DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 04 May, 2026 has been fully considered and entered. In view of the claim amendments, the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are withdrawn. Additionally, in view of the arguments regarding the drawings objections, the drawings objections are withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04 May, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s argument that Yang ‘684 does not disclose a duty cycle that varies across the peripheral region: Examiner disagrees. Yang ‘684 shows a SRG in Fig. 4 wherein the grooves closest to the non-diffractive portion of the substrate are wider with respect to the period than the groove on the right side. Therefore, Yang ‘684 discloses a varying duty cycle across the peripheral region, since the ratio of the groove width to the spacing between adjacent grooves is shown to be different for each of the grooves. Additionally, Yang ‘684 describes providing spatially non-uniform optical properties including duty cycle (see paragraphs 0027 and 0035). This further supports that Yang ‘684 discloses the claimed feature.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 8, 13, 18, and 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yang et al. (US 2023/0341684; hereinafter Yang ‘684).
Regarding claim 1: Yang ‘684 disclosesAn electronic device (Fig. 7, display apparatus 750, including pupil-replicating light guide 400 of Fig. 4, see paragraph 0044) comprising: a waveguide (Fig. 4, slab 102); a substrate on the waveguide (Fig. 4, grating layer 411); and a surface relief grating (SRG) in the substrate (Fig. 4, out-coupling grating 410 is a SRG), wherein the SRG includes a central region and a peripheral region that laterally separates the central region from a non-diffractive portion of the substrate (see Fig. 4, which shows a non-diffractive potion of the substrate 411, within the region labeled “non-grating region”; since there is a non-diffractive portion of the substrate, the SRG has a central region and a peripheral region that laterally separates the central region from a non-diffractive portion of the substrate, wherein the peripheral region at least includes the left part of the grating in Fig. 4).
Further, Yang ‘684 shows a SRG in Fig. 4 wherein the grooves closest to the non-diffractive portion of the substrate are wider with respect to the period than the groove on the right side. Thus, Yang ‘684 discloses a varying duty cycle across the peripheral region, since the ratio of the groove width to the spacing between adjacent grooves is shown to be different for each of the grooves (additionally, see paragraphs 0027 and 0035).
Regarding claim 2: Yang ‘684 disclosesThe electronic device of claim 1 (as applied above), further comprising: a coating on the SRG (Fig. 4, phase compensation layer 418), wherein the coating has a decreasing thickness across the peripheral region from the central region to the non-diffractive portion of the substrate (Fig. 4 shows this, wherein the central region is toward the right and the peripheral region is toward the left).
Regarding claim 3: Yang ‘684 disclosesThe electronic device of claim 2 (as applied above), wherein the SRG has grooves with depths that decrease across the peripheral region from the central region to the non-diffractive portion of the substrate (Fig. 4 shows this).
Regarding claim 8: Yang ‘684 disclosesThe electronic device of claim 1 (as applied above), wherein the SRG has grooves with depths that decrease across the peripheral region from the central region to the non-diffractive portion of the substrate (Fig. 4 shows this).
Regarding claim 13: Yang ‘684 disclosesAn electronic device (Fig. 7, display apparatus 750, including pupil-replicating light guide 400 of Fig. 4, see paragraph 0044) comprising: a waveguide (Fig. 4, slab 102); an input coupler configured to couple light into the waveguide (Fig. 1, input coupler 104); a substrate on the waveguide (Fig. 4, grating layer 411); and a surface relief grating (SRG) in the substrate and configured to redirect the light coupled into the waveguide by the input coupler (Fig. 4, grating 410), wherein the SRG includesa central region (Fig. 4, the right side of the drawing is considered to represent a central region), and a peripheral region (Fig. 4, left side of non-uniform grating region) that laterally separates the central region from a non-diffractive portion (Fig. 4, non-grating region) of the substrate, the peripheral region having a diffraction efficiency that decreases from the central region to the non-diffractive portion of the substrate (see paragraph 0035).,
Further, Yang ‘684 shows a SRG in Fig. 4 wherein the grooves closest to the non-diffractive portion of the substrate are wider with respect to the period than the groove on the right side, which corresponds to a central portion. Thus, Yang ‘684 discloses a varying duty cycle in the peripheral region, from the central region to the non-diffractive potion of the substrate, since the ratio of the groove width to the spacing between adjacent grooves is shown to be different for each of the grooves.
