DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed on July 10, 2026, with respect to 1, 17, 29, and 30 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of 1-30 have been withdrawn in view of US 2021/0113837 A1 as Siomina et al. (US 2012/0113837 A1) is wrongly cited as Siomina et al. (US 2021/0113837 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, 10-14, 16-18, 20-22, 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Siomina et al. (US 2012/0113837 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Siomina discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (figs. 2-3), comprising: at least one memory (e.g. paragraph [0108]); and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory and, based at least in part on information stored in the at least one memory, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination (paragraph [0100]-[0102]; [0105]-[0121]; and etc.), is configured to: obtain a minimization of drive test (MDT) configuration (figs. 2-3; paragraph [0082]-[0085]; [0041]-[0043]; [0069]-[0070], illustrating receiving MDT configuration); calculate at least one of a location of the UE or an MDT uncertainty metric based on the MDT configuration (paragraph [0007]-[0014]; [0015]-[0017]; [0045]; [0074]; [0088]; and etc., explaining determining location(s) or position(s) or MDT uncurtaining information based on the received MDT configuration); and transmit at least one of a first indicator of the calculated location of the UE or a second indicator of the calculated MDT uncertainty metric (paragraph [0015]; [0020]-[0023]; [0043]-[0047]; [0056]; [0059]-[0062]; [0066]-[0067]; [0076]; and so on, describing reporting or transmitting the determined at least one location or the uncertainty information of the UE).
Regarding claim 2, Siomina discloses wherein, to obtain the MDT configuration, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to: receive, from a network node, the MDT configuration (paragraph [0041]-[0043]; [0057]; [0069]-[0070]; [0082]-[0085]).
Regarding claim 3, Siomina discloses wherein the MDT configuration comprises a third indicator of a signal threshold value, and wherein, to calculate at least one of the location of the UE or the MDT uncertainty metric based on the MDT configuration (paragraph [0007]-[0014]; [0015]-[0017]; [0045]; [0074]; [0088]; and etc.), the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to: receive a pilot signal; measure the pilot signal; and calculate the location of the UE in response to the measured pilot signal being less than or equal to the signal threshold value (such as paragraph [0009]).
Regarding claim 4, Siomina discloses wherein the signal threshold value comprises at least one of: a reference signal received power (RSRP) threshold value; or a reference signal strength indicator (RSSI) threshold value (paragraph [0009]; [0003]; [0016]-[0017]; [0045]; [0056]; [0058]; [0060]; [0101]).
Regarding claim 6, Siomina discloses wherein the MDT configuration comprises a fourth indicator of a plurality of location calculation occasions, wherein, to calculate the location of the UE, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to: calculate the location of the UE during each of the plurality of location calculation occasions, and wherein, to transmit the first indicator of the calculated location of the UE, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to: transmit a fifth indicator of a plurality of calculated locations corresponding to the plurality of location calculation occasions, wherein the plurality of calculated occasions comprises the calculated location of the UE (paragraph [0074]-[0081]; [0050]-[0058]; [0087]-[0095]; [0106]; [0043]-[0046]; [0060]-[0062]; and etc.).
Regarding claim 10, Siomina discloses wherein, to obtain the MDT configuration, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to: configure the MDT configuration based on at least one of: a sensitivity metric associated with the UE; a power headroom report (PHR) value associated with the UE; or a Doppler spread value associated with the UE (paragraph [0003]; [0009]).
Regarding claim 11, Siomina discloses, wherein the sensitivity metric comprises at least one of: a class of the UE; a power level of the UE; a requested accuracy level; a number of receiver (Rx) chains reported by the UE; or a number of Rx antennas used by the UE to measure the calculated location (paragraph [0059]; [0008]; [0101]; [0036]; [0048]; and etc.).
Regarding claim 12, Siomina discloses wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to: receive a PHR comprising a third indicator of the PHR value before the configuration of the MDT configuration (paragraph [0009]; [0003]).
Regarding claim 13, Siomina discloses wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to: receive, from a network node, a first pilot signal; receive, from the network node, a second pilot signal; and calculate the Doppler spread value based on the first pilot signal and the second pilot signal (paragraph [0009]).
Regarding claim 14, Siomina discloses wherein the MDT uncertainty metric comprises at least one of: a time between a location calculation and an MDT measurement; or a calculation based on a mobility metric associated with the UE and the time between the location calculation and the MDT measurement (paragraph [0011]; [0050]; [0064]; and etc.).
