DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-14 are pending
Claims 1 and 7 have been amended
Claims 13 and 14 are new
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-11, filed 7/30/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-12 under U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of newly found prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-8, 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okechukwu; Egbukole et al. (US Publication #US 20240310263 A1; hereinafter Okechukwu; newly cited) in view of Harrison; Christopher et al. (US 20160040533 A1; hereinafter Harrison; newly cited).
Regarding claim 1, Okechukwu teaches
A pressure-volume-temperature (PVT) system (fig.4 #400) for characterization of a reservoir fluid (par.50 “a pressure-volume-temperature (PVT) electromagnetic viscometer (EMV) system and methods of use for the system to determine the viscosity of a reservoir fluid sample over a variety of temperatures and pressures, including pressures below the bubble point pressure of the fluid.”), comprising:
a temperature control unit (par.51 “The temperature control chamber (402) includes a temperature system (404); the temperature system (404) includes a heating device, such as an air heater or a heating element, to heat the air and components within the temperature control chamber (402) to a desired temperature.”);
a sample cell disposed inside the temperature control unit (fig.4 and par.52 “the PVT EMV system (400) may further include a sample preparation cell (406)”) for accommodating the reservoir fluid (par.52 “the sample preparation cell (406), the EMV (408), and any fluid they may contain will, under steady state conditions, be at the internal temperature of the temperature control chamber (402).”),
wherein the temperature control unit comprises a housing (fig.4 shows housing of temperature control chamber 402) and an interior chamber defined by a space between the sample cell and the housing (fig.4 shows chamber 402 comprising a layer which defines an interior chamber as a space between the sample cell and the housing); and
a fluid supply unit (fig.3 #410) that provides a temperature control fluid to the interior chamber (par.53 teaches reservoir fluid acting as a temperature control fluid;), such that the sample cell is immersed in the temperature control fluid (fig.4 shows valve 414 located above sample cell 406; it is evident the reservoir fluid, acting as the temperature control fluid, coming from this valve will completely immerse sample cell 406 ), to control a temperature of the sample cell (par.53; because the sample cell 406 is heated at a set temperature, the temperature difference between the reservoir fluid and the heated cell will reach an equilibrium point; thus the reservoir fluid acts as a temperature control fluid);
wherein the fluid supply unit includes a first container (#408 is another fluid supply unit comprising a container due to the fluid supply line 424) providing a first fluid having a first temperature as the temperature control fluid (par.52 “Because the sample preparation cell (406) and the EMV (408) are disposed within the temperature control chamber (402), the sample preparation cell (406), the EMV (408), and any fluid they may contain will, under steady state conditions, be at the internal temperature of the temperature control chamber (402).”) for a first stage of PVT analysis (post-test is interpreted as the 1st stage of PVT analysis) and
Okechukwu fails to teach a second fluid having a second temperature that is different from the first fluid as the temperature control fluid for a second stage for PVT analysis.
Harrison does teach a second fluid (par.99 and fig.15 teaches water as second fluid) having a second temperature that is different from the first fluid as the temperature control fluid (fig.15 inherently teaches water within pump 113 having different temperature as sample within 103 and 104, because they are heated at a uniform temperature within 101) for a second stage for PVT analysis (par.110 teaches depressurization stage as second stage for PVT analysis).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Okechukwu to include the teachings of Harrison; which would provide the optical intensity of the phase transition cell to be monitored during the depressurization stage through the use of optical measurements as disclosed by Harrison (par.51).
Regarding claim 2, Okechukwu in view of Harrison teaches the PVT system of claim 1, Okechukwu further teaches further comprising a piston (par.98 teaches piston 114) arranged in the sample cell and configured to control a pressure inside the sample cell (par.39 “the pressure control may raise or lower the fluid pressure via motion of the piston thereby reducing or enlarging the volume available to the fluid.”).
Regarding claim 5, Okechukwu in view of Harrison teaches the PVT system of claim 1, Okechukwu further teaches wherein the reservoir fluid is characterized in the sample cell under steady state conditions (par.59 “sufficient time is allowed for the fluid in the sample preparation cell (406) to reach steady state conditions.”) to obtain a property of the reservoir fluid (par.50 “to determine the viscosity of a reservoir fluid sample over a variety of temperatures and pressures, including pressures below the bubble point pressure of the fluid.”).
Regarding claim 6, Okechukwu in view of Harrison teaches the PVT system of claim 5, Okechukwu further teaches wherein further comprising a controller (par.57 teaches controller 434) that processes data obtained from the sample cell (par.57 “the controller (434) can receive, process, and record signals generated by the temperature system (404), sample preparation cell (406), EMV (408), constant displacement pump (418), and vacuum pump (428).”) to determine the property of the reservoir fluid for use in a reservoir model (par.64 “the viscosity measurements may inform a subsurface model or reservoir simulator.”).
