DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application repeats a substantial portion of prior Application No. 17406856, filed 8/19/21, and adds disclosure not presented in the prior application. Because this application names the inventor or at least one joint inventor named in the prior application, it properly constitutes a continuation-in-part of the prior application. Applicant’s claim to the benefit of the filing date of the prior application under 35 U.S.C. 120, 37 CFR 1.78, and MPEP § 211 et seq. is acknowledged.
It is noted, however, that applicant’s originally filed disclosure does not provide support for a: “flatlock stitched seam and stretchable thread” nor “a center back panel and a center front panel” as required by claim 1 (the only independent claim), “a front panel in combination with a center back panel and center front panel” as required by claims 2-5, “a nape panel in combination with a center back panel and center front panel” as required by claims 6-9, so the current pending claims have an effective filing date of 1/16/24.
Drawings
The replacement drawings were received on 12/29/25. The drawings overcome some of the previous objections, but not all, and they present new issues that are objected to below.
Replacement figure 17A is objected to for adding “224” and “226” when they were not previously present nor clearly illustrated in original Figure 17A.
Replacement figure 17C is objected to for adding “222” when not previously present nor clearly illustrated in original Figure 17C.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “lace edging” in combination with the features of claim 1 presented by claim 4 (currently only the embodiment of Figure 1 has “lace edging”, there is no “lace edging” in the embodiment that has the “generally rectangular center back panel” – it appears applicant is attempting to combine embodiments without drawing support, which is improper), the “headband” of claim 11 in combination with the panels of claim 1 (while the embodiment of Figure 1 has a headband, it does not have the panels set forth in claim 1, again it appears applicant is attempting to combine embodiments without drawing support, which is improper) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
102(a)(1): the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
103: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim(s) 1-2, 6, and 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Esashika (WO 2016021497) as evidenced by Grzych (“Overlocker for Beginners-The Flatlock Stitch”, https://weallsew.com/overlocker-for-beginners-the-flatlock-stitch/, published June 15, 2020, accessed 1/14/26).
Regarding the language “a flatlock stitched seam”, in the claims, the applicant is advised that, even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In this case, the cited limitations failed to distinguish the claimed structure from the patented device of Esashika because they both have seams which require stitches and formed from thread. See MPEP § 2113.
Claim 1: Esashika discloses a wig cap (1) for use with hair fibers to form a wig (see abstract), comprising: a “generally rectangular” center back panel (10+12) of stretchable material (Page 8, 3-8; note that applicant’s own “generally rectangular” shape has curved edges, so Esashika teaches a “generally rectangular” center back panel (10+12) in as much as applicant does) and the center back panel is configured to extend from a wearer’s nape to the wearer’s crown; a right side panel (14) of stretchable material (Page 8, 3-8) having a left curved edge that is joined to a first side of the center back panel by a seam (Page 4, 10-15) formed with elastic thread (Page 8, 3-8); a left side panel (14) of stretchable material (Page 8, 3-8) having a right curved top edge that is joined to a second side opposite the first side of the center back panel (12) by a seam (Page 4, 10-15) formed with elastic thread (Page 8, 3-8); and a center front panel (11) that is joined to the right side panel, left side panel and center back panel using elastic thread (Page 4, 10-15 & Page 8, 3-8) forming seams and the wig cap is stretchable so it is interpreted to be “tailored to planes and curves of a human skull”. Esashika also discloses that the panel (10) can be in the shape of a star (see Fig 2b) which would result in the center front panel being a “generally triangular”. The office also notes that applicant’s own “generally triangular” shape is illustrated as a rounded half-moon type shape (see Figs 16-17) and that is what is illustrated as the shape of the center front panel of Esashika in Figure 1. So Esashika is interpreted to teach this shape in as much as applicant does. Seams of stretchable thread are used to secure the panels together as outlined above.
Alternatively, or additionally, if applicant feels that “flatlock stitches” or “flatlock seams” are some sort of definite structure beyond simply a stitched seam; the office asserts that it is old and well known to specifically use flatlock stitches in sewing items that are supposed to be tightly fitted, which wigs are known to be in order to look natural. This is evidenced at least by Grzych, who explicitly states that flatlock stitches are known and known to be used on “super-fitted items like active wear”. So alternately, as evidenced by Grzych, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing (or the time of invention if Pre-AIA ) to modify the wig cap of Esashika to specifically use flatlock stitches for the already disclosed stitches and seams since these are old and well-known to be used in tight fitting items, which wigs are known to be.
Claim 2: Esashika discloses the wig cap further comprising a front panel (see annotations) joined to the center front panel, the right side panel, and the left side panel using a stitched seam (Page 4, 10-15) and elastic thread (Page 8, 3-8).