Regarding claim 16, Siomina further discloses comprising a transceiver coupled to the at least one processor, wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to: transmit, via the transceiver, at least one of the first indicator of the calculated location of the UE or the second indicator of the calculated MDT uncertainty metric (paragraph [0067]; [0075]-[0076]; [0043]-[0044]; [0048]-[0052]; [0061]; [0071]-[0073]; and so on).
Regarding claim 17, Siomina discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a network node (fig. 1), comprising: at least one memory (e.g. paragraph [0121]; and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory and, based at least in part on information stored in the at least one memory (paragraph [0022]-[0023]; [0110]-[0121]), the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to: configure a minimization of drive test (MDT) configuration (paragraph [0041]-[0043]; [0057]; [0069]-[0070]; [0082]-[0085]); transmit, for a user equipment (UE), the MDT configuration (figs. 2-3; paragraph [0082]-[0085]; [0041]-[0043]; [0069]-[0070]); and receive at least one of a first indicator of a location of the UE or a second indicator of an MDT uncertainty metric based on the MDT configuration (paragraph [0007]-[0017]; [0020]-[0023]; [0043]-[0047]; [0056]; [0059]-[0062]; [0066]-[0067]; [0076]; [0074]; [0088]; and so on).
Regarding claim 18, Siomina discloses wherein the MDT configuration comprises a signal threshold value, wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to: transmit a pilot signal, wherein the reception of the at least one of the first indicator or the second indicator is based on the pilot signal and the signal threshold value (paragraph [0041]-[0043]; [0057]; [0069]-[0070]; [0082]-[0085]).
Regarding claim 20, Siomina discloses wherein the MDT configuration comprises a third indicator of a plurality of location calculation occasions, wherein, to receive the first indicator of the location of the UE, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to: receive a fourth indicator of a plurality of locations corresponding to the plurality of location calculation occasions, wherein the plurality of locations comprises the location of the UE (paragraph [0074]-[0081]; [0087]-[0095]; [0106]; [0043]-[0046]; [0050]-[0058]; [0060]-[0062]; and etc.).
Regarding claim 21, Siomina discloses wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to: calculate a second MDT uncertainty metric based on the plurality of locations corresponding to the plurality of location calculation occasions (paragraph [0074]-[0081]; [0087]-[0095]; [0106]; [0043]-[0046]; [0050]-[0058]; [0060]-[0062]; and etc.).
Regarding claim 22, Simiomina discloses wherein the MDT uncertainty metric comprises at least one of: a time between a location calculation and an MDT measurement; or a calculation based on a mobility metric associated with the UE and the time between the location calculation and the MDT measurement (paragraph [0011]; [0050]; [0064]; and etc.).
Regarding claim 29-30, the claims include features identical to the subject matter mentioned in the rejection to claim 1 and 17 above. The claims are mere reformulation of claim 1 and 17, in order to define the corresponding methods, and the claims to claims 1 and 17 are applied hereto.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siomina in view of Edge (US 2015/0296359 A1).
Regarding claim 5, as applied above, Siomina discloses wherein the pilot signal. However, Siomina does not explicitly disclose the pilot signal comprises at least one of: a synchronization signal block (SSB); or a positioning reference signal (PRS).
Edge teaches the pilot signal comprises at least one of: a synchronization signal block (SSB); or a positioning reference signal (PRS) (paragraph [0083]; [0109]-[0110]; and so on).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the pilot signal comprises at least one of: a synchronization signal block (SSB); or a positioning reference signal (PRS) as taught by Edge into Siomina in order to reduce delay.
Claims 7-9, 15, 19, and 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siomina in view of Rune et al. (US 2022/0174512 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Siomina discloses capability (paragraph [0008]). However, Siomina does not disclose wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to: transmit a UE capability comprising a fourth indicator of a sensitivity metric associated with the UE before the reception of the MDT configuration.
Rune teaches wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to: transmit a UE capability comprising a fourth indicator of a sensitivity metric associated with the UE before the reception of the MDT configuration (paragraph [0225]-[0230]; [0161]; and so on).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to: transmit a UE capability comprising a fourth indicator of a sensitivity metric associated with the UE before the reception of the MDT configuration as taught by Rune into Siomina in order to improve resource utilization.
