DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings filed January 16, 2024 are accepted.
Abstract
The Abstract filed January 16, 2024 is accepted.
Specification
The specification filed January 16, 2024 has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 5 and 10 - 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sowers et al. (US 6,150,938).
With respect to claim 1, Sowers et al. discloses a light-based guidance system (18) mountable on a pole (32) of a lifting device (10), the light-based guidance system (18) comprising a light source (24) disposed within a housing (64) of the light-based guidance system (See Figures 4 and 5), wherein the light source (24) is configured to emit a light beam (20) that is substantially parallel with the pole member (See Figure 3).
Referring to claim 2, Sowers et al. sets forth a light-based guidance system further comprising an attachment mechanism (i.e. adhesive or welding, Column 6, line 25) configured to couple to an end the pole of a lifting device (bottom end of the pole 32).
In regards to claim 3, Sowers et al. teaches a light- based guidance system wherein the attachment mechanism is an adhesive or welding (See Column 6, line 25) but also teaches the use of threaded fasteners (62, 66) connected to threaded holes (68) in order to securely connect the housing in place so the light beam is forwardly parallel to the fork (Column 6, lines 26 – 32).
Regarding claim 4, Sowers et al. shows the light-based guidance system wherein the light-based guidance system (18) is configured to couple to the pole in axial alignment with the pole (See Figure 3, Column 6, lines 26 – 32).
With regards to claim 5, Sowers et al. discloses the light-based guidance system wherein the light source (24) is situated in the housing (64) so that the light source is in axial alignment with the pole when the light-based guidance system is coupled thereto (See Figures 3 and 4).
Referring to claim 10, Sowers et al. sets forth a light-based guidance system (18) mountable on a pole (32) of a lifting device (10) for carpet rolls, the light-based guidance system comprising a light source (24) disposed within a housing (64) of the light-based guidance system, wherein the light source (24) is configured to emit a light beam (20) that is substantially in axial alignment with the pole member (See Figure 3).
In regards to claim 11, Sowers et al. teaches a light-based guidance system further comprising an attachment mechanism (i.e. adhesive or welding, Column 6, line 25) configured to couple to an end the pole of a lifting device (i.e. bottom end of the pole 32).
Regarding claim 12, Sowers et al. shows a light- based guidance system wherein the attachment mechanism is an adhesive or welding (See Column 6, line 25) but also teaches the use of threaded fasteners (62, 66) connected to threaded holes (68).
With respect to claim 13, Sowers et al. discloses a light-based guidance system wherein the light-based guidance system (18) is configured to couple to the pole in axial alignment with the pole (See Figure 3).
Referring to claim 14, Sowers et al. sets forth a light-based guidance system wherein the light source (24) is situated in the housing (64) so that the light source (24) is in axial alignment with the pole when the light-based guidance system is coupled thereto (See Figure 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 9 - 10 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blevins et al. (US 10,538,421) in view of Sowers et al. (US 6,150,938).
With respect to claim 1, Blevins et al. discloses a guidance system (Figure 1A) mountable on a pole (110) of a lifting device (100) for carpet rolls (310), the guidance system comprising a camera (112) disposed within a housing (See Figure 1A) that is directly mounted at the end of the pole of the lifting device.
Blevins et al. does not disclose the light based guidance system as recited in claims 1 and 10.
Regarding claims 1 and 10: Sowers et al. discloses a light-based guidance system (18) mountable on a pole (32) of a lifting device (10), the light-based guidance system (18) comprising a light source (24) disposed within a housing (64) of the light-based guidance system (See Figures 4 and 5), wherein the light source (24) is configured to emit a light beam (20) that is substantially parallel with the pole member (See Figure 3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Blevins et al. by replacing the camera (112) with a light based guidance system as taught by Sowers et al. in order to aid the forklift user by providing a clear visual indication of alignment during use.
In regards to claims 9 and 18, the combination of Blevins et al. and Sowers et al. discloses the light-based guidance system further comprising a ranging sensor (i.e. vertical displacement sensor 152 of Blevins et al.) configured to selectively control the light source based upon height from ground.
Claims 6 – 8 , 15 – 17 and 19 - 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blevins et al. (US 10,538,421) in view of Sowers et al. (US 6,150,938), as applied to claims 1, 9, 10 and 18 above, and further in view of Cosimano (US 7,748,127).
Referring to claims 6 and 15, the combination of Blevins et al. and Sowers et al. sets forth a light-based guidance system wherein the light-based guidance system housing (112) is substantially cylindrical (See Figures 1A and 1B of Blevins et al.). Cosimano discloses a laser light alignment tool comprising a housing (14) provided with a light emitting device (20), said housing having a cylindrical-shaped with a frustum-conical-shaped end (See Figure 1) in order to allow quick and accurate proper horizontal and vertical positioning of the fixture and the light beam emitted (See Abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Blevins et al. and Sowers et al. by providing a housing with a cylindrical-shaped and a frustum-conical-shaped end, as taught by Cosimano in order to allow quick and accurate proper horizontal and vertical positioning of the fixture and the light beam emitted (See Abstract). In addition, the use of a cylindrical-shaped housing with a frustum-conical-shaped end, absent any criticality, is only considered to be obvious modifications of the shape or configuration of the channel and block shape disclosed by Sowers et al. as the courts have held that a change in shape or configuration, without any criticality, is within the level of skill in the art as the particular shape claimed by Applicant is nothing more than one of numerous shapes that a person having ordinary skill in the art will find obvious to provide using routine experimentation based on its suitability for the intended use of the invention. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 ( CCPA 1976 ).
In regards to claims 7 and 16, the combination of Blevins et al., Sowers et al. and Cosimano sets forth a light-based guidance system wherein the frustum-conical-shaped end comprises an opening (18) in axial alignment with the pole (See Figure 5 of Cosimano).
Regarding claims 8 and 17, the combination of Blevins et al., Sowers et al. and Cosimano teaches a light-based guidance system wherein the opening is configured to permit the light beam to exit the housing (See Figures 1 and 5 of Cosimano).
With respect to claim 19, the combination of Blevins et al., Sowers et al. and Cosimano shows a light-based guidance system (as modified by Sowers et al.) mountable on a pole (110 of Blevins et al.) of a lifting device (100 of Blevins et al.), the light-based guidance system comprising a light source (24 of Sowers et al.) disposed within a housing (112 of Blevins et al.) of the light-based guidance system, wherein the light source is configured to emit a light beam that is substantially in axial alignment with the pole member (See Figures 1A and 1B of Blevins et al.), wherein the housing (112 of Blevins et al.) is substantially cylindrical-shaped with a frustum-conical-shaped end (as modified by Cosimano above), wherein the frustum-conical-shaped end comprises an opening in axial alignment with the pole, wherein the opening is configured to permit the light beam to exit the housing (as modified by Cosimano above); and an attachment mechanism (i.e. threaded fastener) configured to couple to an end the pole of a lifting device (Figure 1A of Blevins et al.)
Referring to claim 20, the combination of Blevins et al., Sowers et al. and Cosimano discloses the light-based guidance system further comprising a ranging sensor (i.e. vertical displacement sensor 152 of Blevins et al.) configured to selectively control the light source based upon height from ground.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following references are considered relevant but fail to teach the combination as claimed:
Faimali (US 12,145,827) discloses a forklift comprising a light based guidance system (31) mounted to the side of the fork but fails to teach the ranging sensor.
YARITZA GUADALUPE-MCCALL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2855
February 11, 2026
/YARITZA GUADALUPE-MCCALL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855