DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Request for Continued Examination (RCE) filed on 04/13/2026. Claims 1-2 and 4-20 are being considered and further pending examination.
Response to Amendments
Amendments to Claims no longer invoke interpretation under 112(f) regarding the limitation of “a display”.
Response to Arguments
Arguments regarding interpretation of “a controller” as equivalent, or synonymous with, the term “processor” and therefore a controller is a known structure is persuasive and therefore is no longer interpreted under 112(f).
Amendments/Arguments overcome previous 112(b) rejections resulting from 112(f) interpretations without sufficiently disclosed structure in the specification, therefore the previous rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) of claim 1-2 and 4-11 are withdrawn.
Amendments/Arguments regarding the rejection of claims 1-2 and 4-20 under 35 U.S.C. § 101 are persuasive regarding the displaying feature of the independent claims being recited as an improvement in the specification in para [0047], therefore the previous rejections of claims 1-2 and 4-20 under 35 U.S.C. § 101 are withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks pages , filed 04/13/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 9-15, and 19-10 under 35 U.S.C. § 102 and claims 6-7, 8, 16-17, and 18 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 8, 16, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Vicharelli et al (US 20130096818 A1) henceforth referred to as Vicharelli.
Regarding Claim 1 Yang teaches An apparatus for providing information on a distance to empty (DTE) of a vehicle, the apparatus comprising (para [0023] : “According to the principles disclosed herein, and as discussed below, the present disclosure provides a method and system of dynamically displaying a plurality of electric drive range estimations for a vehicle having an electric motor and an energy storage system configured to provide electric power to the electric motor.”):
a display (para [0035] : “FIG. 3 illustrates a user interface 300 having a drivable electric drive range estimation 308 that is displayed on the display 210 (FIG. 2) as a graphical representation of a vehicle's electric drive range estimations with confidence interval.”); and
a controller configured to control operation of the display (para [0031] : “The method 100 may be implemented in software, in particular a sequence of controller execution instructions. The controller 208 may be a processor, a microprocessor, a microcontroller, or any device that incorporates the functions of a computer's central processing unit (CPU) onto a single or multiple integrated circuits.”),
wherein the controller determines a low-DTE vehicle speed and a high-DTE vehicle speed based on a current vehicle driving condition (para [0037] : “FIG. 5 illustrates another user interface 500 displayed on the display 210 in accordance with another embodiment described herein. The information display may further include at least one electric drive range impact factor corresponding to a vehicle operating parameter controllable by the vehicle operator. The at least one electric drive range impact factor may affect at least one of the maximum drivable electric drive range, the minimum drivable electric drive range, or the instantaneous drivable electric drive range. As shown in FIG. 5, the drivable electric drive range estimation 308 is shown with electric drive range impact factors 502. The electric drive range impact factors 502 may also be referred to as electric coaching factors. In FIG. 5, the interface 500 uses values assigned to the electric drive range impact factors 502 showing either an increase or decrease in the drivable electric drive range based on the impact of each particular factor to the electric drive range. For example, electric drive range impact factors 502 may include A/C 504, heating 510, driving 506, route 508, weight 512, ecological mode 514, or other factors. Any names describing these factors may be used in the user interface 500. For example, ecological mode 514 may also be called "Eco" or "Eco Mode." The A/C factor 504 and heating factors 510 represent the air conditioning system and heating system of the vehicle, respectively, where a plus or minus range of the vehicle will be displayed based on how the electric drive range will be affected, decrease or increase, respectively when the air conditioning is on or off, or the heating system is on or off. The driving factor 506 represents how electric drive range is altered by the driving style or driving behavior of the driver of the vehicle and takes into account factors affecting level of propulsion power demands such as aggressiveness level of acceleration and deceleration of the vehicle and the average speed. Route factor 508 represents a route selection factor that may be used with a navigation system and/or a global positioning system (GPS), where the selected route's impact on vehicle electric drive range is displayed. Weight factor 512 represents the impact associated with the vehicle's weight, which may be measured by e.g., acceleration response and elevation information. Ecological factor 514 represents an ecological mode where the vehicle is placed into a more efficient energy conservation mode. The energy conservation mode may restrict the maximum allowable propulsion power and/or maximum electrical accessory loads, thus, to conserve electrical energy to extend the drivable electric drive range. For example, the ecological mode may set a