Regarding claim 8, the modified communication of Siomina discloses wherein the sensitivity metric comprises at least one of: a class of the UE; a power level of the UE; a requested accuracy level; a number of receiver (Rx) chains reported by the UE; or a number of Rx antennas used by the UE to receive the pilot signal (Rune, paragraph [0161]; [0318]).
Regarding claim 9, as applied above, Siomina discloses calculate at least one of the location of the UE. However, Siomina does not disclose wherein the MDT configuration comprises a third indicator of a periodicity threshold, and wherein, to calculate at least one of the location of the UE or the MDT uncertainty metric based on the MDT configuration, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to: periodically calculate the location of the UE based on a clock time of the UE and the periodicity threshold.
Rune teaches wherein the MDT configuration comprises a third indicator of a periodicity threshold, and wherein, to calculate at least one of the location of the UE or the MDT uncertainty metric based on the MDT configuration, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to: periodically calculate the location of the UE based on a clock time of the UE and the periodicity threshold (paragraph [0225]-[0230]; [0161]; [0080]-[0081]; [0100]-[0107]; [0204]; [0240]-[0247]; and so on).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use wherein the MDT configuration comprises a third indicator of a periodicity threshold, and wherein, to calculate at least one of the location of the UE or the MDT uncertainty metric based on the MDT configuration, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to: periodically calculate the location of the UE based on a clock time of the UE and the periodicity threshold as taught by Rune into Siomina in order to improve quality of service and to reduce delay.
Regarding claim 15, Siomina discloses capability (paragraph [0008]). However, Siomina does not disclose wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to: transmit, before the obtainment of the MDT configuration, a UE capability comprising a third indicator of whether the UE is capable of calculating at least one of the location of the UE or the MDT uncertainty metric based on the MDT configuration.
Rune teaches wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to: transmit, before the obtainment of the MDT configuration, a UE capability comprising a third indicator of whether the UE is capable of calculating at least one of the location of the UE or the MDT uncertainty metric based on the MDT configuration (paragraph [0225]-[0230]; [0161]; and so on).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to: transmit, before the obtainment of the MDT configuration, a UE capability comprising a third indicator of whether the UE is capable of calculating at least one of the location of the UE or the MDT uncertainty metric based on the MDT configuration as taught by Rune into Siomina in order to improve resource utilization.
Regarding claim 19, as applied above, Siomina discloses UE capability, and configure at least one of the signal threshold value. However, Siomina does not disclose wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to: receive a UE capability comprising a third indicator of a sensitivity metric associated with the UE, wherein, to configure the MDT configuration, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to: configure at least one of the signal threshold value or a periodicity threshold of the MDT configuration based on the sensitivity metric.
Rune teaches wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to: receive a UE capability comprising a third indicator of a sensitivity metric associated with the UE, wherein, to configure the MDT configuration, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to: configure at least one of the signal threshold value or a periodicity threshold of the MDT configuration based on the sensitivity metric (paragraph [0225]-[0230]; [0161]; [0204]; [0240]-[0247]; and so on).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to: receive a UE capability comprising a third indicator of a sensitivity metric associated with the UE, wherein, to configure the MDT configuration, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to: configure at least one of the signal threshold value or a periodicity threshold of the MDT configuration based on the sensitivity metric as taught by Rune into Siomina in order to improve quality of service and efficiency of communciation.
Regarding claim 24, Siomina discloses capability (paragraph [0008]). However, Siomina does not disclose wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to: receive a UE capability comprising a third indicator of whether the UE is capable of calculating at least one of the location of the UE or the MDT uncertainty metric based on the MDT configuration, wherein, to configure the MDT configuration, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to: configure the MDT configuration based on the UE capability.
Rune teaches wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to: receive a UE capability comprising a third indicator of whether the UE is capable of calculating at least one of the location of the UE or the MDT uncertainty metric based on the MDT configuration, wherein, to configure the MDT configuration, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to: configure the MDT configuration based on the UE capability (paragraph [0225]-[0230]; [0161]; and so on).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to: receive a UE capability comprising a third indicator of whether the UE is capable of calculating at least one of the location of the UE or the MDT uncertainty metric based on the MDT configuration, wherein, to configure the MDT configuration, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to: configure the MDT configuration based on the UE capability as taught by Rune into Siomina in order to improve resource utilization.
