DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Figure 5B of the application illustrates the claimed invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 18 August 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remark, filed 18 August 2026, with respect to the
rejection(s) of claims 1, 7, 9, 15 and 17 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of HWANG (US 2011/0081951 A1).
Applicant argued, with respect to the independent claims 1, 7, 9, 15 and 17, that
Zhang in view of (WO2013/017733 A1) fails to teach and render obvious all features recited in the independent claims.
The Examiner agreed, therefore the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being
unpatentable over Zhang in view of (WO 2013/017733 A1) have been withdrawn.
A new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of HWANG (US 2011/0081951 A1)
as follows:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7, 9, 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by ZHANG et al. (US 2023/0284092 A1) in view of HWANG (US 2011/0081951 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 9 and 17, ZHANG et al. discloses a method comprising:
storing, by an end device including subscriber identification module (SIMs), setting information
receiving, by the end device, a request from the end device application (“The method generally includes receiving a request for a wireless connection from an application associated with one or more user equipment (UE) route selection policy (URSP) rules”, see abstract.;
selecting, by the end device based on the setting information, the SIM to use for the request (attempted to establish the wireless connection for the application via a first subscriber identity module (SIM according to one or more of the URSP rules associated with the application that are supported by the first SIM, and taking one or more actions to establish the wireless connection for the application via a second SIM if the attempt to establish the wireless connection for the application via the first SIM fails.”; and
establishing, by the end device with use of the SIM, and end device application session with a network device ([0007]: “The UE generally includes means for receiving a request for a wireless connection from an application associated with one or more other user equipment (UE) route selection policy (URSP) rules, means for attempting to establish the wireless connection for the application via a first subscriber identity module (SIM) according to one or more of the URSP rules associated with the application that are supported by the first SIM.”) See figure 3 and 5.
ZHANG et al. teaches storing in the end device, the setting information that maps a SIM of the SIMs to an end device application or user equipment route selection policy (URSP).
ZHANG et al. fails to explicitly teach the setting information configured by a user of the end device.
ZHANG et al. however teaches ([0082]: In the case of a user terminal 120 (see FIG. 1), a user interface (e.g., keypad, display, mouse, joystick, etc.) may also be connected to the bus.”
It would have been obvious to those having ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement storing setting information configured by a user of the end device using the user interface, to selected between SIM1 and SIM2 (“attempting to establish the wireless connection via the first SIM according to a default rule if the user does not select the DDS switch.” See figure 2).
In an alternative, HWANG discloses apparatus and method for setting main SIM card in Dual SIM card terminals.
HWANG teaches ([0008]: “The dual SIM card terminal may be used by combining SIM cards of two different providers or a same provider, so that a user may cards are combined, the two SIM cards may be distinguished as a main SIM card and a secondary SIM card according to user setting, and overall mobile communication services may be provided through the main SIM card set by a user use two telephone number with one mobile terminal. As such, in a case where two SIM.”), see figure 2.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to those having ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure user setting information for managing dual SIM card terminal, in Zhang et al., such as teaching in HWANG.
Regarding claims 7 and 15, ZHANG et al. teaches selecting, by the end device based on the request, the setting information ([0009]: “The apparatus generally includes an interface configured to obtain a request for a wireless connection from an application associated with one or more user equipment (UE) route selection policy (URSP) rules.”); ([0054]: “As illustrated, the application APP_1 may request a connection, specifying a particular data network name (DNN) or an application ID (or both) that may be listed in one or more UE route specific protocol (URSP) rules. In this context, URSP generally refers to a set of rules that enable a UE to determine how a certain application should be handled in the context of an existing or new PDU session for example, specifying a route selection descriptor (RSD).”
Claim(s) 2, 10 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG et al. (US 2023/0284092 A1) in view of HWANG (US 2011/0081951 A1) further in view of Gopal et al. (US 2023/0117026 A1).
Regarding claims 2, 10 and 18, ZHANG et al. fails to explicitly teach receiving, via a user interface of the end device, an input from the user equipment indicating the SIM to map to the end device application.
Gopal et al. in the same field of invention, teaches this feature.
Gopal et al. teaches ([0157]: “In some examples, the first service level priority and the second service level priority are further determined based on a mapping between an application associated with communications of each SIM and an associated priority of the application in the service level priority order.”).
It would have been obvious to those having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to receive input from the user equipment so to map between the SIM and the end device application.
