DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for domestic priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on 11/20/2024 has been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the left side margin is too small on sheets 1-4 and 7-9. Each sheet must include a top margin of at least 1 inch, a left side margin of at least 1 inch, a right side margin of at least 5/8 inch, and a bottom margin of at least 3/8 inch. One of the shorter sides of the sheet is regarded as its top.
The drawings are objected to because the sheet numbering is in the top margin of sheets 1-10. These numbers must be placed in the middle of the top of the sheet, but not in the margin. Each sheet must include a top margin of at least 1 inch, a left side margin of at least 1 inch, a right side margin of at least 5/8 inch, and a bottom margin of at least 3/8 inch. One of the shorter sides of the sheet is regarded as its top.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 8, 10, 15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2025/0056434 A1) (hereinafter Li) in view of Lee et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0210747 A1) (cited on Applicant’s IDS, hereinafter Lee).
Regarding claim 1, Li discloses a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication (Paragraph 0496 discloses the UE is a terminal apparatus. Paragraph 0499 discloses the UE always additionally sends the S-SSB in an RB set(s) (for example, a fourth channel) in which the COT is located in an S-SSB slot (that is, a first slot) that the initial COT of the UE crosses), comprising:
one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories (Figure 29 and paragraphs 0554 and 0555 disclose an apparatus 2900 according to an embodiment of this application. The communication apparatus is applicable to the foregoing flowcharts, and performs the function of the terminal device in the foregoing method embodiments. The communication apparatus 2900 may be a terminal device, and can implement the function of the first terminal apparatus or the second terminal apparatus in the method provided in embodiments of this application. Paragraph 0557 discloses the communication apparatus 2900 includes one or more memories 2920, configured to store instructions 2940. The instructions may be run on the processor 2910, so that the communication apparatus 2900 performs the method described in the foregoing method embodiments. The memory 2920 is coupled to the processor 2910), configured to:
initiate a wideband channel occupancy time (COT) associated with a plurality of resource block (RB) sets (Paragraph 0499 discloses RB set(s) in which the COT is located and a plurality of other RB sets corresponding to the COT. Paragraph 0507 discloses the RB set(s) of the COT is an RB set(s) in which the COT is located, or an RB set(s) occupied or included in the COT); and
transmit a plurality of sidelink synchronization signal block (S-SSB) repetitions in at least a portion of the plurality of RB sets being occupied by the wideband COT (Paragraph 0499 discloses the UE always additionally sends the S-SSB in an RB set(s) (for example, a fourth channel) in which the COT is located in an S-SSB slot (that is, a first slot) that the initial COT of the UE crosses. In addition to sending the S-SSB on a (pre)configured or predefined RB set (that is, a third channel) corresponding to the S-SSB slot, the UE further sends the S-SSB on a plurality of other RB sets corresponding to the COT).
Li does not explicitly disclose wherein a quantity of S-SSB repetitions, of the plurality of S-SSB repetitions, or a transmit power of at least one S-SSB repetition, of the plurality of S-SSB repetitions, is based at least in part on a power control parameter.
In analogous art, Lee discloses wherein a quantity of S-SSB repetitions, of the plurality of S-SSB repetitions, or a transmit power of at least one S-SSB repetition, of the plurality of S-SSB repetitions, is based at least in part on a power control parameter (Figure 14 and paragraph 0152 disclose in step S1420, the TX UE may obtain or determine a transmit power value for the S-SSB. For example, the TX UE may obtain or determine a transmit power value for the S-SSB based on information on power control parameter(s) related to the S-SSB).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate a transmit power for an S-SSB determined based on a power control parameter, as described in Lee, with transmitting an S-SSB, as described in Li, because doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Combining a transmit power for an S-SSB determined based on a power control parameter of Lee with transmitting an S-SSB of Li was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Lee.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the teachings of Li and Lee to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, as applied to claim 1 above, Li, as modified by Lee, further discloses transmit the plurality of S-SSB repetitions in a quantity of RB sets that is less than a quantity configured RB sets in the plurality of RB sets (Paragraph 0500 discloses there is a possibility that the third channel and the fourth channel overlap, and the S-SSB is sent only once when the third channel and the fourth channel overlap. For example, the third channel includes channel 1, and the fourth channel includes channel 1 and channel 2. In this case, sending is performed on channel 1 and channel 2, and sending does not need to be performed twice on channel 1).