limit for the propulsion power available for a maximum speed or for a rate of acceleration. As other examples, the ecological mode may limit the total available electrical power for the accessories, or limit the individual electrical power load for an accessory. The ecological mode may limit the individual electrical power available for an accessory, without necessarily simply turning off the individual accessory.”), determines a total battery output at the low-DTE vehicle speed, including a driving output necessary to drive the vehicle, and a total battery output at the high-DTE vehicle speed, including a driving output necessary to drive the vehicle, using the low-DTE vehicle speed, the high-DTE vehicle speed, and constant-speed fuel efficiency information of the vehicle (para [0026] : “The term "energy storage system" as used herein may include, but is not limited to, a battery, a battery pack, a battery cell, or a battery module. An energy storage system may also be any system for storing energy or electric power source. In a preferred embodiment, the energy storage system is a battery.”, as the system determines estimated distances to empty for maximal, minimal, and instantaneous it would be required that the low and high (minimum and maximum distances) efficiency related information comprise total battery output, where the total battery output is at a low and high DTE vehicle speed as vehicle speed is a factor used in determining the distance to empty of the system.), determines a low DTE value based on the low-DTE vehicle speed, the total battery output at the low-DTE vehicle speed, and a current available battery energy, determines a high DTE value based on the high-DTE vehicle speed, the total battery output at the high-DTE vehicle speed, and a current available battery energy, and determines a current DTE value indicating a real-time DTE, (para [0035] : “FIG. 3 illustrates a user interface 300 having a drivable electric drive range estimation 308 that is displayed on the display 210 (FIG. 2) as a graphical representation of a vehicle's electric drive range estimations with confidence interval. As described below (FIG. 6), the maximum drivable electric drive range 302, instantaneous drivable electric drive range 304, and minimum drivable electric drive range 306, are estimated by the controller 208 and then output to display 210. In one embodiment, the drivable electric drive range estimation 308 may be output on the display 210 at the start of the drive. The maximum drivable electric drive range 302, may also be referred to as a high range (Range_Hi). The instantaneous drivable electric drive range 304, may also be referred to as an instantaneous range (Range_Inst). The minimum drivable electric drive range 306 may also be referred to as a low range (Range_Lo). It should also be appreciated that the maximum drivable electric drive range 302, instantaneous drivable electric drive range 304, and minimum drivable electric drive range 306 may also be referred to by other names. The estimated instance drivable electric drive range, maximum drivable electric drive range and minimum drivable electric drive range may be displayed in an image such as a bar graph (FIG. 3), a pie chart, a line graph, or any other graph or graphical display.”, para [0037] : “FIG. 5 illustrates another user interface 500 displayed on the display 210 in accordance with another embodiment described herein. The information display may further include at least one electric drive range impact factor corresponding to a vehicle operating parameter controllable by the vehicle operator. The at least one electric drive range impact factor may affect at least one of the maximum drivable electric drive range, the minimum drivable electric drive range, or the instantaneous drivable electric drive range. As shown in FIG. 5, the drivable electric drive range estimation 308 is shown with electric drive range impact factors 502. The electric drive range impact factors 502 may also be referred to as electric coaching factors. In FIG. 5, the interface 500 uses values assigned to the electric drive range impact factors 502 showing either an increase or decrease in the drivable electric drive range based on the impact of each particular factor to the electric drive range. For example, electric drive range impact factors 502 may include A/C 504, heating 510, driving 506, route 508, weight 512, ecological mode 514, or other factors.”)
wherein the display is configured to display the low-DTE value, the high-DTE value, and the current DTE value (para [0023] : “According to the principles disclosed herein, and as discussed below, the present disclosure provides a method and system of dynamically displaying a plurality of electric drive range estimations for a vehicle having an electric motor and an energy storage system configured to provide electric power to the electric motor.”),
wherein the current vehicle driving condition comprises a route in which the vehicle travels (para [0037] : “For example, electric drive range impact factors 502 may include A/C 504, heating 510, driving 506, route 508, weight 512, ecological mode 514, or other factors.”). However, Yang does not explicitly teach wherein the route comprises a road condition,
wherein the low-DTE vehicle speed and the high-DTE vehicle speed are set in the controller as values determined using an average vehicle speed corresponding to the road condition, and
wherein the current vehicle driving condition is determined by navigation information received by a navigation device.