Claim(s) 3, 11 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG et al. (US 2023/0284092 A1) in view of HWANG (US 2011/0081951 A1) further inv view of Shukair et al. (US 20230180170 A1).
Regarding claims 3, 11 and 19, ZHANG et al. fails to explicitly teach receiving, via a user interface of the end device, an input from the user indicating the SIM to map to a traffic descriptor.
Shukair et al., in the same field of invention, teaches this feature.
Shukair et al. teaches ([0030]: “For example, providing control for the selection of RF resource partitions based on dynamic conditions at the UE may allow for a UE to adjust an amount of RF resources available for each SIM based on current traffic and conditions at each SIM. Such techniques may thus enhance UE efficiency, increase data rates, and provide for enhanced user experience.”), see figure 3.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to those having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Shukair et al. with ZHANG et al. so for enhanced user experience.
Claim(s) 4-5, 8, 12-13, 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG et al. (US 2023/0284092 A1) in view of HWANG (US 2011/0081951 A1) and further in view of (WO 2022/086177 A1), referred as D1.
Regarding claims 4, 5, 8, 12, 13, 16 and 20, ZHANG et al. fails to teach receiving, via a user interface of the end device, an input from the user indicating the SIM to map to a traffic and a route selection descriptor.
D1 in the same field of invention, teaches this feature.
D1 teaches (“FIGs. 1b, and 1c depict URSP rules of a SIM and a UE Route Selection Descriptor (URSD). The URSP rules may be used to determine if data detected from an application may be associated to an established PDU session or a need to trigger an establishment of a new PDU session for the respective application. The URSP rules include a prioritized list of URSP rules (hereinafter referred as prioritized URSP rules) and a default list of URSP rules (hereinafter referred as default URSP rules). Each URSP rule includes a traffic descriptor (comprising one or more components), which determines when the URSP is applicable. The URSP rule is determined to be applicable for the application when every component in the traffic descriptor of the URSP rule matches information/data of the corresponding application. Each URSP rule includes a list of route selection descriptors comprising one or more multiple URSDs, each having a different route selection descriptor precedence value.”).
It would have been obvious to those having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teaching in D1 with ZHANG et al. so to map the applications to the SIMs based on the URSP rules of the SIMs.
Claim(s) 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG et al. (US 2023/0284092 A1) in view of HWANG (US 2011/0081951 A1) and further in view of CHEN et al. (US 2021/0392491 A1).
Regarding claims 5 and 14, ZHANG et al. fails to teach wherein the request includes an identifier of the end device application and information pertaining to the end device application.
CHEN et al. in the same field of invention, teaches this feature.
CHEN et al. teaches ([0018]: “The network may determine whether to grant the first request to attach to the network based on an identifier associated with the user device 105, based on information identified in the SIM profile of the SIM of the user device 105, and/or the like.”). See figure 1A.
It would have been obvious to those having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine CHEN et al. with ZHANG et al. so to identifier the end device application.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant disclosure.
(WO 2021/248358 A1) discloses a method for wireless communications by a user equipment (UE). The method generally includes receiving a request for a wireless connection from an application associated with one or more user equipment (UE) route selection policy (URSP) rules, attempting to establish the wireless connection for the application via a first subscriber identity module (SIM) according to one or more of the URSP rules associated with the application that are supported by the first SIM.”).
BHOWMIK et al. (US 2022/0132299 A1) discloses method for SIM management on a DSDA/DSDS device. See figures 1A and 9.
BHOWMIK et al. (US 2022/0132299 A1) teaches ([0021]: “methods and systems for Subscriber Identity Module (SIM) management on a User Equipment (UE) are provided. The UE include one of, a Dual SIM Dual Active (DSDA) UE, and a Dual SIM Dual Standby (DSDS) UE. The method includes identifying, by the UE, data triggered by at least one application to establish at least one Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session. The method includes identifying, by the UE, a first SIM or a second SIM for the at least one application to establish the at least one Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session. The method includes identifying, by the UE a first SIM or a second SIM for the at least one application to establish the at least one PDU session based on the first UE Route Selection Policy (URSP) and second URSP associated with the first SIM and the second SIM, respectively. The method includes selecting, by the UE, the identified first SIM or second SIM to establish the at least one PDU session corresponding to the respective at least one application.”
([0006]: “the method involves mapping of the multiple applications to only one SIM, according to the related art, based on a user choice, or based on pre-existing method/algorithms,
Conclusion
BRENDA H. PHAM
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2412
/BRENDA H PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412