs. 10A–10B) comprising a base plate in the form of a tray 152 that supports a plurality of battery cells within a battery block 156; a first circuit board 164 ([0096]–[0097]) overlying the base plate and defining at least one first aperture 120 ([0090]) for alignment and electrical connection; a battery stack 156 overlying the circuit board and electrically coupled with the circuit board through conductive connectors 166 ([0097]–[0099]), the battery stack comprising a plurality of battery cells 154; and a fastener 192 ([0101]; Fig. 10B) extending through aligned apertures in the circuit board and tray (i.e., through at least one of each of the first and second apertures); and
the fastener 192 comprises a housing 170 surrounding the interconnect region ([0096]); a central aperture through which the fastener passes ([0090]); a retaining member in the form of a threaded screw 192 and stringer 194 extending through the central aperture to secure the layers together ([0101]); and at least one conductive pin 166 extending through the housing and partially exposed through the housing ([0096]–[0097]; Figs. 7A–7D), wherein the conductive pin 166 is in electrical communication with at least one of the battery cells 154 ([0096]–[0099]).
As to Claim 3:
US’030 discloses a battery ([0096]–[0102]; Figs. 9–12) comprising a plurality of battery cells 154 arranged in a battery stack 156 supported within a tray 152 and interconnected by electrical interconnect boards. US’030 further discloses a second circuit board 164 positioned overlying the battery stack 156 ([0098]–[0100]; Figs. 10A–10B). The second circuit board 164 is mounted on the upper side of the stack and forms an electrical interface for the upper cell terminals. The second circuit board 164 defines a third aperture ([0101]; Figs. 10A–10B) through which fasteners 192 and stringers 194 extend to secure the stack assembly and align it with the lower circuit board. The second circuit board 164 is electrically coupled with the battery stack 156 via connectors 166 and busbars 186, which route electrical current from the battery cells to the interconnect circuitry ([0096]–[0099]).
As to Claim 4:
US’030 discloses a battery comprising a plurality of stacked cells 154 within a battery stack 156 that is secured by fasteners 192 and stringers 194 ([0098]–[0102]; Figs. 10A–10B). The battery further includes a first interconnect board 162 ([0096]–[0097]) and a second interconnect board 164 ([0098]–[0100]) positioned above and below the battery stack 156, each defining respective apertures aligned with those of the battery stack. The fasteners 192 extend vertically through the aligned openings in the lower interconnect board (first aperture), the battery stack (second aperture), and the upper interconnect board (third aperture) to secure the entire stack assembly ([0101]; Figs. 10A–10B).
As to Claim 5:
US’030 discloses a battery ([0096]–[0097]; Figs. 7A–7D, 10A–10B) comprising conductive connectors 166 positioned within a housing 170 that interconnect the terminals of adjacent battery cells 154, 178. Each conductive connector 166 functions as a conductive pin providing electrical communication between the interconnect board and the cell terminals ([0096]). The conductive pin includes projecting end portions ([0097]; Figs. 7B–7D) that extend outward from the interconnect board housing to contact the terminals of the battery cells, forming a protrusion that partially extends outside the housing. The housing 170 defines openings or accesses through which these pins extend so that the protruding portions of the conductive pins are partially exposed through the housing ([0097]; Figs. 7B–7D).
As to Claim 6:
US’030 discloses a battery ([0096]–[0099]; Figs. 7A–7D, 10A–10B) comprising conductive connectors 166 disposed within a housing 170 that electrically interconnect the terminals of adjacent battery cells 154, 178. US’030 further discloses that the conductors 166 are electrically coupled to busbars 180, 186 and conductive traces 176, 184 on the interconnect boards 162, 164 ([0097]–[0099]), forming conductive pathways that extend from each connector pin to the terminals of the corresponding battery cells. These busbars and traces act as conductive extensions configured to electrically couple the conductive pins 166 to the battery cells 154 of the plurality of cells.
As to Claim 12:
US’030 discloses a battery system comprising a plurality of stacked battery cells (154) disposed within a housing (170) ([0096]–[0102]; Figs. 7A–7D, 10A–10B). Each of the battery cells 154 includes positive and negative terminals that are electrically coupled through connectors 166 and busbars 180, 186 to form a battery stack 156. The stacked configuration of multiple battery cells within the housing inherently includes at least a first battery cell and a second battery cell of the plurality of cells. Therefore, the recited feature that “the plurality of battery cells includes a first battery cell and a second battery cell” is expressly and inherently disclosed in US’030.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-11 and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over US 2016/0036030 A1 (“US’030”), as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of EP 0114667 A2 (“EP’667”).