However, in a similar field of endeavor (estimation of driving ranges of electric vehicles), Vicharelli teaches wherein the route comprises a road condition (para [0006] : “There are two main approaches for the determination of the range of a vehicle: (a) measurements, and (b) detailed mathematical modeling. The range of a vehicle is typically measured in a laboratory with the help of a dynamometer that simulates the driving environment. The measurement includes rolling resistance under flat terrain conditions for several simulated driving schedules designed to simulate, e.g., city and highway driving.”, para [0038] : “Then, we try to come up with a driving route that most closely approximates it, given the details of the local roads and one-way restrictions.”),
wherein the low-DTE vehicle speed and the high-DTE vehicle speed are set in the controller as values determined using an average vehicle speed corresponding to the road condition (para [0052] : “A single rolling resistance coefficient, which we can call .mu..sub.ave is used, the angle .theta..sub.k goes to zero for flat terrain, v.sub.k is replaced by the corresponding average speed for city or highway driving, and G and H are also replaced by their averages. We get acts as a coefficient that weighs the contributions for each road segment.”), and
wherein the current vehicle driving condition is determined by navigation information received by a navigation device (para [0067] : “The array of waypoints that describe a route are obtained from a routing module 1348, which can be any navigation system that provides detailed driving directions. For the case of a single route the user can enter the destination address or its latitude/longitude coordinates, and the starting point can be either obtained directly from a device that provides location services such as the global positioning system (GPS) or it can be entered manually by the user. Alternatively, the range analyzer module 1346 can access a roads database 1350 and provide the road data to the routing module 1348. The roads database can contain, in addition to the road coordinates, information such as road type (highway, city street, unpaved road, etc.), driving speed information, etc.”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify the system of Yang with teachings of Vicharelli “for more accurately computing a vehicle's range for more realistic driving environments.” (Vicharelli para [0009]).
Regarding Claim 2 the combination of Yang and Vicharelli teaches The apparatus of claim 1, further Yang teaches wherein the controller:
determines the a low-DTE vehicle speed and the high-DTE vehicle speed corresponding to the current vehicle driving condition using information about matching between low-DTE and high-DTE vehicle speeds and a vehicle driving condition (para [0037] : “FIG. 5 illustrates another user interface 500 displayed on the display 210 in accordance with another embodiment described herein. The information display may further include at least one electric drive range impact factor corresponding to a vehicle operating parameter controllable by the vehicle operator. The at least one electric drive range impact factor may affect at least one of the maximum drivable electric drive range, the minimum drivable electric drive range, or the instantaneous drivable electric drive range. As shown in FIG. 5, the drivable electric drive range estimation 308 is shown with electric drive range impact factors 502. The electric drive range impact factors 502 may also be referred to as electric coaching factors. In FIG. 5, the interface 500 uses values assigned to the electric drive range impact factors 502 showing either an increase or decrease in the drivable electric drive range based on the impact of each particular factor to the electric drive range. For example, electric drive range impact factors 502 may include A/C 504, heating 510, driving 506, route 508, weight 512, ecological mode 514, or other factors. Any names describing these factors may be used in the user interface 500. For example, ecological mode 514 may also be called "Eco" or "Eco Mode." The A/C factor 504 and heating factors 510 represent the air conditioning system and heating system of the vehicle, respectively, where a plus or minus range of the vehicle will be displayed based on how the electric drive range will be affected, decrease or increase, respectively when the air conditioning is on or off, or the heating system is on or off. The driving factor 506 represents how electric drive range is altered by the driving style or driving behavior of the driver of the vehicle and takes into account factors affecting level of propulsion power demands such as aggressiveness level of acceleration and deceleration of the vehicle and the average speed. Route factor 508 represents a route selection factor that may be used with a navigation system and/or a global positioning system (GPS), where the selected route's impact on vehicle electric drive range is displayed. Weight factor 512 represents the impact associated with the vehicle's weight, which may be measured by e.g., acceleration response and elevation information. Ecological factor 514 represents an ecological mode where the vehicle is placed into a more efficient energy conservation mode. The energy conservation mode may restrict the maximum allowable propulsion power and/or maximum electrical accessory loads, thus, to conserve electrical energy to extend the drivable electric drive range. For example, the ecological mode may set a limit for the propulsion power available for a maximum speed or for a rate of acceleration. As other examples, the ecological mode may limit the total available electrical power for the accessories, or limit the individual electrical power load for an accessory. The ecological mode may limit the individual electrical power available for an accessory, without necessarily simply turning off the individual accessory.”); and
Wherein the current vehicle driving condition further comprises a region condition in which the vehicle travels (para [0027] : “The drivable electric drive range estimations may be based on any or all of a number of different factors, including, but not limited to a state of charge (SOC) of a rechargeable energy storage system or battery, total energy in the energy storage system, standard driving schedule such as an Urban Dynamometer Driving Schedule (UDDS), past or current driving behavior, past or current accessory energy consumption, weather, temperature, weight, or other factors.”, para [0037] : “In FIG. 5, the interface 500 uses values assigned to the electric drive range impact factors 502 showing either an increase or decrease in the drivable electric drive range based on the impact of each particular factor to the electric drive range. For example, electric drive range impact factors 502 may include A/C 504, heating 510, driving 506, route 508, weight 512, ecological mode 514, or other factors”).
