Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s)1-2, 10 and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Feinberg et al. US 2018/0210737.
Regarding claim 1, Feinberg teaches a device, comprising: a processor; a memory communicatively coupled to the processor; and a power management logic, configured to: receive a power saving signal indicative of entering a power saving mode [0013—"When the hibernation process is triggered”]; identify a boot image [0013—"resume image”]; determine a memory location associated with the boot image [0013—"A resume image is generated based on the hibernation image. The resume image is stored to disk along with one or more hibernation parameters that are configured to guide Linux to specific memory locations of certain resume image data when the mobile device is powered-on later” and 0014] ; shut down one or more components of the device based on the power saving signal to enter the power saving mode [0029—"a mobile device or other digital device may be programmed to hibernate in accordance with certain embodiments from a power-on state, running one or more open applications, to a power-off state cutting power to both its processor and its one or more RAM digital data storage devices.”] ; receive a wake-up signal during the power saving mode; retrieve the boot image from the memory location based on the wake-up signal; and rebooting the device by executing the boot image [0048—" A hibernation image or resume image in accordance with certain embodiments may be utilized for cold booting devices with large, mid-sized or small footprints.”].
Regarding claim 2, Feinberg teaches wherein the power management logic is further configured to: restart the one or more components of the device [0048—" A hibernation image or resume image in accordance with certain embodiments may be utilized for cold booting devices with large, mid-sized or small footprints.”].
Regarding claim 10, Feinberg teaches wherein the power management logic is further configured to identify a reachable port on a front panel of the device.
Regarding claims 17-19, Feinberg teaches these claims according to the reasoning set forth in claims 1-2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feinberg US 2018/0210737 in view of Lee et al US 2007/0192579.
Regarding claim 3, Feinberg does not teach, but Lee teaches wherein the one or more components include one or more cores of an Application-Specific Integrated Circuit (ASIC) in the device [0074-“ASIC”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have combined the teachings of Feinberg and Lee because they are both directed towards systems that enter a hibernation mode. Feinberg does not discuss the details of the hardware that can be placed into hibernation mode. Lee clarifies that ASICs can be placed into hibernation.
Regarding claim 4, Lee teaches wherein the one or more components include one or more ports of the device [0074—“LAN Module”].
Regarding claim 5, Lee teaches wherein the power management logic is further configured to shut down the one or more ports and the one or more cores of the ASIC when the power saving mode is a hibernation mode [0074].
Regarding claim 6, Feinberg teaches wherein the wake-up signal is received during the hibernation mode through a management port coupled to the processor [0031—"power-on, thaw and/or resume process performed by a processor in accordance with certain embodiments based on stored programming code”].
Claim(s) 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feinberg 2018/0210737 in view of Young US 2017/0308154.
Regarding claim 7, Feinberg does not teach, but Young teaches wherein the power saving signal is indicative of a power saving start time and a wake-up time [0038-0040].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application because they are both directed towards entering hibernation modes. Young improves upon Feinberg by enabling more control of when wakeup can occur.
Regarding claim 8, Young teaches wherein the power management logic is further configured to:
determine a power saving duration based on the power saving start time and the wake-up time; andinitialize a timer based on the power saving duration [0038-0040].
Regarding claim 9, Young wherein the timer generates the wake-up signal after the power saving duration [0038].
Claim(s) 10-12 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feinberg US 2018/0210737 in view of Wikipedia "Wake-on-LAN" [cited by applicant as applied in the PCT Written
Opinion].
Regarding claim 10, Feinberg does not teach, but Wake-on-LAN teaches wherein the power management logic is further configured to identify a reachable port on a front panel of the device [Page 2 Principle of Operation]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have combined Feinberg and Wake-on-LAN because they are both directed towards systems that wake from a low power mode. Wake-on-LAN improves on Feinberg by allowing a wake up signal to also be sent over a network.
Regarding claim 11, Wake-on-LAN teaches wherein the power management logic is further configured to maintain the reachable port in an operational state when the power saving mode is a sleep mode [pgs. 1-2].
Regarding claim 12, Wake-on-LAN teaches wherein the wake-up signal is received during the sleep mode through the reachable port [pg. 2 Principles of Operation].
Regarding claim 13, Wake-on-LAN teaches wherein the power management logic is further configured to: identify an Internet Protocol (IP) address associated with a controller; identify one or more Virtual Local Area Networks (VLANs) associated with the IP address; identify one or more ports associated with the one or more VLANs; and select one port of the one or more ports having lowest speed as the reachable port [Pg. 2, Principles of Operation].
Regarding claim 20, Wake-on-LAN teaches this claim according to the reasoning set forth in claim 13.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAWEED A ABBASZADEH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2176