As to Claim 7:
US’030 further teaches that each connector 166 forms a conductive extension between the battery cell terminals 154 and the busbars 180, 186, serving as the electrical coupling structure. The connector 166 includes both outer contact portions engaging the battery terminal surfaces and inner contact portions positioned within openings of the housing 170 to engage the conductive pins of the interconnect board ([0097]–[0099]). The connector 166 thus establishes a continuous conductive pathway between the inner and outer contact portions ([0097]).
However, US’030 does not explicitly disclose that the inner and outer conductive portions are annular components—i.e., having a ring-like geometry surrounding an axis, nor does it specify that the inner annular component is positioned concentrically adjacent to an access opening.
In the same field of endeavor, EP’667 discloses an electrochemical cell stack (Figs. 1–3; [0016]–[0017]) using metallic conductive rings 25 that are annular and concentric around threaded rods 21, 22, functioning as conductive interfaces between electrode plates 10 and the rods. Each conductive ring includes an outer annular region electrically coupled to the electrode plates and an inner annular region in contact with the rod, with the inner and outer regions being part of a single conductive body ([0017]). Thus, EP’667 explicitly teaches the ring-shaped (annular) configuration that provides stable electrical contact and uniform pressure distribution between the rod (conductive pin) and the electrodes (battery cells).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the conductive connector 166 of US’030 to have the annular geometry taught by EP’667, because both references are directed to stacked electrochemical battery modules seeking to improve electrical contact reliability and structural alignment between conductive interfaces and cell terminals. Incorporating an annular configuration for the conductive extension would have been a predictable design choice to enhance mechanical alignment and current distribution between the connector, conductive pin, and battery cell terminal—functions explicitly shared by the connectors in US’030 and the conductive rings in EP’667.
As to Claim 8:
US’030 discloses a battery system comprising a plurality of stacked battery cells (154) within a housing (170) and interconnected via conductive connectors (166) ([0096]–[0102]; Figs. 7A–7D, 10A–10B). Each connector 166 includes contact portions at opposite ends that provide electrical coupling between the cell terminals and busbars. The connector is compressed and held in position by fasteners (192), maintaining contact between the conductive elements. Thus, US’030 teaches a conductive extension that provides an electrical connection between the conductive pin and the battery cell terminal and is retained through compression within the housing.
However, US’030 fails to disclose a distinct spacer positioned at the inner annular component that ensures maintained contact between the conductive pin and the inner annular component under thermal expansion, vibration, or mechanical stress. The contact in US’030 is sustained solely by mechanical fastener tension, without a separate compliant or annular spacer element.
EP’667 further teaches interposed spacers or washers between the conductive rings and the rods, configured to maintain uniform pressure and reliable contact between the inner (rod) and outer (ring) conductive elements even under mechanical vibration or compression variation. These spacers ensure consistent electrical communication along the annular interface.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the connector assembly of US’030 by incorporating an annular spacer element as taught by EP’667, positioned between the inner annular portion of the connector and the conductive pin. The motivation would be to (1) simplify current collection by providing direct conductive pathways through the stack, (2) improve uniformity of electrical resistance among cells, and (3) enhance modularity and ease of assembly—advantages clearly recognized in the art of stacked cell battery assemblies.
As to Claim 9:
US’030 discloses a battery system including a plurality of stacked battery cells (154) within a housing (170) interconnected through connectors 166 and busbar assemblies 180, 186 ([0096]–[0102]; Figs. 7A–7D, 10A–10B). Each connector 166 electrically couples adjacent cells by forming an electrical path between upper and lower terminals within the stack, thus facilitating current flow across multiple cells. Accordingly, US’030 teaches the concept of a conductive element extending through a stack to connect more than one cell.
However, US’030 does not explicitly disclose that the conductive element is a conductive pin—it instead shows a busbar or plate-type connector—nor does it expressly state that such a pin-like conductor electrically couples directly to multiple individual cells through a central axial structure.
EP’667 discloses an electrochemical cell stack employing threaded conductive rods 21, 22 extending through multiple electrode plates (10) and conductive rings (25), each ring contacting an electrode of a separate cell ([0016]–[0017]; Fig. 1). The threaded rods act as common conductive pins coupling multiple battery cells in series or parallel, ensuring electrical connection throughout the stacked assembly.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the connectors 166 of US’030 to employ the elongated conductive rod/pin configuration taught by EP’667, thereby enabling a single conductive pin to interconnect multiple cells in the stack. The motivation for such modification arises from a predictable design choice to (1) simplify current collection by providing direct conductive pathways through the stack, (2) improve uniformity of electrical resistance among cells, and (3) enhance modularity and ease of assembly—advantages clearly recognized in the art of stacked cell battery assemblies.
