CTNF 18/414,006 CTNF 86964 DETAILED ACTION Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim s 1 and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities: the claim recites “a first relay port disposed.” Appropriate correction is required. 07-29-01 AIA Claim s 1 and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities: the claim recites “an outer shaper.” Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. Claims 1, 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The claims now recite “the support rib is configured to receive a load of the flow path member being pressed against the welding rib.” It is not understood what exactly this is intended to mean. Assuming the welding rib and the support rib are different ribs, it is not understood how load being applied to one rib is received by the other rib. Clarification is required. Because all other claims depend from claims 1, 11 and 12, they are also rejected on this basis. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim (s) 1-6, 8 and 10-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Hanagami et al. (2018/0079213) . Regarding claims 1, 11 and 12, Hanagami teaches a flow path unit, liquid ejecting apparatus and method of manufacture that constitutes a flow path through which a liquid flows, the flow path unit comprising: a head that ejects a liquid ([0005]; a flow path base material (fig. 10, item 30) absorbent to laser light ([0085]); and a flow path member (fig. 10, item 31) that is transparent to laser light and is welded to the flow path base material ([0104]), wherein the flow path base material has a first surface (fig. 10, item 42) and a second surface (fig. 10, unshown surface facing downward on main substrate 30) that is a surface opposite to the first surface (see fig. 10), a welding rib and a support rib, a width of the support rib being smaller than a width of the welding rib (see illustration below), a welding region (fig. 10, arbitrary region of surface 42) to be welded to the flow path member is formed at the first surface (see fig. 10, note that items 30, 31 are bonded at a “welding region”), the welding region being disposed on the welding rib (see illustration below), a relay flow path (figs. 8, 10, item 32, topmost flow path 37) that is a portion of the flow path is defined by welding the flow path member to the welding region, the relay flow path comprising a first relay port (fig. 8, topmost portion of 32) disposed and a second relay port (fig. 8, topmost flow path 37) , the first relay port being disposed on an opposite side of the welding region from the second relay port (see fig. 8, note that a plane through the welding region is sandwiched by the first and second relay ports) , the flow path member has a welding surface (fig. 10, bottom surface of item 31) welded to the welding region (see fig. 9, note that any portion of the flow path can be considered to read on the claimed relay flow path), an opposite surface (fig. 10, top surface of item 31) that is a surface opposite to the welding surface (see fig. 10), and a coupling pipe (fig. 10, item 20) that extends from the opposite surface (see fig. 10), a coupling flow path (figs. 8, 10, bottommost flow path 37) that is a portion of the flow path opens in the coupling pipe, and the coupling flow path communicates with the relay flow path (see fig. 10), wherein, when the flow path member is welded to the flow path base material the support rib is configured to receive a load of the flow path member being pressed against the welding rib when the flow path member is welded to the flow path base material (see 112 rejection. Note that, when welded together, any part of the welded structure could be said to “receive the load of” the flow path member pressed against the welding rib). PNG media_image1.png 438 684 media_image1.png Greyscale Regarding claims 2 and 13, Hanagami teaches the flow path unit and method according to claims 1 and 12, respectively, wherein the flow path member is a first flow path member, the welding region is a first welding region, the relay flow path is a first relay flow path, the flow path unit further comprises a second flow path member that is transparent to laser light and is welded to the flow path base material, a second welding region to be welded to the second flow path member is formed at the second surface, a second relay flow path that is a portion of the flow path is defined by welding the second flow path member to the second welding region, and the second welding region is located at a position that does not overlap the coupling pipe when viewed in a direction in which the coupling pipe extends (see figs. 2-8, Note that there are pluralities of flow path members, welding regions and relay flow paths). Specifically regarding claim 13, Hanagami teaches wherein a support rib and a welding rub overlap in the vertical direction (see fig. 20, Note that support rib 72 of flow path base material 67 overlaps welding region 71b where flow path base material 67 is welded to flow path member 68). As noted above, there are first and second ribs and regions as well as flow path base materials and flow path members. Further, note in illustration support rib overlapping and inside a shape and extending along the welding rib . Regarding claim 3, Hanagami teaches the flow path unit according to claim 2, wherein the second welding region is located inside an outer shape of the first flow path member when viewed in the direction in which the coupling pipe extends (see figs. 5-7, Note that any second welding region that does not overlap with any first flow path member in the pipe extension direction can be chosen to meet the limitation. Note that “outside of” and “an outer shape of” can mean more than one thing). Regarding claim 4, Hanagami teaches flow path unit according to claim 1, wherein the flow path member is a first flow path member, the welding region is a first welding region, the relay flow path is a first relay flow path, the flow path unit further comprises a second flow path member that is transparent to laser light and is welded to the flow path base material, a second welding region to be welded to the second flow path member is formed at the second surface, a second relay flow path that is a portion of the flow path is defined by welding the second flow path member to the second welding region, and the second welding region is located inside an outer shape of the first flow path member when viewed in