DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The claims now recite “a welding rib to be welded on the first surface of the flow path base material.” However, as shown in Figure 10 of the immediate application, if the claimed welding rib corresponds to item 53 in the figure, it would appear the welding rib is integral with the flow path base material and has not been welded on the flow path base material. Clarification is required.
Because all other claims depend from claims 1, 11 and 12, they are also rejected on this basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8, 10-18 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanagami et al. (2018/0079213) in view of Silverbrook et al. (7,677,698).
Regarding claims 1, 11 and 12, Hanagami teaches a flow path unit, liquid ejecting apparatus and method of manufacture that constitutes a flow path through which a liquid flows, the flow path unit comprising:
a head that ejects a liquid ([0005];
a flow path base material (fig. 10, item 30) absorbent to laser light ([0085]); and
a flow path member (fig. 10, item 31) that is transparent to laser light and is welded to the flow path base material ([0104]), wherein
the flow path base material has a first surface (fig. 10, item 42) facing downward (note that “upward” and “downward” are arbitrary) a second surface (fig. 10, unshown surface facing downward on main substrate 30) facing upward (note that “upward” and “downward” are arbitrary) that is a surface opposite to the first surface (see fig. 10), a welding rib and a support rib, a width of the support rib being smaller than a width of the welding rib (see fig. 10),
a welding rib (figs. 9, 10, item 42) to be welded on the first surface of the flow path base material (see figs. 9, 10);
a welding region (fig. 10, arbitrary region of surface 42) to be welded to the flow path member is formed at the first surface (see fig. 10, note that items 30, 31 are bonded at a “welding region”), the welding region being disposed on the welding rib (see fig. 10),
a relay flow path (figs. 8, 10, item 32, topmost flow path 37) that is a portion of the flow path is defined by welding the flow path member to the welding region, the relay flow path communicating through a first relay port (fig. 8, topmost portion of 32) disposed and a second relay port (fig. 8, topmost flow path 37), the first relay port being disposed on an opposite side of the welding region from the second relay port (see fig. 8, note that a plane through the welding region is sandwiched by the first and second relay ports),
the flow path member has
a welding surface (fig. 10, bottom surface of item 31) welded to the welding region (see fig. 9, note that any portion of the flow path can be considered to read on the claimed relay flow path),
an opposite surface (fig. 10, top surface of item 31) that is a surface opposite to the welding surface (see fig. 10), and a coupling pipe (fig. 10, item 20) that extends from the opposite surface (see fig. 10),
a coupling flow path (figs. 8, 10, bottommost flow path 37) that is a portion of the flow path opens in the coupling pipe, and the coupling flow path communicates with the relay flow path (see fig. 10).
Hanagami does not teach a support rib disposed on the second surface of the flow path base material, a width of the support rib being smaller than a width of the welding rib. Silverbrook teaches a flow path base material with ribs on opposing surfaces, one of the ribs having a width greater than the other rib, and the ribs overlapping when viewed from the second surface (Silverbrook, see fig. 11, Note first rib 40 analogous to Hanagami’s welding rib, second, support rib 74 with a smaller width than the first rib, flow path base material 46 and note that the ribs at least partly overlap). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the support rib disclosed by Silverbrook to the second surface of Hanagami’s flow path base material because doing so would increase the structural strength of the flow path base material, thereby reducing the possibility of cracking on stress.
Upon combination of prior art teachings, the resultant device would meet the limitation: wherein, when the flow path member is welded to the flow path base material the support rib is configured to receive areaction force generated by pressing of the flow path member being pressed against the welding rib material, wherein the support rib on the second surface is located to overlap the welding rib on the first surface when viewed from the second surface.
Regarding claims 2 and 13, Hanagami in view of Silverbook teaches the flow path unit and method according to claims 1 and 12, respectively, wherein
the flow path member is a first flow path member,
the welding region is a first welding region,
the relay flow path is a first relay flow path,
the flow path unit further comprises a second flow path member that is transparent to laser light and is welded to the flow path base material, a second welding region to be welded to the second flow path member is formed at the second surface, a second relay flow path that is a portion of the flow path is defined by welding the second flow path member to the second welding region, and the second welding region is located at a position that does not overlap the coupling pipe when viewed in a direction in which the coupling pipe extends (Hanagami, see figs. 2-8, Note that there are pluralities of flow path members, welding regions and relay flow paths).
Specifically regarding claim 13, Hanagami teaches wherein a support rib and a welding rub overlap in the vertical direction (Hanagami, see fig. 20, Note that support rib 72 of flow path base material 67 overlaps welding region 71b where flow path base material 67 is welded to flow path member 68). As noted above, there are first and second ribs and regions as well as flow path base materials and flow path members
Regarding claim 3, Hanagami in view of Silverbook teaches the flow path unit according to claim 2, wherein the second welding region is located inside an outer shape of the first flow path member when viewed in the direction in which the coupling pipe extends (Hanagami, see figs. 5-7, Note that any second welding region that does not overlap with any first flow path member in the pipe extension direction can be chosen to meet the limitation. Note that “outside of” and “an outer shape of” can mean more than one thing).