Regarding Claim 4 the combination of Yang and Vicharelli teaches The apparatus of claim 2, further Yang teaches wherein the controller:
determines the driving output necessary to drive the vehicle using the low-DTE vehicle speed, the high-DTE vehicle speed, and the constant-speed fuel efficiency information of the vehicle (para [0033] : “The sensors 202 may receive inputs for the estimation of electric drive range impact factors 502 (FIG. 5) which are sent to the controller 208 for processing.”, para [0037] : “As shown in FIG. 5, the drivable electric drive range estimation 308 is shown with electric drive range impact factors 502. The electric drive range impact factors 502 may also be referred to as electric coaching factors. In FIG. 5, the interface 500 uses values assigned to the electric drive range impact factors 502 showing either an increase or decrease in the drivable electric drive range based on the impact of each particular factor to the electric drive range.”); and
determines the total battery output at the low-DTE vehicle speed, including the determined driving output, and the total battery output at the high-DTE vehicle speed, including the determined driving output (para [0037] : “As shown in FIG. 5, the drivable electric drive range estimation 308 is shown with electric drive range impact factors 502. The electric drive range impact factors 502 may also be referred to as electric coaching factors. In FIG. 5, the interface 500 uses values assigned to the electric drive range impact factors 502 showing either an increase or decrease in the drivable electric drive range based on the impact of each particular factor to the electric drive range.”, para [0038] : “In other embodiments, the drivable electric drive range numbers may represent a distance in miles, a distance in kilometers, a time, an energy storage system charge, or other units of measurement.”).
Regarding Claim 5 the combination of Yang and Vicharelli teaches The apparatus of claim 4, further Yang teaches wherein the driving output comprises:
a low-DTE driving output determined to be a value corresponding to the low-DTE vehicle speed (para [0042] : “A state of charge (SOC) estimation is performed in block 604.”, Fig. 3, as it shows an estimation of a low drivable range it is inherent that a driving output is determined corresponding to the low DTE speed); and
a high-DTE driving output determined to be a value corresponding to the high-DTE vehicle speed (para [0042] : “A state of charge (SOC) estimation is performed in block 604.”, Fig. 3, as it shows an estimation of a high drivable range it is inherent that a driving output is determined corresponding to the high DTE speed).
Regarding Claim 9 the combination of Yang and Vicharelli teaches The apparatus of claim 2, further Yang teaches wherein:
the low DTE value is determined to be a value obtained by multiplying a value, obtained by dividing the low-DTE vehicle speed by the low-DTE total output, by the available battery energy (para [0037] : “The driving factor 506 represents how electric drive range is altered by the driving style or driving behavior of the driver of the vehicle and takes into account factors affecting level of propulsion power demands such as aggressiveness level of acceleration and deceleration of the vehicle and the average speed.”, as Yang teaches a minimum DTE as a function of an average speed (Mph) and an available charge of battery (mAh), in order to calculate a value for miles as the DTE it would be required to multiply the speed value by the available charge ([Miles*mAh]/h) and divide by a rate of discharge to net the units of Miles, or equivalent.); and
the high DTE value is determined to be a value obtained by multiplying a value, obtained by dividing the high-DTE vehicle speed by the high-DTE total output, by the available battery energy (as Yang teaches a high DTE value as well, the calculations would be required similarly for high DTE as for low DTE).
Regarding Claim 10 the combination of Yang and Vicharelli teaches The apparatus of claim 1, further Yang teaches wherein the controller and the display are configured to display the low DTE value, the high DTE value, and the current DTE value through one or two or more display methods selected from among a numerical value, a display position on a graph image, a size of the graph image, and a color of the graph image so that the low DTE value, the high DTE value, and the current DTE value are compared with each other (para [0035] : “The estimated instance drivable electric drive range, maximum drivable electric drive range and minimum drivable electric drive range may be displayed in an image such as a bar graph (FIG. 3), a pie chart, a line graph, or any other graph or graphical display.”).