Regarding claim 25, Siomina discloses wherein the MDT configuration comprises at least one of: a fourth indicator for the UE to configure at least one of a signal threshold value or a periodicity threshold based on a sensitivity metric associated with the UE; a fifth indicator of the UE to configure at least one of the signal threshold value or the periodicity threshold based on a power headroom report (PHR) value associated with the UE; or a sixth indicator of the UE to configure at least one of the signal threshold value or the periodicity threshold based on a Doppler spread value associated with the UE (paragraph [0009]; [0003]).
Regarding claim 26, Siomina discloses wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to: transmit a PHR comprising a seventh indicator of the PHR value (paragraph [0009]; [0003]).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siomina ‘837 in view of Siomina et al. (US 2022/0408299 A1 hereinafter Siomina ‘299).
Regarding claim 23, as applied above, Siomina ‘837 discloses calculate a second MDT uncertainty metric (paragraph [0007]-[0014]; [0015]-[0017]; [0045]; [0074]; [0088]; and etc.) and the time between the location calculation and the MDT measurement (paragraph [0011]; [0050]; [0064]; and etc.). However, Siomina ‘837 does not disclose wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to: calculate the mobility metric associated with the UE; and calculate a second MDT uncertainty metric based on the calculated mobility metric and the time between the location calculation and the MDT measurement.
Siomina ‘299 wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to: calculate the mobility metric associated with the UE (paragraph [0112]; [0135]; [0123]; [0127]-[0128]); and calculate the second MDT uncertainty metric based on the calculated mobility metric and the time between the location calculation and the MDT measurement (paragraph [0112]; [0104]-[0105]; [0123]; [0135]; [0068]-[0070]; [0075]; [0132]-[0135]; [0127]-[0128]; and so on).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to: calculate the mobility metric associated with the UE; and calculate a second MDT uncertainty metric based on the calculated mobility metric and the time between the location calculation and the MDT measurement as taught by Siomina ‘299 into Siomina ‘837 in order to improve reliability and to reduce dropping of user data.
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siomina et al. (US 2012/0113837 A1 hereinafter Siomina ‘837) in view of Rune, and further in view of Siomina (US 2016/0249364 A1 hereinafter Siomina ‘364).
Regarding claim 27, Siomina ‘837 discloses UE capability and report. Siomina ‘837 does not further disclose comprising a transceiver coupled to the at least one processor, wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to: configure a compliance test for the UE based on the UE capability; transmit, via the transceiver, the configured compliance test; and receive, via the transceiver, a compliance report based on the configured compliance test.
Siomina ‘364 teaches comprising a transceiver coupled to the at least one processor, wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to: configure a compliance test for the UE based on the UE capability (paragraph [0343]-[0347]); transmit, via the transceiver, the configured compliance test (paragraph [0343]-[0348]); and receive, via the transceiver, a compliance report based on the configured compliance test (paragraph [0326]; [0354]-[0371]; and so on).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use comprising a transceiver coupled to the at least one processor, wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to: configure a compliance test for the UE based on the UE capability; transmit, via the transceiver, the configured compliance test; and receive, via the transceiver, a compliance report based on the configured compliance test as taught by Siomina ‘364 into Siomina ‘837 in order to improve to reduce interference.
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siomina ‘837 in view of Rune, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2012/0196645 A1).
Regarding claim 28, Siomina discloses the MDT configuration. Siomina does not disclose wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to: increase an allocation of at least one of an uplink (UL) resource or a downlink (DL) resource to the UE based on the MDT configuration; and transmit a transmission schedule based on the increased allocation.
Kim teaches wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to: increase an allocation of at least one of an uplink (UL) resource or a downlink (DL) resource to the UE based on the MDT configuration (paragraph [0017]-[0018]; [0064]; and so on); and transmit a transmission schedule based on the increased allocation (paragraph [0017]-[0018]; [0022]-[0023]; [0041]-[0042]; [0048]-[0050]; [0055]; [0067]; [0079]; and etc.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to: increase an allocation of at least one of an uplink (UL) resource or a downlink (DL) resource to the UE based on the MDT configuration; and transmit a transmission schedule based on the increased allocation as taught by Kim into Siomina in order to improve to reduce resource consumption.
Conclusion
/KIBROM T HAILU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461