DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 and 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mick et al., U.S. Patent Publication Number 2013/0031202 A1, in view of Kin et al., U.S. Patent Number 10,739,861 B2.
Regarding claim 1, Mick discloses a device (210, portable device), comprising: a processor; a memory communicatively coupled to the processor; and an augmented reality logic, configured to: receive an image (paragraph 0013, receiving an image); determine device position data (paragraph 0004, location information regarding a location of the portable device in proximity to the equipment; paragraph 0013, smart phone or other computing device may include a GPS sensor that can provide accurate geographic location information); identify one or more objects visible in the image based on the device position data (paragraph 0005, identification information received from the mobile device; paragraph 0004, communicate identification information; see also figure 3); obtain control data corresponding to the one or more objects (paragraph 0004, maintains information regarding controllable systems; overlay information for the controllable system can be received); and generate an augmented image by superimposing the control data on the image (paragraph 0005, can access selected information of the controllable system; send at least some of the information to mobile device; this information may be presented on display of the mobile device as an overlay to an image of the controllable system; paragraph 0015, specific information regarding equipment present in the rack or other enclosure can be communicated and displayed directly on the smart phone or tablet, overlaid to an image of the equipment).
However, it is noted that Mick fails to disclose a position and orientation of the device; and using one or more computer vision techniques.
Kin discloses a position and orientation of the device (col. 7, lines 22-29, generates IMU tracking data indicating an estimated position of the NED; position sensors include multimer accelerometers to measure translational motion; and multimer gyroscopes to measure rotation motion); and using one or more computer vision techniques (col. 8, line 7, use of computer vision algorithms).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the augmented reality interface as disclosed by Mick, indicating a position and orientation of the device, to determine position and orientation to display the overlaid controls in the image. It further would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the use of computer vision as disclosed by Kin, to capture more depth in the environment and identify various gestures of the user.
Regarding claim 2, Mick discloses wherein the augmented reality logic is further configured to: access an object identification database (paragraph 0005, manager can access selected information of the controllable system from the infrastructure system responsive to identification information); transmit an identification request indicative of the device position data to the object identification database (paragraph 0005, different servers or other systems that can store and access the information about the systems; paragraph 0014, collected information, e.g., image, geographic information and user information can then be communicated to the augmented reality manager as a query); receive identification data from the object identification database in response to the identification request (paragraph 0014, obtain information about the components in the visual proximity of the computing device) ; and identify the one or more objects visible in the image based on the identification data (paragraph 0005, responsive to identification information received from mobile device; paragraph 0014, populate information on the computing device’s display with data obtained).
Regarding claim 3, Mick discloses wherein the augmented reality logic is further configured to: receive biometric data (paragraph 0014, identity of the user may be communicated to the augmented reality manager, Examiner interprets identifying of the user as biometric data, in that it is specific to a user); authenticate a user of the device based on the biometric data (paragraph 0014, communication may also include, or be preceded by, a login/authentication protocol to ensure the user is authorized to access the augmented reality manager); and determine a user identifier corresponding to the user (paragraph 0024, enable an identification of individuals that have accessed a secure location; imaging the badge reader or other controlled access point; identify the individuals who have gained access to the secure location).
Regarding claim 4, Mick discloses wherein the augmented reality logic is further configured to: access an administrative database (paragraph 0014, image may be communicated to an augmented reality manager); transmit an access control request indicative of the user identifier to the administrative database (paragraph 0014, identity of the user may be communicated to the augmented reality manager); and receive access control data from the administrative database in response to the access control request (paragraph 0014, by providing this information, targeted information for use by the type of individual can be accessed and sent to the user; paragraph 0020, application can be downloaded, e.g., from a storage of the augmented reality system by an authorized user to enable the user to access information while present at a particular location).
Regarding claim 5, Mick discloses wherein the augmented reality logic is further configured to: identify one or more controllers associated with the one or more objects (paragraph 0021, remote control, diagnostics and/or system debugging tools can be accessed by a user via augmented reality manager); transmit one or more status requests to the one or more controllers (paragraph 0016, the information can be of many different types, including status of a given server); and receive the control data from the one or more controllers in response to the one or more status requests (paragraph 0015, specific information regarding equipment present in the rack or other enclosure can be communicated and displayed directly on the smart phone or tablet, overlaid to an image of the equipment itself).
Regarding claim 6, Mick discloses wherein the one or more status requests are indicative of: the identification data corresponding to the one or more objects (paragraph 0013, can have a machine-readable identifier); and the access control data corresponding to the user (paragraph 0012, augmented reality tool to provide relevant information to a user; a financial analyst or other financial personnel of the data center can use the same augmented reality system to obtain different information tailored to his or her needs; a maintenance worker of the data center facility may be able to obtain limited information).
