Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 10A and 10B in age 5 last 3 lines.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-17 objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, the phrase “Apparatus for removing rubber from tyres” should be changed to “An apparatus for removing rubber from tyres”.
Regarding claims 2-17, the phrase “Apparatus according to” should be changed to “The apparatus according to”.
Regarding claim 8, the phrase “the nozzle assembly us supported” should be changed to “the nozzle assembly is supported”.
Regarding claim 12, the phrase “a tyre part guided” should be changed to “the tyre part guided”.
Regarding claim 13, the phrase “as it is guided underneath” should be changed to “as the tyre part is guided underneath”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Presently; claim limitation is: a means for directing in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 12-15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the top section" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the lower section" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the bottom end" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 13 recites the limitation " the underside " in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 14-15 are rejected because they depend from claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Andreas (DE102016224866A1 attached NPL, English Machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Andreas discloses apparatus for removing rubber from tyres (0001), the apparatus comprising
a main housing (fig.1: (39)) in which is supported a water jet nozzle assembly (fig.1: (06)),
a guide mechanism (fig.1: (26)) and a collection chamber (fig.1: (09)) (paragraphs 0026 and 0045),
the guiding mechanism providing a means for directing at least a section of flattened tyre part under the nozzle assembly in a manner that is substantially perpendicular to the nozzle assembly (paragraphs 0044-0046),
the nozzle assembly (fig.1: (06)) including at least one nozzle to direct high-pressure water onto the tyre part, to thereby remove the rubber, wherein the rubber is captured and delivered into the collection chamber (paragraphs 0024-0026, 0045, 0053 and 0068).
Regarding claim 2, Andreas discloses wherein the housing is constructed from upper and lower box sections (fig.2: (39)), the nozzle assembly (fig.1: (06)) being supported above the guide mechanism (fig.1: (26)) in the top section and an entrance to the collection chamber (fig.1: (09)) being located directly under the nozzle assembly in the lower section.
Regarding claim 3, Andreas discloses wherein the guide mechanism includes an array of rollers (fig.2: (31) and (32)).
Regarding claim 5, Andreas discloses wherein the roller array is supported by roller plates (fig.2: (27)), each connected to a respective side arched plate (fig.2: the plates of the guiding device (28) and (29)) (paragraph 0046).
Regarding claim 6, Andreas discloses wherein at least one dividing rod extends between the side arched plates above the roller array (fig.5: see the rod above the roller (31)).
Regarding claim 7, Andreas discloses wherein the rollers are rotated by a drive wheel (fig.2: (13)) located under the guide mechanism within the housing.
Regarding claim 8, Andreas discloses wherein the rollers (fig.2: (31) and (32)) and roller plates (fig.2: (27)) are separated laterally to provide a gap in which the nozzle (fig.2: (06)) assembly us supported (fig.2).
Regarding claim 9, Andreas discloses wherein the nozzle assembly (fig.1: (06)) includes a nozzle support plate having a lengthwise slot, and a nozzle carrier which extends through the slot (fig.4 and paragraphs 0055-0062).
Regarding claim 10, Andreas discloses wherein the nozzle carrier is secured to a slide block located under the support plate to allowing slidable movement of the nozzle carrier within the slot (fig.4 and paragraphs 0055-0062).
Regarding claim 11, Andreas discloses, wherein the slide block is driven by a servometer attached to the housing (fig.4 and paragraphs 0055: motor and remote control “corresponding to servometer”).
Regarding claim 12, Andreas discloses wherein the bottom end of the nozzle carrier has at least one nozzle to direct high-pressure water on to a tyre part guided through the guide mechanism under the nozzle carrier (paragraphs 0024-0026, 0045, 0053 and 0068).
Regarding claim 13, Andreas discloses wherein a shoe is supported on the underside of the slide block to impart a compressive force to the tyre part as it is guided underneath the nozzle assembly (figs.2 and 4; paragraph 0046: see the bottom shoe of aperture of the element (06) that presses the strip (02)).
Regarding claim 14, Andreas discloses wherein the shoe has a central aperture through which the water is directed from the nozzle (figs.2 and 4; paragraph 0046: see the bottom shoe of aperture of the element (06) that presses the strip (02)).
Regarding claim 15, Andreas discloses wherein multidirectional rollers (fig. 4: (47)) are provided on the underside of the shoe.
Regarding claim 16, Andreas discloses wherein the collection container is a hopper (fig. 1: see the hopper below element (09)).
Regarding claim 17, Andreas discloses wherein the apparatus further comprises an exit chute or funnel to remove processed tyre parts from then housing (fig. 1: see the exit chute below element (09)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andreas (DE102016224866A1 attached NPL, English Machine translation) in view of Minardi (US4600106A).
Regarding claim 4, Andreas does not disclose the roller array consists of a plurality of rollers of a first diameter, each divided by a roller of a second diameter, smaller than the first diameter.
Minardi teaches roller array consists of a plurality of rollers of a first diameter, each divided by a roller of a second diameter, smaller than the first diameter (abstract; figs.1-2 and col. 3 last 22 lines).
Both of the prior arts of Andreas and Minardi are related to a discharge device having a plurality of rollers;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify roller array of the apparatus of Andreas to have a plurality of rollers of a first diameter, each divided by a roller of a second diameter, smaller than the first diameter as taught by Minardi in order allow the process parts to fall between the rollers (Minardi: claim 1).
Conclusion
/MOHAMMED S. ALAWADI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725