DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 16, 18 and their depending claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, 9, 12, and 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al. (US Publication 2013/0181326) in view of Oganesian et al. (US Publication 2012/0146182).
In re claim 1, Cheng discloses a capacitor comprising:
a substrate (201 – Figure 10A, ¶15) including a groove (210 – Figure 10A, ¶15) having a depth from an upper surface of the substrate the groove including a bottom surface spaced apart from a lower surface of the substrate (201 – Figure 10A)
a body comprising a first internal electrode (231 – Figure 10A, ¶17) and a second internal electrode (241 – Figure 10A, ¶17) stacked disposing with a dielectric layer (222 – Figure 5A, Figure 10A, ¶17) therebetween, and disposed in the groove (210 – Figure 5, Figure 10);
a first external electrode (282 – Figure 10, ¶26) connected to the first internal electrode (231 – Figure 10) on an upper surface of the body (Figure 10);
a second external electrode (281 – Figure 10, ¶26) connected to the second internal electrode (241 – Figure 10) on the upper surface of the body (Figure 10); and
an insulating layer (224 – Figure 5, Figure 10, ¶18) that is disposed on a portion other than a portion where the first external electrode (282 – Figure 10) and the second external electrode (281 – Figure 10) are disposed on an outer circumference of the upper surface of the body (Figure 10; Note that the configuration of the insulation layer is similar to that of Figure 11 of the Drawings of the Instant Application.),
wherein the insulating layer (224 – Figure 5, Figure 10) is disposed in at least a portion of the groove to cover a portion of the body (Figure 10),
the body further comprises a first electrode separation layer (right 270 – Figure 9, Figure 10, ¶26) disposed between the first external electrode (282 – Figure 10) and the second internal electrode (241 – Figure 10) and a second electrode separation layer (left 270 – Figure 9, Figure 10) disposed between the second external electrode (281 – Figure 10) and the first internal electrode (231 – Figure 10), and
the first internal electrode (231 – Figure 10), the second internal electrode (241 – Figure 10), the first electrode separation layer (270 – Figure 10), and the second electrode separation layer (270 – Figure 10) are disposed below the upper surface of the substrate (201 – Figure 10) (Figure 10).
Cheng does not disclose side surfaces inclined with respect to the upper surface of the substrate and the bottom surface of the groove.
Ogenasian discloses a groove (30 – Figure 1, ¶50) including a bottom surface (32 – Figure 1, ¶50) and side surfaces (31 – Figure 1, ¶50) inclined with respect to the upper surface (21 – Figure 1, ¶50) of the substrate (20 – Figure 1, ¶50) and the bottom surface of the groove (32 – Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the sloped boundary of the substrate to adjust the length of the internal electrode layers, and thus overlap area of internal electrodes, to achieve a device having desired capacitance.
In re claim 2, Cheng in view of Ogenasian discloses the capacitor of claim 1, as explained above. Cheng further discloses wherein the first external electrode (282 – Figure 10) is disposed on an upper surface of one end portion of the body in a length direction (Figure 10), and the second external electrode (281 – Figure 10) disposed on an upper surface of the other end portion of the body in the length direction (Figure 10).
In re claim 4, Cheng in view of Ogenasian discloses the capacitor of claim 1, as explained above. Cheng further discloses one end portion of the second internal electrode (241 – Figure 10) has a structure of being recessed (Figure 10) into an inner side of the groove at one end portion of the body in a length direction (Figure 10), and the first electrode separation layer (right 270 – Figure 10) is disposed in a space between two adjacent dielectric layers (222, 223 – Figure 5, Figure 10, ¶17-18).
In re claim 6, Cheng in view of Ogenasian discloses the capacitor of claim 1, as explained above. Cheng further discloses one end portion of the first internal electrode (231 – Figure 10) has a structure of being recessed into an inner side of the groove at the other end portion of the body in the a length direction (Figure 10), the second electrode separation layer (left 270 – Figure 10) is disposed in a space between two adjacent dielectric layers (221, 222 – Figure 5, Figure 10, ¶16).
In re claim 7, Cheng in view of Ogenasian discloses the capacitor of claim 1, as explained above. Cheng further discloses a lower insulation layer (221 – Figure 10) disposed between the groove (210 – Figure 10) and the body (Figure 10).