As to Claim 10:
US’030 discloses a battery system comprising a plurality of stacked battery cells (154) housed within a battery housing (170) and electrically interconnected by conductors 166 and busbars 180, 186 ([0096]–[0102]; Figs. 7A–7D, 10A–10B). Each busbar is located at the upper or lower end of the housing and provides an external electrical connection for the battery module. Thus, the conductors and busbars are disposed within the housing and extend toward the top and bottom surfaces to provide current pathways. The busbars and their associated conductive terminals therefore serve as conductive interfaces accessible from the top or bottom of the housing.
However, US’030 does not explicitly disclose that the conductive terminals take the form of conductive pins that extend through or beyond the housing to provide direct access points for external connection. The reference instead describes planar busbar and connector plates integrated into the housing assembly.
EP’667 discloses a stacked electrochemical cell configuration in which threaded conductive rods (21, 22) extend axially through the cell stack and project beyond the upper and lower surfaces of the housing ([0016]–[0017]; Fig. 1). The rods function as conductive pins that provide external connection points at both ends of the battery stack, enabling electrical access at the top and bottom.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the connector assembly of US’030 to employ the through-type conductive pins of EP’667 extending to the exterior of the housing. The motivation for such modification would have been to (1) simplify current collection by providing direct conductive pathways through the stack, (2) improve uniformity of electrical resistance among cells, and (3) enhance modularity and ease of assembly—advantages clearly recognized in the art of stacked cell battery assemblies.
As to Claim 11:
US’030 discloses a battery system comprising a housing (170) enclosing a plurality of stacked battery cells (154) and associated connectors (166) and busbars (180, 186) ([0096]–[0102]; Figs. 7A–7D, 10A–10B). The housing structurally supports and protects the internal battery stack and electrical connections. Although US’030 does not explicitly specify that the housing is made of insulated material, the housing’s function inherently requires electrical isolation to prevent short circuits among conductive components within the assembly.
However, US’030 fails to explicitly disclose that the housing itself is composed of insulated material such as a resin or polymeric dielectric, nor does it expressly indicate that the housing provides external electrical insulation.
EP’667 discloses an electrochemical cell assembly in which the stacked electrodes and conductive rods (21, 22) are surrounded by an insulating casing (28) ([0016]; Fig. 1). The insulating casing prevents electrical contact between internal conductive components and the exterior environment. EP’667 explicitly identifies this outer enclosure as made from non-conductive (insulated) material to provide electrical isolation and safety.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to construct the housing of US’030 from an insulated material as taught by EP’667, since both references address similar electrochemical battery modules requiring electrical isolation and safety containment. The motivation would have been to (1) simplify current collection by providing direct conductive pathways through the stack, (2) improve uniformity of electrical resistance among cells, and (3) enhance modularity and ease of assembly—advantages clearly recognized in the art of stacked cell battery assemblies.
As to Claim 13:
US’030 discloses a battery system comprising a housing (170) enclosing a battery stack (156) of multiple battery cells (154) ([0096]–[0102]; Figs. 7A–7D, 10A–10B). Each of the battery cells 154 includes positive and negative terminals that are interconnected through conductive connectors 166 and busbars 180, 186, providing electrical continuity throughout the stack. The stacked configuration inherently includes a first battery cell and a second battery cell of the plurality of battery cells. The connectors 166 and associated busbars 180, 186 provide electrical communication between the terminals of adjacent cells.
However, US’030 does not explicitly disclose that the conductive elements (connectors 166) are formed as distinct conductive pins—that is, discrete pin-like conductive members individually associated with separate cells—nor does it expressly teach multiple conductive pins corresponding to separate cells.
EP’667 discloses an electrochemical cell assembly having a plurality of stacked cells (electrodes 10) electrically interconnected by threaded conductive rods 21, 22 extending axially through the stack ([0016]–[0017]; Fig. 1). Each rod serves as a conductive pin that provides electrical connection between the electrode plates (cells) along its length. The reference further teaches the use of multiple rods (pins) in parallel, each being in electrical communication with separate electrode assemblies (cells).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the connectors 166 of US’030 to use discrete conductive pins extending through the stack, as taught by EP’667, so that each pin connects to one or more specific battery cells within the module. The motivation for this modification would have been to (1) simplify current collection by providing direct conductive pathways through the stack, (2) improve uniformity of electrical resistance among cells, and (3) enhance modularity and ease of assembly—advantages clearly recognized in the art of stacked cell battery assemblies.