Regarding Claim 11 the combination of Yang and Vicharelli teaches The apparatus of claim 10, further Yang teaches wherein the controller and the display are configured such that, as the current DTE value is updated and changed, a display position or a color of the current DTE value in the graph image is changed between a display position or a color of the low DTE value and a display position or a color of the high DTE value and such that the changed display position or color indicates the current DTE value as a value relative to the low DTE value and the high DTE value (para [0027] : “electric drive range estimations may be dynamically displayed to provide the driver with trustable electric drive range information that may be calculated based on past or current driving trips. Data from any number of previous trips may be used. The range estimations also may be updated based on driving behavior during the current trip.”, para [0036] : “FIG. 4 illustrates another user interface 300a having a electric drive range estimation 308a that has been updated during a drive based on current data from the drive.”, Fig. 3, Fig. 4, Figs. 3-4 show an update of the current DTE value where a display position in the graph image is changed such that the display position indicates the current DTE relative to the low and high DTE value.).
Regarding Claim 12, it recites a method with limitations substantially the same as claim 1 above, therefore it is rejected for the same reason.
Regarding Claim 13, it recites a method with limitations substantially the same as claim 2 above, therefore it is rejected for the same reason.
Regarding Claim 14, it recites a method with limitations substantially the same as claim 4 above, therefore it is rejected for the same reason.
Regarding Claim 15, it recites a method with limitations substantially the same as claim 5 above, therefore it is rejected for the same reason.
Regarding Claim 19, it recites a method with limitations substantially the same as claim 9 above, therefore it is rejected for the same reason.
Regarding Claim 20, it recites a method with limitations substantially the same as claim 10 above, therefore it is rejected for the same reason.
Claim(s) 6, 8, 16, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Vicharelli.
Regarding Claim 6 the combination of Yang and Vicharelli teaches The apparatus of claim 5, further Yang teaches wherein the total battery output comprises:
a low-DTE total output as the total battery output at the low-DTE vehicle speed, the low-DTE total output being determined to be a value obtained as a function of the low-DTE driving output and a current air-conditioning output used for air-conditioning of the vehicle (para [0029] : “Range impact factors may be e.g., air conditioning, heating, driving style, route selection, vehicle weight, ecological mode, or other factors.”); and
a high-DTE total output as the total battery output at the high-DTE vehicle speed, the high-DTE total output being determined to be a value obtained as a function of the high-DTE driving output and the current air-conditioning output (para [0029] : “Range impact factors may be e.g., air conditioning, heating, driving style, route selection, vehicle weight, ecological mode, or other factors.”). However, Yang does not explicitly teach the low-DTE/high-DTE values being determined to be a value obtained by summing the DTE driving output and a current air-conditioning output.
However, as Yang teaches the determination of a total battery output, the output of the battery being the current charge state and distance to empty at each speed being a factor of vehicle speed and the use of air-conditioning, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to sum the energy consumptions of the air-conditioning and the driving output as a well-known and standard mathematical operation to determine total energy usage of two systems requiring power.
Regarding Claim 8 the combination of Yang and Vicharelli teaches The apparatus of claim 6, further Yang teaches wherein:
the low DTE value is determined to be a value obtained by multiplying a value, obtained by dividing the low-DTE vehicle speed by the low-DTE total output, by the available battery energy (para [0037] : “The driving factor 506 represents how electric drive range is altered by the driving style or driving behavior of the driver of the vehicle and takes into account factors affecting level of propulsion power demands such as aggressiveness level of acceleration and deceleration of the vehicle and the average speed.”, as Yang teaches a minimum DTE as a function of an average speed (Mph) and an available charge of battery (mAh), in order to calculate a value for miles as the DTE it would be required to multiply the speed value by the available charge ([Miles*mAh]/h) and divide by a rate of discharge to net the units of Miles.); and
the high DTE value is determined to be a value obtained by multiplying a value, obtained by dividing the high-DTE vehicle speed by the high-DTE total output, by the available battery energy (as Yang teaches a high DTE value as well, the calculations would be required similarly for high DTE as for low DTE).
Regarding Claim 16, it recites a method with limitations substantially the same as claim 6 above, therefore it is rejected for the same reason.