Regarding claim 18: Yang ‘684 discloses the electronic device of claim 14, wherein the SRG has a blaze angle (see Fig. 4, the tilt angle of the grating is the blaze angle).
Regarding claims 21-24: Yang ‘684 discloses the electronic device of claims 1, 2, 3, and 8, respectively, wherein the SRG is a blazed grating (see Fig. 4, the grating is tilted; therefore it is a blazed grating).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-12 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US 2023/0341684; hereinafter Yang ‘684) in view of Popovich et al. (US 2022/0283377; hereinafter Popovich).
Regarding claim 9: Yang ‘684 discloses the electronic device of claim 1, as applied above. Yang ‘684 further discloses that the device includes an input coupler configured to couple light into the waveguide (Fig. 1, input coupler 104) and an output coupler configured to couple light out of the waveguide (Fig. 4, output coupler 110). However, Yang ‘684 teaches that the output coupler, rather than the input coupler, comprises the SRG, as applied above, and fails to teach a cross-coupler configured to redirect the light from the input coupler toward the output coupler. Popovich, also related to displays including waveguides with diffractive coupling elements (see paragraphs 0141-0142), teaches a display including an input coupler (Fig. 14, input grating 1402), an output coupler (Fig. 14, overlap region 1406; see paragraph 0142), and a cross-coupler (Fig. 14, first fold grating 1404a and second fold grating 1404b), each comprising diffraction gratings. Popovich further teaches that the diffraction efficiencies of the gratings can be varied across different areas of the gratings (see paragraphs 0059, 0076-0078), including to compensate for attenuation (see paragraphs 0077-0078), and further teaches that the crossed gratings allow for expanding the image propagating in the waveguide (see paragraph 0142). In order to expand images propagating in the waveguide, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the Yang ‘684 device to include a cross-coupler, since it was previously known in the art, and to spatially vary any of the gratings of the input coupler, the cross coupler, and the output coupler in order to compensate for attenuation and improve image quality. In the modified Yang ‘684 device it would be obvious to provide the input coupler and the cross-coupler as surface relief gratings in the substrate, as this is the structure of the output grating of Yang ‘684 Fig. 4.
Regarding claim 10: Yang ‘684 discloses the electronic device of claim 1, as applied above. Yang ‘684 further discloses that the device includes an input coupler configured to couple light into the waveguide (Fig. 1, input coupler 104) and an output coupler configured to couple light out of the waveguide (Fig. 4, output coupler 110), wherein the output coupler comprises the SRG (see paragraph 0009). However, Yang ‘684 fails to teach a cross-coupler configured to redirect the light from the input coupler toward the output coupler. Popovich, also related to displays including waveguides with diffractive coupling elements (see paragraphs 0141-0142), teaches a display including an input coupler (Fig. 14, input grating 1402), an output coupler (Fig. 14, overlap region 1406; see paragraph 0142), and a cross-coupler (Fig. 14, first fold grating 1404a and second fold grating 1404b), each comprising diffraction gratings. In order to expand images propagating in the waveguide, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the Yang ‘684 device to include a cross-coupler, since it was previously known in the art.