In re claim 9, Cheng in view of Ogenasian discloses the capacitor of claim 1, as explained above. Cheng further discloses the groove (210 – Figure 10) has a structure in which one side in a width direction is open to a side surface direction of the substrate (201 – Figure 10), and one side of the body in the width direction is disposed on the side surface of the substrate (201 – Figure 10). Note that the walls of the groove are open and the body is disposed on the walls.
In re claim 12, Cheng in view of Ogenasian discloses the capacitor of claim 1, as explained above. Cheng further discloses a boundary between the body (Figure 10) and the substrate (201 – Figure 10) is in a lower area of the first and second external electrode (281, 282 – Figure 10).
Cheng does not disclose wherein a boundary between the body and the substrate in a lower area of the first external electrode and the second external electrode is inclined with respect to the upper surface of the substrate.
Ogenasian discloses a groove (30 – Figure 1, ¶50) including a bottom surface (32 – Figure 1, ¶50) and side surfaces (31 – Figure 1, ¶50) inclined with respect to the upper surface (21 – Figure 1, ¶50) of the substrate (20 – Figure 1, ¶50) and the bottom surface of the groove (32 – Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the sloped boundary of the substrate to adjust the length of the internal electrode layers, and thus overlap area of internal electrodes, to achieve a device having desired capacitance.
The combination of Cheng and Ogenasian discloses a boundary between the body and the substrate in a lower area of the first external electrode and the second external electrode is inclined with respect to the upper surface of the substrate.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the sloped boundary of the substrate to adjust the length of the internal electrode layers, and thus overlap area of internal electrodes, to achieve a device having desired capacitance.
In re claim 15, Cheng in view of Ogenasian discloses the capacitor of claim 1, as explained above. Cheng further discloses the first internal electrode (231 – Figure 10) and the second internal electrode (241 – Figure 10) are disposed only in the groove (210 – Figure 10).
In re claim 16, Cheng discloses a capacitor manufacturing method comprising:
forming a groove (210 – Figure 10) that is recessed from an upper surface of a substrate in a direction towards a bottom surface of the substrate (¶15, Figure 2);
forming an internal electrode layer (231, 241 – Figure 4, Figure 10) and a dielectric layer on the upper surface of the substrate and on the groove (Figure 4, Figure 10) (¶17-19);
forming a body on the groove to include an internal electrode (241 – Figure 10) formed through the internal electrode layer and the dielectric layer (Figure 4, Figure 10), by removing portions, disposed outside the groove, among the internal electrode layer and the dielectric layer (Figure 4, Figure 5, Figure 10) (¶21-24);
removing a portion of the internal electrode inside the groove (¶25) (Figure 7, Figure 8);
forming an electrode separation layer (270 – Figure 9) in a space where the portion of the internal electrode inside the groove is removed (¶26);
forming an insulating layer (224 – Figure 4, ¶18) on a portion other than a portion where an external electrode is to be formed on an outer circumference of the upper surface of the substrate, and in at least a portion of the groove to cover a portion of the body (Figure 10); and
forming the external electrode (281, 282 – Figure 10) connected with the internal electrode on the body (¶26).
In re claim 17, Cheng discloses the method of claim 16, as explained above. Cheng further discloses wherein the removing the portions of the internal electrode layer and the dielectric layer is performed through a polishing process (¶22).