a direction in which the coupling pipe extends. Regarding claim 5, Hanagami teaches flow path unit according to claim 2, wherein the welding surface is a first welding surface, the opposite surface is a first opposite surface, the coupling pipe is a first coupling pipe, the coupling flow path is a first coupling flow path, the second flow path member has a second welding surface welded to the second welding region, a second opposite surface that is a surface opposite to the second welding surface, and a second coupling pipe that extends from the second opposite surface, a second coupling flow path that is a portion of the flow path opens in the second coupling pipe, and the second coupling flow path communicates with the second relay flow path (see figs. 2-8, Note that there are pluralities of flow path members, welding regions and relay flow paths). Regarding claims 6 and 14, Hanagami teaches the flow path unit and method according to claims 2 and 14, respectively, further comprising a displacement section (fig. 21, item 75) having an elastic member (fig. 22, item 86b, [0115])) elastically deformed, wherein an accommodation chamber in which the displacement section is accommodated is defined by welding the second flow path member to the second welding region, the elastic member is pressed from the second flow path member toward the flow path base material, and the second relay flow path extends between the flow path base material and the elastic member ([0114]-[0116]). Regarding claim 8, Hanagami teaches the flow path unit according to claim 6, wherein the elastic member has an attachment portion attached to the flow path base material and a displacement portion displaced with respect to the flow path base material, and the elastic member closing the second relay flow path by being pressed such that the displacement portion comes into contact with the flow path base material (see figs. 21, 22, Note that flexible film 86b necessarily has a portion fixed to the flow path base material and a portion that displaces with changes in pressure in the accommodation chamber). Regarding claim 10, Hanagami teaches the flow path unit according to claim 9, wherein the second relay flow path is one of a plurality of second relay flow paths, the displacement section is one of a plurality of displacement sections, the elastic member is one of a plurality of elastic members, the displacement shaft is one of a plurality of displacement shafts, and the flow path unit further comprises an operating mechanism that operates the plurality of displacement shafts such that the plurality of elastic members open the plurality of second relay flow paths, respectively (see all figs, Note that there are pluralities of all claimed components). Regarding claims 15 and 16, compare figs. 3 and 8-10, Note that there are several rows of the assembly shown in figs. 9, 10, each row having relay flow paths separated by welding regions. Regarding claim 17, see rejections of claims 2, 4, 12, 13. Note that there are multiple support ribs overlapping multiple welding ribs with welding regions. Regarding claim 18, see fig. 10. Note that the coupling pipe does not overlap the welding region . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 7, 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanagami in view of Yamada et al. (2021/0394525) . Regarding claims 7, 9 and 19, Hanagami teaches flow path unit according to claims 6, 8 and 17. Hanagami does not teach wherein the displacement section has a displacement shaft extending from the elastic member, and the displacement shaft is inserted into the second flow path member, and an insertion port communicating with the accommodation chamber is open in the second flow path member. Yamada teaches a displacement section with a displacement shaft extending from an elastic member into a flow path member and an insertion port (Yamada, fig. 2, Note elastic member 2022, shaft 2024, second flow path member). It would have been obvious to configured the displacement section disclosed by Hanagami in the manner disclosed by Yamada because doing so would amount to combining prior art elements according to known methods to obtain predictable results. In other words, because Hanagami does not go into detail about the physical arrangement of the interior of its displacement section, it would have been obvious to one of skill in the art to look to Yamada for such a teaching . 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanagami in view of Yamada as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of Takahashi et al. (2020/0108624) . Regarding claim 20, see claim 19 rejection. Regarding the leak detector, Takahashi teaches this (Takahashi, [0087]). It would have been obvious to one of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a leak detector, as disclosed by Takahashi, to any part of an inkjet printer susceptible to leaks because doing so would allow for early detection and remedial action . Response to Arguments 07-37 AIA Applicant's arguments filed 1 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The claims have been amended to further specify the structure of the device, but the amendment fails to distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. The rejections above have been updated to reflect the changes to the claims. The standing prior art rejection is maintained . Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ALEJANDRO VALENCIA whose telephone number is (571)270-5473. The examiner can normally be reached M-F. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, DOUGLAS X. RODRIGUEZ can be reached at 571-431-0716. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ALEJANDRO VALENCIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/414,006 Page 2 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/414,006 Page 3 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/414,006 Page 4 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/414,006 Page 5 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/414,006 Page 6 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/414,006 Page 7 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/414,006 Page 8 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/414,006 Page 9 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/414,006 Page 10 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/414,006 Page 11 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/414,006 Page 12 Art Unit: 2853