Regarding claim 8, Li discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE) (Paragraph 0496 discloses the UE is a terminal apparatus. Paragraph 0499 discloses the UE always additionally sends the S-SSB in an RB set(s) (for example, a fourth channel) in which the COT is located in an S-SSB slot (that is, a first slot) that the initial COT of the UE crosses), comprising:
initiating a wideband channel occupancy time (COT) associated with a plurality of resource block (RB) sets (Paragraph 0499 discloses RB set(s) in which the COT is located and a plurality of other RB sets corresponding to the COT. Paragraph 0507 discloses the RB set(s) of the COT is an RB set(s) in which the COT is located, or an RB set(s) occupied or included in the COT); and
transmitting a plurality of sidelink synchronization signal block (S-SSB) repetitions in at least a portion of the plurality of RB sets being occupied by the wideband COT (Paragraph 0499 discloses the UE always additionally sends the S-SSB in an RB set(s) (for example, a fourth channel) in which the COT is located in an S-SSB slot (that is, a first slot) that the initial COT of the UE crosses. In addition to sending the S-SSB on a (pre)configured or predefined RB set (that is, a third channel) corresponding to the S-SSB slot, the UE further sends the S-SSB on a plurality of other RB sets corresponding to the COT).
Li does not explicitly disclose wherein a quantity of S-SSB repetitions, of the plurality of S-SSB repetitions, or a transmit power of at least one S-SSB repetition, of the plurality of S-SSB repetitions, is based at least in part on a power control parameter.
In analogous art, Lee discloses wherein a quantity of S-SSB repetitions, of the plurality of S-SSB repetitions, or a transmit power of at least one S-SSB repetition, of the plurality of S-SSB repetitions, is based at least in part on a power control parameter (Figure 14 and paragraph 0152 disclose in step S1420, the TX UE may obtain or determine a transmit power value for the S-SSB. For example, the TX UE may obtain or determine a transmit power value for the S-SSB based on information on power control parameter(s) related to the S-SSB).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate a transmit power for an S-SSB determined based on a power control parameter, as described in Lee, with transmitting an S-SSB, as described in Li, because doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Combining a transmit power for an S-SSB determined based on a power control parameter of Lee with transmitting an S-SSB of Li was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Lee.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the teachings of Li and Lee to obtain the invention as specified in claim 8.
Regarding claim 10, as applied to claim 8 above, Li, as modified by Lee, further discloses transmitting the plurality of S-SSB repetitions in a quantity of RB sets that is less than a quantity configured RB sets in the plurality of RB sets (Paragraph 0500 discloses there is a possibility that the third channel and the fourth channel overlap, and the S-SSB is sent only once when the third channel and the fourth channel overlap. For example, the third channel includes channel 1, and the fourth channel includes channel 1 and channel 2. In this case, sending is performed on channel 1 and channel 2, and sending does not need to be performed twice on channel 1).
Regarding claim 15, Li discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a set of instructions for wireless communication (Figure 29 and paragraphs 0554 and 055 disclose an apparatus 2900 according to an embodiment of this application. The communication apparatus is applicable to the foregoing flowcharts, and performs the function of the terminal device in the foregoing method embodiments. The communication apparatus 2900 may be a terminal device, and can implement the function of the first terminal apparatus or the second terminal apparatus in the method provided in embodiments of this application. Paragraph 0557 discloses the communication apparatus 2900 includes one or more memories 2920, configured to store instructions 2940. The instructions may be run on the processor 2910, so that the communication apparatus 2900 performs the method described in the foregoing method embodiments. The memory 2920 is coupled to the processor 2910), the set of instructions comprising:
one or more instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a user equipment (UE) (Figure 29 and paragraphs 0554 and 055 disclose an apparatus 2900 according to an embodiment of this application. The communication apparatus is applicable to the foregoing flowcharts, and performs the function of the terminal device in the foregoing method embodiments. The communication apparatus 2900 may be a terminal device, and can implement the function of the first terminal apparatus or the second terminal apparatus in the method provided in embodiments of this application. Paragraph 0557 discloses the communication apparatus 2900 includes one or more memories 2920, configured to store instructions 2940. The instructions may be run on the processor 2910, so that the communication apparatus 2900 performs the method described in the foregoing method embodiments. The memory 2920 is coupled to the processor 2910), cause the UE to:
initiate a wideband channel occupancy time (COT) associated with a plurality of resource block (RB) sets (Paragraph 0499 discloses RB set(s) in which the COT is located and a plurality of other RB sets corresponding to the COT. Paragraph 0507 discloses the RB set(s) of the COT is an RB set(s) in which the COT is located, or an RB set(s) occupied or included in the COT); and
transmit a plurality of sidelink synchronization signal block (S-SSB) repetitions in at least a portion of the plurality of RB sets being occupied by the wideband COT (Paragraph 0499 discloses the UE always additionally sends the S-SSB in an RB set(s) (for example, a fourth channel) in which the COT is located in an S-SSB slot (that is, a first slot) that the initial COT of the UE crosses. In addition to sending the S-SSB on a (pre)configured or predefined RB set (that is, a third channel) corresponding to the S-SSB slot, the UE further sends the S-SSB on a plurality of other RB sets corresponding to the COT).