Regarding claim 4, Hanagami in view of Silverbook teaches flow path unit according to claim 1, wherein the flow path member is a first flow path member, the welding region is a first welding region, the relay flow path is a first relay flow path, the flow path unit further comprises
a second flow path member that is transparent to laser light and is welded to the flow path base material, a second welding region to be welded to the second flow path member is formed at the second surface, a second relay flow path that is a portion of the flow path is defined by welding the second flow path member to the second welding region, and the second welding region is located inside an outer shape of the first flow path member when viewed in a direction in which the coupling pipe extends (Hanagami, see figs. 2-8, Note that there are pluralities of flow path members, welding regions and relay flow paths).
Regarding claim 5, Hanagami in view of Silverbook teaches flow path unit according to claim 2, wherein
the welding surface is a first welding surface,
the opposite surface is a first opposite surface,
the coupling pipe is a first coupling pipe, the coupling flow path is a first coupling flow path,
the second flow path member has a second welding surface welded to the second welding region, a second opposite surface that is a surface opposite to the second welding surface, and a second coupling pipe that extends from the second opposite surface, a second coupling flow path that is a portion of the flow path opens in the second coupling pipe, and the second coupling flow path communicates with the second relay flow path (Hanagami, see figs. 2-8, Note that there are pluralities of flow path members, welding regions and relay flow paths).
Regarding claims 6 and 14, Hanagami in view of Silverbook teaches the flow path unit and method according to claims 2 and 14, respectively, further comprising
a displacement section (Hanagami, fig. 21, item 75) having an elastic member (Hanagami, fig. 22, item 86b, [0115])) elastically deformed,
wherein an accommodation chamber in which the displacement section is accommodated is defined by welding the second flow path member to the second welding region, the elastic member is pressed from the second flow path member toward the flow path base material, and the second relay flow path extends between the flow path base material and the elastic member (Hanagami, [0114]-[0116]).
Regarding claim 8, Hanagami in view of Silverbook teaches the flow path unit according to claim 6, wherein the elastic member has an attachment portion attached to the flow path base material and a displacement portion displaced with respect to the flow path base material, and the elastic member closing the second relay flow path by being pressed such that the displacement portion comes into contact with the flow path base material (Hanagami, see figs. 21, 22, Note that flexible film 86b necessarily has a portion fixed to the flow path base material and a portion that displaces with changes in pressure in the accommodation chamber).
Regarding claim 10, Hanagami in view of Silverbook teaches the flow path unit according to claim 9, wherein the second relay flow path is one of a plurality of second relay flow paths, the displacement section is one of a plurality of displacement sections, the elastic member is one of a plurality of elastic members, the displacement shaft is one of a plurality of displacement shafts, and the flow path unit further comprises an operating mechanism that operates the plurality of displacement shafts such that the plurality of elastic members open the plurality of second relay flow paths, respectively (Hanagami, see all figs, Note that there are pluralities of all claimed components).
Regarding claims 15 and 16, compare Hanagami, figs. 3 and 8-10, Note that there are several rows of the assembly shown in Hanagami, figs. 9, 10, each row having relay flow paths separated by welding regions.
Regarding claim 17, see rejections of claims 2, 4, 12, 13. Note that there are multiple support ribs overlapping multiple welding ribs with welding regions.
Regarding claim 18, see Hanagami, fig. 10. Note that the coupling pipe does not overlap the welding region.
Regarding claim 21, Hanagami in view of Silverbrook teaches the flow path unit according to claim 1, wherein the support rib bends when the support rib receives the reaction force generated by pressing the flow path member against the welding rib (Note that, upon combination of references, the resultant device would meet the limitation).
Claim(s) 7, 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanagami in view of Silverbook as applied to claims 6, 8 and 17 above, and further in view of Yamada et al. (2021/0394525).
Regarding claims 7, 9 and 19, Hanagami in view of Silverbook teaches flow path unit according to claims 6, 8 and 17. Hanagami in view of Silverbook does not teach wherein the displacement section has a displacement shaft extending from the elastic member, and the displacement shaft is inserted into the second flow path member, and an insertion port communicating with the accommodation chamber is open in the second flow path member. Yamada teaches a displacement section with a displacement shaft extending from an elastic member into a flow path member and an insertion port (Yamada, fig. 2, Note elastic member 2022, shaft 2024, second flow path member). It would have been obvious to configured the displacement section disclosed by Hanagami in the manner disclosed by Yamada because doing so would amount to combining prior art elements according to known methods to obtain predictable results. In other words, because Hanagami in view of Silverbook does not go into detail about the physical arrangement of the interior of its displacement section, it would have been obvious to one of skill in the art to look to Yamada for such a teaching.
Claim(s) 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanagami in view of Silverbrook and Yamada as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of Takahashi et al. (2020/0108624).
Regarding claim 20, see claim 19 rejection. Regarding the leak detector, Takahashi teaches this (Takahashi, [0087]). It would have been obvious to one of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a leak detector, as disclosed by Takahashi, to any part of an inkjet printer susceptible to leaks because doing so would allow for early detection and remedial action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot in light of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEJANDRO VALENCIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853