Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Feinberg et al. US 2018/0210737.
Feinberg was cited to teach claims 1-2, 10 and 17-19 in the previous office action. The relevant teachings are hereby incorporated by reference to the extent applicable to the newly amended claims.
Regarding claim 1, Feinberg teaches a device, comprising: a processor; a memory communicatively coupled to the processor; and a power management logic, configured to: receive a power saving signal indicative of entering a power saving mode [0013—"When the hibernation process is triggered”]; identify a boot image [0013—"resume image”] comprising initial code required to launch an operating system [0029—" A mobile device or other digital device may also be programmed to boot Android and arrive at a resume image state in accordance with certain embodiments from a power-off state of both the processor and RAM devices to arrive at the resume image state with one or more open applications configured in accordance with data and/or data files captured within a resume image in accordance with certain embodiments.” In other words, data captured within the resume image (initial code) is responsible for booting (“launch”) Android (“operating system”)];
determine a memory location associated with the boot image [0013—"A resume image is generated based on the hibernation image. The resume image is stored to disk along with one or more hibernation parameters that are configured to guide Linux to specific memory locations of certain resume image data when the mobile device is powered-on later” and 0014] ;
shut down one or more components of the device based on the power saving signal to enter the power saving mode [0029—"a mobile device or other digital device may be programmed to hibernate in accordance with certain embodiments from a power-on state, running one or more open applications, to a power-off state cutting power to both its processor and its one or more RAM digital data storage devices.”] ;
receive a wake-up signal during the power saving mode; retrieve the boot image from the memory location based on the wake-up signal; and
rebooting the device by executing the boot image [0048—" A hibernation image or resume image in accordance with certain embodiments may be utilized for cold booting devices with large, mid-sized or small footprints.”].
Regarding claim 2, Feinberg teaches these claims according to the reasoning set forth in the previous office action.
Regarding claims 17-19, Feinberg teaches these claims according to the reasoning set forth in claims 1-2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feinberg US 2018/0210737 in view of Lee et al US 2007/0192579.
Feinberg and Lee were cited to teach claims 3-6 in the previous office action. The relevant teachings are hereby incorporated by reference to the extent applicable to the newly amended claims.
Regarding claims 3-6 Feinberg teaches these claims according to the reasoning set forth in the previous office action.
Claim(s) 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feinberg 2018/0210737 in view of Young US 2017/0308154.
Feinberg and Young were cited to teach claims 7-9 in the previous office action. The relevant teachings are hereby incorporated by reference to the extent applicable to the newly amended claims.
Regarding claims 7-9, Feinberg and Young teach these claims according to the reasoning set forth in the previous office action.
Claim(s) 10-12 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feinberg US 2018/0210737 in view of Wikipedia "Wake-on-LAN" [cited by applicant as applied in the PCT Written
Opinion].
Feinberg and Wake-on-LAN were cited to teach claims 10-12 and 20 in the previous office action. The relevant teachings are hereby incorporated by reference to the extent applicable to the newly amended claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/28/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. See updated mapping for newly amended limitations above.
Conclusion
/JAWEED A ABBASZADEH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2176