Claim 6: Esashika discloses the wig cap further comprising a nape panel (see annotations) joined to the center back panel, the right side panel and the left side panel using a stitched seam (Page 4, 10-15) and elastic thread (Page 8, 3-8).
Claim 10: Esashika discloses the stretchable material being a spandex mesh (Page 5, 8-15).
Claim 11: Esashika discloses the wig cap of claim 1 further comprising a headband (see annotations) of stretchable material (Page 8, 3-8) attached around a circumference of the cap with a stitched seam (Page 4, 10-15) of elastic thread (Page 8, 3-8) and a circumference of the cap is also defined by edges of all the panels (see figure below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Esashika (WO 2016021497) in view of Newman (US 20110120485).
Claims 5 and 9: Esashika discloses the invention essentially as claimed except for bendable stays in the front panel and the nape panel. Newman, however, teaches a wig cap (90) comprising: a center back panel (22) of stretchable material [0028 & 0032], a right side panel (76) of stretchable material [0028 & 0032] stitched [0031] to a first side of the center back panel; a left side panel (66) of stretchable material [0028 & 0032] stitched [0031] to a second side opposite the first side of the center back panel; and a center front panel (44) of stretchable material [0028 & 0032] stitched [0031] to the right side panel, left side panel, and center back panel (see Figs 2-6). The wig cap is stretchable [0028 & 0032] and Newman further discloses the cap including a nape panel (54) carrying a series of bendable metal stays [0037], as well as the right and left side panels including these stays [0037] in order to allow for a more customized fit in use [0037]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing (or the time of invention if Pre-AIA ) to modify the wig cap of Esashika by providing it with stays in the various panels in view of Newman in order to allow for a more customized fit during use.
Modified Esashika discloses the invention essentially as claimed except for additional stays in the front panel. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the cap of modified Esashika by providing additional stays in the front panel, since it has been held that mere duplication of essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B).
Claim(s) 3 and 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Esashika (WO 2016021497) in view of Paris (US 20090199861).
Claims 3 and 7: Esashika discloses the invention essentially as claimed except for the cap including silicone on the front panel and the nape panel. Paris, however, teaches a wig cap (10) made of lace and the lace is coated in silicone on a front and a nape of the cap [0011 & 0054 & 0057] in order to provide a smooth and comfortable fit [0055]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing (or the time of invention if Pre-AIA ) to modify the cap of Esashika by providing the front panel and nape panel with silicone in view of Paris in order to provide a smooth and comfortable fit.
Claim 8: Esashika discloses the invention essentially as claimed except for elastic tape on an edge of the center back panel. Paris, however, teaches attaching double sided tape [0054], which is known to be elastic to some degree, to the silicone surfaces [0011 & 0054 & 0057] which include surfaces on the center back panel (see Figs 2-12) in order to help hold the cap in place during use. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing (or the time of invention if Pre-AIA ) to modify the cap of Esashika by providing it with elastic adhesive tape on edges of the cap in view of Paris in order to secure the cap to a user’s head.
Claim 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Esashika (WO 2016021497) in view of Twersky (US 20110186066).
Claim 4: Esashika discloses the invention essentially as claimed except for the cap including lace edging on an edge of the center front panel. Twersky, however, teaches providing wig caps with welded lace edges (12) [0014], which the office interprets as “lace edging” on an edge of the center front panel in order to provide a more comfortable fit. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing (or the time of invention if Pre-AIA ) to modify the cap of Esashika by providing it with lace edging in view of Twersky in order to provide a more comfortable fit during use.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/29/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant first attempts to argue that Esashika does not teach “stretchable” regions outside of the region (10); this is not persuasive because Esashika explicitly states each part can have “stretchability” meaning it is “stretchable” as claimed by applicant. Applicant’s claims do not require any particular material and simply requires “stretch-able”, which Esashika teaches. The argument that portions or some panels of Esashika are “more stretchable” than others has no bearing on whether they meet the claim. So this argument is not persuasive.
Applicant argues that “flatlocking stitching” is not a product by process, this is not persuasive because “flatlock” is just a type of stitch, which by definition is a process of stitching. So the term “flatlock stitching” appears to be no more than applicant attempting to limit the device claims by their method of manufacturing, which is improper and does not hold bearing on patentability of a device claim unless it results in a materially different product, which in the instant case, it does not. Flatlock stitches are old and well-known, as is sewing panels together; and the prior art teaches both sewing panels together and doing it with elastic thread, which is the structure claimed by applicant. Furthermore, Grzych is also used to show that this type of stitch is old and well known to be used in these exact types of applications. So it would be obvious to choose a known type of sewing stitch for its known application as outlined above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JENNIFER GILL/
Examiner, Art Unit 3772
/NICHOLAS D LUCCHESI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3772