Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1-18 are pending and are under examination
The indicated allowability of claims 1-18 is withdrawn in view of the newly discovered reference(s) to Hunt et al. US 8168206 10/19/2021 with priority to provisional application 60/725,126 10/6/2005.
Rejections based on the newly cited reference(s) follow.
The information disclosure statement filed 3/3/26 has been considered and initialed copies are enclosed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(e) the invention was described in (1) an application for patent, published under section 122(b), by another filed in the United States before the invention by the applicant for patent or (2) a patent granted on an application for patent by another filed in the United States before the invention by the applicant for patent, except that an international application filed under the treaty defined in section 351(a) shall have the effects for purposes of this subsection of an application filed in the United States only if the international application designated the United States and was published under Article 21(2) of such treaty in the English language.
Claim(s) 1-18 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(e) as being anticipated by Hunt et al. US 8168206 10/19/2021 with priority to provisional application 60/725,126 10/6/2005.
Claim 1, 8-14: Hunt et al disclose a pharmaceutical composition (paragraphs 2, 64) comprising a liquid carrier (paragraph 40), wherein the liquid carrier comprises a botulinum toxin (see abstract, under background),
a non-ionic surfactant such as polysorbate 80, polysorbate 20, tween20, tween80 etc. (paragraph55),
*one or more non-reducing sugars selected from non-reducing disaccharides and a non-reducing trisaccharides including sucrose, trehalose, raffinose etc. (paragraph 46, 47, 48),
*a bulking agent such as polyols e.g. sorbitol, mannitol (see paragraph 49-51),
and
a physiologically compatible buffer (paragraph 64),
wherein the concentration of the bulking agent is in the range of 1% to 10% (see paragraph 49-51), and
wherein the concentration of the non-reducing sugar is in the range of 0.50 to 3.0% (w/v) (see paragraph 48) ,wherein the liquid carrier is formulated such that upon vacuum drying or lyophilization an amorphous solid is formed (see abstract, paragraph 1) .
Claim 2: Hunt et al disclose the botulinum toxin is a Type A toxin. See paragraph 26.
Claim 3: Hunt et al disclose the c the botulinum toxin is 150 kDa Type A toxin. See paragraph 26.
Claim 4, 6, 7, 8: Hunt et al discloses the composition comprises a viscosity-modifying agent such as a poloxamer e.g. poloxamer 188 (paragraphs 55 and 56).
Claim 4,5: Hunt et al disclose the composition further comprises a gelling agent such as a cellulose-based gelling agent e.g. hydroxyethyl cellulose etc. See paragraph 52, 53, .
Claim 6: Hunt et al disclose the composition further comprises a viscosity- modifying agent, wherein the viscosity-modifying agent is selected from one or more of polyethylene glycol. See paragraph 52.
Claim 15: Hunt et al disclose the physiologically compatible buffer is phosphate or histidine or citrate buffer. See paragraph 64.
Claim 16: Hunt et al disclose the concentration of the bulking agent is in the range of 1.5% to 7.5%. See paragraph 49-51.
Claim 17: Hunt et al disclose the concentration of the bulking agent is in the range of 2% to 6%. See paragraph 49-51.
Claim 18: Hunt et al disclose the composition according to claim 1, wherein the concentration of the bulking agent is in the range of 3% to 5%. See paragraph 49-51.
Status of Claims
Claim 1-18 are rejected.
/OLUWATOSIN A OGUNBIYI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1645