Li does not explicitly disclose wherein a quantity of S-SSB repetitions, of the plurality of S-SSB repetitions, or a transmit power of at least one S-SSB repetition, of the plurality of S-SSB repetitions, is based at least in part on a power control parameter.
In analogous art, Lee discloses wherein a quantity of S-SSB repetitions, of the plurality of S-SSB repetitions, or a transmit power of at least one S-SSB repetition, of the plurality of S-SSB repetitions, is based at least in part on a power control parameter (Figure 14 and paragraph 0152 disclose in step S1420, the TX UE may obtain or determine a transmit power value for the S-SSB. For example, the TX UE may obtain or determine a transmit power value for the S-SSB based on information on power control parameter(s) related to the S-SSB).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate a transmit power for an S-SSB determined based on a power control parameter, as described in Lee, with transmitting an S-SSB, as described in Li, because doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Combining a transmit power for an S-SSB determined based on a power control parameter of Lee with transmitting an S-SSB of Li was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Lee.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the teachings of Li and Lee to obtain the invention as specified in claim 15.
Regarding claim 17, as applied to claim 15 above, Li, as modified by Lee, further discloses transmit the plurality of S-SSB repetitions in a quantity of RB sets that is less than a quantity configured RB sets in the plurality of RB sets (Paragraph 0500 discloses there is a possibility that the third channel and the fourth channel overlap, and the S-SSB is sent only once when the third channel and the fourth channel overlap. For example, the third channel includes channel 1, and the fourth channel includes channel 1 and channel 2. In this case, sending is performed on channel 1 and channel 2, and sending does not need to be performed twice on channel 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 4-7, 9, 11-14, 16, and 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Considering claims 2, 9, and 16, the best prior art found during the prosecution of the present application, Li and Lee, fails to disclose, teach, or suggest the limitations of wherein the quantity of S-SSB repetitions is based at least in part on a maximum transmit power of the UE in combination with and in the context of all of the other limitations in claims 2, 9, and 16.
Considering claims 4, 11, and 18, the best prior art found during the prosecution of the present application, Li and Lee, fails to disclose, teach, or suggest the limitations of wherein the transmit power of at least one S-SSB repetition, of the plurality of S-SSB repetitions, in an anchor RB set of the plurality of RB sets is offset from a maximum transmit power by a threshold amount in combination with and in the context of all of the other limitations in claims 4, 11, and 18.
Considering claims 5, 12, and 19, the best prior art found during the prosecution of the present application, Li and Lee, fails to disclose, teach, or suggest the limitations of wherein the transmit power of a subset of at least one S-SSB repetition, of the plurality of S-SSB repetitions, in a non-anchor RB set of the plurality of RB sets is offset from a maximum transmit power by a threshold amount in combination with and in the context of all of the other limitations in claims 5, 12, and 19.
Claims 6, 7, 13, 14, and 20 also include allowable subject matter by virtue of their dependency on claims 5, 12, and 19.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure.
Xiong et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0128588 A1) discloses method and apparatus for resource determination, resource configuration, transmitting random access preamble and random access;
Li et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0410084 A1) discloses sidelink transmit power control for new radio V2X;
Hoang et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0276547 A1) discloses an RX device determines how to feedback PSFCH;
Hwang et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2025/0220605 A1) discloses a method and device for performing nr sidelink synchronization in unlicensed band; and
Lee et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2025/0301430 A1) discloses a method and device for performing sidelink communication in unlicensed band.
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Rafael Perez-Gutierrez can be reached on (571) 272-7915. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
/Mark G. Pannell/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642