Regarding Claim 18, it recites a method with limitations substantially the same as claim 8 above, therefore it is rejected for the same reason.
Claim(s) 7 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Vicharelli and further in view of Diamond et al (US 20220266694 A1) henceforth referred to as Diamond.
Regarding Claim 7 the combination of Yang and Vicharelli teaches The apparatus of claim 6, further Yang teaches wherein:
the low-DTE total output is determined to be a value obtained by adding drive range impact factor output to the value obtained by summing the low-DTE driving output and the current air-conditioning output, (para [0030] : “An electric drive range estimation may also be displayed with electric drive range impact factors, or electric drive range impact factors, that educate the driver on the impact and importance of different factors on total drivable electric drive range.”); and
the high-DTE total output is determined to be a value obtained by adding the drive range impact factor to the value obtained by summing the high-DTE driving output and the current air-conditioning output (para [0030] : “An electric drive range estimation may also be displayed with electric drive range impact factors, or electric drive range impact factors, that educate the driver on the impact and importance of different factors on total drivable electric drive range.”). However the combination does not explicitly teach use of a converter output, the converter output being a battery output that is output to electronic components of the vehicle through a converter.
However, in a similar field of endeavor (vehicle energy consumption determination) XXX teaches use of a converter output, the converter output being a battery output that is output to electronic components of the vehicle through a converter to determine energy consumption (para [0014] : “In addition to providing energy for propulsion, the traction battery 124 may provide energy for other vehicle electrical systems. The vehicle 112 may include a DC/DC converter module 128 that converts the high voltage DC output of the traction battery 124 to a low voltage DC supply that is compatible with low-voltage vehicle loads. An output of the DC/DC converter module 128 may be electrically coupled to an auxiliary battery 130 (e.g., 12V battery) for charging the auxiliary battery 130. The low-voltage systems having one or more low-voltage loads 131 may be electrically coupled to the auxiliary battery 130. One or more electrical loads 132 may be coupled to the high-voltage bus/rail. The electrical loads 132 may have an associated controller that operates and controls the electrical loads 146 when appropriate. Examples of electrical loads 132 may be a fan, an electric heating element, and/or an air-conditioning compressor. The vehicle 112 may be further configured to provide electric power supply to an external power device (not shown) via one or more power outlets (power sockets) 133 through a DC/AC converter 135. The power outlet 133 may be located inside and/or outside the vehicle cabin. For instance, the power outlet 133 may be receptacles configured to correspond to NEMA connectors used in North America, although power receptacles supporting other standards may be used under essentially the same concept. The DC/AC converter 135 may be electrically coupled between the traction battery 124 and the power outlet 133 and configured to convert the high voltage DC current from the traction battery 124 into an AC current with a corresponding voltage (e.g. 110V, 220V or the like) compatible with the external power devices.”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify the combination of Yang and Vicharelli with the calculation of the converter energy usage of Diamond to increase accuracy of energy consumption by taking into account devices consuming energy/fuel connected to a converter on a vehicle.
Regarding Claim 17, it recites a method with limitations substantially the same as claim 7 above, therefore it is rejected for the same reason.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
US 20200226850 A1: Bower teaches a driving range estimator system for a vehicle accounting for a load on the vehicle including an energy storage device configured to power the vehicle. Sensors are disposed about the vehicle and configured to detect information relevant to range estimation. A towing control unit receives detected information and determines an expected range for the vehicle with a load, and expected range for the vehicle without the load. The system includes a display to simultaneously display the expected ranges with and without the load.
US 20220203958 A1 : Park et al teach a system for setting a driving guide of an electrically operated vehicle. The system includes a terrain acquisition unit to acquire information about a current location of the vehicle, a charging location, and exiting terrain and a current terrain, a calculation unit to obtain first information about the vehicle based on acquired information, a battery state estimation unit to estimate an amount of available battery power of the vehicle, and a distant speed calculation unit to calculate a drivable distance and drivable speed for the mission vehicle based on first information, the estimated amount of battery power, and a distance from current location to a destination.
US 20140142836 A1: Yabuta teaches a cruising distance calculation apparatus for a hybrid vehicle including a motor and an engine for driving a generator. The apparatus includes a traveling mode decision unit that decides in which one of traveling modes the vehicle is traveling, the traveling modes including an EV traveling mode and series traveling mode. The system includes an electricity consumption calculation unit that calculates an electric power consumption amount of the batter based on electric power consumption of the battery.
/D.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3668
/JAMES J LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3668