DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species B, claims 1-5, 9-10 in the reply filed on 10/1/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 6-8, 11-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/1/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jang (US 2022/0190346A1).
Regarding claim 1, Jang discloses a polymer electrolyte (see Title, Abstract), comprising:
a polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF) (PVDF [0105]-[0106]);
a lithium salt (lithium salt [0103]); and
a cyanoethyl polyvinyl alcohol (CN-PVA) (PVA-CN [0091]-[0092]),
the PVDF, the lithium salt, and the CN-PVA formed into a free-standing membrane (free-standing polymer layer [0089]).
Regarding claim 4, Jang discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Jang further discloses the polymer electrolyte has an ionic conductivity greater than 1×10−5 S/cm at a temperature greater than or equal to 25° C (lithium ion conductivity from 10-8 to 5*10-2 S/cm, see Abstract).
Regarding claim 5, Jang discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Jang further discloses a method of manufacturing the polymer electrolyte of claim 1 (manufacturing method, see Title, Abstract; see rejection of claim 1 above), comprising:
dissolving the PVDF in a first organic solvent (PVDF [0105]);
dissolving the CN-PVA in a second organic solvent (dissolve PVA-CN in succinonitrile [0092];
dissolving the lithium salt in the second organic solvent (LiPF6 added to PVA-CN/SN mixture [0092]);
adding the second organic solvent containing the lithium salt and the CN-PVA to the first organic solvent containing the PVDF to form a mixture (desired amount of a flame retardant was then added into the solution [0125]); and
heating the mixture under heat to obtain a homogeneous mixture (subsequently heated [0092]).
Regarding claim 9, Jang discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Jang further discloses a polymer electrolyte separator for a rechargeable battery cell (a high-elasticity polymer composite-based anode-protecting layer, a porous separator [0065], see Fig. 2), the polymer electrolyte separator comprising the polymer electrolyte of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the polymer electrolyte is formed as a solid layer, the solid layer immediately adjacent a cathode layer and an anode layer of the rechargeable battery cell (a high-elasticity polymer composite-based anode-protecting layer, a porous separator [0065], see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 10, Jang discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Jang further discloses the solid layer is formed by dry placing the solid layer between the cathode layer and the anode layer (free-standing layer is then laid on a lithium foil/coating or implemented between a lithium film/coating and electrolyte or separator [0089]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang (US 2022/0190346A1), as applied to claims 1, 4-5, 9-10 above.
Regarding claim 2, Jang discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Jang further discloses the PVDF is a PVDF (534K) (molecular weight greater than 500,000 [0106]; In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In reWertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997). see MPEP 2144.05(I).), the lithium salt is lithium bis(trifluoromethanesulfonyl)imide (LiTFSI) (LiTFSI [0103]), and the polymer electrolyte comprises 15 wt % to 55 wt % of the PVDF (534K) (high elasticity polymer is PVA-CN [0091]-[0092] which may form a mixture, co-polymer, or semi-interpenetrating network with PVDF [0105]-[0106]; In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In reWertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997). see MPEP 2144.05(I).), 5 wt % to 40 wt % of the CN-PVA, and 40 wt % to 70 wt % of the LiTFSI (weight ratio selected from the preferred range from 20:1 to 2:1 [0092]; In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In reWertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997). see MPEP 2144.05(I).).
Regarding claim 3, Jang discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Jang further discloses the PVDF is a PVDF (700K) (molecular weight greater than 500,000 [0106]; In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In reWertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997). see MPEP 2144.05(I).), the lithium salt is lithium bis(trifluoromethanesulfonyl)imide (LiTFSI) ((LiTFSI [0103])), and the polymer electrolyte comprises 15 wt % to 55 wt % of the PVDF (700K) (high elasticity polymer is PVA-CN [0091]-[0092] which may form a mixture, co-polymer, or semi-interpenetrating network with PVDF [0105]-[0106]; In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In reWertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997). see MPEP 2144.05(I).), 5 wt % to 35 wt % of the CN-PVA, and 40 wt % to 80 wt % of the LiTFSI (weight ratio selected from the preferred range from 20:1 to 2:1 [0092]; In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In reWertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997). see MPEP 2144.05(I).).
Conclusion
/James Lee/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725 10/16/2026