Regarding claim 7, Mick discloses wherein the identification data is indicative of one or more of: three-dimensional positional coordinates corresponding to the one or more objects; object identifiers corresponding to the one or more objects; or controllers associated with the one or more objects (paragraph 0016, information, such as an identification of cabling or other connections between a given server and other equipment in the rack, can also be provided).
Regarding claim 8, Mick discloses wherein the augmented reality logic is further configured to generate one or more control signals corresponding to the one or more objects based on the control data (paragraph 0018, user may take remote control actions using the smart phone, tablet or other computing device; user can be provided with a menu of options such as an option to reboot the machine, or to perform a hard reset or another type of control operation).
Regarding claim 9, Mick discloses wherein the augmented reality logic is further configured to: receive an input from the user (paragraph 0018, user may take remote control actions); and generate the one or more control signals based on the control data and the input (paragraph 0018, perform a hard reset or another type of control operation).
Regarding claim 10, Mick discloses wherein the augmented reality logic is further configured to transmit the one or more control signals to the one or more objects (paragraph 0018, user may take remote control actions using the smart phone, tablet or other computing device; user can be provided with a menu of options such as an option to reboot the machine, or to perform a hard reset or another type of control operation).
Regarding claim 14, Mick discloses wherein the augmented reality logic is further configured to display the augmented image on a display (paragraph 0019, overlay information can be dynamically displayed to correspond to the view of the equipment present on the display of the computing device).
Regarding claim 15, Mick discloses wherein the one or more objects are one or more electronic devices (paragraph 0010, equipment present in a data center can include various server systems such as rack-based server systems; may include various storages such as storage attached networks, switching equipment, firewalls, load balancers and many other types of equipment).
Regarding claims 16-18, they are rejected based upon similar rational as above claims 1, 10 and 1. Mick further discloses device position data indicative of position and orientation of the device (paragraph 0014).
Regarding claims 19 and 20, they are rejected based upon similar rational as above claims 1 and 5. Mick further discloses a method (paragraph 0003).
Claim(s) 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mick et al., in view of Kin et al., as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Saurabh et al., U.S. Patent Publication Number 2019/0129607 A1.
Regarding claim 11, it is noted that Mick discloses device location and GPS, but fails to specifically disclose wherein the device position data includes: three-dimensional positional coordinates indicative of a position of the device; and three-dimensional angular coordinates indicative of an orientation of the device.
Kin discloses col. 7, lines 21-28, generates IMU tracking data indicating an estimated position of the NED 305 relative to an initial position of the NED 305. For example, the position sensors 335 include multiple accelerometers to measure translational motion (forward/back, up/down, left/right) and multiple gyroscopes to measure rotational motion (e.g., pitch, yaw, and roll).
Saurabh discloses wherein the device position data includes: three-dimensional positional coordinates indicative of a position of the device; and three-dimensional angular coordinates indicative of an orientation of the device (paragraph 0231, IPS will fine the exact spatial coordinates of the AR device; Inertial measurements, Angle of arrival).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of filing of the application to include in the device position as disclosed by Mick, the angular coordinates as disclosed by Saurabh, to provide accurate positioning of the overlays of the captured devices with the control information on the augmented reality device.
Regarding claim 12, Saurabh discloses wherein the augmented reality logic is further configured to receive the three-dimensional angular coordinates from an Inertial Measurement Unit (IMU) (paragraph 0231, positioning unit uses Indoor Positioning System (IPS) to place multimedia content in the real scene being previewed on the AR enabled display; IPS will fine the exact spatial coordinates of the AR device; IPS enables identifying exact spatial coordinates of an image being captured and processed by the imaging unit; if the spatial coordinates coincide with the 360 degree parameters stored in the placement database, then the corresponding multimedia content of the connected device is place at that exact spatial position in the AR; IPS technologies may include, but are not limited to : Inertial measurements, Angle of arrival).
Regarding claim 13, Mick discloses wherein the augmented reality logic is further configured to determine the three-dimensional positional coordinates based on one or more Radio Frequency (RF) signals received by the device (paragraph 0013, the rack may have radio frequency; paragraph 0014, GPS sensor that can provide relatively accurate geographic location information; or a location can be determined by using triangulation information, e.g., accessed from multiple wireless access points in proximity to the smart phone).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-8, filed 10/24/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of 103, Mick in view of Kin.
Applicant argues the prior art cited Mick fails to disclose position and orientation of the device and using one or more computer vision techniques. Examiner responds Kin discloses col. 7, lines 22-29, generates IMU tracking data indicating an estimated position of the NED; position sensors include multimer accelerometers to measure translational motion; and multimer gyroscopes to measure rotation motion; and col. 8, line 7, use of computer vision algorithms.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
20150070347 A1 Hoffman et al.
Hoffman discloses computer-vision based augmented reality system, and further discloses customizable graphical user interface, and the graphical user interface is displayable in perspective with objects in augmented reality through the user of computer vision techniques.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MOTILEWA . GOOD JOHNSON
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2616
/MOTILEWA GOOD-JOHNSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2619