In re claim 18, Cheng discloses a capacitor comprising:
a substrate (201 – Figure 10) including a groove (210 – Figure 10) having a depth from an upper surface of the substrate (Figure 10), the groove including a bottom surface spaced apart from a lower surface of the substrate (201 – Figure 10);
a body comprising a first internal electrode (231 – Figure 10) and a second internal electrode (241 – Figure 10) stacked disposing with a dielectric layer (222 – Figure 10) therebetween, and disposed in the groove (210 – Figure 10);
a first external electrode (282 – Figure 10) disposed on an upper surface of one end portion of the body (Figure 10) and the upper surface of the substrate (201 – Figure 10) to connect to the first internal electrode (231 – Figure 10); and
a second external electrode (281 – Figure 10) disposed on an upper surface of the other end portion of the body and the upper surface of the substrate (201 – Figure 10) to connect to the second internal electrode (241 – Figure 10);
a first electrode separation layer (right 270 – Figure 10) disposed between the first external electrode (282 – Figure 10) and the second internal electrode (231 – Figure 10); and
a second electrode separation layer (left 270 – Figure 10) disposed between the second external electrode (281 – Figure 10) and the first internal electrode (241 – Figure 10),
wherein the first internal electrode, and the second internal electrode, the first electrode separation layer, and the second electrode separation layer are disposed only in the groove (Figure 10),
and the first external electrode (282 – Figure 10) is disposed above a portion of one of the side surfaces of the groove (210 – Figure 10), and the second external electrode (281 – Figure 10) is disposed above a portion of another of the side surfaces of the groove (210 – Figure 10).
Cheng does not disclose side surfaces inclined with respect to the upper surface of the substrate and the bottom surface of the groove.
Ogenasian discloses a groove (30 – Figure 1, ¶50) including a bottom surface (32 – Figure 1, ¶50) and side surfaces (31 – Figure 1, ¶50) inclined with respect to the upper surface (21 – Figure 1, ¶50) of the substrate (20 – Figure 1, ¶50) and the bottom surface of the groove (32 – Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the sloped boundary of the substrate to adjust the length of the internal electrode layers, and thus overlap area of internal electrodes, to achieve a device having desired capacitance.
Claim(s) 3, 11, and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al. (US Publication 2013/0181326) in view of Oganesian et al. (US Publication 2012/0146182) and in further view of Kuo et al. (US Publication 2023/0261039).
In re claim 3, Cheng in view of Ogenasian discloses the capacitor of claim 1, as explained above. Cheng does not disclose a width of the groove is 1 time or more compared to the depth of the groove, and a length of the groove is 1 time or more compared to the depth of the groove.
Kuo discloses adjusting the depth of the trench is correlated to the capacitance of the device (¶16). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adjust the length and width of the groove portion to be greater than the depth of the groove portion to achieve a device having a desired capacitance, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
In re claim 10, Cheng in view of Ogenesian discloses the capacitor of claim 1, as explained above. Cheng does not disclose the substrate includes a longitudinal ridge portion that protrudes upward from a bottom of the groove and is disposed to be spaced apart from a width direction side of the groove.
Kuo discloses a longitudinal ridge portion (306 in a 301 direction – Figure 3, ¶21) that protrudes upward from a bottom of the groove and is disposed to be spaced apart from a width direction side of the groove (¶21).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the array structure as described by Kuo to create a device having greater capacitance.
In re claim 11, Cheng in view of Ogenesian discloses the capacitor of claim 1, as explained above. Cheng does not disclose the substrate includes a transverse ridge portion that protrudes upward from the bottom surface of the groove and is disposed to be spaced apart from a length direction side of the groove.
Kuo discloses the substrate includes a transverse ridge portion (306 in a 303 direction – Figure 3) that protrudes upward from the bottom surface of the groove and is disposed to be spaced apart from a length direction side of the groove (¶21).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the array structure as described by Kuo to create a device having greater capacitance.
In re claim 13, Cheng in view of Ogenesian discloses the capacitor of claim 1, as explained above. Cheng does not disclose a width of the groove is 1 time or more and 44 times or less compared to the a depth of the groove, and the a length of the groove is 1 time or more and 54 times or less compared to the depth of the groove.
Kuo discloses adjusting the depth of the trench is correlated to the capacitance of the device (¶16). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adjust the length and width of the groove portion to be greater than the depth of the groove portion to achieve a device having a desired capacitance, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
In re claim 14, Cheng in view of Ogenesian discloses the capacitor of claim 1, as explained above. Cheng does not disclose the depth of the groove is 100 um or less.
Kuo discloses adjusting the depth of the trench is correlated to the capacitance of the device (¶16). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adjust the length and width of the groove portion to be greater than the depth of the groove portion to achieve a device having a desired capacitance, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chang et al. (US Publication 2020/0176552) [¶19], Figure 3
/ARUN RAMASWAMY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847