Regarding claim 7, Okechukwu teaches
A method for performing a pressure-volume-temperature (PVT) analysis (abstract), comprising:
collecting a reservoir fluid from a reservoir (par.53 “The reservoir fluid may be acquired from a wellbore, a fracture in a formation, a body of water or oil or mixture of materials, or other void in a subterranean formation that is large enough from which to collect a sample.”);
performing PVT analysis on the reservoir fluid using a sample cell (par.53 teaches sample cell 406) disposed in a temperature control unit (par.53 “temperature control chamber (402)”);
controlling a temperature of the sample cell (par.51 “The temperature control chamber (402) includes a temperature system (404); the temperature system (404) includes a heating device, such as an air heater or a heating element, to heat the air and components within the temperature control chamber (402) to a desired temperature.”) using a temperature control fluid (par.53 teaches reservoir fluid acting as a temperature control fluid;) in an interior chamber defined by a space between the sample cell and a housing of the temperature control unit (fig.4 shows chamber 402 comprising a layer which defines an interior chamber as a space between the sample cell and the housing), wherein the sample cell is immersed in the temperature control fluid (fig.4 shows valve 414 located above sample cell 406; it is evident the reservoir fluid, acting as the temperature control fluid, coming from this valve will completely immerse sample cell 406 );
providing, for a first stage of the PVT analysis (fig.5 steps 502, 504, 506, 508 and 510 constitute a first stage of the PVT analysis), a first fluid having a first temperature as the temperature control fluid (par.52 “Because the sample preparation cell (406) and the EMV (408) are disposed within the temperature control chamber (402), the sample preparation cell (406), the EMV (408), and any fluid they may contain will, under steady state conditions, be at the internal temperature of the temperature control chamber (402).”), and
Okechukwu fails to teach providing, for a second stage of the PVT analysis, a second fluid having a second temperature that is different from the first temperature as the temperature control fluid.
Harrison does teach providing, for a second stage of the PVT analysis (par.110 teaches depressurization stage as second stage for PVT analysis), a second fluid (par.99 and fig.15 teaches water as second fluid) having a second temperature that is different from the first temperature as the temperature control fluid (fig.15 inherently teaches water within pump 113 having different temperature as sample within 103 and 104, because they are heated at a uniform temperature within 101).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Okechukwu to include the teachings of Harrison; which would provide the optical intensity of the phase transition cell to be monitored during the depressurization stage through the use of optical measurements as disclosed by Harrison (par.51).
Regarding claim 8, Okechukwu in view of Harrison teaches the method of claim 7, Okechukwu further teaches further comprising controlling a pressure inside the sample cell (par.39 “the pressure control may raise or lower the fluid pressure via motion of the piston thereby reducing or enlarging the volume available to the fluid.”) by a piston arranged in the sample cell (par.98 teaches piston 114).
Regarding claim 11, Okechukwu in view of Harrison teaches the method of claim 7, Okechukwu further teaches further comprising determining a property of the reservoir fluid by characterizing the reservoir fluid (par.50 “to determine the viscosity of a reservoir fluid sample over a variety of temperatures and pressures, including pressures below the bubble point pressure of the fluid.”) in the sample cell under steady state conditions (par.59 “sufficient time is allowed for the fluid in the sample preparation cell (406) to reach steady state conditions.”).
Regarding claim 12, Okechukwu in view of Harrison teaches the method of claim 11, Okechukwu further teaches further comprising processing data obtained cell (par.57 “the controller (434) can receive, process, and record signals generated by the temperature system (404), sample preparation cell (406), EMV (408), constant displacement pump (418), and vacuum pump (428).”) from the sample cell to determine the property of the reservoir fluid for use in a reservoir model (par.64 “the viscosity measurements may inform a subsurface model or reservoir simulator.”).
Claim(s) 3, 4, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okechukwu in view of Harrison further in view of Winkler, Gary et al. (US Publication #US 20020020179 A1; hereinafter Winkler; previously cited).
Regarding claim 3, Okechukwu in view of Harrison teaches the PVT system of claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the first container is configured to preheat the first fluid to the first temperature before the first stage and preheat the second fluid to the second temperature before the second stage.
Winkler does teach wherein the first container is configured to preheat the first fluid to the first temperature before the first stage (par.17 teaches cold reservoir containing a chiller, which maintains temperature by controlling heat (which involves preheating)) and preheat the second fluid to the second temperature before the second stage (Par.19 teaches hot reservoir containing heater which maintains temperature by controlling heat (which involves preheating)).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Okechukwu in view of Harrison to include the teachings of Winkler; which would provide an invention includes a pair of two-way valves to control the mixing of fluid from a hot and a cold reservoir to produce the final precisely-controlled fluid stream delivered to the point of usage as disclosed by Winkler (par.8).