As to Claim 14:
US’030 discloses a battery system including a plurality of stacked battery cells (154) contained within a housing (170) ([0096]–[0102]; Figs. 7A–7D, 10A–10B). Each cell is interconnected by conductive connectors 166 and busbars 180, 186, which provide electrical connection between the terminals of adjacent cells and extend to the upper and lower portions of the housing for external connection. The battery stack includes at least a first and second cell, and conductive paths at both the top and bottom surfaces enable electrical coupling to the external circuit. Thus, US’030 teaches conductive elements extending toward or through the top and bottom of the housing for connection.
However, US’030 does not explicitly disclose that the conductive extensions take the form of protruding conductive pins extending through accesses defined in the housing. The reference instead describes planar busbars or embedded connectors that do not individually protrude through distinct apertures.
EP’667 discloses an electrochemical cell stack (Figs. 1–3; [0016]–[0017]) that includes threaded conductive rods 21, 22 extending axially through the stack. Each rod functions as a conductive pin with protruding ends extending through top and bottom access openings in the housing to allow external electrical connection. The reference also describes that each rod extends through a corresponding aperture to provide electrical accessibility while maintaining stack compression and alignment.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the busbar and connector arrangement of US’030 to employ the through-type conductive pin structure of EP’667, such that the conductive extensions of US’030 would include first and second conductive pins each extending through separate access openings in the housing. The motivation for such modification would have been to (1) simplify current collection by providing direct conductive pathways through the stack, (2) improve uniformity of electrical resistance among cells, and (3) enhance modularity and ease of assembly—advantages clearly recognized in the art of stacked cell battery assemblies.
As to Claim 15:
US’030 discloses a battery module comprising a plurality of stacked battery cells (154) housed within a battery housing (170) and interconnected by conductive connectors 166 and busbars 180, 186 ([0096]–[0102]; Figs. 7A–7D, 10A–10B). The busbars at the upper and lower ends of the module provide external electrical terminals located at opposite ends of the housing. These terminal locations inherently represent distinct positions along the longitudinal axis of the housing — one at the top and one at the bottom — and are configured to provide electrical access for the cell stack.
However, US’030 does not explicitly disclose that the upper and lower terminals comprise protruding conductive pins or that they extend through distinct access openings in the housing. The reference primarily describes planar busbars that do not physically extend beyond the housing surfaces.
EP’667 discloses an electrochemical cell stack including threaded conductive rods 21, 22 extending axially through the stacked electrodes (10) ([0016]–[0017]; Fig. 1). Each rod passes through the housing and projects externally, forming first and second protrusions located at opposite ends of the stack along its longitudinal axis. The rods extend through separate access openings at each end of the housing to provide electrical connection points at distinct longitudinal positions.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the upper and lower busbar arrangement of US’030 to employ the axial conductive pin structure of EP’667. The motivation would have been to (1) simplify current collection by providing direct conductive pathways through the stack, (2) improve uniformity of electrical resistance among cells, and (3) enhance modularity and ease of assembly—advantages clearly recognized in the art of stacked cell battery assemblies.
As to Claim 16:
US’030 discloses a battery module comprising a plurality of stacked battery cells (154) enclosed within a housing (170) and electrically interconnected by connectors 166 and busbars 180, 186 ([0096]–[0102]; Figs. 7A–7D, 10A–10B). The upper busbar 180 and lower busbar 186 are positioned at opposite ends of the battery stack and provide external electrical connections for the respective terminal electrodes of the uppermost and lowermost cells. These busbars therefore function as electrical coupling members between the cell electrodes and external terminals, providing conduction paths from the first and second battery cells to the external circuit.
However, US’030 does not explicitly disclose that the upper and lower conductive elements are conductive extensions that couple to discrete conductive pins—rather, it describes planar busbars and inter-cell connectors but not pin-type conductors.
EP’667 discloses an electrochemical cell stack employing threaded conductive rods 21 and 22 extending axially through stacked electrodes (10) ([0016]–[0017]; Fig. 1). Each rod passes through the stack and connects to the endmost electrodes via metallic contact members or nuts, forming distinct conductive extensions that couple each rod (conductive pin) to the respective battery cells at opposite ends of the housing. The contact members maintain electrical continuity between the rods and the end electrodes while providing mechanical stability.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify US’030 to incorporate the axially extending conductive rods with end-contact extensions as taught by EP’667. The motivation for such modification would have been to (1) improve the compactness and mechanical integrity of the battery module, (2) reduce contact resistance by providing a direct conductive pathway through the stack, and (3) simplify external electrical connection through defined pin-type terminals—design goals well known in the art of stacked battery systems.
Conclusion
/JIMMY VO/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1723
/JIMMY VO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723