Claims 1-22, 41 and 42 are presented for examination.
Claims 23-40 are withdrawn from examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al. (US 20150342984 submitted by the applicant) in view of Wong et al. (Bactericidal and Virucidal ultrathin films assembled layer by layer polycationic N-alkylated polyethyleneimines and polyanions (submitted by the applicant) and further in view of Onis et al. (WO 2014174237 submitted by the applicant)
Regarding claim 2, Cheng teaches antimicrobial cationic polyamines, and more specifically, the cationic modified polyethylene imines for antimicrobial applications. See para [0002]. The use of alkyl urea polyalkylene imine is taught in Paras [0062],[0065] and claims 5-6. Cheng teaches a base polyamine selected from the group consisting of polyethylene imines, partially N-acylated polyethylene imines, and combinations thereof, and ii) a solvent. See Para [0023] and [0127]. The use of an organic solvent, such as, menthol is taught in Para [0089]. Cheng teaches the low average mass, high antimicrobial activity, and low hemolytic tendencies of the cationic polyamines makes these materials attractive as broad spectrum antimicrobial agents for a wide range of medical and household uses, including wound treatments, treatment of infections, antibiotic drugs, treatment of tuberculosis, and disinfectants for household and hospital surfaces and medical instruments. See Para [0144]. Cheng teaches that the film forming compositions can be applied to a surface of an object using any suitable coating technique (e.g., dip coating, spray coating, spin coating, roll coating, brush coating, and "ink jet" coating). See Para [0129]. Cheng teaches that cationic polyamines are soluble in water and are not crosslinked, making them attractive as injectable and aerosol delivered agents. See Para [0287]. Cheng makes clear that the claimed alkyl urea polyalkylene imine polymer has been used as an antimicrobial coating agent, which can be used as a drug or applied to a surface of an object using any suitable coating technique (e.g., dip coating, spray coating, spin coating, roll coating, brush coating, and "ink jet" coating. Cheng does not teach the addition of an anionic polymer. However, Wong teaches contact-killing ionically cross-linked polymeric thin films using Layer-by-Layer technology. A polycation, N,N-dodecylmethyl-polyethylene imine, with microbicidal activity was layered with a polyanion, such as poly(acrylic acid), to create films highly effective against both airborne and waterborne Escherichia coli and Staphylococcus aureus (Gram negative and positive bacteria, respectively), as well as influenza A/WSN (H1N1) virus. See the Abstract and conclusion. It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art to add an anionic polymer to the composition of Cheng, motivated by the teachings of Wong, which teaches the addition of polyanions and polycations in a film form as a coating was lethal to both airborne and waterborne Gram negative bacteria and gram positive bacteria. To combine ingredients being used for the same purpose would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art. Applicant's attention is drawn to In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980), wherein the court states "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art". Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the cationic antimicrobial coating taught by Cheng and anionic antimicrobial coating taught by Wong, since each individually is used for the same purpose as antimicrobial coating agent. Cheng teaches the cationic polyamines comprise one or more polymer chains (branches) comprising ethylenimine units. A linear cationic polyamine comprises i) one branch comprising a plurality of ethylenimine units and ii) two polymer chain end groups (also referred to as peripheral end groups). See Para [0059] as claimed in claim 2.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-22, 41 and 42 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 64-73 of copending Application No. 18/579,412 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they overlap.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
The claims of the instant application are drawn to an anti-microbial coating comprising an alkyl urea polyalkylene imine polymer and an anionic polymer, the alkyl urea polyalkylene imine polymer being a polyalkylene imine polymer having at least one alkyl group attached to the polyalkylene imine polymer backbone by way of at least one urea linkage that includes a nitrogen heteroatom on the polyalkylene imine polymer backbone; which anti-microbial coating does not comprise heparin or a polymer comprising heparin. The claims of the copending application are drawn to a liquid coating composition comprising an alkyl urea polyalkylene imine polymer and an anionic polymer; wherein the liquid coating composition is suitable for forming an anti-microbial coating. The alkyl urea polyalkylene imine of the instant application having at least one alkyl group attached to the polyalkylene imine polymer backbone by way of at least one urea linkage that includes a nitrogen heteroatom on the polyalkylene imine polymer backbone is within the scope of the alkyl urea polyalkylene imine of the copending application. The dependent claims of the instant application and the copending application are drawn to a cationic compound, a biguanide and a cross-linking agent
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Applicant’s arguments regarding obviousness rejection have been noted. Applicant in his remarks argues that “Neither Cheng nor Wong disclose the following:
A polyalkylene imine polymer having at least one alkyl group attached to the polyalkylene imine polymer backbone by way of at least one urea linkage that includes a nitrogen heteroatom on the polyalkylene imine polymer backbone; and
anionic antimicrobial properties or coatings”. It is the examiner’s position that option (a) and (b) of claim 2 is not drawn to a polyalkylene imine polymer having at least one alkyl group attached to the polyalkylene imine polymer backbone by way of at least one urea linkage that includes a nitrogen heteroatom on the polyalkylene imine polymer backbone.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZOHREH A FAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1617