Regarding claim 4, Okechukwu in view of Harrison teaches the PVT system of claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the second fluid replaces the first fluid in the interior chamber after the first stage, such that a temperature in the interior chamber changes from the first temperature to the second temperature after replacement.
Winkler does teach wherein the second fluid replaces the first fluid in the interior chamber after the first stage, such that a temperature in the interior chamber changes from the first temperature to the second temperature after replacement (par.7 Teaches heat exchanger changing temperature, such that a temperature in the interior chamber changes from the first temperature to the second temperature after replacement).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Okechukwu in view of Harrison to include the teachings of Winkler; which would provide an invention includes a pair of two-way valves to control the mixing of fluid from a hot and a cold reservoir to produce the final precisely-controlled fluid stream delivered to the point of usage as disclosed by Winkler (par.8).
Regarding claim 9, Okechukwu in view of Harrison teaches the method of claim 7, but fails to teach further comprising preheating the first fluid in a first container to the first temperature before the first stage, and preheating the second fluid in a second container to the second temperature before the second stage.
Winkler does teach further comprising preheating the first fluid in a first container to the first temperature before the first stage (par.17 teaches cold reservoir containing a chiller, which maintains temperature by controlling heat (which involves preheating)), and preheating the second fluid in a second container to the second temperature before the second stage (Par.19 teaches hot reservoir containing heater which maintains temperature by controlling heat (which involves preheating)).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Okechukwu in view of Harrison to include the teachings of Winkler; which would provide an invention includes a pair of two-way valves to control the mixing of fluid from a hot and a cold reservoir to produce the final precisely-controlled fluid stream delivered to the point of usage as disclosed by Winkler (par.8).
Regarding claim 10, Okechukwu in view of Harrison teaches the method of claim 7, further comprising replacing the first fluid in the interior chamber with the second fluid after the first stage, such that a temperature in the interior chamber changes from the first temperature to the second temperature after replacement.
Winkler does teach further comprising replacing the first fluid in the interior chamber with the second fluid after the first stage, such that a temperature in the interior chamber changes from the first temperature to the second temperature after replacement (par.7 Teaches heat exchanger changing temperature, such that a temperature in the interior chamber changes from the first temperature to the second temperature after replacement).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Okechukwu in view of Harrison to include the teachings of Winkler; which would provide an invention includes a pair of two-way valves to control the mixing of fluid from a hot and a cold reservoir to produce the final precisely-controlled fluid stream delivered to the point of usage as disclosed by Winkler (par.8).
Claim(s) 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okechukwu in view of Harrison further in view of Pirolli; Laurent et al. (US patent #US 10344592 B2; hereinafter Pirolli; newly cited).
Regarding claim 13, Okechukwu in view of Harrison teaches the PVT system of claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the housing includes an inlet and an outlet that is disposed at a higher position than the inlet and the sample cell.
Pirolli does teach wherein the housing includes an inlet (col.13 ln 51-52 teaches inlet within valve 2055) and an outlet that is disposed at a higher position than the inlet and the sample cell (fig.3b shows positive flow direction pointing downwards; thus, according to col.13 ln 45-54, the outlet within valve 2057 is at a higher position than the inlet within 2055).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Okechukwu in view of Harrison to include the teachings of Pirolli; which would provide more accurate fluid sensors that address build-up and contamination of sensors and/or membranes in a downhole environment and mechanisms to clean or flush sensors and/membranes using, alone or in combination: Pulsed electric or magnetic fields, chemical solutions, and microwave/ultrasonic heating as disclosed by Pirolli (col.3 ln 4-10).
Regarding claim 14, Okechukwu in view of Harrison teaches the method of claim 11, but fails to teach further comprising introducing the temperature control fluid into the interior chamber through an inlet and discharging the temperature control fluid through an outlet that is disposed at a higher position than the inlet and the sample cell .
Pirolli does teach further comprising introducing the temperature control fluid into the interior chamber through an inlet (col.13 ln 51-52 teaches inlet within valve 2055) and discharging the temperature control fluid (col.13 ln 61-62 teaches discharging fluid) through an outlet that is disposed at a higher position than the inlet and the sample cell (fig.3a shows positive flow direction pointing downwards; thus, according to col.13 ln 45-54, the outlet within valve 2057 is at a higher position than the inlet within 2055).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Okechukwu in view of Harrison to include the teachings of Pirolli; which would provide more accurate fluid sensors that address build-up and contamination of sensors and/or membranes in a downhole environment and mechanisms to clean or flush sensors and/membranes using, alone or in combination: Pulsed electric or magnetic fields, chemical solutions, and microwave/ultrasonic heating as disclosed by Pirolli (col.3 ln 4-10).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
US 12163945 B2; Stewart; Colin et al. is for Automated analysis of drilling fluid.
US 20120127466 A1; Karnes; Karl et al. is PVT analysis of pressurized fluids.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CARL F.R. TCHATCHOUANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/ALVARO E FORTICH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858