Regarding claim 11: Yang ‘684 discloses the electronic device of claim 1, as applied above. Yang ‘684 further discloses that the device includes an input coupler configured to couple light into the waveguide (Fig. 1, input coupler 104) and an output coupler configured to couple light out of the waveguide (Fig. 4, output coupler 110). However, Yang ‘684 fails to teach a cross-coupler configured to redirect the light from the input coupler toward the output coupler and teaches that the output coupler, rather than the cross-coupler, comprises the SRG, as applied above. Popovich, also related to displays including waveguides with diffractive coupling elements (see paragraphs 0141-0142), teaches a display including an input coupler (Fig. 14, input grating 1402), an output coupler (Fig. 14, overlap region 1406; see paragraph 0142), and a cross-coupler (Fig. 14, first fold grating 1404a and second fold grating 1404b), each comprising diffraction gratings. Popovich further teaches that the diffraction efficiencies of the gratings can be varied across different areas of the gratings (see paragraphs 0059, 0076-0078), including to compensate for attenuation (see paragraphs 0077-0078), and further teaches that the crossed gratings allow for expanding the image propagating in the waveguide (see paragraph 0142). In order to expand images propagating in the waveguide, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the Yang ‘684 device to include a cross-coupler, since it was previously known in the art, and to spatially vary any of the gratings of the input coupler, the cross coupler, and the output coupler in order to compensate for attenuation and improve image quality. In the modified Yang ‘684 device it would be obvious to provide the input coupler and the cross-coupler as surface relief gratings in the substrate, as this is the structure of the output grating of Yang ‘684 Fig. 4.
Regarding claim 12: Yang ‘684 discloses the electronic device of claim 1, as applied above. Yang ‘684 further discloses that the device includes an input coupler configured to couple light into the waveguide (Fig. 1, input coupler 104) and an output coupler configured to couple light out of the waveguide (Fig. 4, output coupler 110). However, Yang ‘684 fails to teach an interleaved coupler that comprises the SRG and an additional SRG overlapping the SRG, wherein the interleaved coupler is configured to expand the light and to couple the light out of the waveguide, the SRG has a first grating vector, and the additional SRG has a second grating vector non-parallel to the first grating vector. Additionally, Yang ‘684 teaches that the output coupler, rather than an interleaved coupler, comprises the SRG, as applied above. Popovich, also related to displays including waveguides with diffractive coupling elements (see paragraphs 0141-0142), teaches a display including an input coupler (Fig. 14, input grating 1402), an interleaved coupler (Fig. 14, including first fold grating 1404a and second fold grating 1404b, including overlap region 1406; see paragraph 0142), each comprising diffraction gratings, and having first and second grating vectors which are not parallel to each other (see Fig. 16, grating vectors k1 and k2). Popovich further teaches that the diffraction efficiencies of the gratings can be varied across different areas of the gratings (see paragraphs 0059, 0076-0078), including to compensate for attenuation (see paragraphs 0077-0078), and further teaches that the interleaved gratings allow for expanding the image propagating in the waveguide as well as output coupling light (see paragraph 0142). In order to expand images propagating in the waveguide, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the Yang ‘684 device to include an interleaved coupler, since it was previously known in the art, and to spatially vary at least one of the SRGs in order to compensate for attenuation and improve image quality. In the modified Yang ‘684 device it would be obvious to provide the input coupler and the interleaved couplers as surface relief gratings in the substrate, as this is the structure of the output grating of Yang ‘684 Fig. 4.
Regarding claim 19: Yang ‘684 disclosesAn electronic device (Fig. 7, display apparatus 750, including pupil-replicating light guide 400 of Fig. 4, see paragraph 0044) comprising: a waveguide (Fig. 4, slab 102); a substrate on the waveguide (Fig. 4, grating layer 411); and a first surface relief grating (SRG) on the substrate (Fig. 4, out-coupling grating 410 is a SRG).
In the Yang ‘684 device, the first SRG has a duty cycle that varies within a second region of the substrate (see Fig. 4, any of the non-uniform grating region can be considered the third region) and that the substrate has a third region laterally surrounding the entire SRG region (best represented in Fig. 1), which can be considered to comprise a first and second region.
Yang ‘684 fails to teach a second SRG on the substrate, whereinthe second SRG overlaps the first SRG within a first region and a second region of the substrate, that the first SRG is oriented non-parallel with respect to the second SRG, and that the duty cycle of the second SRG varies across the second region. However, Popovich teaches that two surface relief gratings can form an integrated grating having overlapping areas, can have different slant angles, and that they have the advantage of allowing implementing full color waveguides, large field of view, and device miniaturization (see paragraphs 0090-0093). In order to obtain these taught benefits of integrated gratings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the Yang ‘684 device to include a second SRG on the substrate, wherein the second SRG overlaps the first SRG within a first region and a second region of the substrate and wherein the first SRG is oriented non-parallel with respect to the second SRG. In making the modification, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to form the second SRG having a duty cycle varying across the second region based on the Yang ‘684 teaching of spatially varying the duty cycle in this region for the purpose of evening out out-coupled light (see abstract and Yang ‘684 Fig. 4).
f. Regarding claim 20: Modified Yang ‘684 teachesThe electronic device of claim 19 (as applied above), wherein the diffraction efficiency of the third region of the substrate is zero (see Fig. 1, the diffraction efficiency is zero in the region where there is no grating, i.e. the third region).
Claims 14-15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US 2023/0341684; hereinafter Yang ‘684) in view of Yang et al. (US 2019/0137777; hereinafter Yang ‘777).
Regarding claim 14: Yang ‘684 discloses the electronic device of claim 13, as applied above. Yang ‘684 fails to disclose that the SRG has a peak diffraction efficiency within the central region and the peripheral region laterally surrounds the central region, since the diffraction efficiency is only taught to increase in the y-direction (see paragraph 0035), rather than increasing to a peak in the y-direction and then decreasing. However, Yang ‘777, also related to diffraction gratings for coupling in and out image light for waveguide displays (see paragraph 0004), teaches that the diffraction efficiency can have a variety of profiles (see Figs. 5a-5f), including circular profiles (see Figs. 5c and 5f) wherein the central region has a peak diffraction efficiency and lower diffraction efficiency in the peripheral region laterally surrounding the central region (see paragraph 0061). In circumstances where it is desirable to smoothly vary the diffraction efficiency toward the edges of a grating, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the Yang ‘684 device such that the SRG has a peak diffraction efficiency within a central region and the peripheral region laterally surrounds the central region, since it was previously taught by Yang ‘777.
Regarding claim 15: Modified Yang ‘684 teachesThe electronic device of claim 14 (as applied above), wherein the SRG has grooves and a depth of grooves decreases, in the peripheral region, from the central region to the non-diffractive portion of the substrate (see Yang ‘777 Figs. 5C and 5F as well as paragraph 0061; see also Yang ‘684 Fig. 4; in both references, the SRG is taught to have grooves with a depth that decreases in the peripheral region from the central region to the non-diffractive potion of the substrate).
Regarding claim 17: Modified Yang ‘684The electronic device of claim 14 (as applied above), further comprising: a coating on the SRG (Yang ‘684, Fig. 4, phase compensation layer 418), wherein the substrate has a first refractive index (Yang ‘684, paragraph 0037 discloses suitable grating layer materials for the substrate, any of which inherently has a first refractive index), the coating has a second refractive index (Yang ‘684, paragraph 0038 discloses suitable phase compensation layer materials, any of which inherently has a second refractive index). Yang ‘684 further discloses that the coating has a thickness that decreases, from the central region to the non-diffractive portion of the substrate (see Yang ‘684, Fig. 4, thickness of phase compensation layer from non-uniform grating region to non-grating region). Yang ‘684 fails to disclose that the first refractive index is different from the second refractive index. However, Yang ‘684 lists different suitable materials for the substrate and the coating, respectively, and the refractive index would be determined by the materials selected for the coating and the substrate. Based on a selection from the lists of suitable materials for the coating and the substrate, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to select materials with different refractive indices.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Kirsten D Endresen whose telephone number is (703)756-1533. The examiner can normally be reached Monday to Thursday.
/KIRSTEN D. ENDRESEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2874
/THOMAS A HOLLWEG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2874